All Australian thread 2015

I agree. Betts is skilful and is currently being saved by accuracy. Shooting at 71%. He's not in the top ten for score involvements or goal assists. 6th for tackles inside 50 which shows his defensive pressure. I think he would be recognised as a better player if he centred the ball rather than going for miraculous goals.

Only being saved by accuracy?

Seriously?

That's not something to be of value?

I'd rather a forward who kicked 100 goals from 100 shots, than 80 goals and 40 points from 120 shots.

Non-Richmond supporters thoughts on Deledio and his chances?

Obviously there's always bias towards your teams players but I think Deledio, backing up his amazing 2nd half to the 2014 season, has produced another stellar year at HF. Gets the ball and uses it brilliantly and consistently hits the scoreboard.

I'd love to think he'll make it, but unfortunately I don't think he will.

Maybe if he has a ripper final game and decent finals series might sway the voters?

Yeah I like Deledio. How many games has he missed though? He certainly makes the hole team look better when he's on the field.

Easton Wood is the Dogs absolute AA lock this year. Has been better than Murphy and Boyd and doing a much tougher thing than racking up a heap of disposals.

I have the Bulldogs AA ratings as:

Wood
Murphy

Boyd / Stringer
Dahlhaus / Wallis
Bont

With Wood and Murphy the two definites and then Boyd / Stringer the next chances but understandable if they are overlooked. Dahl / Wallis the longshots who have had great years but probably not AA yet. Bont just enormous this year and the AFL ratings reflect that, he will have plenty of All Australian selections in his future, just not this year.
Pretty much how I see it too, although I really hope Stringer gets in. If he has a big final round against Brisbane and ends up with 55+ goals he would be hard to keep out but I agree the two backs, especially Wood should make it.

In terms of Bontempelli, when he gets the ball he is just so good with it and he does all the hard work as well at clearances and contested ball, kicks a few goals, good mark, but at this stage he still can drift in and out of the game which an AA midfielder shouldn't do. But given he is still only 19 to even be doing what he is doing is amazing and I agree his time in the AA will come in future.

Hodge won't make the team.

Mitchell is the only lock for Hawthorn.

Guys like Gunston, Rioli and Gibson are all a chance but no certainties.

Just like in previous years there been too much sharing of the work load at Hawthorn to get many AAs.

I calculated that we had half the AAs in the past ten years as Geelong.
Since 2005 - Geelong 36, Collingwood 23, Hawthorn 18, Sydney 17.
Joke that the greatest AFL team has so little AUS reps

Obviously there's always bias towards your teams players but I think Deledio, backing up his amazing 2nd half to the 2014 season, has produced another stellar year at HF. Gets the ball and uses it brilliantly and consistently hits the scoreboard.

Maybe if he has a ripper final game and decent finals series might sway the voters?

Finals don't count.

He has almost no chance. He's had a great year but he's missed games and there's heaps of contenders for the small/medium forward spots this year. Danger, Martin, Wingard, Stringer are all ahead of him IMO, and he is arguably behind/level with Rioli, Betts and Gunston too.

Does anyone find it funny that one of last years AA backmen (Hooker) just toweled up one of his fellow AA backmen (Rance) in wet conditions playing out of position.

Hooker deserves a spot on the bench this year for his efforts, just saying.

I am positive that without both Hurley and Hooker Essendon would have lost every game.
Hooker toweled up Rance did he? Honestly you have to wonder what game people watch sometimes.

Rance got 7 coaches votes and was one of the best on ground. He had one goal kicked on him, and was pretty dominant rebounding from 50.

Hooker was decent too but most of the good stuff he did was not opposed to Rance.

Could the dogs get 2 or 3 half-backs in??

Wood seems a lock, but Boyd and murph must also be close. If the competition is shaw and laird, it has to be a possibility. Shaw has been good, but he'd average about 15 possessions a game if not for kicking to himself from kickouts. Worst stat in footy.

Hodge's 44 disposals with 27 uncontested possessions in a 70 point victory say otherwise.

Both players average virtuyally the same possessions this year (26.9 Mundy to 26.7 Hodge) yet Mundy gets far more contested possessions at 13.1 while Hodge's are mainly uncontested at 17.9. You can't pot Mundy for useless possessions when Hodge is getting far more cheapies on the outside.

Player Statistics Comparison
David Mundy Name Luke Hodge
Fremantle Dockers Team Hawthorn Hawks
Defender, Midfield Position Defender, Midfield
231 Career Games 267
Murray Bushrangers Origin Geelong Falcons
July 20, 1985 Date of Birth June 15, 1984
30yr 1mth Age 31yr 2mth
192cm Height 186cm
91kg Weight 89kg
2003 National Draft Last Drafted In 2001 National Draft
Round 2, Pick #19 Last Draft Position Priority Pick #1
Fremantle Dockers Last Drafted By Hawthorn Hawks
2015 Stats for Season 2015
21 Games 17
13.4 Kicks Per Game 17.1
Handballs Per Game 9.6
26.9 Disposals Per Game 26.7
4.2 Marks Per Game 6.1
0.5 Goals Per Game 0.9
0.2 Behinds Per Game 0.4
Tackles Per Game 4.4
2.2 Hitouts Per Game 1.4
4.0 Inside 50s Per Game 3.8
0.6 Goal Assists Per Game 1.0
Frees For Per Game 1.4
1.0 Frees Against Per Game 1.2
Contested Possessions Per Game 8.2
13.9 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 17.9
Effective Disposals Per Game 19.4
73.6% Effective Disposals % Per Game 72.7%
2.3 Clangers Per Game 3.4
0.2 Contested Marks Per Game 0.6
0.3 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 0.5
Clearances Per Game 3.7
1.7 Rebound 50s Per Game 2.5
1.2 One Percenters Per Game 2.0
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.2
80.5 Time On Ground % Per Game 82.9
$553,000 AFL Fantasy Price $580,000
105.6 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 111.1
$549,300
Supercoach Price $523,500
113.5 Supercoach Score Per Game 108.2

Sorry you are using his amazing performance against the 4th-6th best team in the comp as a negative because we smashed them. If you take out all our smashings them you have to take out wins against Freo, Syd, etc. Your example helps my argument not yours!

Hodge's 44 disposals with 27 uncontested possessions in a 70 point victory say otherwise.

Both players average virtuyally the same possessions this year (26.9 Mundy to 26.7 Hodge) yet Mundy gets far more contested possessions at 13.1 while Hodge's are mainly uncontested at 17.9. You can't pot Mundy for useless possessions when Hodge is getting far more cheapies on the outside.

Player Statistics Comparison
David Mundy Name Luke Hodge
Fremantle Dockers Team Hawthorn Hawks
Defender, Midfield Position Defender, Midfield
231 Career Games 267
Murray Bushrangers Origin Geelong Falcons
July 20, 1985 Date of Birth June 15, 1984
30yr 1mth Age 31yr 2mth
192cm Height 186cm
91kg Weight 89kg
2003 National Draft Last Drafted In 2001 National Draft
Round 2, Pick #19 Last Draft Position Priority Pick #1
Fremantle Dockers Last Drafted By Hawthorn Hawks
2015 Stats for Season 2015
21 Games 17
13.4 Kicks Per Game 17.1
Handballs Per Game 9.6
26.9 Disposals Per Game 26.7
4.2 Marks Per Game 6.1
0.5 Goals Per Game 0.9
0.2 Behinds Per Game 0.4
Tackles Per Game 4.4
2.2 Hitouts Per Game 1.4
4.0 Inside 50s Per Game 3.8
0.6 Goal Assists Per Game 1.0
Frees For Per Game 1.4
1.0 Frees Against Per Game 1.2
Contested Possessions Per Game 8.2
13.9 Uncontested Possessions Per Game 17.9
Effective Disposals Per Game 19.4
73.6% Effective Disposals % Per Game 72.7%
2.3 Clangers Per Game 3.4
0.2 Contested Marks Per Game 0.6
0.3 Marks Inside 50 Per Game 0.5
Clearances Per Game 3.7
1.7 Rebound 50s Per Game 2.5
1.2 One Percenters Per Game 2.0
0.2 Bounces Per Game 0.2
80.5 Time On Ground % Per Game 82.9
$553,000 AFL Fantasy Price $580,000
105.6 AFL Fantasy Score Per Game 111.1
$549,300
Supercoach Price $523,500
113.5 Supercoach Score Per Game 108.2

Maybe go and see how Mundy has gone against top 8 eight sides.
Struggle street.

Only being saved by accuracy?

Seriously?

That's not something to be of value?

I'd rather a forward who kicked 100 goals from 100 shots, than 80 goals and 40 points from 120 shots.
That's kinda my point. Because he's been so accurate he should be in the side. Had he kicked at say 60% I don't think he would have made it.

I'm not seeing any teams with Stephen Hill in them. Freo supporters could expand on this but when I've seen them the last couple of months he has been outstanding and to me probably their best player in that time frame.

He has had a super year and it would be fitting to see him and Gaff manning the two wings. The ability to get in space and kill teams is crucial nowadays and that should be represented in the AA team. There are lots of man-mountains racking up CP in scrap after scrap but very few that offer the decisive carry and precision that Hill does.

B - J.Gibson - M.Hurley - E.Wood
HB - R.Murphy - A.Rance - H.Shaw
C - P.Dangerfield - N.Fyfe - D.Hannebery
HF - J.Stringer - T.Walker *C* - T.Lynch (Adel)
F - E.Betts - J.Kennedy (WCE) - C.Wingard
R - T.Goldstein - S.Pendlebury *VC* - M.Priddis
B - M.Boyd - B.Deledio - J.Steven - J.Roughead (HAW)

Lynch has had a great year, but nowhere near All Australian. Has only kicked 27 goals for the year.

Think Swan has had a better year then Steven and Boyd

No way Lynch is in the team over Gray

I would have Cameron Sandilands in over Roughy

Yep.

You can put in plenty of mids but let's appreciate just what a great job Lynch has done as a high half forward.

Robbie Gray in before Steven is fair enough.

Deledio's missed too many games unfortunately. A full season at his current form and he'd be right in contention. Possibly next year if he plays at the same level.

Roughy not close, his great been excellent but his poor games he is unsighted.

I'm not seeing any teams with Stephen Hill in them. Freo supporters could expand on this but when I've seen them the last couple of months he has been outstanding and to me probably their best player in that time frame.

He has had a super year and it would be fitting to see him and Gaff manning the two wings. The ability to get in space and kill teams is crucial nowadays and that should be represented in the AA team. There are lots of man-mountains racking up CP in scrap after scrap but very few that offer the decisive carry and precision that Hill does.

I think Hill has had a great year for us and you're right that he'd be very close to Freo's best the last couple of months along with Mundy. He 's also one of the 3 players nominated by his team mates for this years MVP voting. The other 2 were Fyfe and Mundy, so he was ahead of Sandi

It's be nice to see him in the squad, but I think he'll struggle to make the team just because the selectors are usually reluctant to select one winger, let alone two. So he would probably need to displace Gaff if he were to make it. I think the only argument I could make for Hill over Gaff is that he is more directly involved in his teams goals. Hill has directly contributed (Goals and Goal assists) to 10% (27) of Freo's goals, and Gaff only 5% (16) of West Coasts

I think Hill has had a great year for us and you're right that he'd be very close to Freo's best the last couple of months along with Mundy. He 's also one of the 3 players nominated by his team mates for this years MVP voting. The other 2 were Fyfe and Mundy, so he was ahead of Sandi

It's be nice to see him in the squad, but I think he'll struggle to make the team just because the selectors are usually reluctant to select one winger, let alone two. So he would probably need to displace Gaff if he were to make it. I think the only argument I could make for Hill over Gaff is that he is more directly involved in his teams goals. Hill has directly contributed (Goals and Goal assists) to 10% (27) of Freo's goals, and Gaff only 5% (16) of West Coasts

This number doesn't mean much because of the sample size, this is where we need the scoring change involvement. Again all this data we don't have access to.

Lynch has had a great year, but nowhere near All Australian. Has only kicked 27 goals for the year.

It's not just goals though, he averages 20 disposals, 8 marks and is by far the number 1 player for goal assists.

He won't even make the the squad because we already have 6 players in contention and are only 7th place but he's had a very good season.