Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!

Post of the Year...May the board get rolled

I sincerely hope our next president is someone other than a current board member. Anyone but a current board member.

It’s evident at this point that all of our administration do not know how to lead successful football clubs. The only person at Carlton who I would listen to at this point is Brian Cook.

Cook will never go on record about the Carlton board.. but I would love to know what Brian Cook thinks about the people he oversees.. in particular Brad Lloyd.

A decade at Freo overseeing zero success. No prior experience as a Head of Football prior to joining Carlton. And his 5 year stint at Carlton to date has included three unsuccessful senior coaches (including Voss), no finals, a perennially underperforming list, shambolic football department, top heavy list with no depth, dubious massive money long-term deals, and you could probably put the entire SOS sacking on his shoulders too. It’s not exactly a positive track record and surely can’t go on for too much longer.

I cannot wait to see Cook put his stamp on the place. The performance of the football department demands significant off field change at year end. And if he doesn’t swing the axe I’ll happily drive him back down the highway.

Bare minimum is Lloyd gone plus an assistant coaching overhaul. Voss needs help. He’s got none. It’s Cook’s job to fix this. Now.

So Mathieson stepping down this week?

Is this a good thing or bad? :D

Craig is nothing but a puppet for Bruce. Bruce probably asked him to resign to further fuel the narrative that Carlton's board needs an overhaul. This gets Carlton back in the media for all the wrong reasons, again. Calculated move.

No great loss to the board. Had served 11 of his 12 years. Without doubt the least successful of all our board members. Almost certainly a token appointment to keep Bruce happy and our poker machine licenses in hand.

There has to be a rival ticket. Probably just waiting to see how bad things get before declaring. Won't be long now.

So Mathieson stepping down this week?

Is this a good thing or bad? :D

Everyone will have different thoughts on this.

Personally I think it’s great news. A giant step in the right direction.

Craig I believe has been on the board 11 years, out of the 12 he is entitled to. So he was on the way out already.

Always felt he was a mouth piece for his uncle. Good riddance.

A giant step in the right direction.

What direction is that?

There's a near zero probabiltiy this resignation was amicable. Either a rival ticket is coming to challenge the board, and/or Mathieson's resigned wanting to disassociate from the current Carlton board. There's no way given the current state of the club he just woke up one day and realised his time was up.

If you've crystal balled this one and see it leading to the board being moved on I guess that could be deemed a positive result. Otherwise it can only be seen as destablising (IMO intentionally) which isn't great for a club in crisis.

I do echo the "good riddance" Mathieson sentiment.. but this isn't a resignation made in isolation. There's a lot more to come, and rather than a step in the right direction, this feels like a step into the unknown.

What direction is that? There's a near zero probabiltiy this resignation was amicable.

Not fussed about whether it was amicable.

Maybe it’s a pipe dream but I want board members who act in the best interests of the Carlton Football Club.

I never felt this with Craig. Throughout his tenure he seemed nothing but a mouth piece for his uncle.

And, rightly or wrongly, I felt that they believed the club ‘owed’ them for their pokies input. And that their input somehow entitled them to drag the club through the mud.

So yeah, I’m thrilled by this. Much like I was thrilled when Jeanne Pratt stepped aside.

Either a rival ticket is coming to challenge the board, and/or Mathieson's resigned wanting to disassociate from the current Carlton board. There's no way given the current state of the club he just woke up one day and realised his time was up.

If you've crystal balled this one and see it leading to the board being moved on I guess that could be deemed a positive result.

No issue with a board challenge. This board hasn’t exactly endeared itself to the supporters.

If Craig or Bruce are on the ticket…good luck.

There's a lot more to come, and rather than a step in the right direction, this feels like a step into the unknown.
rod-serling-twilight-zone-weird.gif

I don't particularly care who steps down or how many of them. I don't want those who step down to just be replaced by someone on the boards mate to continue going forward with the same b/s. We need real change, real outside voice with new ideas, not an appointee by favour who'll keep the status quo.

I just want sustainable change going forward at all levels.

We’ll they say a fish rots from the head, definitely upgrade and refresh management, next significantly overhaul footy departments ASAP.
Current season and perhaps next are compromised as it is.

Bye Craig and take your ****ing Uncle with you!

Good riddance!

Peace Out Goodbye GIF by NETFLIX

Sayers email ...

Hi Aph,

I am writing to inform you that today the Carlton Football Club has accepted the resignation of Director Craig Mathieson.

Craig’s position as a Director would have become vacant at the end of 2024 due to him reaching his maximum term under the constitution.

His decision to resign means that the Club will now take counsel from its Independent Nominations Committee, to commence a thorough process for a Director replacement, based on the needs analysis of Board requirements and relevant skill sets.

Craig served on the Carlton Board since 2012 and we thank him for his extensive contribution to the football club throughout those 11 years of service.

I also would like to take this time to reinforce what I stated last week.

We will judge our 2023 season at the end of the year, in its totality.

Football clubs are defined by their moments of adversity and I can guarantee we will handle ours with a level-headed professionalism that Carlton people should expect.

Take care of yourselves and each other this week Bluebaggers.

I can’t wait to be with you at the ‘G on Friday night,

Luke Sayers
President

Member ID: 2908822

We will judge our 2023 season at the end of the year, in its totality.

My inital thought when I read Sayers email last week was that this quote wouldn't age well. But I now think I understand why he said it, and why he's doubled down on it today.

I think the board has known for some time that there's not a single assistant coach at our club that is ready to be a senior coach, even in caretaker capacity. Not one of our assistant coaching group has ever been considered for a senior coaching role elsewhere. None are rated highly externally. And sacking Voss to appoint any of them would arguably leave us in worst shape in the short-term. This makes it pretty easy to double down on Voss when you've got no other choice.

2023 is a complete write-off. I suspect the board has known it for awhile. Now we all know. Let's just hope that change is coming at year end.

Good. Remove the toxic power brokers that have hampered the club for years. Sick to death of their quasi private ownership of the club.
I think you may be putting a little too much faith in the interestingly titled Independent Nominations Committee.

They have a wealthy stooge quota they have to maintain.

My inital thought when I read Sayers email last week was that this quote wouldn't age well. But I now think I understand why he said it, and why he's doubled down on it today.

I think the board has known for some time that there's not a single assistant coach at our club that is ready to be a senior coach, even in caretaker capacity. Not one of our assistant coaching group has ever been considered for a senior coaching role elsewhere. None are rated highly externally. And sacking Voss to appoint any of them would arguably leave us in worst shape in the short-term. This makes it pretty easy to double down on Voss when you've got no other choice.

2023 is a complete write-off. I suspect the board has known it for awhile. Now we all know. Let's just hope that change is coming at year end.
Ash Hansen was in the HC sphere, and would be the choice, if one was made (which looks highly unlikely with the club to stick to their word).

Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!