Autopsy AFL 2025 Rd 24 - Port v Suns - Fri August 22nd 7:40pm ACT (Adelaide Oval)

PORT ADELAIDE vs GOLD COAST - Who will win?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 2 6.1%
  • Port by 7-20

Votes: 4 12.1%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 3 9.1%
  • Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Suns by 7-20

Votes: 15 45.5%
  • Suns by a lot

Votes: 9 27.3%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

Umpires aren't instructed to favour one side or the other, if you think that you're a flog. But the umpires crumbled under pressure and succumbed to the noise of affirmation, not what you want at the top level.
If you don't think games are manipulated and umpires are given instructions you are ****ing naive. Read the boys club. The sport is just as corrupt as any other and many in the top positions remain there despite evidence of attempts to manipulate the draft etc

If that's the case, then there should be a lot of bad calls but they'd go both ways about evenly
What we saw here was just blatant match fixing

No it wasn’t. If it was blatant match fixing there would be leaks of the conversations or betting patterns that would explain it.

When the pies beat the dogs earlier this year by a goal they had something like a + 20 differential. I’m pretty sure my drunk self posted wildly that this was corruption and blah blah blah.

It wasn’t. We chose to play at the MCG in an anniversary game and the amateur AFL umpires preferenced the team with the bigger crowd.

Bottom line is that umpiring/refereeing is flawed, but those flaws are mitigated by a) professionalising the umpires and b) simplifying the rules (where possible). The AFL chooses to do neither of those so will sit in this shit until they do.

Glad we won but I thought the crows / Collingwood was the worst umpired game of the year but here we are.

We’ve be absolutely destroyed by the umps all year but tonight - when it didn’t really matter - we got the run.

We had 100 tackles against the Doggies in the 2016 finals series when they were getting KOTD and had zero HTB.

Sometimes we gotta do it for the plot.
See, that’s just Melbourne team fairytale stuff, nothings gonna top that ever.

Lmao Umpires couldn't hide their bias tonight. They were favouring the suns in the first half. No surprise they had the lead at half time. After halftime Gold Coast couldn't buy a free kick...

The only issue with that comment is that the other umpires aren't any better. If you disqualified an umpire every time they had a bad game you'd be pulling them from the u10s.
Come this time of year, there's usually not much between the umpires in rankings and having a howler like that will see a few of them bumped down out of contention.

If you don't think games are manipulated and umpires are given instructions you are ****ing naive. Read the boys club. The sport is just as corrupt as any other and many in the top positions remain there despite evidence of attempts to manipulate the draft etc
Why would you care about a footy league that's manipulated? You're nuts, mate.

Lmao Umpires couldn't hide their bias tonight. They were favouring the suns in the first half. No surprise they had the lead at half time. After halftime Gold Coast couldn't buy a free kick...

This was 33-16 in a one kick game.

Round 2 had a game where a team won by a goal when they got a 33-14 free kick differential. Any thoughts about that one?

That one was horrid as well.

Fact is this shit shouldn't occur.

Umpiring has been shit all year. But we supporters "go oh well its always shit, thems the breaks"

Ouch. Maybe we need to promote the lifestyle factor more to attract the free agents Geelong does, throw in some Dunsborough or Margaret River beach houses.

Or you could try to draft them before we do… so you don’t have to buy them back (Tim Kelly)… thanks for Jezza by the way, he’s been great 👍😁

Thank you Port Adelaide and thank you Kenny :D

Best wishes to Travis Boak in retirement.

I think if there's one game that might make me believe umpiring conspiracies, it's this one. No, I don't think it was rigged, but the umpiring was biased enough and the circumstances lined up enough that you could see why the AFL might instructed the umps to fix it up.

I still think Gold Coast should've won though. Too often they seemed to be playing dumb footy, while Rowell and Anderson chose exactly the wrong times to play their worst game of the season. Rozee and Butters gave them a bath.

I still think they should be fine against Essendon, but that's the kind of loss that might legitimately make it interesting. I'd honestly have more confidence in the Suns bouncing back if it was a more standard loss, oddly.

The numbers are equal to the latter of alphabet
3-- c
21-u-
14- n
Plan Jagyasini Singh GIF

Hey! I'm not accusing umpires of cheating... They're allowed to get caught up in the moment when the home crowd is at fever pitch. I'll excuse them this time but they better be looking after my magpies come finals...

Why would you care about a footy league that's manipulated? You're nuts, mate.
I don't. I care about my club. Sadly, their identity, image, logo, song is all owned by the league so there is no way to support my team without following the league.

This is a league that tried to manipulate the draft to get Franklin to GWS. This is the league that then banned the swans from trading as punishment for stopping their manipulation of the draft despite doing so without breaking any rules. This is the league that 3 years after the Chairman vowed they would be made to pay for recruiting Franklin lost a GF after receiving the most one sided umpiring in the history of the game. This is the league that manipulates the penalties of players based on their needs and wants and then shuts down all ability for the fans to express their outrage over social media. This is the league that launches investigations against a team and coach into cheating via external deals and additional payments, and the end result is a declaration that the coach was getting paid in dubious ways but turned a blind eye before refusing to comment on the findings into the club, sweeping it all under the carpet never to be seen again because you can guarantee the level of rorting was astronomical and would absolutely disgrace the league.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Rd 24 - Port v Suns - Fri August 22nd 7:40pm ACT (Adelaide Oval)