AFL players studying at university

Jimmy Bartel does Law through Open Uni - source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Bartel

For all the stereotypes of footy players, there are some incredibly smart people out there. Luke Ball especially. He got 98 for his TER, was vice-captain of his school (Xavier) - he actually rejected the captaincy role to concentrate on footy and his studies. Overachiever much? I hope he gets his act together and performs to his potential out there on the footy field for the rest of the month. :)

Jimmy Bartel does Law through Open Uni - source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Bartel

For all the stereotypes of footy players, there are some incredibly smart people out there. Luke Ball especially. He got 98 for his TER, was vice-captain of his school (Xavier) - he actually rejected the captaincy role to concentrate on footy and his studies. Overachiever much? I hope he gets his act together and performs to his potential out there on the footy field for the rest of the month. :)

Yeh it's pretty amazing. There are heaps of smart sports people period. To juggle study with top-line professional sport is a credit to them.
It's usually just bitter nerds who paint them all with the same brush. Or they say something like 'but private schools just spoonfed marks'. Tall poppy syndrome etc etc.

Angus Monfries is studying Journalism.

Yeah, was in my class last semester.

Studies at La Trobe and is currently doing one subject a semester, because of training etc.

So it will end up taking somehting like 12 yrs for him to complete the degree.

A mate of mine who attends Flinders University here in SA has told me he sees Port Adelaide defender Troy Chaplin around the campus a bit. Not sure what he's studying though.

I can't say I've seen any AFL players around during my time at the University of Adelaide, although I'm usually only on campus when I have classes, and don't hang around much besides that. However, I did have a class with swimmer Matthew Cowdrey back in first year. He won 8 medals and set 5 World Records at the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games.

AFL players studying at university