Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!

I wouldn't be on any board that would have me as a member.

groucho marx GIF
Time to board this place up ...............:D

Unfortunately, the Bulldogs journo & his Richmond mate have been used as the (willing) conduit, for the Orchestration by Old Blues…

Now this I can subscribe to.

The sweeping board has sucked for 20 years statement is not measurable in many ways. It smacks of personal opinion and you're also name dropping. I'm a little suspicious of those who claim to be in the know and agitating for a board spill. This forum is huge as far as Carlton supporters go, and everybody tries tries out their agendas here. You're a new poster. Of course this stuff gets noticed.

I’m not calling for a board spill at all. Did you not read my earlier post where I said Sayers was a gun? Commenting on people as public figures who I have happened to interact with and observe is not name dropping. I believe I also said I’m surprised they don’t get on - Sayers gets on with very diverse people from what I’ve seen. Am I best mates with either of them - not at all. Not even a friend using the term loosely. But I respect both of them a lot.

The board has gone from power struggle to power struggle over 20 years. We have sucked on field for 20 years. It’s a cultural issue. How you fix that? No idea. That’s my idea of sucking

Though if you want my personal view (and you seem super interested in it) - anyone who runs to the media usually does because they don’t have the numbers/support to get their way. I suspect Bruce knows he has very little influence now and so is aligning with some guy I only hear of bagging the club

Last edited by a moderator:

Truly is mindblowing

On field has been sub par for many years, so supposedly other areas run parallel

Strength & conditioning, development, coaching, list management, etc, etc. Then, wait for it, it's culture

Then the moment things turn (generally coinciding with having a talented, balanced list in prime years), every area will be deemed as humming

I’m not calling for a board spill at all. Did you not read my earlier post where I said Sayers was a gun? Commenting on people as public figures who I have happened to interact with and observe is not name dropping. I believe I also said I’m surprised they don’t get on - Sayers gets on with very diverse people from what I’ve seen. Am I best mates with either of them - not at all. Not even a friend using the term loosely. But I respect both of them a lot.

The board has gone from power struggle to power struggle over 20 years. We have sucked on field for 20 years. It’s a cultural issue. How you fix that? No idea. That’s my idea of sucking

Though if you want my personal view (and you seem super interested in it) - anyone who runs to the media usually does because they don’t have the numbers/support to get their way. I suspect Bruce knows he has very little influence now and so is aligning with some guy I only hear of bagging the club
What power struggles.....been nothing at Carlton comes close to that description. A rumbling once or twice but futile always.

Seen you before here in anothe guise I will bet. Shifting goalposts and backtracking with each posting.
Well it's amusing if nothing else and your moniker says it all.

Wrong thread but I don’t give a fat rats …. It’s the Pres!

‘Expectation is a privilege’

Does someone wanna tell Sayers we get even more passionate & excited when we a go on a massive run of winning games! “Expectation is a privilege” WTF is that suppose to mean? It’s now a privilege to expect our team to show up tomorrow?

It means that, the players could be playing for North in front of 15k and no one really giving 2 ****s if they lose by 100.

Last edited by a moderator:

It means being talked about means you are valued and relevant. It’s a great quote. Don’t take for granted being relevant/cared about

What power struggles.....been nothing at Carlton comes close to that description. A rumbling once or twice but futile always.

Seen you before here in anothe guise I will bet. Shifting goalposts and backtracking with each posting.

I have zero interest in your personal attacks

I want to see us win big tomorrow night. Anything else is bleh

but he knows people on the board?

I'm intrigued by these "power struggles" over the last 20 years. Wasn't that long ago that you just had to put your hand up to get the gig.

The only constant has been pathetic white anting by the likes of Mathieson and that other flog who is so unimportant that his name doesn't matter.

That's the type that we need to get rid of. Get rid of his son/nephew off the board.

Could it be that he has just found out that his relative won't be the next president?

Board been stable or not we've been putrid for decades now.

Worlds smallest hill....

I have zero interest in your personal attacks

I want to see us win big tomorrow night. Anything else is bleh
you're important though and that in itself is important..........

Given the upcoming negotiations at Marvel, is this the time to give up pokies & use the government to help pressure the afl to give us a few home games at Ikon?
Yeah it’s only 22,000 (Metricon 22.5k & GIO is 25k) can we squeeze some more people in & play a few games against Suns, GWS, Tassie per season. Would be an absolute cauldron of Navy blue & would have to be a serious cash spinner - wouldn’t recoup all the pokie money but would be awesome. Happy for this to be shot to pieces with logical reasons- just thought it may be a good idea

If you donated the roughly $100M needed to get the stadium up to scratch then it might be a possibility.

Truly is mindblowing

On field has been sub par for many years, so supposedly other areas run parallel

Strength & conditioning, development, coaching, list management, etc, etc. Then, wait for it, it's culture

Then the moment things turn (generally coinciding with having a talented, balanced list in prime years), every area will be deemed as humming

I see you have a copy of the Hawthorn Guide to Organisational Culture.

Funny how the everyone waited for them to be at their worst before sticking the boots in. Just like us.

I'm intrigued by these "power struggles" over the last 20 years. Wasn't that long ago that you just had to put your hand up to get the gig.

The only constant has been pathetic white anting by the likes of Mathieson and that other flog who is so unimportant that his name doesn't matter.

That's the type that we need to get rid of. Get rid of his son/nephew off the board.

Could it be that he has just found out that his relative won't be the next president?

If it's the guy who pushed Sayers a couple of years ago then we genuinely don't need to worry about him specifically anytime soon.

I have no love (or hate) for him but he's going through an absolute personal hell lately. The type of stuff you don't wish on your worst enemy.

If he reads this site then I genuinely wish him the absolute best going forward.

I would rather my club be broke and asking us supporters for money than taking this imbecile's money. This idiot is the last of the loud mouthed old school rich folk who think the CFC is their playing thing. Makes my blood boil, the club must sever all ties with that family.

Agreed.

What I hate the most is that he always has the most rotten things to say but I can't remember the last time he offered anything substantial that he would do differently.

I appreciate his generous donations and support of the club financially but don't just trash it with your words. Tell us more about what you would actually do differently.

Give us a vision that we can get behind. Otherwise they're no better than a run of the mill supporter who barks off on here after losses and doesn't have anything else to say

Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!