Traded Brandon Starcevich - traded to West Coast as part of a 3-way trade with Brisbane and Fremantle

Surely half forwards need good disposal heading in to f50? Turning over the ball in the middle of the ground 40-60m out from your own goal is as dangerous as you can get

HFS also need to be creative. Need to be able to hit up targets when the opposition is flooding in to d50. Duggan ticks very few boxes a hf needs to tick
I think Duggan’s kicking issue technical, it’s composure. He was drafted as a good kick. The mental pressure of being chased and having to rush kick isn’t working.

Brisbanites, what’s Starcevich’s kicking like? Solid and workmanlike I would imagine without being a standout ?

Some robust trade discussions.

It’s how you know we’ve finally reached the continental tyres trade period.
Would you care to discuss your favourite model of continental tyre?

I was pretty impressed with the concept of a Contiseal myself. May give them a go next tyre replacement

Would you care to discuss your favourite model of continental tyre?

I was pretty impressed with the concept of a Contiseal myself. May give them a go next tyre replacement

I have a driver so wouldn’t know anything about tyres

Brisbanites, what’s Starcevich’s kicking like? Solid and workmanlike I would imagine without being a standout ?
Yeah pretty much, doesn’t really get asked to do heaps of distributing by foot with our other defenders

Not a convenient development for those sticking to the tinfoil belief that the AFL generated the priority pick specifically for it to be given to Brisbane.

Au contraire, this ambit claim is to distract the media from the invented priority pick and make it seem reasonable after we spend 4 days arguing about pick 16.

Some robust trade discussions.

It’s how you know we’ve finally reached the continental tyres trade period.

Do you reckon Starce can finally become a Therabody All Australian after he joins the eagles?

Jacko as a Therabody All Australian selector has to help him.

Do you reckon Starce can finally become a Therabody All Australian after he joins the eagles?

Jacko as a Therabody All Australian selector has to help him.

Unfortunately Starce will be be defending 70 entries a game for the foreseeable future

200.gif

The fact Carlton decided to show some good will to the Suns after no agreement on the trade could be reached, doesn’t mean Martin wasn’t a PSD recruitment for Carlton. Saying the PSD route is a myth is just not true, it’s a real possibility. Doesn’t mean I think it’s likely.

Mate--- if Carlton didn't come to the party with the trade in the National draft, the Suns would have redrafted Martin in the PSD.

Be honest-- you thought Membrey went through the PSD, you have no idea what you're talking about

I was wondering why this thread had been bearable the last 24 hours and it’s because my second least favourite lions poster was absent

Second least? What do I have to do to leapfrog Briztoon and get to no.1?

Any chance we can get some mutually assured destruction and we just do an Allen for Starcevich swap?

But the lions deserve Allen and pick 16 and wce deserve starce and pick 2

It really kinda puts it into perspective of how cooked the AFL have made the whole system when any other large professional sport in the world and it would just be a swap of players.

Not in AFL world though, in AFL world, the AFL effectively creates pick 2 and 23 out of thin air to give to each team as part of the trade.

It really kinda puts it into perspective of how cooked the AFL have made the whole system when any other large professional sport in the world and it would just be a swap of players.

Not in AFL world though, in AFL world, the AFL effectively creates pick 2 and 23 out of thin air to give to each team as part of the trade.

Hey look, the rest of us need to be penalised too

I mean I’ve been against compo since the system was introduced. But on this rare occasion it is fair and equitable for all involved.

Except the 16 other clubs. But,

the wolf of wall street idgaf GIF

I'm pro abolishing compo picks or having them start at end of second round, but if that happened the players 100% start advocating for unrestricted free agency eligibility to be earlier than 10 years, and moving RFA from 8 years to 6.

Which I'm also in favour of, but feels like most footy fans would really dislike any greater move towards player power.

So the AFL solution to smooth over player movement is issuing compo picks to screw 16 other clubs :drunk:

Mate--- if Carlton didn't come to the party with the trade in the National draft, the Suns would have redrafted Martin in the PSD.

Be honest-- you thought Membrey went through the PSD, you have no idea what you're talking about
So you agree? What’s your point then? Suns held pick 1 in the psd, hence the need for good will because Carlton didn’t want him to be redrafted by the Suns. Still, a trade could not be negotiated, Martin went to the PSD.

My original point is that picking up players through the PSD is not a myth, and is a possibility in this scenario (see Jack Martin). In this case, Brisbane hold less leverage than the Suns did because WC hold pick 1 in the psd.

Yes, I did think Membrey was a psd pickup but mistook that one, sue me. Pretty sure I said that. Do you want have a back and forth on me misremembering a 10yo trade, while my original point stands? Must make you feel pretty clever jumping in to correct me on that one… mate…

I'm pro abolishing compo picks or having them start at end of second round, but if that happened the players 100% start advocating for unrestricted free agency eligibility to be earlier than 10 years, and moving RFA from 8 years to 6.

Which I'm also in favour of, but feels like most footy fans would really dislike any greater move towards player power.

So the AFL solution to smooth over player movement is issuing compo picks to screw 16 other clubs :drunk:
I have always been for compo to protect the worse clubs from getting pinched but I think ive come around to getting rid of it and just making clubs trade but yes, it would need UFA to be earlier because RFA would effectively be eliminated.

So you agree? What’s your point then? Suns held pick 1 in the psd, hence the need for good will because Carlton didn’t want him to be redrafted by the Suns. Still, a trade could not be negotiated, Martin went to the PSD.

My original point is that picking up players through the PSD is not a myth, and is a possibility in this scenario (see Jack Martin). In this case, Brisbane hold less leverage than the Suns did because WC hold pick 1 in the psd.

Yes, I did think Membrey was a psd pickup but mistook that one, sue me. Pretty sure I said that. Do you want have a back and forth on me misremembering a 10yo trade, while my original point stands? Must make you feel pretty clever jumping in to correct me on that one… mate…

Mate-- if you're going to start making sh*t up, you've got to own it when you are caught out making sh*t up.

Your two "comparisons" in the threat of sending Starcevich to the PSD are not real comparisons for the points I've previously demonstrated.

Your original point doesn't "stand" because neither of them are like what you're claiming they are.

I have always been for compo to protect the worse clubs from getting pinched but I think ive come around to getting rid of it and just making clubs trade but yes, it would need UFA to be earlier because RFA would effectively be eliminated.

Worse clubs should want to keep players or at minimum force the other club to give up something, but the current system creates stupid incentives. The salary banding lagging behind where the cap is leading to generous compo picks for middling players in the last few years has also been a massive issue.

Generally though the age that players become free agents just creates incentives for them to go to the best clubs, or at least to the clubs that have other ingrained advantages (hello player x saying they want to play in front of 'big MCG crowds').

When you leave a poor-performing club as a 26/27 FA you've got approx 5 years to try win a flag - so you are just less likely to go to a club battling on the ladder assuming the money is in the same ballpark. And we know that the same money at certain clubs is actually more due to other opportunities.

The leaked suggestion in the media that they will let clubs outside the top 8 sign FA without diluting compo isn't a terrible idea on the face of it if we are stuck with the compo system. I'd limit it to the bottom 4 personally as there is no meaningful difference in many years between 7th and 13th.