Before you are 30?

• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

Have you ever thought about what things you would like to achieve before you turn say......30?

Now in my last few weeks of 20-something-ish, my mother decided to ambush me today with 'well have you achieved everything you wanted to before you turn 30?'!!! I could have brained her! It was certainly not something I had previously thought about.

Unlike many others my age, I have never been married (tho I did come bloody close a few years ago - phew that was a close escape!), I don't have a mortgage, and I never got around to travelling overseas as an adult. I have however acheived the 'normalness' of owing the bank for a car and credit card, had a child, have a job/career, and competantly run a household. How bloody boring!!!

And while I am at it, a very big thanks to my friend Carolyn who has me convinced that turning 30 is the best birthday in life. You are young enough to still enjoy life, and old enough to understand how the world really works. And of course to Shinners and his 'youth is wasted on the young' saying, that each week as I approach that milestone I am finding truer and truer!

But.............only 3 weeks to go..........is there anything I really should 'achieve' before I turn 30???????

I made one of these lists when I was 20. It contained stuff like - go bunjee jumping, go to South America, I think I listed a stack of musicians I wanted to see perform live, I wanted to own all this stuff.. etc

I'm 28 in a week and a half and these things are so not important to me now. It shows how I've changed. I've lost my sense of adventure and I don't think I'm as materialistic as I was before. I managed to see a lot of the bands I wanted so at least I've got the memories of that.

If there was anything now I wanted to achieve before 30 I guess it would be more spiritual stuff like to be at greater peace with myself, be more forgiving and all that crap. Is that something you could do in 3 weeks though I wonder?

I absolutely dreaded turning 30. The whole idea of not being 20-something anymore freaked me out. I thought I was so old and I desperately wanted to turn back the clock.

Funny thing is, once I actually became 30, my life improved 100%. I think there's a big fear that we haven't done the things we'd planned to do. It's easy when you're 20 to imagine how you want your life to turn out, and you think it will all be in place by the time you're 30. I imagined I'd be married, own a home, have a great job, couple of kids and have travelled a lot. I have the kid, but that's about it.

When I stopped and thought about the things I always thought I'd have, I realised they're not the things I want anymore anyway. And that's the trick.

In 11 days I'll be 31 and I can honestly say that 30 has been the best year of my life and I have every confidence it will just keep getting better and better.

By the time i turn 30 id like to play competitive footy again at a reasonably high level (Div 1 or something)...id also like the business i am in the process of starting with a mate to become extremly successful.
I would like to meet a woman who i like, and who likes me etc etc

just normal stuff

Never really worried about age - currently, being 30 doesn't really bother me. Don't worry about what you have yet to achieve, as there is always plenty of time to do what you desire. They key is to enjoy what life brings you & if you really wan't to do something, then stop making excuses!

Whilst I don't think you are ever 100% satisfied, I'm pretty content with what I have done & how thing stand - I have a good job (well most the time), good friends, family & pets, own most of my house, all of my car, travel regularly overseas, Crows & SACA membership, ... but so much more to do / discover :)

Danni

Nothing wrong with turning 30, heaps of time to achieve what you want, as long as you are healthy & fairly comfortable money wise it is a great age, also you have a wonderful son & I feel that bringing a child into the world is one of the best things in life. Just enjoy it & party hsrd & long on the day. :D

Darky, tell me the date in 4 years time & I will bring a gun for you. :eek:

In retrospect my 20's were horrible. Lots of personal crisis, a job I hated, a destructive lifestyle and being stuck in a terrible relationship.

I met my wife when I was 31, quit the job and bought a house at 33, became a dad at 34, married her at 35 and became a dad again at 36. The 30s are easily the best years so far.

Mantis I am not worried about turning 30. Infact I can't bloody wait till it gets here!!

My 30's have to be better than my 20's!!!!!!

Tho I am regretting saying that earlier this year. It has been like fate has tried to cram in all the bad stuff while I am still 29 this year!!!!! I mean seriously - how many ppl you know have had 4 immediate and 3 extended family members pass away this year? Along with the old cat and dog? The lady at work nearly dying on the phone in her car while you tried to get the ambulance to her, 2 days later your mum writing off her car, and 2 days after that your now-only surviving grandparent collapsing in your arms??????

Cripes what a year.............................

As I said - my 30's can only be better than my 20's!!!!

I gave up celebrating or trying to arrange something for my b'day a few years ago as it is too close to xmas, and most ppl have both financial and family/friends/work obligations elsewhere at that time of year. But this year a few of my Lions friends have said 'no excuses, we can't let the milestone pass without doing SOMETHING', so it looks like in 3 weeks I will be celebrating a b'day for the first time in years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

well my 20's werent too bad as I gave birth to two great children...

the 30's are ****...

so I say BRING on the 40's ( cause they say life begins at forty)
and by that time after leaving my husbnad earlier this year, I am hoping my life will be back on track...

My advice to you and something that I am trying to learn is to not "STRESS" to much as things tend to work out...

Danni.... HUG...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)

Originally posted by Go_the_young_Guys
well my 20's werent too bad as I gave birth to two great children...

the 30's are ****...

so I say BRING on the 40's ( cause they say life begins at forty)
and by that time after leaving my husbnad earlier this year, I am hoping my life will be back on track...

My advice to you and something that I am trying to learn is to not "STRESS" to much as things tend to work out...

Danni.... HUG...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)

Well before I was 20 I was married with 2 kids, by the time I was 34 I had been married & divorced twice, 6 months before my 40th I ended my last destructive relationship, I am now happy & stress free for the first time since being a teenager, so I reckon being 40 is great. :D

Originally posted by mantis

Well before I was 20 I was marred with 2 kids, by the time I was 34 I had been married & divorced twice, 6 months before my 40th I ended my last destructive relationship, I am now happy & stress free for the first time since being a teenager, so I reckon being 40 is great. :D

Actually I think Mantis said it best on another thread..............one of carlton_***'s threads about do you have a Boyfriend or Girlfriend...............

Now what was the quote................." Well let's see, I am happy, I am stress free and I am financially secure, so I must be single" or something like that!!!!!!

I turned 30 on September 12 2001. Everybody was telling me, life ends at 30, but when I woke up I was feeling reasonably good, and then I turned on the TV and saw what was happening in NY. I wasn't a great start to my fourth decade.

I would like to have played at least seven years of A.F.L. Footy for the Essendon Bombers. Won the Norish Rising Star. Won the Brownlow 6 times. Played in and won 7 Grandfinals, Kicked 300,001 goals and have been entered into the A.F.L. hall of fame.

Not much ambition.