AFLQ State Association Div 2 - 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Buffs2011

mate, calamvale had some people wanting to take the scoreboard back to Zero when the incident happened, however the umpires told them not to. Our club rang the league within minutes and left messages explaining waht happened, incase the umpires didnt care

ill get more into it after my season is finished.
surprised your mate watto has not weighed in on this convo yet

We actually spoke to Marty King (think he is 2ic of the league, dont quote me) at the time the headcount was happening and he advised us that it was only a free kick and 50meter penilty. He also said something along the lines of once a score is signed off by the umpires at the end of a game it can not be reversed. I'd say thats what happened at calamvale but correct me if I'm wrong.

Haha a fellow Araratian??? Do we know each other or did we know each other?

Yet another blight on the umpires then if you have been told this. The umpiring blunders sure are mounting up this year. As I said, I never htought it was a deliberate ploy by Coomera, however the consequence does not match the action as it appears you agree.

I had to leave at half time which was nearly bloody full time in a normal game so i must have missed KP's cramp.

Na mate I'm a fair bit younger then you I think, I'm good mates with Plucker and he said you grew up down there too.

We actually spoke to Marty King (think he is 2ic of the league, dont quote me) at the time the headcount was happening and he advised us that it was only a free kick and 50meter penilty. He also said something along the lines of once a score is signed off by the umpires at the end of a game it can not be reversed. I'd say thats what happened at calamvale but correct me if I'm wrong.

This is also what I am led to believe however the umpires did take note of the scores at the time and the details surrounding the count. I believe that will be put in their report along with their recommendations. The umpires were unimpressed as they believe that they informed both sides numerous times following the incident that neither player could be replaced for 15mins of actual playing time following the incident. And Gaz you can't honestly be trying to play the new kids on the block trick can you? You can't honestly tell me that there is no one in you football club that hasn't been around long enough to know these sort of rules. That and the rules are the same in Div 3 so ignorance is no excuse. However i still don't think it was a deliberate act as you had scored nothing in that time it is not like it was of any greater effect anyway.

In the case of this incident i believe the AFL should put in place a rule surrounding incidental red cards. Like in Roller/Ice Hockey where two players are sighted and placed in the penalty bin for the same duration of time they can actually be replaced where as if it is only players form one team then they cannot be replaced.

This is also what I am led to believe however the umpires did take note of the scores at the time and the details surrounding the count. I believe that will be put in their report along with their recommendations. The umpires were unimpressed as they believe that they informed both sides numerous times following the incident that neither player could be replaced for 15mins of actual playing time following the incident. And Gaz you can't honestly be trying to play the new kids on the block trick can you? You can't honestly tell me that there is no one in you football club that hasn't been around long enough to know these sort of rules. That and the rules are the same in Div 3 so ignorance is no excuse. However i still don't think it was a deliberate act as you had scored nothing in that time it is not like it was of any greater effect anyway.

Refering to the new kids on the block- I have said on several occasions how ridiculous it is that you can replace people as it doesn't really penalize a team when a red card is given. My thoughts are a yellow card should be the same but that's QLD for you.

I have just had confirmation that Coomera will play in finals and Redcliffe has no case. The rules that were posted on here last night are different to the one Doug Hail read out to me and the rules they are going off clearly state that the process followed on Saturday was correct.

Case Closed.

The ruling above (if correct) sets a massive precedent IMO. Basically the league are saying that any team can "cheat" by having to many players on the field, for as long as they want up untill the point that they get caught. Once they get caught, it is a free kick and a 50m penalty. Absurd.

Come next week, with the games having more hinging on them, you could have a team that is down use this as a tactic to get back in the game knowing that the penalty is minor. Meanwhile they have a huge advantage for as long as they don't get caught and could potentially change the game.

What's to stop a team from doing this once a quarter?:rolleyes:

The ruling above (if correct) sets a massive precedent IMO. Basically the league are saying that any team can "cheat" by having to many players on the field, for as long as they want up untill the point that they get caught. Once they get caught, it is a free kick and a 50m penalty. Absurd.

Come next week, with the games having more hinging on them, you could have a team that is down use this as a tactic to get back in the game knowing that the penalty is minor. Meanwhile they have a huge advantage for as long as they don't get caught and could potentially change the game.

What's to stop a team from doing this once a quarter?:rolleyes:

This is exactly my point and concern.

The ruling is a joke.

Refering to the new kids on the block- I have said on several occasions how ridiculous it is that you can replace people as it doesn't really penalize a team when a red card is given. My thoughts are a yellow card should be the same but that's QLD for you.

I have just had confirmation that Coomera will play in finals and Redcliffe has no case. The rules that were posted on here last night are different to the one Doug Hail read out to me and the rules they are going off clearly state that the process followed on Saturday was correct.

Case Closed.

I think you guys have been kissed on the pecker tbh.

It is a joke. The interpretation of the laws by AFLQ is atrocious for our league. We are giving the league all this money during the year for affiliation, insurance etc and the premiership doesnt even get you any financial rewards, other then a flag + trophey or even decent umpiring.

Case Closed.

then doug hale better send the rules he is using out to the clubs, and our club will be asking for a hard copy of where his interpretation came from, not the ones in his head. This is an absolute disgrace.

then doug hale better send the rules he is using out to the clubs, and our clubn will be asking for a hard copy of where his interpretation came from, not the ones in his head. This is an absolute disgrace.

I think all clubs do want some clarafaction ( sorry can not spell)
Not that I think any club would go out of there way to cheat but if it happens again the league have to put there foot down for a change

This is absolute hogwash!

Im sure every single one of us here was bought up knowing the rule was if you are caught with too many players the score goes back to zero for the team guilty! WHEN did this change AFLQ?

But, I agree this has to have been addressed properly during the game and not after. Results cant be changed after the umpires hand their reports to the league.

Surely more eyes will be watching and counting during finals as a result of this!

It is a joke, if the rules have changed why have clubs not been told?? I called the head count and spoke to the umpires and said doesn't the score get wiped?? they said it's up to the league to decide and investigate??? Clearly the umpires didn't know what to do!! This lack of enforcing rules has clearly gone to far!!

This is absolute hogwash!

Im sure every single one of us here was bought up knowing the rule was if you are caught with too many players the score goes back to zero for the team guilty! WHEN did this change AFLQ?

But, I agree this has to have been addressed properly during the game and not after. Results cant be changed after the umpires hand their reports to the league.

Surely more eyes will be watching and counting during finals as a result of this!

Watto agree 99.9% with what you said . however the AFLQ has stepped in and changed results when clubs have played unregistered or ineligible players, even when umpires have signed off on game sheets. The more eyes thing is a bit of a furphy, because in the last two weeks counts have been held and clubs found in breach of a basic law of our game and yet the AFLQ does not act. So if more people see the breach will the AFLQ act differently? Well over 100 people saw the incident at Calamvale, probably a similar amount last weekend, I challenge any club, the AFL, the AFLQ or any other state association to post a rule, with back up support, that states that a team found to have more than the permitted number of players on the field for more than an interchange breach where one crosses the line before the other leaves the field of play is only penalised a free kick and 50 mtres.

Everyone should do themselves a favour and look at the rules of the AFL for themselves, these rules say they relate to every state and indicate the AFLQ is to adhere to them.

This is a serious issue for clubs to be assured of the actual rules we play under, and needs to be sorted once and for all.

It is a disgrace that this occured last year and nothing happened, last week and nothing happened, and now a team misses finals because it happened this week and again nothing happened. Our clubs pay good money to the AFLQ to administer the game and apply the rules fairly, they have taken Redcliffe's money under false pretences in my opinion, and will take our clubs money when the time arises. IT IS A CROCK and it smells.

All things being equal, would Redcliffe feel justified in making the finals on this sort of basis - sort of a hollow victory if you ask me. TBH guys, at this level (anything below AFL level really) it is a can of worms the i/chnage process that could be abused for sure as it is manned by volunteers trying to keep up with the flow of the players. Would be 99.9% sure that no coach would be dumb enough and immoral enough to say "why not put an extra player out there until we get caught out". Have never heard of anyone thinking this is a good idea and don't think it will start now.

smy if you know the rule MAY only cost you a goal and you can get three or so why not.
I don't think any person will go out of there way to do it but it would not be hard to play dumb either

I've looked into this further and asked for some further clarification. The rules say the penalty can be free kick and 50m OR scores wiped OR club fined OR something else but I cant remember what it was. It also says if there is a governing body present they can make the ruling of the appropriate penalty.

Because there was AFLQ officials consulted at the time and it was clear that we had not done it intentionally and had not at all benefited from having the extra player (it was 4 minutes, Buffs kicked 2 goals we kicked 1 behind) the appropriate penalty was the 50m which they also goaled from.

We may receive a fine as well.

I dare say the rules will come under review at seasons end. It is just sad that it puts a shadow of doubt over our club deserving to play finals when it was a great hard fought game that landed us there. I feel sorry for nambour this week because I imagine the buffs wont be happy with the loss on the weekend and Nambour are going to cop the brunt of that frustration!

You clearly haven't met many people involved with the Beenleigh or Logan Football Clubs.

Watto agree 99.9% with what you said . however the AFLQ has stepped in and changed results when clubs have played unregistered or ineligible players, even when umpires have signed off on game sheets. The more eyes thing is a bit of a furphy, because in the last two weeks counts have been held and clubs found in breach of a basic law of our game and yet the AFLQ does not act. So if more people see the breach will the AFLQ act differently? Well over 100 people saw the incident at Calamvale, probably a similar amount last weekend, I challenge any club, the AFL, the AFLQ or any other state association to post a rule, with back up support, that states that a team found to have more than the permitted number of players on the field for more than an interchange breach where one crosses the line before the other leaves the field of play is only penalised a free kick and 50 mtres.

Everyone should do themselves a favour and look at the rules of the AFL for themselves, these rules say they relate to every state and indicate the AFLQ is to adhere to them.

This is a serious issue for clubs to be assured of the actual rules we play under, and needs to be sorted once and for all.

It is a disgrace that this occured last year and nothing happened, last week and nothing happened, and now a team misses finals because it happened this week and again nothing happened. Our clubs pay good money to the AFLQ to administer the game and apply the rules fairly, they have taken Redcliffe's money under false pretences in my opinion, and will take our clubs money when the time arises. IT IS A CROCK and it smells.

They need to introduce nationwide ruling that the rule is 'score is wiped to zero'. Zero tolerance on clubs coaches and players that are too lazy/dumb to realize that there is an extra man on the field.

By extra eyes I meant an emergency umpire or AFLQ official sitting with the interchange stewards, one that knows the rules. Surely they will have more resources now its finals and less teams are playing.

On another note, can the Buffs beat Nambour at Palmwoods?

You clearly haven't met many people involved with the Beenleigh or Logan Football Clubs.

No Basis for such stupid comments you clown. maybe you'd have more of an idea if you knew what a spot in the top 5 looked like. go hose yourself off.

They need to introduce nationwide ruling that the rule is 'score is wiped to zero'. Zero tolerance on clubs coaches and players that are too lazy/dumb to realize that there is an extra man on the field.

By extra eyes I meant an emergency umpire or AFLQ official sitting with the interchange stewards, one that knows the rules. Surely they will have more resources now its finals and less teams are playing.

On another note, can the Buffs beat Nambour at Palmwoods?

Answer to that is yes.... The true question is will we? and only time will tell. I know we are capable of beating them up there.

Are you going to come for a watch watto? maybe give possum a shower after the game? you've moved on from flowers i've heard.

Answer to that is yes.... The true question is will we? and only time will tell. I know we are capable of beating them up there.

Are you going to come for a watch watto? maybe give possum a shower after the game? you've moved on from flowers i've heard.

I might come up and watch old Poss' in action, he is on fire, back from injury and I'm guessing will kick at least 5 against the buffs if he plays forward. No showers at Palmwoods this saturday, only bath's and Nambour will already have the hot water running for the buffs :D

Is the Mungtrain playing and is he fit?

Are you going to come for a watch watto? maybe give possum a shower after the game? you've moved on from flowers i've heard.[/quote]

who will stop the flow of goals from many players that are kicking bags for nambour over the last few weeks from beenleigh?

possum - in hot form, will he back it up with another haul?

nambour to run beenleigh ragged on their home deck!

thoughts from anyone else?

gday fellas have 5 very good players from melton south football club in the ballarat football league in country vic...looking a club to play at as of next year im at the coast pm if interested cheers.