Apples' Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter Apples

He hasn't shown enough in ground ball contests to be a serious contender for the midfield. May have potential as an outside link player within the midfield, but hasn't yet shown that he can be damaging enough with the footy. I like that they are talking about him playing tall, as I think that is his most likely place to succeed in the long term.

As I say, time will tell. Think we'll start to see him really emerge as a player in 2018.

I can see Schaz playing through the midfield. It's likely the one area where his lack of pace isn't exposed.
Hard to see Shaz in the midfield without a significant improvement in his tank and intensity. Clearly can't be an outside mid but to play inside would have to see a big change from now. I think his best go will be using his aerial strength which is what is his biggest quality across half back and perhaps developng a QB type role. I can see that as the role that may suit him best. It will need improvements in the tank and intensity of attack on the ball but not as much as a mid needs.

Think we'll get an answer to that fairly early as I can't see either missing round 1.

Yeah I don’t have Langdon in my 22. With Crisp going back, Howe, Dunn, Moore all in then would think Murray, Schaz, Goldsack and Langdon are fighting for 2 / maybe 3 spots. Practice games will tell but he’s out for mine.

Do you have Varcoe in?

I could see it, midfield opportunities for Shaz
no chance imo. Doesnt have the tank, pace, extraction skills, outside run, or mongrel to play midfield... there's over 20 others in front of him for a spot in the mid rotations currently (again imo), being...

Pendles
Treloar
Adams
Sidey
Maynard
Wells
De Goey
Crisp
Hoskin-Elliott
Brown
Broomhead
Daicos
Thomas
Aish
Smith
Stephenson
Phillips
Varcoe
Wills
Greenwood
Blair

Yeah I don’t have Langdon in my 22. With Crisp going back, Howe, Dunn, Moore all in then would think Murray, Schaz, Goldsack and Langdon are fighting for 2 / maybe 3 spots. Practice games will tell but he’s out for mine.

Do you have Varcoe in?
Interesting call. I think when fit he is pretty locked into the 22. Of the 8 you named plus Varcoe 7 should fill the back half spots. There would be some versatility with Sack, Crisp, Varcoe and Moore able to play elsewhere so potentially all could play.

Interested where you see Murray. Given his interuppted pre season , his good but not great NEAFL season and that he was never seemingly near senior selection at the Swans I would see him as long odds to be in the senior team for round 1. If I had to guess I would rate him a less than 50:50 to become an AFL regular. He has a lot to show before he pushes the incumbents out of the 22

no chance imo. Doesnt have the tank, pace, extraction skills, outside run, or mongrel to play midfield... there's over 20 others in front of him for a spot in the mid rotations currently (again imo), being...

Pendles
Treloar
Adams
Sidey
Maynard
Wells
De Goey
Crisp
Hoskin-Elliott
Brown
Broomhead
Daicos
Thomas
Aish
Smith
Stephenson
Phillips
Varcoe
Wills
Greenwood
Blair

Coming off his injury issues it's unrealistic to expect him to have the tank for it yet but I believe that'll come in time.

He'll never be quick but not sure any of Pendles, Brown, Daicos, Aish, Smith, Phillips, Wills, Greenwood or Blair have too much on him. Of that group though, only Pendles and Wills bring the same physical size to the discussion.

Not sure mongrel is a prerequisite for playing midfield. It's nice to have but I'd take a footy brain and skills over it and Schaz has both those.

Rest I think will come with time.

Yes we bat deep in our midfield rotations but the key is actually finding players who can justify their inclusion in the team in positions outside the midfield. Schaz will do that whereas others like Aish and Smith haven't been able to do it to date.

Interesting call. I think when fit he is pretty locked into the 22. Of the 8 you named plus Varcoe 7 should fill the back half spots. There would be some versatility with Sack, Crisp, Varcoe and Moore able to play elsewhere so potentially all could play.

Interested where you see Murray. Given his interuppted pre season , his good but not great NEAFL season and that he was never seemingly near senior selection at the Swans I would see him as long odds to be in the senior team for round 1. If I had to guess I would rate him a less than 50:50 to become an AFL regular. He has a lot to show before he pushes the incumbents out of the 22

Have you ever seen Murray play a game of footy? Because if you haven't i'm not sure how you can make such a firm judgment.

I don't buy the NEAFL argument. There are players that came out of non traditional pathways or what are (condescendingly at times) called lesser leagues and that have done fine. Zorko came from the NEAFL as an overager and goes alright. Stewart last year was from the GFL.

Coming off his injury issues it's unrealistic to expect him to have the tank for it yet but I believe that'll come in time.

He'll never be quick but not sure any of Pendles, Brown, Daicos, Aish, Smith, Phillips, Wills, Greenwood or Blair have too much on him. Of that group though, only Pendles and Wills bring the same physical size to the discussion.

Not sure mongrel is a prerequisite for playing midfield. It's nice to have but I'd take a footy brain and skills over it and Schaz has both those.

Rest I think will come with time.

Yes we bat deep in our midfield rotations but the key is actually finding players who can justify their inclusion in the team in positions outside the midfield. Schaz will do that whereas others like Aish and Smith haven't been able to do it to date.
Sorry, but shaz is no lock for our best 22 atm, and has plenty of players breathing down his neck. Having no gun small defenders has prob saved him to date.

The rest of your comments sound great in theory, but he is best suited to a loose defender / link man role, and his lack of pace, endurance and even strength has made him a liability at times doing even that.

Up close he does not have the sharpness, explosiveness, extraction skills or running ability to play mid. & his kicking is quite honestly overrated atm. Not penetrating or elite enough under pressure as suggested, or more likely hoped, by many. I wish it were different & also hope it gets better, but a mid he is not...

Sorry, but shaz is no lock for our best 22 atm, and has plenty of players breathing down his neck. Having no gun small defenders has prob saved him to date.

The rest of your comments sound great in theory, but he is best suited to a loose defender / link man role, and his lack of pace, endurance and even strength has made him a liability at times doing even that.

Up close he does not have the sharpness, explosiveness, extraction skills or running ability to play mid. & his kicking is quite honestly overrated atm. Not penetrating or elite enough under pressure as suggested, or more likely hoped, by many. I wish it were different & also hope it gets better, but a mid he is not...

Happy to agree to disagree. Time will tell.

So Someone like Appleby and Murphy could be Pushing for Schaz Spot then.

Don't write him off yet. This is the Longest he been at the Club Without getting Injuredw

My view is that I could see him getting midfield minutes, not that he definitely will but has potential to. I’m a big wrap on Shaz, especially with the obstacles he’s had to overcome. I would wait and see how this year progresses before any definitive statements are made. He looks to be a very handy player in the back half and will wait to see if that can translate into midfield minutes over the course of his career.

Have you ever seen Murray play a game of footy? Because if you haven't i'm not sure how you can make such a firm judgment.

I don't buy the NEAFL argument. There are players that came out of non traditional pathways or what are (condescendingly at times) called lesser leagues and that have done fine. Zorko came from the NEAFL as an overager and goes alright. Stewart last year was from the GFL.

Uninformed opinions on Sam don't help
Fair dinkum a guy who makes the team of the year , gets tagged off half back in the gf due to being identified as one of major reasons they performed so well ( heater) can't do much more
Has pace that we crave, in the position we lack
Has daring
Has huge upside and is tough
I will reiterate if you come third in the ovens And murray senior comp as a kid, you can play and have the RIGHT stuff
If anyone thinks that after 8 games as a halfback only , he would dislodge mcveigh, rampe, mills,jones, melican (explain which team those guys WOULDN'T
Play for) who's spot is his?
Little bit of perspective

Absolutely agree with what you say and of course Murray can make the grade.

My comments are not based on any expertise or seeing him play. I havent seen him play but if I had it would be a crapshoot as to whether I could guess anything about him. Even the professionals like Hine will have a poor pick up rate for kids coming from a background like Murrays. Nature of the beast is most of them dont' make it

That's all I am basing it on. Somone picked as a rookie who spends 2 years on a list without playing senior footy is coming off a low base and the odds favour them not making it. Hopefully Murray is the exception and there are plenty of them as you point out. Think its fair on Murray that supporter expectation is kept in check and there is no gnashing of teeth if he isn't ready round 1.

Absolutely agree with what you say and of course Murray can make the grade.

My comments are not based on any expertise or seeing him play. I havent seen him play but if I had it would be a crapshoot as to whether I could guess anything about him. Even the professionals like Hine will have a poor pick up rate for kids coming from a background like Murrays. Nature of the beast is most of them dont' make it

That's all I am basing it on. Somone picked as a rookie who spends 2 years on a list without playing senior footy is coming off a low base and the odds favour them not making it. Hopefully Murray is the exception and there are plenty of them as you point out. Think its fair on Murray that supporter expectation is kept in check and there is no gnashing of teeth if he isn't ready round 1.

That's an interesting one, which I'd love to see some stats on. Far fewer players are selected from outside the U18 leagues; however, without looking at any stats, I suspect that the hit rate for them would be better than for those who come straight from the TAC Cup.

Appleby is going to be a genuine steal from the Rookie Draft. Him & Michoek are both going to be great.

Just returned from the Gold Coast training day. Shocked to see all players down when I arrived!
0dc267a11d7f8095cd90dea992d7f33c.jpg
Full report to follow.

Appleby is going to be a genuine steal from the Rookie Draft. Him & Michoek are both going to be great.
Maybe Appleby.
I think he was a bit stiff not to be drafted in main draft. But he gets his chance.

Mihoceck? I'm Unsure. He's back up I guess. Hope you're right.

Just returned from the Gold Coast training day. Shocked to see all players down when I arrived!
Full report to follow.
When they see Ted Parker, it's only fitting, they are not worthy.

(you do have a ripper avatar name and picture)

Full report to follow.

Lot of cars there for a training run.

Maybe Appleby.
I think he was a bit stiff not to be drafted in main draft. But he gets his chance.

Mihoceck? I'm Unsure. He's back up I guess. Hope you're right.
Mihoceck isn't just "back up". I'd put money on him starting Round 1 vs the Hawks.