Analysis ALTERNATE VIEW Do we really want top 4?

• Thread starter Thread starter HTT

Do We?

• Yes, we will beat anyone anywhere, one less game is one less stress.

Votes: 11 14.1%
  • Yes, a Qualifying Final will be less pressure

Votes: 12 15.4%
  • Yes, OP is an idiot, of course top 4 is better

Votes: 53 67.9%
  • No, we won't anyway

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, reasons in OP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Time to start tanking for draft picks anyway

Votes: 2 2.6%

I do. Full pressure on them. Cotchin and Martin to dominate the middle while our elite backends in J.Riewoldt and Rance order the scoring ends.
Cheers and I do too but I was referring to the media and footy fraternity.

Everybody wrote us off over summer and many are on the bandwagon now but just wait, first bump in the road and the hounds of hell will be unleashed again

Reckon it's more likely we finish 3rd than 4th if we are to be top 4. If we drop games we shouldn't will be bottom part of the 8 . finish 3rd most likely be geelong at mcg , so effectively a home final

Simmonds Stadium Final?

Would prefer to travel to Adelaide and play the Crows from 4th, than Port from 8th.
An all victorian final would be held at the MCG, no way would the AFL settle for selling 36,000 tickets when they could get revenue from 96,000.

Not sure where to put this, and not sure if it's been mentioned previously anywhere else,
but in 2017, we are one of only 4 teams that have been in the Top 8 for the entire season:
Port Adelaide

I know, I know, stupid question. Of course you want top 4. And we haven't booked September quite yet either. But if we scrape into 4th, Sydney or Port will probably finish 5th. For week 1, we'll have to travel to Adelaide to play Adelaide. I don't like our chances of winning that. Then we get a home final against most likely Sydney or Port. Port, no worries, I'd back us to win at home, but Sydney? They are arguably the best team in it and even with HGA we would be no more than 50-50 to win that imo.
You may differ, but I'm firmly of the opinion that winning a final would be a massive monkey off the back and help us enormously, and with the bye somewhat absorbing the advantage of a week off, would we rather finish 5th and play 8th (likely Essendon, WCE or WB), who've played their grand final in r23, to warm into September? Obviously, finishing 3rd and most likely facing Geelong at the G in round 1 is a different story altogether.

I wonder , what the drug cheats chances against the wesagles are?. Josh might have a headache and other factors.

Maybe
Joe will Bob up and kick 6 ?

I assume we are supporting the cheats against the scum for Richmond related reasons now.

It's a weird looking corona ladder currently. Some teams played 12 games

I wonder what the drug cheats chances against the chances are.. v wesagles. Josh might have a headache.

aybe
Joe will Bob up and kick 6 ?

I assume we are supporting the cheats against the scum for Richmond related reasons now.

It's a weird looking corona ladder currently. Some teams played 12 games
Thanks for bumping my shittest thread ever :p

This year is different but definitely still want top four.

Could go:
Bye
Bye
Qualifying final
Bye
Prelim final
Premiership

Cue salt mine.
i worry that we have been inconsistent off the bye. not geelong bad, but i have it in my memory that we dont play so well off them. having so many byes so close together is a worry.

We play Wednesday 2nd v Freo, have the bye and then Fri 11th v Geelong. Only 9 days off, but with four games in 18 days prior to it the bye will probably be quite welcome.

The pre-finals bye everyone has. We get it after two games so I would think we’ll need it less than other sides but it should mean all players can be tuned up.

We have won two of three prelims coming off the week off. The year we didn’t we were flat towards the end of the year, whereas in 2017 and 2019 we were building both years as the season closed. I’m sure DH and the rest of the Richmond brains trust is fully aware of what worked and didn’t work across those three seasons.

The only way we finish top four is if we win every game, correct?
Not necessarily. If WCE drop two they miss. I’m starting to think they might drop one or two. They play Essendon and Bulldogs. Two danger games against teams who will be fighting for survival. West Coast are vulnerable.

I don't know if they'd lose both of those. But I get what you mean.

I think our position on the ladder looks better than it is, as we haven't missed a game.

I don't know if they'd lose both of those. But I get what you mean.

I think our position on the ladder looks better than it is, as we haven't missed a game.
We’ll hopefully beat Geelong so it shouldn’t matter

The only way we finish top four is if we win every game, correct?
We are half a game ahead of wet toast but they have an extra game in hand.
We have to win one more game than they do, or alternatively port / Geelong / Brisbane shit the bed.

We are half a game ahead of wet toast but they have an extra game in hand.
We have to win one more game than they do, or alternatively port / Geelong / Brisbane sh*t the bed.
Not really. We play Geelong in a couple of weeks. We don't have to hope for other teams to do anything. All we need to do is win our remaining three games and we are guaranteed a top 4 spot

Elton Johns Wig and i discussed this a while ago, we reckon finishing 5th may not be a bad thing this season. Logic being we have guys like Prestia, Shedda and Astbury who could use the match fitness and keep building. The extra game may give us more momentum. Because we may have bye, Cats/Crows, pre finals bye, Game to get into prelim (if we finish top 4), bye, then prelim. Whereas if we finish 5th, we go bye, cats/crows, prefinals bye, qual final, game to get into prelim, prelim. I just think it will suit us better this season.

I just want to shut the world up so ****ing badly.