Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

Bishop, Florent vs Galluci for our first pick how do you compare them and who comes out on top?
Personally from what Ive seen which is not that much im surprised by the lack of excitement for Galluci.
Why do you think that is and how likely will Powell Pepper be taken before that pick. Cheers.

I like Florent more than Gallucci - though think that neither probably get to the Saints. Florent more of a chance than Gallucci I'd have thought.

Florent has plenty of good traits (X-Factor, Agile, Footy IQ) , Gallucci is very athletic and versatile playing at all ends. Just think that Gallucci's kicking is a worry- especially going inside 50. I've watched a stack of Florent over the last two years and really liked him.

I think Powell-Pepper is in the mix to go to Adelaide/West Coast & a few others before the Saints pick. Todd Marshall could be there at the Saints, but think SPP is a pretty good chance to be gone. Someone will slide to their pick I have no doubt that they like a lot more than they have.

Bishop, I really like the balance you have for Carlton. A couple of spots I am not sure about but not so much based on quality.

SPS - we can't lose.

Kerr - some romance there and our KPFs aren't there yet. Would love Fisher if he was there though or dream slide - Venables.

Romensky - this one is interesting. Watched his vids and he moves really well. You say he is a utility but his highlights suggest he does most of his work in the defensive half. Where else can he play?

Brayshaw - not overly taken by his tapes but we can use more inside mids. What can you tell me about him as far as pros and cons?

Lebois - totally fine with this selection. We have a small forward spot for the grabbing and he looks like he likes to get up the ground a bit too.

Bunker - man, my heart jumped when I saw that. I loved his champs, love his instincts in tight. If he can bulk up, I think he could be a good one. I want him bad and if he lasts to this pick, I've won the lottery.

Olango - love this idea too. An athletic young ruckman. I think it is a must. We have so many back up rucks but are light on for talent coming through.

Bishop, I really like the balance you have for Carlton. A couple of spots I am not sure about but not so much based on quality.

SPS - we can't lose.

Kerr - some romance there and our KPFs aren't there yet. Would love Fisher if he was there though or dream slide - Venables.

Romensky - this one is interesting. Watched his vids and he moves really well. You say he is a utility but his highlights suggest he does most of his work in the defensive half. Where else can he play?

Brayshaw - not overly taken by his tapes but we can use more inside mids. What can you tell me about him as far as pros and cons?

Lebois - totally fine with this selection. We have a small forward spot for the grabbing and he looks like he likes to get up the ground a bit too.

Bunker - man, my heart jumped when I saw that. I loved his champs, love his instincts in tight. If he can bulk up, I think he could be a good one. I want him bad and if he lasts to this pick, I've won the lottery.

Olango - love this idea too. An athletic young ruckman. I think it is a must. We have so many back up rucks but are light on for talent coming through.

I'm not overally huge on Fisher- I think everyone is going based off his game v Allies thinking he's an out and out star. I've got some concerns and he's gonna need to put decent size on to reach AFL & I can't see him playing inside mid with his body shape.

Romensky's played through the midfield for Western Jets in the TAC Cup- I do think his best footy is across half back, I've only seen him play 4 times which is probably the lowest out of anyone on my draft board, but he's never really hit me as someone I'd draft.

Brayshaw's GPS & Endurance stuff is one of the worst from what those in the know tell me. Injuries have affected him greatly over the season. I'm not a huge fan, but think he is drafted whether that's a late pick or rookie. Leadership skills and overhead marking up forward is superb.

Lebois I really like, Bunker I do too. But his speed is very poor so that's an area that's probably holding him back, played a bit more of an outside role for the Northern Knights as the season finished. Was superb in the champs.

Olango's game on Grand Final Eve in the NAB AFL U18 All Stars has thrown him into national draft selection.

Friday 25th November, on TV from 6.30pm- Believe first pick read out at 7pm.

Finer details still being finalised, expect an announcement soon I believe.

Cheers Bishop.

Hopefully it won't drag on like last year's did.

I want one name to be read (top 10) and move on to the next pick like the old days.

Hi Bishop , Just looking at some of the clips on the draft machine site and come across a kid that really looked like he has something (on the 2 minute highlight anyway) Could you tell us what the main knock on Josh Williams is as you dont have him in your Phantom Draft

Elite speed and his run down the wing in the U18 championships Div II game was outstanding up at Metricon. His outside work is very good- but his contested stuff is almost non existant and to play at AFL will need to work hard on endurance. Overall he's a good prospect who I expect to be a late pick/rookie.

Highlights are very tough to gauge- there is never a bad highlight tape, even my own!!!

Elite speed and his run down the wing in the U18 championships Div II game was outstanding up at Metricon. His outside work is very good- but his contested stuff is almost non existant and to play at AFL will need to work hard on endurance. Overall he's a good prospect who I expect to be a late pick/rookie.

Highlights are very tough to gauge- there is never a bad highlight tape, even my own!!!
How often do junior players without contested games actually develop AFL level contested ability though? I have a feeling there isn't many.

Not everyone has to be a contested ball, but as one experienced football scout once told me- Contested ball players are generally what win you Grand Finals- not your outside flankers. If a player has to go in a contested situation, they have to go.

Some develop it with size, with some U18 kids very undersized, whilst others lean the craft continuously throughout juniors.

Not everyone has to be a contested ball, but as one experienced football scout once told me- Contested ball players are generally what win you Grand Finals- not your outside flankers. If a player has to go in a contested situation, they have to go.

Some develop it with size, with some U18 kids very undersized, whilst others lean the craft continuously throughout juniors.
Do you see McCluggage developing an elite inside game?

Yes I do think he will. He's never going to become a full time inside midfield bull- but once he adds some size he will be able to. 43% of his possessions were contested in the TAC Cup. He has the smarts & time in contested situations that will give him every opportunity to do that.

Cheers Bishop.

Hopefully it won't drag on like last year's did.

I want one name to be read (top 10) and move on to the next pick like the old days.
And it was terrible having Gil walking on and off stage all night. Why not have him sit out there like on Brownlow night.

Bish, this Whitfield ban is happening, it's being suggested that GWS might lose picks 15 and 37 ( I reckon they should be booted out of first round personally).. anyway my question is, will they match top 10 picks on Setterfield and Perryman? I would say no.. and who out of top 10 clubs would bid on Perryman? ( because they might just get him..)

I would think they'd match one of the 2 and forgo matching a couple other less important players

Bishop - Are you planning to update your phantom based on any new info anytime leading into the draft?

Yep will update it maybe this week & then next week.

They will match Setterfield & Perryman regardless of bids in my opinion (obviously unless it's Pick 1 & Pick 2)- but even if Setterfield was #1 and Perryman was #13 I think they match. I couldn't see anyone bidding on Perryman in top 10 but the two on Setterfield could be Ess #1 & CARL #5.

I like Florent more than Gallucci - though think that neither probably get to the Saints. Florent more of a chance than Gallucci I'd have thought.

Florent has plenty of good traits (X-Factor, Agile, Footy IQ) , Gallucci is very athletic and versatile playing at all ends. Just think that Gallucci's kicking is a worry- especially going inside 50. I've watched a stack of Florent over the last two years and really liked him.

I think Powell-Pepper is in the mix to go to Adelaide/West Coast & a few others before the Saints pick. Todd Marshall could be there at the Saints, but think SPP is a pretty good chance to be gone. Someone will slide to their pick I have no doubt that they like a lot more than they have.
What are your thoughts on Cedric Cox at pick 23?

Is it realistic to want either him or Marshall at our first pick?

Also Zac Fisher a chance at 36?

Love you're work mate :thumbsu:

Yep will update it maybe this week & then next week.

They will match Setterfield & Perryman regardless of bids in my opinion (obviously unless it's Pick 1 & Pick 2)- but even if Setterfield was #1 and Perryman was #13 I think they match. I couldn't see anyone bidding on Perryman in top 10 but the two on Setterfield could be Ess #1 & CARL #5.
Wow you think they forgo Mcgrath for Setterfield? And if they lose picks 15 and 37 they don't have enough points to match them if the bids come that high.. surely they don't want to go into much deficit for next year...
They might also think strategically and match some of their other guys like Mutch and Mcreadie rather than get Perryman. ..
Its going to be fascinating to watch this play out...
Personally I'd love to see Gold Coast bid on Setterfield at 4..

What are your thoughts on Cedric Cox at pick 23?

Is it realistic to want either him or Marshall at our first pick?

Also Zac Fisher a chance at 36?

Love you're work mate :thumbsu:

I think Cox at 23 would be a very good fit at the Saints. I know North, Adelaide & Western Bulldogs have been very keen on him, but whether they bite that early I'm not so sure. Richmond & Collingwood I think would consider him if he got past 23.

Todd Marshall I can see getting past the first round. You'd have to think Essendon at 20 would be a good chance at grabbing him, realistically he could get to the Saints, but there are others I'd take ahead of him. Marshall has a bit of boom or bust for me. His flashes are outstanding- but his bad games are bad.

Zac Fisher a chance at 36 for me, I rate him in the 40s. Think a lot of people are basing their assessments off his 1-2 games in the U18 Champs, but is going to need to improve his size/physic to play AFL.

Wow you think they forgo Mcgrath for Setterfield? And if they lose picks 15 and 37 they don't have enough points to match them if the bids come that high.. surely they don't want to go into much deficit for next year...
They might also think strategically and match some of their other guys like Mutch and Mcreadie rather than get Perryman. ..
Its going to be fascinating to watch this play out...
Personally I'd love to see Gold Coast bid on Setterfield at 4..

Well it might be an interesting one- how much do GWS want McGrath? Enough to let a bid on Setterfield go? Maybe it just might....

I don't think losing 15 or 37 will phase them too much- I'm sure that GWS would have had a better idea than the public if they might lose picks. I'd think they have no issue going into deficit, as when talented players keep getting up and leaving to go back to Victoria, they re-stock the high picks/points.

Doubt they match Mutch at all, think Perryman a good fit.

Couldn't see Gold Coast bidding on him IMO.

Well it might be an interesting one- how much do GWS want McGrath? Enough to let a bid on Setterfield go? Maybe it just might....

I don't think losing 15 or 37 will phase them too much- I'm sure that GWS would have had a better idea than the public if they might lose picks. I'd think they have no issue going into deficit, as when talented players keep getting up and leaving to go back to Victoria, they re-stock the high picks/points.

Thanks for the reply Bish... all good points.. keep punching mate, you are killing it... think ESPN headhunted the wrong big footy guru..

If I've worked it our correctly, then IF GWS lose their original 1st and 2nd rounders (15 & 37) then they would end up with picks 2, 39, 45, 52, 55, 57, 58, 59 & 60.
If GWS use pick 2 before any bids on a non-academy player then they have 1902 points remaining to match bids.
If Carlton bid on Setterfield at pick 5 and GWS choose to match they have only 400 points left for the rest of their academy picks.
A bid on Perryman at say 14 per Bishop's draft would cost ~929 points bringing them already into 500+ points deficit.
If they continued to match other bids where as per Bishop's draft (where they match bids for Setterfield, Perryman, Sproule, Macreadie and Cumming, Ie. not even including Mutch, Garthwaite or Tiziani) they would be 1700 points in deficit.
Currently GWS have no 1st or 3rd round picks for next year after trading these to Richmond. They do, however, have 3 2nd round picks. If they do go into such deficit it could cost them all 3 of their 2nd round picks.
This would leave them with a 4th round pick at the earliest and I believe they have some good academy talent coming through next year as well?
I think this would definitely be concerning and they may have to leave more academy players on the table than they would have otherwise.

I guess they would have to rely heavily on being able to bring in more top draft picks next year by trading away talented want-away players.

They might not match Mutch and they would be greedy to match McCreadie but they would be fools not to match Sproule and show a distinct lack of cunning not to match Cumming.. As for Perryman they better be very WARY... Man..