After the bye

COLLINGWOOD (PS): Likely to be the same result as last year's game.
I've got this game tentatively pencilled in the win column as the Pies most likely will have a top 2 spot sown up by then and will be tempted to send a B-team to Perth in round 23. Their round 24 match is against Geelong so I imagine they'll want to be up for that game.

Why do people think Suban coming back is going to be a big deal? He wasn't setting the field on fire before he injured, just being an average player, maybe a little above average in a few games. It's like a West Coast supporter waiting for the return of Chad Fletcher in 2008.

Provided we get our midfield right (Sandi, Mundy, Hill, Palmer, Barlow, Broughton) and they don't get injured we will give a few teams a good shake.

Someone commented recently that you were one of the best posters on this board Memories. Clearly, they haven't seen this post.

Why do people think Suban coming back is going to be a big deal? He wasn't setting the field on fire before he injured, just being an average player, maybe a little above average in a few games. It's like a West Coast supporter waiting for the return of Chad Fletcher in 2008.

Provided we get our midfield right (Sandi, Mundy, Hill, Palmer, Barlow, Broughton) and they don't get injured we will give a few teams a good shake.

Suban was averaging 20 touches and 5 tackles a game before his injury. You're just jelly because we picked him instead of that dud who went to Carlton.

Lay off the Haterade.

Someone commented recently that you were one of the best posters on this board Memories. Clearly, that haven't seen this post.

We all have our off days eh?

I haven't been here long enough to know if some of you guys are taking the piss but seriously I can't believe that some of you don't think we can win enough games to make the 8.I may be overly optimistic but a 2006 style finish to the home and away season is on the cards.There's some big ins coming back and our wretched luck must be coming to an end...Got a gut feeling that things are on the up and up.

Tend to agree. This is the best team we've named this year, and its only going to get harder to get in the side from now on!!

Suban was averaging 20 touches and 5 tackles a game before his injury. You're just jelly because we picked him instead of that dud who went to Carlton.

Oh wow, 20 touches you say? It's actually 19 but whatever, don't let truth get in the way of a good story.

And considering where he is playing and the role he plays he should be closer to Broughtons stats (who was playing injured for a few weeks). The fact is Broughton is a much better player than Suban will ever be. And didn't cost as much. Whilst Subans averages haven't changed much since his debut. But let's compare to Mitch Robinson who we could have got.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=3130&tid2=4&pid2=3146&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

Dominating Suban and showing clear improvement season after season.

Careful, it's clearly a Tarp.

Oh wow, 20 touches you say? It's actually 19 but whatever, don't let truth get in the way of a good story.

And considering where he is playing and the role he plays he should be closer to Broughtons stats (who was playing injured for a few weeks). The fact is Broughton is a much better player than Suban will ever be. And didn't cost as much. Whilst Subans averages haven't changed much since his debut. But let's compare to Mitch Robinson who we could have got.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=3130&tid2=4&pid2=3146&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

Dominating Suban and showing clear improvement season after season.

people watched Suban last year after a poor pre-season and injury and have formulated their opinion on him from that. Press the refresh button. Its like the MJ thing, it wouldn't matter if he was brilliant for the rest of the season, a lot of people here are going to stick with the opinion they formed on him in the first few weeks. I would take one Suban over 5 Robinsons any day. Broughton is also 4 years older than Suban and has not had his Afl development hampered by injury.

Good luck with that Mems.

Yeah twice the marks, twice the inside 50s, more scoring shots and the same amount of tackles. If we compare it to Subans 2010 form it's even worse. Mitch Robinson is ugly in the face, AFL Is the only thing he has, it is how you know he will put a lot into improving his game. Meanwhile Suban has stagnated for 3 seasons, check his year by year stats to see the proof.

Now Suban's coming back from a serious leg injury and people are acting like it's an automatic best 18 selection. It's just hilarious how biased supporters can be. When he underperforms again whenever he does come back people will just say "oh he's injured", just like last year.

people watched Suban last year after a poor pre-season and injury and have formulated their opinion on him from that. Press the refresh button. Its like the MJ thing, it wouldn't matter if he was brilliant for the rest of the season, a lot of people here are going to stick with the opinion they formed on him in the first few weeks. I would take one Suban over 5 Robinsons any day. Broughton is also 4 years older than Suban and has not had his Afl development hampered by injury.

Not being injured is one aspect of a good player. While some injuries are random chance, most are related to the player and the incorrect methods of training, diet or rest.

Secondly, Broughton played his first AFL game the year Suban did, so they've roughly had the same level of elite competition experience. 3 and a half years doesn't make the gap so large when you consider games played.

You're talking out of your arse. Stats will always be manipulated by you for the convenience of your swollen head.

How else should a head appear when it's swimming with so much information and logic if not swollen?

I've got this game tentatively pencilled in the win column as the Pies most likely will have a top 2 spot sown up by then and will be tempted to send a B-team to Perth in round 23. Their round 24 match is against Geelong so I imagine they'll want to be up for that game.

^^^^^^yep.

This could be one of those years that 10 wins gets in the 8. Our problem is percentage.

If we are still in the hunt to make the 8 and if the doggies in R24 who will probably be playing for picks take the foot off the gas we could scrape in.

The other team who are vulnerable is Hawthorn in round 18. A 6 day break coming off a game against the Dees with a flight to Perth and us with our 2nd week at home swings the game in our favour.

The Saints might also be playing for picks by the time we get to round 19.

First and foremost we have to beat Gold Coast this week.

Doggies, Saints, North all winnable.
West Coast it's a derby so never will I put that down as automatic loss!
chance against the Blues - who are starting to get hit by injury,their backline is understrength and apparently judd ain't getting on the plane as twigs due date that weekend.
Chance against the Hawks - are also feeling the impact of serious injuries to KPP's, kids can cover for only so long and Cyrils out AGAIN with a hammy and Buddy? well we have Mcpharlin.
Pies a loss. Mick will bring his best 22 to get out of the hype of Melbs, it will be mental here in Melbs if rnd 24 is the playoff for the minor premiership. reckon Mick wants to win it all in his last year just to stick it to Eddie for making him retire.
my prediction 12 wins , finish 8th to play WCE 5th in the first week of the finals here at Subi.

I can't see it happening Rod.

Look at the teams we've beaten this year - Brissie twice (bottom 4), Crows (bottom 4), Bulldogs (bottom 8), North (outside the 8 and really struggled early in the year when we beat them), Port (bottom 4) and Essendon (bottom 8). Plus we've been belted by two mediocre sides in Melbourne and the Saints.

That leaves the top sides to play in the back end of the season without Sandilands and Mundy for a big portion of those games so even winning 5 from 9 to scrape into the 8 is unlikely let alone getting on a 2006 like roll.