Military_man

East Fremantle Sharks
did anyone hear Brian Taylor's comments about Carlton before the dockers vs bombers game today. he basically said Adelaide will definitely finish 5th and that Carlton will lose in the first final we play. i for one think we will beat Adelaide next week and secure 5th and i think we can go nearly all the way considering the current form of the top 8 sides. how can you discount a side that has won 7 of their last 8 games like we have. i think Taylor is a biased biggoted idiot and maybe with comments like that he should consider a new career.

Disagree, i rate Brian Taylor, and think with a lot of things he is on the ball, however i'm not with him on this.

But all the experts are prediciting the same, its not just him, which i think can only be a good thing as it makes the boys want to prove something.

Adelaide have a great record against us, and after flogging us last time they deserve to be favourites, they had a good win at home against WC, probably a more polished performance than ours against Melb.

I see next week as our first final, we win huge confidence going into the next week against the 8th place Hawks/Dons.

The finals start next week for Carlton!!

I see next week as our first final, we win huge confidence going into the next week against the 8th place Hawks/Dons.

The finals start next week for Carlton!!
Completely agree. The confidence we would get from knocking over the Crows would be invaluable going into the finals.

In a way, i'm glad we can't face the Hawks/Dons coming off a loss. That would not be ideal.

As for BT, I generally like his comments. But like a lot of the media, he's fairly anti-Carlton.

I heard it and was surprised he said what he did.

The top 4: St Kilda, Collingwood, Geelong, Western Bulldogs.

Saints: Lost to them, but pushed them to within 9 points in what is regarded as one of the games of the season. Also gave them a 5 or 6 goal head start so I dare say we would have been even closer had we bothered to turn up for the first 15 minutes of that match.

Pies: Won 1, Lost 1. We murdered them first time around, they gave it back to us the 2nd time.

Cats: Got over them pretty comfortably in the end.

Bulldogs: Easily accounted for them at Etihad.

To say we are a long way off these teams is a silly thing to say.

i'm liking our finals chances because if we get over adelaide and finish 5th,we will not leave melbourne for any finals game and if we are on we are a huge chance of beating any of the top 4,especially with a packed g cheering the boys on

The thing I like about Barge is that he speaks his mind, and doesn't trot out the old cliche's every week. Playing Adelaide this week will be a massive test, as they have some severe talent accross every line. Should this happen, we'll end up playing Brisbane, and i'd feel reasonably confident of knocking them off, even if we have to go to Brisbane to play them.

Brian Taylor makes a lot of those comments to get us talking, thats what he's paid to do - ideally, as the 2 form sides in the comp right now - I can see a Carlton vs Collingwood grand final

Saints: Lost to them, but pushed them to within 9 points in what is regarded as one of the games of the season. Also gave them a 5 or 6 goal head start so I dare say we would have been even closer had we bothered to turn up for the first 15 minutes of that match.

Pies: Won 1, Lost 1. We murdered them first time around, they gave it back to us the 2nd time.

Cats: Got over them pretty comfortably in the end.

Bulldogs: Easily accounted for them at Etihad.

no 1 we beaten Collingwood once the Bulldogs who we only played once same with Geelong and close to knock of St kilda hope we can really rub it into Brian Taylors cocky face and wipe that smile of his .
lol if Collingwood goes out in straight sets ;)

I think he has a reasonable point. Sure, anything can happen, but when we've lost our last few games against the Crows and their style totally negates us, it's pretty reasonable to tip them. Not only that, we have a young team that is largely untried in the heat of finals.

I'm not saying we've got no chance; rather, we have a big shot. But let's not get ahead of ourselves... happens a little too often and we always pay the price for it. Let's calm down and be realistic. Our "form" hardly makes us worthy of a GF meeting with Collingwood. 7 out of 8 is amazing and a win is a win is a win, but aside from the Geelong game, we've been unable to sustain a convincing four-quarter performance. There have been occasional flashes of brilliance (certain quarters against Port, Sydney, Freo) but there's much more to go.

Yeah I heard these comments.
We are slipping under the radar nicely, everyone is jumping on the Western Bulldogs band wagon after their win over Geelong but everyone has seemed to forget how we dismantled them a couple of weeks ago more comprehensively, think we'll shock a few people if we can get over the week 1 hurdle and the Bulldogs could be out in straight sets. Think we're are great chance to make the Prelim

North beat St.Kilda. Does that mean they win the next one against the saints?

Collingwood had their reserves team that round! Surely even the most one eyed Carlton supporter would have noted that?

While I'm at it...

Cats: Got over them pretty comfortably in the end. Finals Football is totally different.

Bulldogs: Easily accounted for them at Etihad. Would love to see Carlton play the dogs now at the business end of the season.

I don't think you guys are a long way off, but not top 4. Maybe in 2 years time.
The fact that Essendon, Hawthorn, Port, Syndey have fallen over has pushed you guys up the ladder sooner. If Judd has a poor game Carlton tend to struggle.

You have some good points Collingwood guy, but let's be real. You can only beat the team that runs out onto the park. If we had to play the Pies now though, I would say we would lose by about 5 goals, as they play a tremendous team game.

But I would back us against the Cats and Doggies at the moment, and maybe even the Saints. People seem to forget that Carlton has a pretty good record against the Bulldogs over the past couple of years.

I don't think you guys are a long way off, but not top 4. Maybe in 2 years time.
The fact that Essendon, Hawthorn, Port, Syndey have fallen over has pushed you guys up the ladder sooner. If Judd has a poor game Carlton tend to struggle.

this is an area where i reckon we have improved immensely though, i still feel we have won a lot of games well without judds influence, in saying that he still takes the best opposition tagger and eases the load for the likes of gibbs and murphy but we are starting to place less reliance on juddy, we arent so one dimensional in the midfield anymore altho we could do with another quality inside midfielder, the forward line is the concern, we need another quality forward to help fev out, i think we are on the way to developing a very good backline but its tough atm without waite and jammo, it is improving tho

And that is why you suuport Collingwood, caus eyou have no idea.

Collingwood have only won two more games than Carlton (could even be 1 game by the end of next week), so in reality you are not that much further advanced nor do you deserve a top four spot any more tan Carlton (even more so since only two years ago we were sitting 15th), cause as you point out team like Essendon, Hawks, Port, Sydney and even the Dogs to a degree have made it easier for the Pies to get in and stay in the top four.

As for Judd, watch some of our games of late, he had a poor game against Port and we smashed them, had a low impact game against the Roos, and we won so Judd although an important and a impact player we also have other like Gibbs and Murphy who pick it up when Judd is down...

You have some good points Collingwood guy, but let's be real. You can only beat the team that runs out onto the park. If we had to play the Pies now though, I would say we would lose by about 5 goals, as they play a tremendous team game.

But I would back us against the Cats and Doggies at the moment, and maybe even the Saints. People seem to forget that Carlton has a pretty good record against the Bulldogs over the past couple of years.

Are you serious, it would cleary be a line ball game.

Collingwood like most years has had a very easy draw. THey have played the other top 3 teams once, losing two and winning the other by 1 point.

In there past 13 games they have won 12, but have only played current top 8 teams in 5 of those games, so they have been lucky to play 7 games against lower ranked/poor teams including 4 of the bottom 5 teams.

So as it is the Pies have been lucky with a second half of the season draw. They haven't playd the top two teams since round 7 when StKilda flogged them by 80 odd points.

Are you serious, it would cleary be a line ball game.

Collingwood like most years has had a very easy draw. THey have played the other top 3 teams once, losing two and winning the other by 1 point.

In there past 13 games they have won 12, but have only played current top 8 teams in 5 of those games, so they have been lucky to play 7 games against lower ranked/poor teams including 4 of the bottom 5 teams.

So as it is the Pies have been lucky with a second half of the season draw. They haven't playd the top two teams since round 7 when StKilda flogged them by 80 odd points.

That kind of takes away from our current winning streak with Geelong and Port Adelaide the only 2 teams that we played that were in the eight at the time.

Having said that, I'd still think we're a good chance against any team and even though we might not win the premiership this year, next year loks very promising with the return of Waite and Jamison to bolster our backline and another season of our team gelling together and gaining more experience and hunger.

I'd also be tipping the Saints to fall off a bit next year along with the Cats.

i think Taylor is a biased biggoted idiot and maybe with comments like that he should consider a new career.
After we lost to the Crows earlier this year......and lost Waite for the season, Kevin Bartlett said we would be lucky to win many more games, there was no way we'd make the top 8......and he tipped WCE to beat us over here on the Friday night after it.........and has only just got back on us.

Just because they have played a lot of footy, and have a public profile doesn't mean they will:
a) Say what they mean....often they will say what will get people angry - makes for better press
b) Say anything intelligent.

Why bother getting upset about it.

We know how good we are/can be. ;)

Brian Taylor and MMM team were very critical of Carlton's defence on Saturday. They were basically saying that opposition teams should load up on big lumbering talls like Jamar and stretch our defence.

While this may work, we have done ok against big talls once our midfield starts working really hard and helps the defence out. See games against Geel and second half vs swans.

BT is assuming Carl will lose next week and then lose an away final against Brisbane. That's fine, he is paid to make predictions. I would rather be the underdogs next week anyway.

Brian Taylor and MMM team were very critical of Carlton's defence on Saturday. They were basically saying that opposition teams should load up on big lumbering talls like Jamar and stretch our defence.
......like Tredrea and Westhoff with Bogan and Laid pushinf forwards?
......like Mooney and Hawkins with Mumford pushing forwards?
......like Petrie and Hansen?

How quickly they forget that a Waite and Jammo less backline did the job for us vs the Lions with Bradshaw and Browne up forwards.....at the Gabba......in round 21 last year.

Bring it on.

I guess they have written off the Cats and Saints too right? I mean, off the back of one weekends results, witout any consideration for what has come before......that would have to be the right conclusion........right? :rolleyes:

Idiots.

We need to play with more intensity from the beginning of the game. Despite the fact we had some comfortable wins, our intensity starting games has been crap, especially against Swans, Port and Melbourne - despite smashing all three.

We need to play like we did against Geelong, especially against Adelaide, or they with smash us.

Likewise we need to come out with the same intensity against whoever we play in the elimination final - either Bummers or Dawks. If we do we will definitely smash the Bummers to hell where they belong, though Dawks will be a tougher task, but we will still roll them.

He might be right.

I think he is a good commentator and is very clear and consistent with his opinions. So what if he doesnt rate us? The last game he saw may have been the Pies match where we were just carved up.

Clearly this week is a big test. beat the Crows and we're a good team.