Bob Murphy - 300 games

• Thread starter Thread starter La Vache

I'll be honest and say:

Good player with a long solid career and played a key role for his club - he deserves the accolades for playing 300 footy games. He and the club should rightfully acknowledge the moment.

Unfortunately the media have hijacked the whole thing. The media's turning it into a "story" and him into a "celebrity" and the 300th into an "event", at a certain point of overkill begins to devalue the actual achievement itself. Which is a shame.

A punt into the middle of the ground under moderate pressure that Wood had to wait for...

Guy must be in training to join a commentary box the way it was initially described.
How could you ever forget a kick like that.

After seeing that kick I know that I can divide my life into two halves: before kick, and after kick.

[
Suggesting posters can't have an opinion because they've never played AFL is something I don't get.

Must be a good view on that horse.
It is alright to have an opinion but when are going out to insult someone just for the sake of it,then keep your opinion to yourself. And the "brave" stuff has been flogged to death. Say something original.

I'll be honest and say:

Good player with a long solid career and played a key role for his club - he deserves the accolades for playing 300 footy games. He and the club should rightfully acknowledge the moment.

Unfortunately the media have hijacked the whole thing. The media's turning it into a "story" and him into a "celebrity" and the 300th into an "event", at a certain point of overkill begins to devalue the actual achievement itself. Which is a shame.

Welcome to AFL 2017 where a thousand inept flogs are all provided with their very own soap box, for fear of getting an actual job.

He's an alright player but it seems like reaching 300 games elevates you to some legend status, when really it just means you've been durable and OK enough to be on an AFL list for ages.

also his carry on after the GF was unbearable. mate you didn't win anything.

2nd worst 300 gamer behind Drew Petrie.

Please don't edit my posts to suit your agenda, mods. Its obviously my opinion, it doesn't need to be stated.
How can you be serious? Judging players within a category of 'worst' to play 300 games.

You don't survive 17 years in this system if you're average.

How can you be serious? Judging players within a category of 'worst' to play 300 games.

You don't survive 17 years in this system if you're average.

Not really what worst means... there are two Gary Abletts who have played the game, and one of them is the worst Gary Ablett ever to play the game. That doesn't make them bad.

In all seriousness though 300 AFL games is a massive achievement for anyone, so good on him. The media circlejerk has soured it a bit for me though.

That is more a sign of the times and not about the players in question. All 300 game and bigger milestones have been celebrated as major events within an inch of their lives the last few years. Guards of honour from the opposition are now seen as expected rather than instinctive. It's all a bit much but that is the way of the AFL in this day and age - subtle as a sledgehammer and any opportunity to push the game down everybody's throats is never enough.

As a player Bob is elite and has been for the vast majority of his career. His vision, decision making and foot skills are top echelon, and he has performed in multiple positions on the ground - his actual playing career is seriously underrated by many outside the kennel, who can't separate the player and career from the media performer. And in 2017 post knee reco and nearing his 35th birthday he has not missed a beat and is still performing at a level close to his career best - he was absolutely pivotal in dragging his team over the line 7 days ago in his 299th match.