Bad luck, so brave

Aye, great game.

Hope you finish 8th. Would love to see a Bombers/Carlton elimination final.

Brilliant game! Unfortunate that someone had to lose. I'm stoked but so easily could have been distraught. Tough gig, but that's the way it goes. Good luck for the rest of the year. Have to admire the Swans, they just turn up every week. :thumbsu:

Yup, would take the Bombers over the bluebaggers too.

would have been fitting had Goodes slotted it since it sounded like he was B.O.G.

if he can keep this run of form up, he might give a 3rd Brownlow a shake.

at this moment i can see a monster 1st week of finals looming.

carl v ess
wce v syd
coll v st.k
gee v haw

grand final re-matches of the from the last 5 years in 3 of the games and ess v carl speaks for itself. what a week that would be.

Would hope every Essendon supporter clapped for both teams after the game.

A game of football worthy of the glory years, and easily a contender for match of the year. Unbelievable game, incredible ending, came out of it happy with the result and with even more respect for Sydney than I had before.

Looking forward to the next one, the teams match up well, and it's relieving in a sport with some very bitter, spiteful rivalries to have a team like Sydney who I not only respect, but enjoy watching earn their place with people based off the competition they provide.

Kudos.

Would hope every Essendon supporter clapped for both teams after the game.

A game of football worthy of the glory years, and easily a contender for match of the year. Unbelievable game, incredible ending, came out of it happy with the result and with even more respect for Sydney than I had before.

Looking forward to the next one, the teams match up well, and it's relieving in a sport with some very bitter, spiteful rivalries to have a team like Sydney who I not only respect, but enjoy watching earn their place with people based off the competition they provide.

Kudos.

Respect.

Cheers.

Hard to be too disappointed with the result after watching 2 teams throw everything they had at each other for 120 minutes. It was one of those games that reminds you why we live and breath footy.

Great win by your boys.

Just wanted to say what a fantastic game that was from a neutral's pov. Sydney was desperately unlucky, obviously. Also wanted to say what a fantastic game Ted Richards had. Also, Reid is looking like he'll become a genuine star forward: Balance, Skill, just needs a couple more kg's and he'll be crashing the packs as well. Brilliant game.

hi all, watched the game with the volume down so i would not hear the dribble, you guys were r*ped by the umpires , when you looked like you could push away. That hair flick that got hurley free was a joke, he has been taking lessons from morefrees. Goodes is a freak, was just unlucky. Good game.

Losing a game against the bombers by a point that we should have put away would normally leave me gutted, but it was such a great game that I cant begrudge them the 4 points. I hope they take 8th away from Freo, who aren't nearly as worthy. If we can keep up this form I think we might still earn a home final.

hi all, watched the game with the volume down so i would not hear the dribble, you guys were r*ped by the umpires , when you looked like you could push away. That hair flick that got hurley free was a joke, he has been taking lessons from morefrees. Goodes is a freak, was just unlucky. Good game.

meh. The crowd worked the umps over, howling after every decision that went against them whether it was there or not, but they didn't ruin the game for me so they must have been half decent.

at this moment i can see a monster 1st week of finals looming.

carl v ess
wce v syd
coll v st.k
gee v haw

St. Kilda can't make the top 4. Well maybe mathematically they can, if two of Hawthorn, Carlton and West Coast lose every game and they win every remaining game. Can't be bothered checking but even then it might not be possible.

Still, could be a couple of great games in there. Geelong V Hawks would be brilliant, with the winner a massive chance at making a GF (i.e. avoiding Collingwood in the Prelim). Carlton V Essendon, or Collingwood V Carlton (if Carlton can take 4th) would be massive. Freo probably won't make the 8 but if they snuck into 8th and WC finished 5th, that would be a huge event.

I reckon we'll end up playing St Kilda. Losing last night means that might now be in Melbourne rather than Homebush.

St. Kilda can't make the top 4. Well maybe mathematically they can, if two of Hawthorn, Carlton and West Coast lose every game and they win every remaining game. Can't be bothered checking but even then it might not be possible.

Still, could be a couple of great games in there. Geelong V Hawks would be brilliant, with the winner a massive chance at making a GF (i.e. avoiding Collingwood in the Prelim). Carlton V Essendon, or Collingwood V Carlton (if Carlton can take 4th) would be massive. Freo probably won't make the 8 but if they snuck into 8th and WC finished 5th, that would be a huge event.

I reckon we'll end up playing St Kilda. Losing last night means that might now be in Melbourne rather than Homebush.

I reckon it'll come down to the game against the Saints at ANZ in a couple of weeks. If we win that we'll host them.

Yep, could well come down to that. Although we are now a game and 3% behind the Saints, so we might need them to lose one more game than us on top of beating them in Rd 22.

You'd expect us to beat Richmond and Brisbane but lose to Geelong.

Saints have Collingwood, North and Carlton. You'd expect them to beat North and lose to the Pies. Probably underdogs against Carlton as well although I'd say it's a 50-50.

What would really help is a percentage boost against Richmond and Brisbane while hopefully avoiding too much damage against the Cats. If we can claw back that 3% then beating the Saints should be enough to get 6th.

Top thread, a good winner is always welcome after such a tight game.

I wouldn't be surprised if we meet again at ANZ (sadface) in the first week of the finals.

Just watching Goodes go about it, his article about (paraphrasing) ' calling players "magic" undersells all the hard work done' rings true. Man works freakishly hard.
Can't deny I loved seeing him miss, but have to appreciate how much he puts in.

Ripper match. So many great contests. Big blokes charging up at the ball, goal sneaks sneaking ahead of it and pinging shots, gun on-ballers doing their thing, Mummie & Hille charging around like dreadnoughts.
Great example of the game.