AE AE13 - Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Woodson

I sort of feel guilty when you tipped more winners than me . . . but then I see you tipped Dallas with a 13CR and then I have no guilt at all. :)

CQCoronersPly-offs_zps596587f7.jpg

ED SABOL CONFERENCE

BLACKY 77 defeated SODAPOP 61

As telling as this final winning scoreline may show that Blacky seemed to have had a convincing win despite their three game differential, which was a vital 3-0 swing in Black's advantage, it wasn't entirely the case. Two games with just one differential being the significant difference. The Pats / Fins game was a 12 point game with 'Fins on the ropes late in the closes stages, first bullet dodged by Blacky was when the 'Fins were trailing 20-17, 4th & 5 at midfield, it was a crucial pass 6 yard play from Tannehill to find TE Charles Clay that kept the 'Fins drive alive that led to a Tannehill to Thigpen TD five plays later to put the Fins ahead, 24-20 and then, a second bullet, in the redzone as Tom Brady couldn't connect on any of his FOUR consecutive pass attempts to try win the game for the Pats shaping Blacky's 42-25 lead after the early games (otherwise 48-40) if just ONE of those five pivotal opportunities by the Pats were made. The second game was a crucial 14 point swing (differential). The Bills rookie QB EJ Manuel, needed to play his best game after playing his worst just a week previous. The Jags squandered a goal-line fumble that denied them a TD score in the third quarter. An interception by Chad Henne in the Jags end zone with just over 3 minutes to go to try level the scores also hurting Sodapop. Jags were 1st and goal at the Bills 1 before the Henne interception. Final score: Bills 27-20.

Woody Line: Blacky -4.5pts

BEEZ 76 edged out by QUIN STICK 78

Leading by 25 (50-25) after the early games, Beez seemed to be cruising despite Quin Stick picking the 'Fins to stun the Pats (6 point differential) to be amongst the three game differentials. With Quin Stick still hanging in there despite trailing by 20 (76-56), before SNF arrived, it was where this contest turned on it's head. quin_stick still having 22 points up his sleeve against Beez's 12. Quin Stick needing the Steelers to reap 8CR against Beez's flimsy 1CR on the Bengals. The Steelers responded to Quin Stick's call as they came out hard & fast to physically dominate the contest with a 21-0 first quarter lead. A convincing 27-7 Steelers HT lead was never in doubt despite the Bengals 13 pt last quarter. MNF was the defining game to decide this contest. Beez faced the intrigueing yet challenging prospect of whether or not to take on Quin Stick's beloved Ravens on the road against the Lions as this contest was crucial to both teams in their play-off aspirations. beez settled for the home fav, the Detroit Lions, who could have a stranglehold for the division title. Fast fwd >>>> to concluding stages of this game.. Lions led 16-15, force the Ravens to exhaust their final time out with 43 seconds remaining after being stranded 4th & 8th at the Lions 43. Tense times for both Quin Stick (14CR on Balt) & Blacky (8CR on Det). John Harbaugh sends out Kicker Justin Tucker to attempt his longest FG ever at 61 yards. Tucker had already nailed 5 FG for the game and a sixth attempt sqqqqueezes inside the right post to put the Ravens ahead 18-16. Lions need to go 50 yards with three time outs, 38 seconds remain. First play.. Stafford overthrows his WR Burleson at midfield which lands in Ravens' first round rookie, Matt Elam's awaiting hands. Game Over!! Quin Stick REAPS the crucial 14CR needed to overhaul Blacky in an unbelievable come from behind ND victory… one of the finest ND play-off comebacks ever.

Woody Line: Beez -4.5pts

WEEB EWBANK CONFERENCE

CROWMAN23 71 edged out by JEFFDUNNE 73

An amazing tug-a-war contest with three differentials separating these two savvy veterans with @Crowman23 claiming the 3-0 swing yet desperately unlucky to claim victory despite selecting an additional winner overall (8-7). A bewildering choice of play calling by the Cowboys that led to a second half capitulation who led by a comfortable margin of 23 (26-3) at HT, played a massive part in dropping this contest for Crowman23. Nine point CR advantage squandered for Crowman23 when Cowboys #9, Tony Romo, threw the fatal INT on the Cowboys last possession. But that gutting 37-36 loss by the Cowboys wasn't the straw that broke the camel's back as MNF was primed to be Crowman23 opportunity of redemption with the Lions needing to defeat the reigning SB champs, Baltimore Ravens, to get the victory.. Despite one of the greatest WR in the modern era, Megatron, dropping three of the most regulation catching opportunities on the field, that's not exactly the reason why the Lions lost. It was a combination of dumb play-calling, QB passing by the overrated Matt Stafford, in the clutch by the Lions and the sweet touch of one of the two most reliable FG kickers in the league that sealed Crowman23's fate as the Lions fell agonisingly short to lose the 18-16 heartbreaker. JeffDunne may consider the fact that taking the Broncos two points CR lower than Crowman23 on their MNF stunning 27-20 upset loss to the Chargers as being the masterstroke to victory.

Woody Line: Crowman23 -3.5
ARKIE 78 held out by TCOL 82

A tenacious arm-wrestle beckoned after the Broncos dropped high double digit CR on TNF for both but TCol stood firm, only dropping one of the nine early games to be marginally ahead 55-48. Had Tom Brady found a target once to hold onto his four consecutive passes, the margin would of been reduced to just one.
The late games allowed Arkie to pull back the deficit to just three points (81-78) with SNF having one of the three differentials between them. But it was TCol's 1CR on the Steelers, who manhandled the Bengals 30-20, to define the victory as Arkie's 5CR on the Bengals crumbled meekly. MNF was the last shot for Arkie to try salvage something from his remaining 11CR that needed to be a differential pick from TCol's 9CR but it wasn't to be, as they both selected the losing Lions. Game over for Arkie who perhaps had his chance on SNF to overtake TCol but opted to pick the same team that had lost their previous four SNF games against a division rival that had won on SNF in the last six seasons. TCol holding out the persistent Arkie who has picked three less winners overall. (11-8)

Woody Line: TCol -1.5pts

I'm still scratching my head at how I lost :confused: Talk about a monumental choke after being up 50-25 before the late games :( Although I shouldn't call it a choke because that would be taking away the deserved kudos for quin_stick. Never picking Tucker in a fantasy line up again. Flog.

And two ****ing weeks in a row I've been screwed on MNF :mad:

ND13ConferenceQualifierWrap_zps4a581dcc.jpg

ED SABOL CONFERENCE R3 RESULTS RECAP

BEEZ EDGED OUT BY QUIN STICK 76-78

BLACKY DEFEATED SODAPOP 77-61

WEEB EWBANK CONFERENCE R3 RESULTS RECAP

ARKIE LOST TO TCOL 78-82

CROWMAN23 EDGED OUT BY JEFFDUNNE 71-73

Massive choke by me in all the final games of the round but the damage had already been done.

I don't think I've ever picked every early Sunday game before. It's a great way to start Monday morning rather than just crying over the AE scores page.

Season 2013 was a great season for rookies, special mention to Blacky and Quin_Stick to still be in the running for 2 comps.

Perhaps there should be a rookie of the year prize going forward, would be quite a few contenders this year. Juggalo for his contributions to the forum throughout the year, Beez and Chock Nurris for their consistent scoring each week but to be runner up in 3xko and possible ND and LCS champion has been a huge achievement and my vote would be for Blacky, well done mate.

Simple request: Can you please submit your picks for Week 16. Only takes a minute… throw around a few wild picks… you never know.drd23 Bengali Bomber manureid Toadvine as there is STILL hope to pocket something from 2013 with the LAST qualification chance for the High Roller Sweepstakes. Also makes my job abit easier with already enough time consumed on everything I put in for the LOVE of the comp.. nothing gained from the AE prize subs. We had nine no shows in week 15. :(

Sorry Tones, first time I have missed I reckon. Was flat out in Melb all week coaching vball and just dropped off my radar. Tips already in for this week.

Season 2013 was a great season for rookies, special mention to Blacky and Quin_Stick to still be in the running for 2 comps.

Perhaps there should be a rookie of the year prize going forward, would be quite a few contenders this year. Juggalo for his contributions to the forum throughout the year, Beez and Chock Nurris for their consistent scoring each week but to be runner up in 3xko and possible ND and LCS champion has been a huge achievement and my vote would be for Blacky, well done mate.
Thanks mate :thumbsu:

wont say I haven't had my fair share of luck.

The same chance of winning the lotto if I buy a ticket?;)

Possibly bring in a rule that once you've missed 3 whole rounds you get 0 for every round you miss thereafter.

Makes a lot of sense considering some folk pull the plug :( after Week 12.

Maybe a new competition for everyone that has been eliminated from everything.
Horseshoes! - Whoever gets the closest to 0
From Week 12 onwards - Prize being a your entrance fee for next season.

Maybe a new competition for everyone that has been eliminated from everything.
Horseshoes! - Whoever gets the closest to 0
From Week 12 onwards - Prize being a your entrance fee for next season.

Put that in Santa's AE14 brainstorm sack.