Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Just thought the GC of all clubs (armed with their huge array of draft picks and access to un-contracted players) would not being showing much interest in someone who is 2 years out of elite football.

My surprise in the rumour comes not from his ability. I think he would be a great pick up for any club in the rookie draft, but thought if any attention was to come his way it would be from the other clubs trying to uncover hidden talent in compromised drafts.

A 21 year old KPF who has kicked consecutive tonnes, one in a major league just after half way would not be out of place in an AFL environment next season.

Good luck to him.

Its interesting the Grant Weeks situation. He is probably in the gun of a few sides buit how many kids come out of major country leagues and get drafted these days. Last I can think of (and Im sure somebody will add newer examples) was Karl Norman from O&M to Carlton.

Personally I think Justin Maddern has more appeal at AFL level as far a KPP. Faster, fantastic vertical leap, gets up the ground more...

But how about Jack Geary?
Brodie Filo is apparently turning Freos head at Peel..
and, lastly, Lee Coghlan, some delicious irony in a guy who got passed over a bit who also won the Michelsen at 18 presenting Lee with his edition...
:thumbsu:

They have the old style logo on the front as well as a white 'v' at the top and then on the back they are a Collingwood style black and white strips below the black panel for the number.

I don't think they are a replica of anything, more of a mash up of a few different jumper styles from over the years.

Take a bit of getting used too but I reckon they look good. Good to have something different.

On another note I am quietly confident this could be our week to break through.

Spot on there MaineMan.

Huge inclusion for Castlemaine this week, one that the fans have been waiting for all year.

Should make it a certain victory.

Its interesting the Grant Weeks situation. He is probably in the gun of a few sides buit how many kids come out of major country leagues and get drafted these days. Last I can think of (and Im sure somebody will add newer examples) was Karl Norman from O&M to Carlton.

Personally I think Justin Maddern has more appeal at AFL level as far a KPP. Faster, fantastic vertical leap, gets up the ground more...

and, lastly, Lee Coghlan, some delicious irony in a guy who got passed over a bit who also won the Michelsen at 18 presenting Lee with his edition...

There is more than one club looking at Brodie Hoops - that's the beauty of having a potential No 1 in your side.

Doc’s Game Previews and Tips for Round 13

Golden Square v Sandhurst - 29
Should be an entertaining game. On Anzac Day weekend, Jack Kennedy did a great job on Weeks keeping him to 4 goals for three qtrs, only to watch the young gun kick 5 in the last to ultimately be the difference between the two sides. Even Weeks himself nominated that as one of his best performances. Mark Fitzgerald is out yet again but the Hurst spine still looks capable with Borchard, Wilkinson, Thornton and McGee. I think after last weekend’s effort, the Dragons are destined for the Elimination Final. Tomorrow will provide an opportunity to learn just how far they have to go to be a consistent, ruthless football side. I strongly believe they have the talent to cause an upset, but in reality they just can’t seem to put it together for 4 qtrs so another ‘honourable loss’ is on the cards.

Eaglehawk v Maryborough- 46
Shane should be nice and clear about the umpiring decisions this week so no excuses. No changes for the Pies after a disappointing, yet expected loss last week. They have had recent success over the Burra, ironically enough in Round 13 last year. At home by 61 points in fact, (Talking Goat & the team at The Advertiser got that stat wrong… it’s ok, happens to the best of us). Eaglehawk look a settled side and their five wins in a row have helped bring them together at a time in the year when complacency can creep in. Think the Burra should make it six in a row.

Kyneton v Gisborne – 2
This is my roughie for the week. Condos is in for his ‘farewell game’ before he jets off with the new Mrs. Last time, the Bulldogs kicked away in the second half kicking 9 goals to 6. Since both teams have been struggling in defence, I’d say it will be a shoot-out up forward. Given Saunders is not playing, and Jimmy Condos is…. Kyneton at home for mine. Another opportunity for a great crowd and money raiser for the Tigers.

South Bendigo v Kangaroo Flat - 66
Kangaroo Flat in the past have always played well at the QEO against South, but that was the past. Geary out, and I don’t see the lithe frame of Liam Clohesy doing anything to stop big Dayne Frew who regularly kicks bags against the bottom 5 clubs. South too big, too strong, too good.

Strath Storm v Castlemaine - 31
A bit more yap about Storm this week after knocking off a top-5 side. Must win this week and win well for finals to be any chance. To even be talking finals at this stage of the season, in their second year, is a great feat for the club. Keep an eye on Lachy Sharp as a Michelson Medal smokey. Lee Coghlan showed last year that you don’t always have to play in a top 3 side to be in with a chance.

Golden Square v Sandhurst - 29
Should be an entertaining game. On Anzac Day weekend, Jack Kennedy did a great job on Weeks keeping him to 4 goals for three qtrs, only to watch the young gun kick 5 in the last to ultimately be the difference between the two sides. Even Weeks himself nominated that as one of his best performances. Mark Fitzgerald is out yet again but the Hurst spine still looks capable with Borchard, Wilkinson, Thornton and McGee. I think after last weekend’s effort, the Dragons are destined for the Elimination Final. Tomorrow will provide an opportunity to learn just how far they have to go to be a consistent, ruthless football side. I strongly believe they have the talent to cause an upset, but in reality they just can’t seem to put it together for 4 qtrs so another ‘honourable loss’ is on the cards.

Shane should be nice and clear about the umpiring decisions this week so no excuses. No changes for the Pies after a disappointing, yet expected loss last week. They have had recent success over the Burra, ironically enough in Round 13 last year. At home by 61 points in fact, (Talking Goat & the team at The Advertiser got that stat wrong… it’s ok, happens to the best of us). Eaglehawk look a settled side and their five wins in a row have helped bring them together at a time in the year when complacency can creep in. Think the Burra should make it six in a row.

Kyneton v Gisborne – 2
This is my roughie for the week. Condos is in for his ‘farewell game’ before he jets off with the new Mrs. Last time, the Bulldogs kicked away in the second half kicking 9 goals to 6. Since both teams have been struggling in defence, I’d say it will be a shoot-out up forward. Given Saunders is not playing, and Jimmy Condos is…. Kyneton at home for mine. Another opportunity for a great crowd and money raiser for the Tigers.

South Bendigo v Kangaroo Flat - 66
Kangaroo Flat in the past have always played well at the QEO against South, but that was the past. Geary out, and I don’t see the lithe frame of Liam Clohesy doing anything to stop big Dayne Frew who regularly kicks bags against the bottom 5 clubs. South too big, too strong, too good.

Strath Storm v Castlemaine - 31
A bit more yap about Storm this week after knocking off a top-5 side. Must win this week and win well for finals to be any chance. To even be talking finals at this stage of the season, in their second year, is a great feat for the club. Keep an eye on Lachy Sharp as a Michelson Medal smokey. Lee Coghlan showed last year that you don’t always have to play in a top 3 side to be in with a chance.

Doc - write-up said Maryborough last beat Eaglehawk "at Canterbury Park'' in 2003. Didn't mean to confuse you there.

Yeah big weekend for the Dragons we seriously need to nab one of these games if we plan on going anywhere come finals time.

We're not without a chance, although its not going to be easy.
Big games out of Speckie, The Coghlan Boys, Meady and our whole defence to keep not only Weeks but there other scoring options quiet will help.
Dragons by 2 points! Keeping the faith.

I also reckon Kyneton will get over Gisborne tomorrow for what would be a massive result for them. Toss of the coin but Tigers at home.

Tigers run away with it in the final term. :)

Condos kicked three goals in the first quarter, but then started feeling crook. Didn't play much at all after that. Came off in the second quarter, again in the third, and didn't play at all in the fourth quarter. Only had about 50% TOG.

Great win for the footy club.

i dont see your point , when maddern has had his chance , its onlt taken weeks half a year , from my point having played against the best vcfl footballer we should all be getting behind him , cause he has the best chance of making it , its more about encouragement than bagging enyone!!!!!!

mmmmmmmmmm could and should be an interesting week on here and in Gisborne. Wonder what will happen? Surley a question or two has to be asked? Who is going to take responsibility? Maybe we will sweep it under the banner of a young team who is developing?

i dont see your point , when maddern has had his chance , its onlt taken weeks half a year , from my point having played against the best vcfl footballer we should all be getting behind him , cause he has the best chance of making it , its more about encouragement than bagging enyone!!!!!!

I certainly didnt bag anyone, both wonderful players and I offered up a couple of others. Dont see how Maddern has necasarily had his chance anymore than Weeks, havent they both been in the VFL system?

anyone on here noticed south kicked 10.0 {60}

not a single point 4 the hole day

:D has this been done before ... not just in a major leag but in a district or minor leag also :eek:

For sure someone else would have done that, Greenman, in any league. On a day like yesterday though, it's a remarkable achievement.
Based on scoring opportunities, is it safe to assume Flat might have outplayed South to some extent?

Shane should be nice and clear about the umpiring decisions this week so no excuses. No changes for the Pies after a disappointing, yet expected loss last week. ... Think the Burra should make it six in a row.

I don't expect you will respond to this, just as you ignored the last request to clarify one of your statements.

Why would Shane (Fisher) be nice & clear? Not sure what you are saying.

Also, M'borough made about 4 changes from what I can establish.

Please tell us: Do you guess, ask someone else who doesn't know, or make things up completely?

I don't expect you will respond to this, just as you ignored the last request to clarify one of your statements.

Why would Shane (Fisher) be nice & clear? Not sure what you are saying.
Also, M'borough made about 4 changes from what I can establish. Please tell us: Do you guess, ask someone else who doesn't know, or make things up completely?

To Cousin Ben, I can't believe I'm even bothering to respond in detail. To everyone else, I apologise in advance.

1. Shane should be nice and clear about umpiring decisions after his meetings with the BFUA on Monday. I assumed my comment in regards to that was common knowledge... and it was obviously tongue-in-cheek.

2. You will note I posted my predictions on Friday morning after I glanced at the paper to see Maryborough had NO changes listed. As much as I would like to Benny boy, I cannot physically make it to EVERY game to see who runs out on to the ground.

Now that I have cleared that up, let me answer your first statement... I didn't respond to your last post directed at me because I simply avoid reading your posts.

Why? This is just me, but I haven't seen anything of value/substance posted by you and you seem to be one of those blokes who gets his rocks off by categorically dissecting people's posts (at midnight on a Sunday night no less) in an attempt to give yourself some sort of credibility with the regular readers of the Bendigo footy thread, while at the same time, grand-standing other posters who have been on here for a long time and just want to talk about Bendigo footy. I've never proclaimed to be an expert, I have many friends at different clubs in the league.

I have opinions / observations and sometimes not everyone agrees with them, that's ok I accept that. And that's the difference between you and me Benny. I hope I have given you a deeper understanding on goings on in the mind of Dr Kenneth Noisewater.

Hope you enjoyed my time on the soap box Benny boy, because I will not be responding to anything else you post in my direction... for the exact reason I have stated above. Best of luck champ.

Tigers run away with it in the final term. :)

Condos kicked three goals in the first quarter, but then started feeling crook. Didn't play much at all after that. Came off in the second quarter, again in the third, and didn't play at all in the fourth quarter. Only had about 50% TOG.

Great win for the footy club.
With home games against Strath & Maryborough in August you have the opportunity to at least influence who makes the finals. One or two more wins could even take you further up the ladder.

What sort of crowd was at the Kyneton showgrounds on Saturday?

Spot on there MaineMan.

Huge inclusion for Castlemaine this week, one that the fans have been waiting for all year.

Should make it a certain victory.

Hahaha Keep talking it up there, Beetle, just a shame it didn't pan out.

Although looking at the stats you might have been better value beaking off over the fence! ;)

Were in with a chance at 3 quarter time in some of the worst conditions for footy I've ever seen. Just lacked a bit of experience and having Jimmy O'Brien and Chopper Jardine unavailable hurt as they are probably our best wet weather players.

Hopefully have a few back in for after the split round which will give us a chance to push for that first win.

Strath's game against the Flat Saturday week is going to be the clubs first "mini final" if they can get over the roos they might sneak into 5th, lose and even though major steps forward have been made a look forward to 2011 will start to take shape.

To Cousin Ben, I can't believe I'm even bothering to respond in detail. To everyone else, I apologise in advance.

1. Shane should be nice and clear about umpiring decisions after his meetings with the BFUA on Monday. I assumed my comment in regards to that was common knowledge... and it was obviously tongue-in-cheek.

2. You will note I posted my predictions on Friday morning after I glanced at the paper to see Maryborough had NO changes listed. As much as I would like to Benny boy, I cannot physically make it to EVERY game to see who runs out on to the ground.

Now that I have cleared that up, let me answer your first statement... I didn't respond to your last post directed at me because I simply avoid reading your posts.

Why? This is just me, but I haven't seen anything of value/substance posted by you and you seem to be one of those blokes who gets his rocks off by categorically dissecting people's posts (at midnight on a Sunday night no less) in an attempt to give yourself some sort of credibility with the regular readers of the Bendigo footy thread, while at the same time, grand-standing other posters who have been on here for a long time and just want to talk about Bendigo footy. I've never proclaimed to be an expert, I have many friends at different clubs in the league.

I have opinions / observations and sometimes not everyone agrees with them, that's ok I accept that. And that's the difference between you and me Benny. I hope I have given you a deeper understanding on goings on in the mind of Dr Kenneth Noisewater.

Hope you enjoyed my time on the soap box Benny boy, because I will not be responding to anything else you post in my direction... for the exact reason I have stated above. Best of luck champ.

I should start by expressing my gratitude to you for devoting even the small amount of time and effort you have by responding at all. If I had bothered to properly research the astute contributions you have made to this forum, I would have realised your status places you far beyond the need to enter into banal discussion with petty bit-players. Likewise, I am sure your other worshippers are thankful for the considerate apology you gave prior to addressing my meagre issues.

Please accept my heartfelt apologies for insulting your well-founded notion of acceptable hours of correspondence, kind sir. You know, I often lose track of whether it's night or day in here. I should untape the plastic from these windows and open the blinds once in a while, but that would only create the possibility that someone might peer in and see what a pitiful fraud looks like.

Do you think you can help me, Doctor? No, of course - you don't have to answer that.

As you say, at least this "exchange" has allowed me develop a better understanding of your most brilliant mind.

Humbly yours,

Ben

P.S: Maryborough never have changes in the paper. Between you and me, I think they always try to trick us. But you would never fall for that one, would you ... Kenny boy???

Tips for Round 14 (split)

Pretty straight forward this week.

Maryborough v South Bendigo - 54
Match of the round. South keep rolling along and playing great footy at the moment. Great to see local favourite Michael Leech back on the park along with coach Coburn. The Pies, who never put changes in the paper, have McIntosh, Clarkson, Thomson in and McRedmond, Hooper, Bucknell listed as out. 5th place is on the line as Flat (also on 6 wins) & Storm (on 5 wins) are breathing down the Pies necks. A South win and a Flat win over Storm next week will be interesting.

Gisborne v Golden Square - 87
Not sure of the condition of Gardiner Reserve at the moment, but with above average rainfall this year, it must surely be a mudheap like in past years? Anyone confirm/deny? Only reason I mention it is the conditions will determine the result and how many Weeks kicks.

Sandhurst v Kyneton - 72
As Ben Deuscher continues his stellar VFL form, and Walsh / Fitzgerald battle again with injuries, this game will be a chance for someone else to put their hand up. Likewise, the question for the Tigers is who will step up to kick goals.

Tips for Round 14 (split)

Gisborne v Golden Square - 87
Not sure of the condition of Gardiner Reserve at the moment, but with above average rainfall this year, it must surely be a mudheap like in past years? Anyone confirm/deny? Only reason I mention it is the conditions will determine the result and how many Weeks kicks.

Back on 3rd July when South Bendigo played Gisborne, the ground was a mudheap but not as bad as in previous years. The freeway end especially was not as muddy as it would be expected.

DSC_0128.jpg

Not sure you would label the ground a mud heap?

Cheap & gratuitous ... but very amusing!

Actually, having been to Kyneton this year I could honestly say I don't think I had seen a better surface in the comp. I can't vouch for the past couple of weeks though.

Can anyone tell me why the Bombers - having left for Cairns yesterday - would put an "interchange from" in today's paper, listing BFL players who clearly didn't make the trip? Is it just for encouragement?