AFLQ State Association Div 2 - 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Buffs2011

I might come up and watch old Poss' in action, he is on fire, back from injury and I'm guessing will kick at least 5 against the buffs if he plays forward. No showers at Palmwoods this saturday, only bath's and Nambour will already have the hot water running for the buffs :D

Is the Mungtrain playing and is he fit?

Last I heard he was declared mentally unfit to stand trial.

Are you bored P Pop???

Looking for an argument today it seems :o

Very - With the season over for us there's nothing left to do but try to stir guys up, and then get down and watch our Div 1 boys take out 2 flags.

just curios (please mind the spelling went to school in vic)
p-pop who was there such a difference between your div 1 side and div 2
because it was not minor at all.

and watto and crock you blokes almost got a bit friendly with each other there can not have that happening

And here's me thinking the AFLQ posting a finals draw on the website based on a final 6 for the u/18 finals, when all year it's been a final 5, would be the most embarassing thing they would do this week :o

and watto and crock you blokes almost got a bit friendly with each other there can not have that happening

Difference between our Div1 and Div2 senior sides is experience, and they were flogged all pre-season by the coach so they are extremely fit and have second to none structures and set plays. They should be in the PHC, I reckon they would knock off a few sides in that comp.

As for crock, Im happy he's having some positive input and not making up stories, so best to leave him be for now!:D Crock a little present for you since we are buddies now, see my pic?

Haha mate, don't worry about the spelling, when I was having a go at someone a while ago about that it was just to stir people up as well.

The big difference i experience, like Watto said. The 3's are full of kids, really athletic kids with plenty of potential, but kids nonetheless. Lutto is the only seasoned campaigner for us, Watto would be the next in line at only 24 years old (correct me if I'm wrong there mate). There's stacks of potential from the 19/20 year olds but then unfortunately they will probably head up to Div 1 when they are up to it. The 4's are the same story, with the exception of a few guys edging towards retirement playing for a bit of fun.

It would be great to be more competitive, but with the way it's structured Div 2 is destined to just be a breeding ground to develop the kids coming to the club who have never played before. Even this year we've had a few head up who will be playing finals in Div 1 (the Smith brothers, Seany Powyer, Swanny and JDP). All of these guys have played in the 1's this year after really not having played much footy up until a year or two ago and there's plenty of guys with as much if not more potential as them in the 3's.

Ultimately it's a lack of experience in terms of football knowledge and awareness, and being severely undersized compared to the other senior teams as the average age would never be far above 20.

Difference between our Div1 and Div2 senior sides is experience, and they were flogged all pre-season by the coach so they are extremely fit and have second to none structures and set plays. They should be in the PHC, I reckon they would knock off a few sides in that comp.

As for crock, Im happy he's having some positive input and not making up stories, so best to leave him be for now!:D Crock a little present for you since we are buddies now, see my pic?

I wouldn't agree that they "should be in the PHC". From what I've heard there's a few teams who are all in with a solid shot at the flag, so it's not as though they're head and shoulders above the rest. Hopefully they can come up with the goods though, I know I'm looking forward to sitting on the hill and cheering them on.

They need to introduce nationwide ruling that the rule is 'score is wiped to zero'. Zero tolerance on clubs coaches and players that are too lazy/dumb to realize that there is an extra man on the field.

By extra eyes I meant an emergency umpire or AFLQ official sitting with the interchange stewards, one that knows the rules. Surely they will have more resources now its finals and less teams are playing.

On another note, can the Buffs beat Nambour at Palmwoods?

You say some dumb things - that would be the dumbest. You play Div 2 footy - in Qld - and you have the hide to say that coaches and players are lazy bc they make a mistake!!! FFS, tape one of your matches and we'll see mistakes:eek:

Think it was made pretty clear to all who can read that Coomera had nil advantage (in fact sounds like the Buffs would have won if they left the extra player out there!!) for 4min. If Beenleigh felt they should have won on that basis, good luck to them - reckon their coaches would not feel like winning that way.
Guys - think the situation was very different to a side that snuck a player on knowingly from what I can read, hence the variations in the rules.

Haha mate, don't worry about the spelling, when I was having a go at someone a while ago about that it was just to stir people up as well.

The big difference i experience, like Watto said. The 3's are full of kids, really athletic kids with plenty of potential, but kids nonetheless. Lutto is the only seasoned campaigner for us, Watto would be the next in line at only 24 years old (correct me if I'm wrong there mate). There's stacks of potential from the 19/20 year olds but then unfortunately they will probably head up to Div 1 when they are up to it. The 4's are the same story, with the exception of a few guys edging towards retirement playing for a bit of fun.

It would be great to be more competitive, but with the way it's structured Div 2 is destined to just be a breeding ground to develop the kids coming to the club who have never played before. Even this year we've had a few head up who will be playing finals in Div 1 (the Smith brothers, Seany Powyer, Swanny and JDP). All of these guys have played in the 1's this year after really not having played much footy up until a year or two ago and there's plenty of guys with as much if not more potential as them in the 3's.

Ultimately it's a lack of experience in terms of football knowledge and awareness, and being severely undersized compared to the other senior teams as the average age would never be far above 20.

I wouldn't agree that they "should be in the PHC". From what I've heard there's a few teams who are all in with a solid shot at the flag, so it's not as though they're head and shoulders above the rest. Hopefully they can come up with the goods though, I know I'm looking forward to sitting on the hill and cheering them on.

They would get murdered in the PHC if this is the case - not many "new to football" lads running around at that level. More the question is would Nambour / Logan / Beenleigh hold their own in Div 1 footy?

Fitness yes,set plays say from kick outs,stoppages yes, but seriously lets give the structures word a rest.Even a PHC level,we are tuesday,thursday and saturday footy clubs.The basics still apply.Put your head over the footy,if you haven`t got it be fierce in trying to get it back,use and protect your teammate and kick more goals than the opposition.IMO the word structure or even moreso game plan horribly overused at any level other than State League in QLD.Ofcourse you must be able to hit a target.

Amen to that Noosaboy - is a total wank taken on by coaches when they run out of things to say ie "we lost the game bc we lost our structures" huh!!

Footy at all levels outside of the AFL and probably the best standard in each State below this, is a very simple game that we complicate by trying to take on AFL terminology. Like you said, 2.5hrs training each week (probably not even that for most players) isn't enough to teach much more than better skills, a few set ups and get a bit fitter (although if a bloke drinks piss all week outside of these hrs then no luck there either).

They would get murdered in the PHC if this is the case - not many "new to football" lads running around at that level. More the question is would Nambour / Logan / Beenleigh hold their own in Div 1 footy?

Nah those blokes mentioned would hold their own in PHC no problems, a couple of them used to play for Western Magpies I believe, Swanny did anyway.

I Have played in PHC and Div2. There is a lot of difference between the two I agree. Im not too sure about the difference between div1 and 2 tho, I reckon the Buffs, Logan and Nambour would hold their own no problem in Div1.

Would love to see our div1 side or Coorparoo play a side like Mayne or Burleigh, Surfers and just see how they go

What about a relegation system for the bottom side in PHC to drop down to div1 and the premiers of div1 go up, would that work?

Nah those blokes mentioned would hold their own in PHC no problems, a couple of them used to play for Western Magpies I believe, Swanny did anyway.

I Have played in PHC and Div2. There is a lot of difference between the two I agree. Im not too sure about the difference between div1 and 2 tho, I reckon the Buffs, Logan and Nambour would hold their own no problem in Div1.

Would love to see our div1 side or Coorparoo play a side like Mayne or Burleigh, Surfers and just see how they go

What about a relegation system for the bottom side in PHC to drop down to div1 and the premiers of div1 go up, would that work?

Nah mate no chance because the PHC or Premier league as they call it now is techniqually a semi-professional league by where as State Association leagues are 100% amatuer or meant to be anyways.

Plus the fees associated with the jump I am lead toe beleive are a lot higher and therfore some clubs wouldnt be able to afford it. I do liek the relegation and promotion idea that was floated for Div 1 and 2 though in SA. Would mean that a premiership took you closer to playing better footy and that playing to avoid a wooden spoon in div 1 would increase interest in the games for those clubs trying to stay off the bottom. just IMo of course.

watto mate, love the jersie ( not a jumper like some southerners call them ), mate I have said a lot of possitive things on here, but mostly I get irritated by your attack on our club, like your earlier posts about our oval and your continued attack at our clubs governance. On the subject of ovals, ours is pretty ordinary at present but f__k me dead it is still better than a lot out there. Keep wearing the red and white stripes mate. And follow our exploits, next year, from wherever you are going to be, and see if we can win more than one in a row, or more than one in a season. Hey at least we are having fun.

Now here is a man who knows footy. This should be every coaches basic rules. Lets go out and kick more goals than the opposition ( with the correct number of players on the feild ) and we win. If you havent got it, get it,
be fierce and protect your mates. That is it in a nut shell. That spells good footy.

p.s. do you want to coach a very underperforming but improving team.

Now here is a man who knows footy. This should be every coaches basic rules. Lets go out and kick more goals than the opposition ( with the correct number of players on the feild ) and we win. If you havent got it, get it,
be fierce and protect your mates. That is it in a nut shell. That spells good footy.

p.s. do you want to coach a very underperforming but improving team.

Crock, are you hinting that Rushy has moved on from the Senior coaching role?

Yeah I think Swanny played at the Magpies, and I remeber Jarad saying something about JDP playing Teal Cup? Pretty sure the other guys hadn't played until they came to the club. So this would be their 2nd or 3rd year?

Seany Powyer would have to have played a bit of footy before, he would kill it in higher leagues but I think he's main focus is Cricket?? Poor blokes gets injured a bit too!

I reckon Div2 are in danger of losing Sean Wester, Kendall Jones, Fergus Gerhman, Dan Bruce, Nick Davis, Max Peel, Nick Brooks to Div1 next year. A few others maybe too! That's if they want to play up there though.

Crock, are you hinting that Rushy has moved on from the Senior coaching role?

heard through the vine Rushie doesnt want the gig next year, he has been terrific for the club, hope he hangs around. Im pretty sure he played a few games in our masters so maybe we havent lost him alltoghether. who are you tipping? Im going for Caboolture and Buffs

You say some dumb things - that would be the dumbest. You play Div 2 footy - in Qld - and you have the hide to say that coaches and players are lazy bc they make a mistake!!! FFS, tape one of your matches and we'll see mistakes:eek:

Think it was made pretty clear to all who can read that Coomera had nil advantage (in fact sounds like the Buffs would have won if they left the extra player out there!!) for 4min. If Beenleigh felt they should have won on that basis, good luck to them - reckon their coaches would not feel like winning that way.
Guys - think the situation was very different to a side that snuck a player on knowingly from what I can read, hence the variations in the rules.

so when a player is caught sneaking off and is called back for the count, by the umpire, which happened at Calamvale, a free kick is all that is waranted? There were no red card/yellow card misunderstandings that day, only a club who didnt care that they only had three sitting on the bench untill a count happened. Claiming ignorance of a law/rule only seems to be accepted in div2, and makes our competition look mickey mouse.

I refute your comment about a club that doesn't care crock... It was a very silly yet honest error that occurred on the day... It was for a minimal amount of time... On this topic although discussed t length, this is the reason there is a home and away person on interchange so it would get picked up quickly if done deliberately....

Nambour and Caboolture for mine... Would be great if someone there could update bigfooty with qtr by qtr scores!! I will do so the following week..

I refute your comment about a club that doesn't care crock... It was a very silly yet honest error that occurred on the day... It was for a minimal amount of time... On this topic although discussed t length, this is the reason there is a home and away person on interchange so it would get picked up quickly if done deliberately....

Nambour and Caboolture for mine... Would be great if someone there could update bigfooty with qtr by qtr scores!! I will do so the following week..

Maybe careless, rather than doesnt care. thing is the team that is not not careless is disadvantaged ( maybe 5 minutes or more ) to a degree that deserves more than a free kick in return, in my opinion.
and werent four numbers given to the interchange at the start of the quarter, when only three were on the bench?
anyway doesnt matter now, just hope the aflq clarifies the rule for future events , which we all hope are none.