Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!

I'm pretty sure most those people don't understand what a board actually does. Blaming the board is an easy target.

I'm pretty sure most people underestimate the importance of a good board. When you've got people on there who have no real qualification for the job it is so damaging - as we saw through the Liddle / Log years.

Board members whose qualification is they got to run daddy's property business or whose husband was good in business before he died.

Water finds its own level. Clueless B-graders are going to find other B-graders to appoint to important positions in the club. And they will do likewise all the way down and pretty soon you have no quality people who make poor decisions and then you look back in 20+ years and see no premierships - not even an extended run in finals.

That is our club in a nutshell - and it starts at the top.

I don't have much time for anyone quoted in that article...and especially not the author Michael Warner.

Mathieson has a history of bagging club officials. He's obviously generous with his money...but when you look at the source, he's built that off the back of the misery of others. Really offers little else than the Benjamins...

And Loccisano...LOLz. Oxygen thief.

I don't have much time for anyone quoted in that article...and especially not the author Michael Warner.

Mathieson has a history of bagging club officials. He's obviously generous with his money...but when you look at the source, he's built that off the back of the misery of others. Really offers little else than the Benjamins...

And Loccisano...LOLz. Oxygen thief.
There's generous..then there's "generous when it suits as a tax write off" or "donation" as he likes to call it

Vince is a bit of a joke so I don't take much from him.

Matheison's comments on the other hand are quite a serve. Brutal on Cook, Sayers and Lloyd. He would get info from his nephew. Will be awkward for him at the next board meeting lol. No doubt as a supporter he is frustrated like us. Not sure the criticism of Cook is nessecarily fair. Also confirms the rumour that Patty Kinnersly is the reason we said no the Lyon. Can understand why he is annoyed with that one.
That is not accurate.

Mathieson can **** off. He has his nephew on our board doing absolutely nothing but act as a snitch and represent his money.

Sayers getting the review done and cutting Liddle and Teague loose was the right thing for mine. I don't know what goes on behind the scenes but I can't really see where Cook has improved anything. He was reluctant and this is his retirement package. He has no passion for us in such a short time and he won't be developing that during a short stint.

I'm inclined to leave Voss where he is so we don't have to start from scratch again. Geez, I'd like to see a Paul Roos come in as a coaching advisor. I'd change coach is he did a Melbourne like handover to the next big thing.

I do agree that it was weird that Lloyd stayed when MLG, Liddle and Teague went. He was a Liddle disciple and it seems he was able to convince Jeff Walsh that the Footy Department wasn't the problem, even when the finger got pointed at the senior coach and most of the assistants. That part doesn't make sense at all.

I'd like to see some sort of process for identifying needs in our recruitment. We seem to throw cash at someone because they are a good player and they want to come, rather than because they are a good fit for our list and team structure. I mean, who decided that we were good for pace because we still had Cuningham and Philp on our list? It's Saad or bust for our team and we are killing him because of it.

I'd love to see a Mike Fitzpatrick or Fraser Brown on our board, but I think the Dog is a Mathieson ally and we need to finally get rid of this festering remnant of yesteryear and map our own path. We're in the red finally. Now's the time to find those revenue streams (Hint: Building a winning team will get you half way there).

Pretty sure we are getting pressure from VicGov to move further from pokies as a revenue, especially given the conflict of interest with our other sponsors.

What about the other Clubs that still have pokies.

Are they being pressured to move further from them?

*I hate the pokies & Bruce can shove them where the sun don’t shine & he can **** off!

*I hate the pokies & Bruce can shove them where the sun don’t shine & he can * off!
The ones that receive VicGov funding, yep. Prefer not to say more than that here.

Edit not saying that's why this is out now but ALH and matho will lose a lot of influence over the club if they no longer control the cash

Interested to hear how all of those who want rid of the pokies would like it to happen.

Assuming that selling the licences would make maybe $15 mill, would people like these funds to to general revenue (as every other club has done) or would prefer the money be donated to an anti gambling fund so that we can genuinely say that we are not benefiting from pokies money?

Very much concur with those that want to see the back of Mathieson . Terrible rent a quote supporter who's whole arguments are predicated by whether "his man" is in charge or not.

Mathieson can * off. He has his nephew on our board doing absolutely nothing but act as a snitch and represent his money.

Sayers getting the review done and cutting Liddle and Teague loose was the right thing for mine. I don't know what goes on behind the scenes but I can't really see where Cook has improved anything. He was reluctant and this is his retirement package. He has no passion for us in such a short time and he won't be developing that during a short stint.

I'm inclined to leave Voss where he is so we don't have to start from scratch again. Geez, I'd like to see a Paul Roos come in as a coaching advisor. I'd change coach is he did a Melbourne like handover to the next big thing.

I do agree that it was weird that Lloyd stayed when MLG, Liddle and Teague went. He was a Liddle disciple and it seems he was able to convince Jeff Walsh that the Footy Department wasn't the problem, even when the finger got pointed at the senior coach and most of the assistants. That part doesn't make sense at all.

I'd like to see some sort of process for identifying needs in our recruitment. We seem to throw cash at someone because they are a good player and they want to come, rather than because they are a good fit for our list and team structure. I mean, who decided that we were good for pace because we still had Cuningham and Philp on our list? It's Saad or bust for our team and we are killing him because of it.

I'd love to see a Mike Fitzpatrick or Fraser Brown on our board, but I think the Dog is a Mathieson ally and we need to finally get rid of this festering remnant of yesteryear and map our own path. We're in the red finally. Now's the time to find those revenue streams (Hint: Building a winning team will get you half way there).
No chance for Fraser - he doesn’t suffer fools or dickheads. Would love to see him in there, he still bleeds blue, wouldn’t shy from difficult/unpopular decisions & would 100% want good answers - not canned responses when asking questions.

Interested to hear how all of those who want rid of the pokies would like it to happen.

Assuming that selling the licences would make maybe $15 mill, would people like these funds to to general revenue (as every other club has done) or would prefer the money be donated to an anti gambling fund so that we can genuinely say that we are not benefiting from pokies money?

Very much concur with those that want to see the back of Mathieson . Terrible rent a quote supporter who's whole arguments are predicated by whether "his man" is in charge or not.

Geelong have upped efforts in corporate and hospitality to make up the revenue gap (cook would be all over it) but they do have the advantage of being the only game in town.

North did it 15 years ago, the put effort into community support, doesn't bring in a heap of direct money but does engage with the local community and I think gains some grant money

No need to cut off your nose to spite your face. Personally, I'd like to see them put it into our football academy/NGA. It at least has some benefit for the area and may help us with our core business down the track ... football.

Geelong have upped efforts in corporate and hospitality to make up the revenue gap (cook would be all over it) but they do have the advantage of being the only game in town.

North did it 15 years ago, the put effort into community support, doesn't bring in a heap of direct money but does engage with the local community and I think gains some grant money
I assume you realise that they sell the venue and licences for a fairly significant amount (generally 4 to 5 times what they would make per year from the pokies). In reality it's forward banking a significant amount that you would received from the pokies. Geelong might want you to think that they are "holier than thou" but unless they donate the money they receive from the sale they are still just profiting from the pokies but dressing it up differently.

Of course but they are banking a few years then moving away. When applications are made to VCGLR to increase the geo cap new machines have to be offset by community benefit and tying a footy club to the application makes it more likely to succeed.

In addition all Victorian based clubs receive funding from a few VicGov funds directly related to public health, in return they provide, time logistic support, staff (including players) and access to social media feeds for messaging. So the hypocrisy is already there and with way more complications.

*I hate the pokies & Bruce can shove them where the sun don’t shine & he can * off!
The clubs that got rid of them didn't just hand back the pokies licences.

They sold them.

There's just as much misery generated in the community but they can claim to be the good guys while they made millions. If they were truly worried about the community, they'd have held on to the licences but removed the machines. Thereby reducing the total number of machines around.

It's akin to green washing.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Given the upcoming negotiations at Marvel, is this the time to give up pokies & use the government to help pressure the afl to give us a few home games at Ikon?
Yeah it’s only 22,000 (Metricon 22.5k & GIO is 25k) can we squeeze some more people in & play a few games against Suns, GWS, Tassie per season. Would be an absolute cauldron of Navy blue & would have to be a serious cash spinner - wouldn’t recoup all the pokie money but would be awesome. Happy for this to be shot to pieces with logical reasons- just thought it may be a good idea

Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!