Brisbane needs help

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkers

Don't know if points 2 and 3 would do much. Luke Ball had to happen because the Saints were unreasonable IMO. And looking at what other clubs gave up for Brisbane's players who left last year the offers seemed reasonable. No club really stood over Brisbane with the threat of the players leaving. Adelaide's lack of first round draft pick made life hard for the Polec trade, if they had one then there could've been more anger about Polec choosing a club. I think the reality was though that the trades were reasonable given the players were largely unproven. Where it's unfair isn't the trades but just the reality that there's nothing given in return for the development Brisbane has put in or for the big factor which was that they were all leaving at once.

More flexible rules with the ability to trade future picks could help in that situation. Firstly it would've allowed Brisbane to at least drag their haul of second round picks over a few years to spread out the picks and in turn make them more valuable at least in theory. Or to trade a couple of second rounders for a future first etc. Plus the SA and WA teams would've had more to offer so at least Brisbane could've had a fairer shot of driving up the price of Yeo or Polec.
Saints had pick 18 and 19, yet for former pick 8, Longer, refused to hand over anything better than 25. Longer had nominated them so the implied PSD threat was there.

Carlton wouldn't even give up pick 32 instead of pick 33 for former pick 12 Docherty. Again, he'd nominated Carlton so the implied PSD threat was there.

Off the top of my head West Coast were also prepared to take Yeo in the PSD if the Lions didn't accept their third round pick, before the Lions got Freo to help them out. Even then they got pathetic compensation for a young, regular first-22 player.

Rob Kerr's also on record saying that Polec nominating the club made it harder for the Lions to get fair compensation. He griped about the trade period going too long, thus making Polec's agent chicken out and nominate Port.

If you don't think the Lions weren't bent over, you weren't paying close attention.

All good points. I think a little bit of extra cash in conjunction with making it more difficult for young players to get to the specific clubs of their choosing will give pause to some players, but not all.
I just reckon that the call for a retention allowance is a fairly lazy way to "fix" the issue. There doesn't appear to have been any enterprising movement by the Lions as a club to sell the advantages of living in Brisbane that won't attract every player but will certainly appeal to many if positioned correctly. The noises out of the club - and the shambolic way it's been run over the last half decade don't help - only seem to focus on teh disadvantages of living in Brisbane which then becomes a self-perpetuating cycle

That comes down to poor offield culture and player development.

Karnezis in particular rotted in the NEAFL, at the expense of a player like Brent Moloney. Polec was dropped, promoted and dropped like a yo yo.

Billy Longer was told he had a poor work ethic by Voss. Why didn't his work ethic improve at Brisbane? Was it homesickness? Or was there poor player development by Voss and his coaches?

Karnezis had some deficiencies in his defensive game/running patterns that he didn't seem too keen to work on. 30 disposals and a goal in the NEAFL is not going to get you a senior spot if you have no defensive game what so ever and the coaches have to yell out from the bench in the reserves and tell him where to run.

Polec was always injured at Brisbane, hardly promoted and dropped like a yo yo. His form in the NEAFL was less than acceptable too. Just really needed an injury free pre season which he didn't get during his time with us. He left us due to homesickness and the fact that he lost confidence in his body to cope with the rigors of AFL Football.

Longer left for more game time. Something he would have been getting a lot of this year with us.

Homesickness was the main reason they left. Vossy and a few of the other coaches didn't help he situation, I'm more than happy to admit that.

Saints had pick 18 and 19, yet for former pick 8, Longer, refused to hand over anything better than 25. Longer had nominated them so the implied PSD threat was there.

Carlton wouldn't even give up pick 32 instead of pick 33 for former pick 12 Docherty. Again, he'd nominated Carlton so the implied PSD threat was there.

Off the top of my head West Coast were also prepared to take Yeo in the PSD if the Lions didn't accept their third round pick, before the Lions got Freo to help them out. Even then they got pathetic compensation for a young, regular first-22 player.

Rob Kerr's also on record saying that Polec nominating the club made it harder for the Lions to get fair compensation. He griped about the trade period going too long, thus making Polec's agent chicken out and nominate Port.

If you don't think the Lions weren't bent over, you weren't paying close attention.

We were certainly bent over. But thankfully, the kids we picked up with those picks looks the goods. Don't seem the types that would leave either.

Would you have given 18 for Longer? There were 9 other Victorian clubs and plenty could do with a decent young ruck, no one was interested. Same with Docherty, he'd nominated Carlton but the time to drive up price comes before the nomination. I believe the dogs were keen weren't they? But they had gone with Crameri. Nice kick, but just a flanker and needing plenty more development. Most clubs would back themselves with a top 30 pick in last years draft.

West Australian and South Australian teams can really win out when it comes to players who head home, there's no denying that. Especially when the other club can't make a strong case so it's not a legitimate fight.

My point was not that Brisbane weren't screwed overall. It's that each individual deal wasn't horrendous and that making players going through National Drafts instead of PSDs wouldn't change much at all.

You had 5 players walk out last year because you were a rabble offield.

You sacked a coach for no apparent reason and replaced him with a novice, when you gambled on Paul Roos being available.

You also replaced your Chairman & had a board upheaval.

Your entire club is/was dysfunctional. It had nothing to do with homesickness.

Yes, because those players decided to leave after that all happened...

If you were a Lions player at the time, you have shaked your head at the incompetence of the club.

Voss was sacked with a few games to go and there was a lack of clear direction where the club was headed. There was uncertainty.

Players don't crave to go home. The crave vision, certainty and a unified buy in from players and coaches. This wasn't the case at Brisbane.

There were factions within the board, the admin and there were strong indications there was a serious disconnect between senior and younger players.

If you were a Lions player at the time, you have shaked your head at the incompetence of the club.

Voss was sacked with a few games to go and there was a lack of clear direction where the club was headed. There was uncertainty.

Players don't crave to go home. The crave vision, certainty and a unified buy in from players and coaches. This wasn't the case at Brisbane.

There were factions within the board, the admin and there were strong indications there was a serious disconnect between senior and younger players.
Right, like I was saying the decision to leave for at least 3 of the 5 came before all those incidents. I think you are using our off-field events as a convenient narrative as to why we lose so many players whilst ignoring that we still lost quality talent when we were a decent team/winning flags.

For example none of these important aspects applied to Melbourne either for many years and how many players have they lost to homesickness? In fact they still managed to poach some pretty decent players despite being a basket case. Would this happen in Brisbane? There are many factors for this but simply put it is quite obvious the average punter has no idea of the obstacles faced by teams in non-traditional footy states in attracting and retaining players.

As for the bolded you are just plain wrong on that.

We have to be careful that we don't make short term fixes here.

If Brisbane need help, let's identify what they need help with and assist. If it is support and development staff, then hopefully the equalisation distributions will help in this area, as they should get additional funding from this. Increased AFL funding into the club might be possible to help reduce the go home factor. It shouldn't be further changes to the salary cap though. That needs to be evened out to give ALL clubs a fair chance, not just the big clubs in Melbourne, plus those currently flavour of the month with the AFL.

I'm not against keeping the academies. I'm not sure how we are meant to grow the game and encourage the northern clubs to stand on their own feet, without having some form of development system for juniors which these clubs can benefit from. Part of the problem is, certain clubs have been rorting the system for so long - that all clubs are now wearing the consequences.

It is hard for clubs to swallow the Swans getting yet another artificial leg up, on top of the Tippett/Frankin situation - with a bunch of really talented kids no-one else can touch. It would be different however, if the Swans and GWS were competing for the same talent. The solution might be, have one academy in Sydney - which both clubs can access (highest (closest to pick 1) draft pick wins) and the same in Qld. That way, talent in the northern states is shared more on a 'as needs basis', rather than the continuing rich getting richer situation which currently exists.

Where do you get this idea we have exclusive access to everyone? We can take one player from the zone we develop likewise now GWS have 3/4 of the state they can have exactly one pick from their academy.

It's done as exactly the same as a father son, we can nominate a player if someone else wants them we have to take them with a our next available pick.

If there is a colossal amount of talent coming through it would overflow into other states anyway.

This crying over our academies just shows what a sad bunch people are, you still buy the lies force fed to you about how the cola works, now this shit that nobody has access to the swans academy.

We get one pick a year from a state that produces 2% of draftees, now we get 1/4 of that 2%.

You do realise there's an entire state zone which everyone has access to yes? If the players are not developed by these clubs and just come through the system as normal then there's no special access. It's only academy players we get access to and why shouldn't we?

It's now up to GWS to develop its academy players and they already have a leg up seeing they have taken over academies we have already put the hard yards into.

Giving first pick from both academies because of finishing position defeats the purpose of the academies. Imagine ten 5-6 years by now, some gun kid comes out of the Riverina a GWS academy player they have put the hardyards into developing him.... And we get him because we finish one spot lower on the ladder?

You would all be up in arms again. As long as its the clubs putting the work in, it's the clubs that should get the reward.

They're not gonna be happy when Aish comes home.

Should've given us pick 12 and Polec for Tippett when we offered. Brown and Tippett would've been a formidable combo for a couple years. Stingey bastards, could've saved us both a lot of trouble ;) Seriously though, draft Lachie Weller you muppets. Get some Queensland blood in there and give the locals something to get excited about. Scour the league for all the Queenslanders you can find to curb the go home factor and fire up the locals.

See I don't think that's any real excuse. Brisbane is one club for 2 mil people. Melbourne is 10 clubs for 4 million, of which players from Coll, Ess, Haw etc are much more valuable than WB, Melb, North etc. I know the footy culture and sporting culture is different in Brisbane. But if you were a company that had equal business in both Brisbane and Melbourne who would you rather use for advertising Jono Brown or Rockliff or Nathan Jones?

Obviously Browny was special but he's a bigger name in Melbourne than any Bulldogs, North or Demons player. In fact you can make a case Billy Slater and Cam Smith are bigger names with wider appeal than the stars of smaller Victorian teams. I can't help but believe the biggest names at the Lions can't obtain corporate support when there's only the Reds and Broncos for competition.

It's called market identity. Jonathan Brown is a big name in Melbourne, but cam smith and Billy Slater are bigger names in Brisbane.

Brisbane is in Qld a state that prides itself on Queenslander obsession. And league is a country mile infront of any competitor.

If you want to sell a product, you go for the best marketable player.

This means broncos players Qld origin players other Qld sporting hero's (see cricketers)

Jonathan Brown is not a superstar in Qld he's "that guy from the lions" unless you follow aussie rules he's not well known other then "he sounds familiar"

Hell Adam Goodes is a bigger name in Qld then Jonathan Brown.

That's the reality the lions face, Sydney atleast off the back of sustained success for the last 16 years. Is making in roads with advertising and attracting attention.

You just don't understand the realities, a few years ago a absolute superstar of league lost his shit on air because someone dared to mention the Swans he left the set of a high rating sports program.

That is the reality faced by clubs not just a low profile but OUTRIGHT OPPOSITION! By media personality's.

People have no idea how much of a big deal it is to get a station like Triple M in Sydney to cover every swans game, let alone the lions up in QLD. League is the main game in Sydney. League is THE game in Brisbane.

It's called market identity. Jonathan Brown is a big name in Melbourne, but cam smith and Billy Slater are bigger names in Brisbane.

Brisbane is in Qld a state that prides itself on Queenslander obsession. And league is a country mile infront of any competitor.

If you want to sell a product, you go for the best marketable player.

This means broncos players Qld origin players other Qld sporting hero's (see cricketers)

Jonathan Brown is not a superstar in Qld he's "that guy from the lions" unless you follow aussie rules he's not well known other then "he sounds familiar"

Hell Adam Goodes is a bigger name in Qld then Jonathan Brown.

That's the reality the lions face, Sydney atleast off the back of sustained success for the last 16 years. Is making in roads with advertising and attracting attention.

You just don't understand the realities, a few years ago a absolute superstar of league lost his shit on air because someone dared to mention the Swans he left the set of a high rating sports program.

That is the reality faced by clubs not just a low profile but OUTRIGHT OPPOSITION! By media personality's.

People have no idea how much of a big deal it is to get a station like Triple M in Sydney to cover every swans game, let alone the lions up in QLD. League is the main game in Sydney. League is THE game in Brisbane.
I still disagree. Brisbane have 23k members, still average over 20k supporters to a game, still play in a city of 2mil people and even retain some link to supporters in Victoria.

The complaint was about lacking 3rd party deals. My opinion was that Brisbane are no worse off than Melb, St Kilda, WB and North and you can add in Gold Coast and GWS. If they have some relevance as a team and a top player with marketable characteristics I'd say they are every chance to find 3rd party deals for that player. I don't expect Rockliff to start popping up every there used to be a Darren Lockyer picture but neither is Ryan Griffen replacing Scott Pendlebury in ads any time soon.

My understand of Brisbane was despite League always being number 1 there is room for in roads for other sports AFL included. There's only 1 team and the attendance is hardly huge for Broncos games given the size of the city. I certainly wont argue it's a state of origin town and anything origin related is obviously massive. And my earlier posts in this thread indicate I agree Brisbane needs off field help. I'm just not buying the line that they can't get 3rd party deals.

I still disagree. Brisbane have 23k members, still average over 20k supporters to a game, still play in a city of 2mil people and even retain some link to supporters in Victoria.

The complaint was about lacking 3rd party deals. My opinion was that Brisbane are no worse off than Melb, St Kilda, WB and North and you can add in Gold Coast and GWS. If they have some relevance as a team and a top player with marketable characteristics I'd say they are every chance to find 3rd party deals for that player. I don't expect Rockliff to start popping up every there used to be a Darren Lockyer picture but neither is Ryan Griffen replacing Scott Pendlebury in ads any time soon.

My understand of Brisbane was despite League always being number 1 there is room for in roads for other sports AFL included. There's only 1 team and the attendance is hardly huge for Broncos games given the size of the city. I certainly wont argue it's a state of origin town and anything origin related is obviously massive. And my earlier posts in this thread indicate I agree Brisbane needs off field help. I'm just not buying the line that they can't get 3rd party deals.

Mate I don't want to play the 'you don't live here so how would you know?' card, but that adage is honestly not far from the truth. Yes origin may galvanise the state, but it is the bond with Rugby League which makes it so. While big clubs in Melbourne undoubtedly dominate the market in Victoria, our only club has essentially zero corporate pulling power. Don't let the premiership bandwagoners fool you, the Brisbane Lions have very small roots in this city.

If you were asking for money to increase your football department spend and get better development coaches, I don't think anyone would have a problem with that. That's the help that Port Adelaide received (even though $11 million of that is a loan that has to be repaid as part of buying our license and the Crows got $3 million from the AFL as well). But what I gather is you don't want that, but rather some sort of salary cap relief because Queensland is such a poor destination to be at as a footballer?

There are only 18 places where you can play elite level football in the world. If someone wants to go home, an extra $10,000 for every $100,000 isn't going to make a difference. What will is creating a culture of success and instilling the belief in your young players that Brisbane is a destination club and not a feeder club - and that only comes from hard work.

Port Adelaide could have easily taken that $14 million and pissed it up the wall. Sydney isn't successful because of any player retention allowance, but because they have developed a winning culture of success at any cost which filters down to the younger players and they buy in because of it. That's the culture that we as a club are starting to rediscover, because we had it during our SANFL days. But going cap in hand for salary cap concessions to attract and retain star players just because your club couldn't capitalize on the goodwill you had in the community after winning 3 premierships in a row, a feat that won't be replicated for a very long time? Brisbane needs help, not welfare.

Um ..have you quoted the right poster?.....There seem to be an obvious brain fade which needed a gentle reminder there was help...(Thinking I might have stumbled across a common theme with Port folk)
Here's the convo....

Brisbane are above Saints on the ladder.
Port were as bad as both of them 2 years ago and no help was given to them.

I think that you will find that Port were only getting some of the money that, but for a cra** stadium deal, was theirs in the first instance.

The sum of 14 million.....

The AFL will give Port $1 million each year until 2013, and lend the SANFL another $9 million to give Port an extra $6 million, plus $3 million to Adelaide from 2012-14. Both bodies previously gave Port a combined $5 million in 2009.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...deal-to-14m-20110630-1gt27.html#ixzz35eLONvcq

My argument is that the AFL's outpost in Rugby league need developing and need the same sort of coin thrown at them, as was thrown at the Melbourne and South Australian clubs, to get it to work..

We have a Media performing President who is complaining that there are too many spuds in the game...yet... he is wanting the end of both Sydney's & Brisbane's academies their crime, they are developing players in Rugby states that could work out to be more than spuds......and the teams could become stronger and makes it harder for his side to compete.

Brisbane, as the Bears then Lions have been in the AFL for quarter of a century...Yet it is only this year that the AFL have changed the 2nd tier (reserves) competition (trying to bring it up to speed of VFL and SA)...We talk about go home and here is something to contemplate, when a young kid is drafted they'll likely spend 1 to 2 years in development in the reserves...Now if the competition is of the standard of 4th tier comp (amateur) leagues in pro football states how is that helping their development? Might as well get the chip manufacturer down there...A player can kick a bagful of goals in a reserves in Qld league...but that still wont be anywhere near the standard it takesto make it at senior level and their stats when they are called up are telling...A player gets to the end of their 2 year contract and possibly be thinking.. I can play reserve football just as well in my home state in a much stronger competition that will benefit my development..than I can here..

I still disagree.

And you can keep disagreeing and you will keep being wrong. Even at the height of the Brisbane lions glory years I worked in an office/factory of 250 people and I was the only Lions supporter and along with that there were a Hawks and a Dons fan that I chatted footy. I used to get asked about the game by others who had not a clue. It was Broncos Broncos Broncos or Sydney Rugby League club and to be frank it drove me 7 asterisks insane.

The Broncos were the reason for the Rugby League Super League wars. It is a simple game for watching on TV. The Broncos do not need big crowds and League in general does not. It is the perfect example of made for TV entertainment.

I took my League loving manager to the Carlton Saints Monday night game recently as we were in conference in Melbourne. He walked half way through the 3rd 1/4. it was not that good a game admittedly but there was still a few beers to drink.

I walked into my office of about a dozen people this week and said Browny has retired and got "care factor zero" from one person and no comment from anyone else.

If you want to argue 3rd party deals Luke Power had issues with his BoQ deal and it had to be included in his salary cap. I know for a fact that the Shampoo ads were not.

I can give you lots more examples if you wish. I can give you examples of Brisbanites fickleness with other sports. The Brisbane Strikers pulling 40 odd thousand at a soccer Grand Final that I attended and going to the first game next season and they got less than 7000. I knew a bloke involved in the Strikers and he said it was demoralising. The Reds too. Hottest tix in town when they are going ok. I got given one in a Garage when they weren't.

I am not after additional money over the salary cap and from what I read on here and on the Brisbane board hardly any of us want. We do want understanding that it is not an easy market to win over when the local newspaper has only one Aussie rules writer and he spends his time trashing us even when we are going well. The owners of the Broncos is the local news paper! Go figure! In the end we want you all to know that the Go Home factor is palpable. Also that an academy is hardly going to hurt anyone else.

At the Gabba only about a quarter of the corporate boxes are used. I worked for a company that the owner was a huge Swans fan and had a box for three years. He had to stop it because he couldn't get any customer or staff to go on a regular basis to justify the cost. If you cant get people to go where there is free booze and gourmet food it is telling....

Your missing the point, marketing AFL stars are not marketable in QLD nobody is going to offer third party deals of anything of value to a Brisbane player.

AFL players are long way down the list of getting third party deals.

You put ANYONE in the AFL into the lions list, even pendles and Qld based endorsements will not come.

As has been said, you think you understand. But you don't.

I walked into my office of about a dozen people this week and said Browny has retired and got "care factor zero" from one person and no comment from anyone else.
I had a similar experience. I got a text telling me about his retirement while I was in an office less than 1km from the Gabba with 15 people who all know I'm a big Lions fan. Someone asked about my "naaaaw" reaction. When I told them that Jonathan Brown had retired I got one "Is that the big guy from the Lions?" but only blank looks or shrugs from the rest.

I am a teacher in a Brisbane School, only 10km from NEAFL club Redlands.

No one in my year 5 class knows who Jonathan Brown is. Only one of the 25 kids admits to having watched AFL before.

You have to question what strategic importance Brisbane hold if they haven't set a foothold in Brisbane some 20 years later.

Considering its the very edge of the frontier it's THE most important team in the comp. Right now it is QLD that's bankrolling the NRL and once a second Brisbane team is in place the NRL will look to expand.

People don't realise NRL teams run on a much lower budget go live to sweet **** all of the country yet still challange and sometimes surpass AFL for media rights.

Just by having a team in Brisbane it forces the NRL to keep throwing money around to stop the influence of the AFL rather then expanding and growing league.

Its hard to justify giving Lions extra money in the salary cap if they run at a big financial loss every year already. All they will do is spend more and get further into debt which the AFL (wce, frem, ade, geel, coll, haw, rich, ess) will have to pay off for them.

At the Gabba only about a quarter of the corporate boxes are used. I worked for a company that the owner was a huge Swans fan and had a box for three years. He had to stop it because he couldn't get any customer or staff to go on a regular basis to justify the cost. If you cant get people to go where there is free booze and gourmet food it is telling....

Thanks for telling me.:mad:

Just by having a team in Brisbane it forces the NRL to keep throwing money around to stop the influence of the AFL rather then expanding and growing league.

The NRL don't need to market NRL in Brisbane because the Broncos are the iconic brand in Brisbane.

As a club, the are like Collingwood, except they have an entire city virtually to themselves. The support for them will only continue down generation.

The Roar are developing into a big club and soccer has always had a strong presence in Brisbane even before the A League.

SE Queensland in an AFL context will be dominated by Gold Coast. GC has a large number of Victorians who retire there and they will be a very successful team in the next 5 years.

Northern Queensland will always be NRL heartland. Brisbane simply hold no value to the AFL long term.

The NRL don't need to market NRL in Brisbane because the Broncos are the iconic brand in Brisbane.

As a club, the are like Collingwood, except they have an entire city virtually to themselves. The support for them will only continue down generation.

The Roar are developing into a big club and soccer has always had a strong presence in Brisbane even before the A League.

SE Queensland in an AFL context will be dominated by Gold Coast. GC has a large number of Victorians who retire there and they will be a very successful team in the next 5 years.

Northern Queensland will always be NRL heartland. Brisbane simply hold no value to the AFL long term.

I've pointed it out before and i will again, you my friend have no idea. What an idiotic thing to say.