Resource Beyond the "66 Game" Rebuild

Knocked this up pretty quickly to help show some positives in the rebuild

Carlton Senior List Players Under 24 (...who have played AFL Games)

* Note: Ages as at 29/12/2017 courtesy Carlton List By The Numbers thread
** Games Played as at Round 7, 2018

View attachment 494574

I know there are a few there who may not make it, but I look at this and see the light at the end of this 15 year tunnel.
Brilliant. Hopefully we’ve already got that ruckman in TDK.

View attachment 494574

I know there are a few there who may not make it, but I look at this and see the light at the end of this 15 year tunnel.
Can't believe Nick Graham is so young.

View attachment 494574

and commentators are always saying that it takes about 75 games before you start to gel as a team and feel comfortable at the level (and grow into your body etc.)

View attachment 494574

Cuningham.

That group of players you listed currently has averages of about 21.5 years and 30 games. Come round 1 that group will be the best part of a year older (obviously...) and hopefully up above 40 games as an average. Doc, Cripps, Kerridge & Plow push that average up a bit but at the same time Doc ain't playing again this year and I've got guys like Byrne, Polson, Silvagni, Garlett, Williamson, Cuningham, Pickett, Graham all in the 3-10 range for the remainder of 2018 which doesn't add much to the rd 1 average.

AFL Player Ratings - as at the conclusion of R8

Patrick Cripps - 21 (-1)
Sam Docherty - 80 (-3)
Lachie Plowman - 229 (-4)

Charlie Curnow - 230 (+12)
Jacob Weitering - 240 (-2)
Sam Petrevski-Seton - 318 (+17)
Sam Kerridge - 350 (+8)
Zac Fisher - 354 (+13)

Jack Silvagni - 387 (-2)
Matthew Kennedy - 415 (-2)
Caleb Marchbank - 450 (-5)

Nick Graham - 452 (+1)
Darcy Lang - 458 (-7)
Jarrod Garlett - 479 (-1)

David Cuningham - 486
Tom Williamson - 508 (-5)
Ciaran Byrne - 535 (-18)

Harry McKay - 536 (+18)
Paddy Dow - 543 (+14)

Jarrod Pickett - 560 (-8)
Harrison Macreadie - 580 (-4)

Lochie O'Brien - 615
Cameron Polson - 658 (-3)

AFL Player Ratings - as at the conclusion of R8

Patrick Cripps - 21 (-1)
Sam Docherty - 80 (-3)
Lachie Plowman - 229 (-4)

Charlie Curnow - 230 (+12)
Jacob Weitering - 240 (-2)
Sam Petrevski-Seton - 318 (+17)
Sam Kerridge - 350 (+8)
Zac Fisher - 354 (+13)

Jack Silvagni - 387 (-2)
Matthew Kennedy - 415 (-2)
Caleb Marchbank - 450 (-5)

Nick Graham - 452 (+1)
Darcy Lang - 458 (-7)
Jarrod Garlett - 479 (-1)

David Cuningham - 486
Tom Williamson - 508 (-5)
Ciaran Byrne - 535 (-18)

Harry McKay - 536 (+18)
Paddy Dow - 543 (+14)

Jarrod Pickett - 560 (-8)
Harrison Macreadie - 580 (-4)

Lochie O'Brien - 615
Cameron Polson - 658 (-3)

Sammy Doc... Top 80 still! Having a ripper season imo. Definitely not a flashy/stand out type this year but just getting it done.
Respect

GAME 52.png
GAME 52 Rnd 8 - WIN vs Essendon (91-78)

15 Youth Players
Coaches Votes: Patrick Cripps (9), Charlie Curnow (1)
Player Ratings Points (AFL, +/- change):

Patrick Cripps - 504.7 (+5.2),
Lachlan Plowman - 295
(-5.2),
Charlie Curnow - 292.5
(+10.6)
Aaron Mullet - 253.1 (+4.1)
Samo Petrevski-Seton - 225 (+11.7),
Sam Kerridge - 205.8
(+3.9)
Zac Fisher - 203.8 (+8.7),
Nick Graham - 119.8 (+3.7)
Darcy Lang - 117.2 (+0.4)
Jed Lamb - 131.4 (+12.8)
Jarrod Garlett - 99.9(+1.2)
Cam O'Shea - 69.4 (+7.3)
Paddy Dow - 53.1 (+9.6),
Harry McKay - 56.2
(+12.2),
Lochie O'Brien - 20.4 (+1.7)

Average: 176.48

What a relief, i've had numerous people ask me how it felt to get a win on the board and honestly, all I could reply with was it was such a goddam relief.

The boys will undoubedly be feeling the same relief, and addulation as well. What an effort, and as we're in the rebuild thread. We can't ignore the effort of the youth.

Patrick Cripps and Charlie Curnow both made it to the Coaches Votes, recording 9 and 1 respectively.

Let's have a look at these numbers though. We had some HUGE gains this week. Apart from Plowman who continues to fall, we had some massive gains. Double digit improvement from Curnow, Lamb, SPS and McKay. This is what i do this thread for, to see this improvement.

As evident by the Coaches Votes, Patrick Cripps was once again our best young kind on the park. Cripps had 27 disposals, including a lazy 19 contested possessions. He looked immense, breaking away from the contest at speed in his 8 clearances, including 3 centre clearances. He laid 7 tackles, sent the ball inside 50 6 times and had two goal assists - phenom. Charlie Curnow, what a man, he only had the 9 touches, but he made EVERY SINGLE ONE count, taking 4 huge contested marks, 5 marks inside 50 kicking 3 goals, 2 behinds and having 2 inside 50's of his own. How bloody well did Darcy Lang slot in? It was wonderful to have a young midfielder come in an contribute to a midfield group crying out for relief. Darcy only had 13 disposals but got around the ground well taking 5 marks and laying 4 tackles. He kicked two goals as well to make it a well rounded debut. Sam Kerridge should have been in this side all season, i've said it before and I will say it again, his work rate is almost unparalleled (bar the Curnow's) and he contributes. He had 17 touches, no clangers (shoutout to the Kerridge haters), two clearances, laid 7 tackles and kicked the sealing goal. Well done. Nick Graham, another oft malinged player, yet one who is still so young and is finding his feet. Can he go on to become best 22? I am not sure, but he is excellent midfield depth in my opinion. He had 14 touches, 5 marks, 3 clearances, 7 tackles and 2 inside 50's. Lochie O'Brien continues to impress me. Despite his small frame he is taking big moments on, he had 15 touches, took 8 marks as an excellent link up player and had 4 rebound 50's and 3 inside 50's. Zac Fisher had a quieter game in comparison to the standards he has set this season but still has 15 touches at his usual excellent efficiency, took 3 marks, had 4 clearances, laid 5 tackles and kicked a goal. Jed Lamb, his job on Goddard cannot be overlooked, he played excellently as a negating forward, importantly drawing 2 crucial free kicks. He also had 15 touches, 4 inside 50's and 2 goals. Will keep his spot. Harry McKay continues to kick goals. You cannot slow him down. He had 7 touches, took 4 marks, had a lazy 4 inside 50's and kicked two snags. SPS only had 10 touches but impressed me with 8 tackles, we need more of that effort from the young star. Aaron Mullet had a quieter game down back only finding it 14 times but he went at almost 80% efficiency, took 5 marks and had 4 rebound 50's. Paddy Dow is playing really well despite getting limited numbers. He had 11 touches at 90% efficiency and laid 4 tackles. His breakaway speed is exciting all Carlton fans at the moment. Cam O'Shea didn't do a lot wrong, but didn't impress, he had 10 touches, 2 clangers, 3 tackles and 3 1%ers. Will be between him and Plowman as to who goes out for Weitering this week. Speaking of Plowman, Lachie needs to lift, he had 9 touches, one clanger, only 2 1%ers and not a lot else. Lift Lochie, I know you can be A LOT better than this. Jarrod Garlett continues to struggle to impact, will lose his spot to Murphy this week after a performance where he only managed 6 touches, but I can't fault his 5 tackles. It speaks volumes that someone who laid 5 tackles was out worst performing kid for the day, performances are on the up.

After today

Off-The-Rails.jpg

I honestly feel a mistake was made in the initial communication of what a 66 game rebuild meant.

It appears a large number of people took it to mean 3 years and we will be back in the finals mix and to be honest I can see why many would have thought that. The reality should have been it will take 66 games and the pre seasons before and after that game period would be required to se us up to only then be in a position to THEN move forward.

This offseason is the real critical one for us.

I honestly feel a mistake was made in the initial communication of what a 66 game rebuild meant.

It appears a large number of people took it to mean 3 years and we will be back in the finals mix and to be honest I can see why many would have thought that. The reality should have been it will take 66 games and the pre seasons before and after that game period would be required to se us up to only then be in a position to THEN move forward.

66 games to be competitive wasn’t that the goal? Competitive to me means being in most games until the end not necessarily a finals team.

Brisbane is a more competitive side than us and their young players are improving.

I think we could be looking now at an extra year to build that competitiveness.

No mistake was made imo. I have no doubt that the club knew it would be 6 years minimum. There's no way they could have sold that to the supporter base though.

That's why the rhetoric has now changed to needing time to build 'cohesion' etc. It's an easier pill to swallow at the halfway point, albeit still hard.

AFL Player Ratings - as at the conclusion of R9

Patrick Cripps - 19 (+2)
Sam Docherty - 92 (-12)
Lachie Plowman - 226 (+3)
Charlie Curnow - 231 (-1)
Jacob Weitering - 240
Sam Petrevski-Seton - 313 (+5)
Zac Fisher - 342 (+12)

Sam Kerridge - 359 (-9)
Jack Silvagni - 386 (+1)
Matthew Kennedy - 416 (-1)
Nick Graham - 441 (+11)
Caleb Marchbank - 450
Darcy Lang - 467 (-9)
Jarrod Garlett - 478 (+1)
David Cuningham - 486
Tom Williamson - 510 (-2)
Paddy Dow - 523 (+20)
Harry McKay - 540 (-4)
Jarrod Pickett - 563 (-3)
Ciaran Byrne - 566 (-31)
Harrison Macreadie - 583 (-3)
Lochie O'Brien - 616 (-1)
Cameron Polson - 662 (-4)

Pat Kerr - 665

A hugely disappointing loss yesterday - we were simply monstered by a better and more advanced Melbourne side.

The media will be out in force this week, but regardless of what they say I firmly believe this rebuild remains on the right track, and yesterday was just another speed bump - not the first we've encountered, and it will not be the last.

Dow and Fisher the big movers this week as they have been for much of this season. Their upward trajectory is significant and it will be interesting to see how far they can rise by the end of the year. Nick Graham the other big mover, he has done OK with a bit of continuity at senior level, and as always continues to give his all.

Cripps back inside the top 20. :thumbsu:

AFL Player Ratings - as at the conclusion of R9

Patrick Cripps - 19 (+2)
Sam Docherty - 92 (-12)
Lachie Plowman - 226 (+3)
Charlie Curnow - 231 (-1)
Jacob Weitering - 240
Sam Petrevski-Seton - 313 (+5)
Zac Fisher - 342 (+12)

Sam Kerridge - 359 (-9)
Jack Silvagni - 386 (+1)
Matthew Kennedy - 416 (-1)
Nick Graham - 441 (+11)
Caleb Marchbank - 450
Darcy Lang - 467 (-9)
Jarrod Garlett - 478 (+1)
David Cuningham - 486
Tom Williamson - 510 (-2)
Paddy Dow - 523 (+20)
Harry McKay - 540 (-4)
Jarrod Pickett - 563 (-3)
Ciaran Byrne - 566 (-31)
Harrison Macreadie - 583 (-3)
Lochie O'Brien - 616 (-1)
Cameron Polson - 662 (-4)

Pat Kerr - 665

A hugely disappointing loss yesterday - we were simply monstered by a better and more advanced Melbourne side.

The media will be out in force this week, but regardless of what they say I firmly believe this rebuild remains on the right track, and yesterday was just another speed bump - not the first we've encountered, and it will not be the last.

Dow and Fisher the big movers this week as they have been for much of this season. Their upward trajectory is significant and it will be interesting to see how far they can rise by the end of the year. Nick Graham the other big mover, he has done OK with a bit of continuity at senior level, and as always continues to give his all.

Cripps back inside the top 20. :thumbsu:
Great work by Jack this week!

GAME 53.png

GAME 53 Rnd 9 - LOSS vs Melbourne (50-109)

15 Youth Players
Coaches Votes: Patrick Cripps (1)

Patrick Cripps - 512.3 (+7.6),
Lachlan Plowman - 298.1
(+3.1),
Aaron Mullet - 251.1 (-2)
Samo Petrevski-Seton - 228.1 (+3.1),
Sam Kerridge - 212.5
(+6.7)
Zac Fisher - 212.5 (+8.7),
Nick Graham - 134.1 (+14.3)
Jed Lamb - 139.8 (+8.4)
Darcy Lang - 110.5 (-6.7)
Jarrod Garlett - 102.9 (+3)
Cam O'Shea - 59.5 (-9.9)
Paddy Dow - 63.6 (+10.5),
Harry McKay - 56.9
(+0.7),
Lochie O'Brien - 21.8 (+1.4)
Pat Kerr - 1.4 (+1.4)

Average: 160.34

Well, not a good week at all. Average player ratings took a tumble down to 160.34 and in the process, turned our year to date progression from a sort of flat line holding pattern into a full on gradual decline. The injuries to our youth has killed nay momentum in the graph as players continue to go in and out and drop value because of it.

We saw some good rises again from the likes of Graham, Cripps and Fisher, but big losses from others like O'Shea. Charlie out drops the average a fair bit and accordingly you see the result.

Thankfully, Williamson made a strong comeback for the Northern Blues and looks set to take his place in the side in the coming weeks and Jacob Weitering will return this week without question.

Quick changes to the side along the lines of Williams, Weitering, Curnow in - O'Shea, Garlett and Kerr out turn our squad from an average of 160 into 192. That's a big jump, and its the kind of jump that not only shows on the stats but shows on the field.

Here's hoping our kids can get some uniformity in the back half of the season. It's clear to me that Cripps, Plowman, Marchbank, Weitering, Williamson, Fisher, Curnow, SPS, Lang, Kennedy, McKay, Dow and O'Brien are the core of our youth at the moment (Docherty also included obviously). Here's hoping that they can all stay on the park for the rest of the season and we can also get more games into Mullet, SOS, Graham, Pickett, Kerridge and Garlett.

Onto the performances.

Patrick Cripps, obviously our best on ground again and picked up a coaches vote again. He had a lazy 31 touches, 23 contested possession, 8 marks, including 3 big contested grabs, had 10 clearances, laid 9 tackles, had 2 1%ers, 2 inside 50's and a goal. Nick Graham led the blues for metres gained from his 28 touches (15 kicks). He only went at 57.4% efficiency but used the ball well when going inside 50 on 5 occasions and had 5 clearances, big game from Graham who is really taking his chances. Darcy Lang was involved in six scoring chains in only 11 possessions but laid 6 tackles in a strong display of effort. SPS had a better outing finishing with 22 touches and another 6 tackles. He continues to tackle hard and impact the contest. Zac Fisher, i love the little man, he only had 20 touches and 5 clangers but he also had 6 tackles and picked up a goal. Sam Kerridge with another workhorse display with 22 touches, 6 marks and 2 inside 50's. Jed Lamb kept Hibberd very quiet but could only manage 11 touches but did kick 2 goals. Paddy Dow with 14 touches and 4 tackles continues to build. Aaron Mullet had 16 at 75% effiency and took 5 marks. Harry McKay struggles as the main target up forward, he took 5 marks including 2 contested in only 7 touches for the day. He did kick two goals again though, go you good thing. Lachie Plowman had a much better game than previous weeks despite still fumbling and dropping marks he should be taking. He had 15 touches and 10 1%ers. Jarrod Garlett, i think a spell is due for Jarrod, he had 13 touches at 46% efficiency. Lochie O'Brien was quiet but went at his usual elite efficiency of 72% from 11 touches. 3 Rebound 50's were a good contribution. Cameron O'Shea had 4 clangers, 10 touches, 2 1%ers and lost every single one on one contest. Patt Kerr had a couple of workmanlike marks on the wing but could only manage 7 touches.

View attachment 499402
GAME 52 Rnd 8 - WIN vs Essendon (91-78)

15 Youth Players
Coaches Votes: Patrick Cripps (9), Charlie Curnow (1)

Patrick Cripps - 504.7 (+5.2),
Lachlan Plowman - 295
(-5.2),
Charlie Curnow - 292.5
(+10.6)
Aaron Mullet - 253.1 (+4.1)
Samo Petrevski-Seton - 225 (+11.7),
Sam Kerridge - 205.8
(+3.9)
Zac Fisher - 203.8 (+8.7),
Nick Graham - 119.8
(+3.7)
Darcy Lang - 117.2 (+0.4)
Jed Lamb - 131.4 (+12.8)
Jarrod Garlett - 99.9(+1.2)
Cam O'Shea - 69.4 (+7.3)
Paddy Dow - 53.1 (+9.6),
Harry McKay - 56.2
(+12.2),
Lochie O'Brien - 20.4 (+1.7)

Average: 176.48

What a relief, i've had numerous people ask me how it felt to get a win on the board and honestly, all I could reply with was it was such a goddam relief.

The boys will undoubedly be feeling the same relief, and addulation as well. What an effort, and as we're in the rebuild thread. We can't ignore the effort of the youth.

Patrick Cripps and Charlie Curnow both made it to the Coaches Votes, recording 9 and 1 respectively.

Let's have a look at these numbers though. We had some HUGE gains this week. Apart from Plowman who continues to fall, we had some massive gains. Double digit improvement from Curnow, Lamb, SPS and McKay. This is what i do this thread for, to see this improvement.

As evident by the Coaches Votes, Patrick Cripps was once again our best young kind on the park. Cripps had 27 disposals, including a lazy 19 contested possessions. He looked immense, breaking away from the contest at speed in his 8 clearances, including 3 centre clearances. He laid 7 tackles, sent the ball inside 50 6 times and had two goal assists - phenom. Charlie Curnow, what a man, he only had the 9 touches, but he made EVERY SINGLE ONE count, taking 4 huge contested marks, 5 marks inside 50 kicking 3 goals, 2 behinds and having 2 inside 50's of his own. How bloody well did Darcy Lang slot in? It was wonderful to have a young midfielder come in an contribute to a midfield group crying out for relief. Darcy only had 13 disposals but got around the ground well taking 5 marks and laying 4 tackles. He kicked two goals as well to make it a well rounded debut. Sam Kerridge should have been in this side all season, i've said it before and I will say it again, his work rate is almost unparalleled (bar the Curnow's) and he contributes. He had 17 touches, no clangers (shoutout to the Kerridge haters), two clearances, laid 7 tackles and kicked the sealing goal. Well done. Nick Graham, another oft malinged player, yet one who is still so young and is finding his feet. Can he go on to become best 22? I am not sure, but he is excellent midfield depth in my opinion. He had 14 touches, 5 marks, 3 clearances, 7 tackles and 2 inside 50's. Lochie O'Brien continues to impress me. Despite his small frame he is taking big moments on, he had 15 touches, took 8 marks as an excellent link up player and had 4 rebound 50's and 3 inside 50's. Zac Fisher had a quieter game in comparison to the standards he has set this season but still has 15 touches at his usual excellent efficiency, took 3 marks, had 4 clearances, laid 5 tackles and kicked a goal. Jed Lamb, his job on Goddard cannot be overlooked, he played excellently as a negating forward, importantly drawing 2 crucial free kicks. He also had 15 touches, 4 inside 50's and 2 goals. Will keep his spot. Harry McKay continues to kick goals. You cannot slow him down. He had 7 touches, took 4 marks, had a lazy 4 inside 50's and kicked two snags. SPS only had 10 touches but impressed me with 8 tackles, we need more of that effort from the young star. Aaron Mullet had a quieter game down back only finding it 14 times but he went at almost 80% efficiency, took 5 marks and had 4 rebound 50's. Paddy Dow is playing really well despite getting limited numbers. He had 11 touches at 90% efficiency and laid 4 tackles. His breakaway speed is exciting all Carlton fans at the moment. Cam O'Shea didn't do a lot wrong, but didn't impress, he had 10 touches, 2 clangers, 3 tackles and 3 1%ers. Will be between him and Plowman as to who goes out for Weitering this week. Speaking of Plowman, Lachie needs to lift, he had 9 touches, one clanger, only 2 1%ers and not a lot else. Lift Lochie, I know you can be A LOT better than this. Jarrod Garlett continues to struggle to impact, will lose his spot to Murphy this week after a performance where he only managed 6 touches, but I can't fault his 5 tackles. It speaks volumes that someone who laid 5 tackles was out worst performing kid for the day, performances are on the up.
Appreciate the effort, but the odd paragraph would be nice mate.

AFL Player Ratings - as at the conclusion of R10

Patrick Cripps - 20 (-1)
Sam Docherty - 98 (-6)

Lachie Plowman - 213 (+13)
Charlie Curnow - 223 (+8)

Jacob Weitering - 250 (-10)
Sam Petrevski-Seton - 308 (+5)
Zac Fisher - 330 (+12)

Sam Kerridge - 360 (-1)
Jack Silvagni - 388 (-2)

Matthew Kennedy - 415 (+1)
Nick Graham - 436 (+5)

Caleb Marchbank - 451 (-1)
Darcy Lang - 467
Jarrod Garlett - 478
David Cuningham - 481 (+5)
Paddy Dow - 511 (+12)

Tom Williamson - 512 (-2)
Harry McKay - 524 (+16)
Jarrod Pickett - 568 (-5)
Ciaran Byrne - 571 (-5)
Harrison Macreadie - 588 (-5)
Lochie O'Brien - 634 (-18)

Pat Kerr - 652 (+13)
Cameron Polson - 665 (-3)

We didn't get the result against the Cats, but we can certainly be pleased with the response to last week.

Thought we were the better side for much of the game on Saturday evening, but unfortunately we weren't able to show that on the scoreboard.

McKay, Kerr, Plowman, Dow and Fisher the big risers this week. Particularly good to see Plow in the green, has had a poor start to the year, but has looked better over the past couple and was sensational on Saturday night.

SPS and Fisher continue their impressive rise up the rankings - will be interesting to see who gets inside that top 300 first. I suspect it'll happen for both over the next couple of weeks.

66 games was the "LIST" rebuild. Then it's about developing, adding etc. IMO was always a minimum 5 years before finals.

Is there a way to export the rankings data into Excel or some other format? Would be good to compare where the boys sit compared to other players in the age bracket from other clubs. Copying and pasting from the AFL website will be a nightmare.

Resource Beyond the "66 Game" Rebuild