• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkers

These are some of the thrashings I have witnessed as a Carlton supporter

Round 18, 2002 - Carlton lost by 108 points to Collingwood
Round 10, 2004 - Carlton lost by 108 points to St Kilda
Round 7, 2015 - Carlton lost by 77 points to GWS

There are many, many many others I have witnessed including the match where Jonathan Brown kicked 10 goals for Brisbane against the Blues.

There have been some big thrashings in-between that resulted in Carlton losing a lot of money (due to poor crowd numbers in part) but no real AFL financial assistance was forthcoming. (A loan was once given...)

Right now the three-time AFL premiers (2001, 2002 and 2003) Brisbane are getting thrashed by GWS. The AFL are going to rush up there to assist them.
No thanks. If Carlton can incur thrashings Brisbane can too....unless we value Brisbane differently to other clubs just because they are in a "development state"?

My suggestion is suck it up and accept the situation.

There are many, many many others I have witnessed.

There have been some big thrashings in-between that resulted in Carlton losing a lot of money (due to poor crowd numbers in part) but no real AFL financial assistance was forthcoming. (A loan was once given...)

Right now the three-time AFL premiers (2001, 2002 and 2003) Brisbane are getting thrashed by GWS. The AFL are going to rush up there to assist them.
No thanks. If Carlton can incur thrashings Brisbane can too....unless we value Brisbane differently to other clubs just because they are in a "development state"?

Brisbane have never tanked or cheated. Carlton on the other hand.

An injection of talent over a few drafts with help making sure they stay and yes we are a chance to crawl out of the gutter, new training facilities, better/more staff. The league and other team supporters should not be OK with other clubs pillaging the Lions like a feeder club. Those that say we have the wrong culture etc instead of having you head up your .... suggest things that could actually fix the situation instead. Trash talking the lions is like kicking a puppy. Watching the game today I swear it is now happening we are getting sympathy frees from the umpires. You know how truely shit you are when that happens. If the League doesn't step in now we will see the Lions die again. 10k at the game. An all time record low.

There are many, many many others I have witnessed including the match where Jonathan Brown kicked 10 goals for Brisbane against the Blues.

Lol. So because Carlton had no choice but to top up with hacks after losing draft picks for CHEATING, we don't deserve help now? Nice logic.

Brisbane have never tanked or cheated. Carlton on the other hand.

When you say Brisbane have "NEVER" cheated is your definition of "cheating" having gone over the salary cap?
I presume it is.
In that case, Brisbane has "cheated" just like pretty much every other club in the league.
People just associate Carlton with salary cap cheating as the club got hit the hardest but look through the records and you will be hard pressed to find a team that hasn't "cheated".

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFL_salary_cap

Are you calling Adelaide's team "cheats" seeing as they were paying Tippett $200,000 outside the cap and tried their hand at draft tampering? or when they win the premiership within the next few years all is forgiven?
That is different "cheating" you are saying, that is forgiveable "cheating" as it involved Adelaide, right?

Are we going to label the Swans cheats forever because of them paying over 1.15 million more in 1987? or have we decided to forgive and forget?

You, my sir, are a hypocrite.

You choose when to call clubs "cheats".

How many priority picks have Carlton been given in that time?

Yes, no assistance whatsoever.

When you say Brisbane have "NEVER" cheated is your definition of "cheating" having gone over the salary cap?
I presume it is.
In that case, Brisbane has "cheated" just like pretty much every other club in the league.
People just associate Carlton with salary cap cheating as the club got hit the hardest but look through the records and you will be hard pressed to find a team that hasn't "cheated".

Are you calling Adelaide's team "cheats" seeing as they were paying Tippett $200,000 outside the cap and tried their hand at draft tampering? or when they win the premiership within the next few years all is forgiven?
That is different "cheating" you are saying, that is forgiveable "cheating" as it involved Adelaide, right?

Are we going to label the Swans cheats forever because of them paying over 1.15 million more in 1987? or have we decided to forgive and forget?

Go see a doctor... you're hallucinating. Lions have never cheated. We are no Carlton when it comes to tanking, and salary cap breaches. We have also never received a first round PP unlike your mob that was gifted PPs.

I presume it is.

Oh please. Going over the salary cap is a right of passage for any sports club.
Nothing compared to the Blues and their efforts.

I wasnt discussing Adelaide, you brought carlton into the mix in a thread about brisbane.

You sir are amusing. Please continue.

Btw how are those pp's?

How many priority picks have Carlton been given in that time?

Yes, no assistance whatsoever.

I said financial assistance.

The AFL is rushing up to Brisbane to put $$$$$$ money into your club.

Where is the concern for Carlton based on their financial predicament?

Oh, that's right. They can fend for themselves.

They also had a 100 years to get it together

Oh please. Going over the salary cap is a right of passage for any sports club.
Nothing compared to the Blues and their efforts.

I wasnt discussing Adelaide, you brought carlton into the mix in a thread about brisbane.

You sir are amusing. Please continue.

Btw how are those pp's?

Oh, ok, so now going over the salary cap is ok....as long as it is any team other than Carlton?

As stated, Sydney was over the cap by 1.15 million or whatever back in 1987...in real terms that is a more significant "overs" than Carlton in 2001...yet where is your consternation about Sydney?
I don't see it...
Do you send messages labelling Sydney as "salary cap cheats"?

I don't see you labelling Adelaide as salary cap cheats, neither Essendon or Melbourne...or any of the others.

Hypocrite - a person who pretends to have virtues but doesn't apply those virtues equally to all concerned.

A lot easier to get financial support in Victoria... there are a line up of businesses or government support willing to sponsor AFL clubs down there. Have a look at the Northern clubs and the lack of government support especially... Lions can't even get the local government to chip in anything for training bases or facilities. When we are down we need the AFL to assist us.

Oh, ok, so now going over the salary cap is ok....as long as it is any team other than Carlton?

As stated, Sydney was over the cap by 1.15 million or whatever back in 1987...in real terms that is a more significant "overs" than Carlton in 2001...yet where is your consternation about Sydney?
I don't see it...

I don't see you labelling Adelaide as salary cap cheats, neither Essendon or Melbourne...or any of the others.

Hypocrite - a person who pretends to have virtues.
Your salary cap 'argument' is a joke... what about Juddy boy and his Visy deal? Get out of here flog.

I don't see it...

Hypocrite - a person who pretends to have virtues.
They were part of your discussion.

You brought the blues into this discussion about the lions trying to sound all high and mighty (which in itself is ****ing hilarious) and were put back in your box.

Now you are just scrambling and trying to defend your clubs honour by bringing even more clubs into it. Its sad really.

But as i said. Keep going. Its fun.

"You can do it".

A lot easier to get financial support in Victoria... there are a line up of businesses or government support willing to sponsor AFL clubs down there. Have a look at the Northern clubs and the lack of government support especially... Lions can't even get the local government to chip in anything for training bases or facilities. When we are down we need the AFL to assist us.

Well Carlton are over $6 million in debt. If the AFL are generous enough to pay off North Melbourne's debt they can pay off Carlton's too.
Once Brisbane has had more than one or two years down the bottom of the ladder come back to me.

Your salary cap 'argument' is a joke... what about Juddy boy and his Visy deal? Get out of here flog.

What is the difference with Scullys dad getting paid 500k a year+ from GWS in a shady job deal?? Ablett with millions of $$$$ sponsorship dollars to go to GC etc etc. Travis Cloke got a million dollar footy show deal to appear in 3 episodes FFS when Eddie was in charge.

No but all anyone remembers is Judd. :rolleyes:

Take your sooking to the AFL as they allowed everyone of those 3rd party deals and no club in question did anything outside of the rules yet you have the tenacity to call others flogs....

What is the difference with Scullys dad getting paid 500k a year+ from GWS in a shady job deal?? Ablett with millions of $$$$ sponsorship dollars to go to GC etc etc. Travis Cloke got a million dollar footy show deal to appear in 3 episodes FFS.

No but all anyone remembers is Judd. :rolleyes:

Take your sooking to the AFL as they allowed everyone of those 3rd party deals and no club in question did anything outside of the rules.
Sculls dads salary was in our cap.

A cap that was inflated and more than any Vic club.

#createalevelplayingfield
With a larger list that is starting from scratch.
You do know our cap shrinks every year as our list size does?

Level laying field? Hahaha fmd you jest surely.

Spare me the crocodile tears while you literally manhandled draft after draft taking the best kids in the country. Now draft concessions have stopped you have an academy the AFL gifts you..... FFS

Within 5 years you guys are pushing for a Flag already and still you complain.

Go talk to a Dogs or Saints supporter FFS.

After tonight. They would be the worst team ive ever seen. The depleted bombers put up more of a show then them.

Spare me the crocodile tears.

Within 5 years you guys are pushing for a Flag already and still you complain.

Go talk to a Dogs or Saints supporter FFS.
Whose complaining. You bitched and i then explained in responce.

Let me guess your a 15 year old living in the stories of your grampy about the good ol days.

We are such evil northerners. [emoji57]

Giants shouldn't even been allowed to have an academy considering all the draft concessions the AFL has given.