roobob

kangaroos
There is no doubt in my mind that Brown and possibly Chad Jones will play an important role in the forward line. As well as needing a fullback we need to find a CHF and allow Hale to play in the ruck not as a CHF. As well we need to find someone who can kick an extra two or three goals a game which Motlop did.

So this is how I would structure the forwards

Grant Brown Wells
Jones Tompson Harvey

Yes, we've got so many tall backmen that I'd be worried if I were Johnny Baird.

I reckon Brown will play a floating forward/onballer role next year. Drew will play chf with Wells in the centre or ruckrover (hard to tell the difference).

Boomer will play mainly onball running forward. He is very dangerous whenever he gets the ball forward of centre.

Mr Reliable said:
Yes, we've got so many tall backmen that I'd be worried if I were Johnny Baird.

I reckon Brown will play a floating forward/onballer role next year. Drew will play chf with Wells in the centre or ruckrover (hard to tell the difference).

Boomer will play mainly onball running forward. He is very dangerous whenever he gets the ball forward of centre.

I'm pretty sure Johnny Baird will be delisted

I think Rawlings will play CHF, despite his goal kicking woes.
Browns ability as a forward is based on only one good game. Keep him at CHB. He is a better CHB than Watt.

With the surplus of talls I hope Laids tries Watt in some different roles.

He is the way I think the team should line up:

B. Makepeace, Hay, Perry
HB. Smith, Brown, Firrito
C. Wells, Harris, B.Rawlings
HF. Co.Jones, J.Rawlings, Grant
F. Harding, Watt/Ch.Jones, Thompson
R. Hale, Simpson, Harvey

INT Petrie, Archer, Trotter, Sinclair

EMG Pratt, Grima, Urch, Sansbury, Rocca, McConnell, McIntosh, Watt/Ch.Jones

Judging by the first half of the elim final JYD wants him to play forward. I would much prefer him play CHF and Rawlings CHB. People forget that Rawlings was a deadset gun CHB, whether he is up to it in 2006 we will have to wait and see.

Don't be surprised if brown assume Colbert's role as the floating tall down back.

But - and I want to see this too - if Rawlings gets games, it'll be in Colbert's role, with Hay at FB and Watt at CHB - which will see a lot of happy with Browny back at CHF.

Petrie may as well start sounding out Freo for a game in 2007.

tashibatts said:
Where the hell is Sav Rocca?

After 41 goals.. I think he deserves to be a starter next year..

Go Roos
At 33 years of age, I don't think he should expect that. He will definitely be in the mix, but we need to start getting some games into Chad, Hamish and even Moran.

speedy said:
I think Rawlings will play CHF
I would be pretty disappointed if we recruited him to play in the forward line. Jade has played his best footy to date off half back, and that is where he made his name. His career started to go downhill when 2 ordinary coaches decided to turn him into a forward.

I assume that we got him to basically replace Colbert; Hay to replace Brown at FB, and Brown to go to CHFto fill the hole there. Things could then change if Perry and Chad Jones begin to overtake senior players during the year, but this is how I think we will start 2006 structurally.

I really like it, to be honest. We have plenty of options, flexibility, experience and depth in the all important KP stocks.

speedy said:
I think Rawlings will play CHF, despite his goal kicking woes.
Browns ability as a forward is based on only one good game. Keep him at CHB. He is a better CHB than Watt.

With the surplus of talls I hope Laids tries Watt in some different roles.

He is the way I think the team should line up:

B. Makepeace, Hay, Perry
R. Hale, Simpson, Harvey

Sinclair & Archer off the bench and no Pratt? Me thinks Jade might be setting the cruise control to Nth Ballarat after about Round 6

Rhombus said:
Sinclair & Archer off the bench and no Pratt? Me thinks Jade might be setting the cruise control to Nth Ballarat after about Round 6

As an ex-Tasmanian Jade would play for the Devils.

I also think Browny will play forward, but probably roam from the HBF to the HFF. He looks his best when he sets off from the backline, runs down the wing and kicks long into the forward line.

FWIW, I think Jade will be given 10 games to find his feet in the backline - he takes a great hands - with Watt at CHB & Hay at FB.

Question is: where does that leave Drew. I think JYD will play Haley & Drew, but if Haley really steps up, then Drew might be fighting for his spot in the 22.

speedy said:
B. Makepeace, Hay, Perry
R. Hale, Simpson, Harvey

Why is Watt playinf FF
Why is Perry in the starting 18 after not qaulifying for a game this year.
Why is Rawlings playing forward, let alone getting a game in the first place.
A bit ambitious to play Ch.Jones at FF after again not getting much of a go this year.

Here's mine

B. Smith, Hay, Brown
HB. Urch, Watt, Firrito
C. Wells, Harris, Sinclair
HF. Co.Jones, Petrie, Grant
F. Harvey, Rocca, Thompson
R. Hale, Simpson, Grima

INT McConnell, Archer, Trotter, Pratt

Cheers mate

HeLMie said:
Why is Watt playinf FF
A bit ambitious to play Ch.Jones at FF after again not getting much of a go this year.

Here's mine

B. Smith, Hay, Brown
HB. Urch, Watt, Firrito
C. Wells, Harris, Sinclair
HF. Co.Jones, Petrie, Grant
F. Harvey, Rocca, Thompson
R. Hale, Simpson, Grima

INT McConnell, Archer, Trotter, Pratt

Cheers mate

That team looks good to me. No Rawlings?

HeLMie said:
Why is Watt playinf FF

Why is Watt playing FF?
Because we recruited a tall key forward and have been trying to turn him into a FB ever since out of neccessity. The Thompson-Rocca combo out of the square worked well. Thompson and a key forward with pace will work even better. There is no doubt Watt has pace.

Why is Perry in the starting 18?
Because when Perry does eventually break into the seniors Laids wont have him sitting on the bench as a backup defender.

Why is Rawlings playing forward?
Who on our list has proven to be a better marking option across HF? Petrie? Brown? If Rawlings knees stand up, he is a good chance to play.

Why is Ch.Jones playing FF?
Its a lot less ambitious than thinking he's going to come into the side and play CHF like some people do. Besides Thommo will be the no.1 target out of the square anyhow. Chad will most likely get the makeshift FB.

viccles said:
That team looks good to me. No Rawlings?

Unless he has a very good pre-season i cant see him getting placed into the side, but like Speedy said if he is able to come into the side, that will frree up Brown and allow him to play forward and it will improve our side dramatically.

Hopefully he (Jade) is able to break into the side, but i want him to really earn his position and not just get named because of his name.

speedy said:
Why is Watt playing FF?
Because we recruited a tall key forward and have been trying to turn him into a FB ever since out of neccessity. The Thompson-Rocca combo out of the square worked well. Thompson and a key forward with pace will work even better. There is no doubt Watt has pace.

Why is Perry in the starting 18?
Because when Perry does eventually break into the seniors Laids wont have him sitting on the bench as a backup defender.

Why is Rawlings playing forward?
Who on our list has proven to be a better marking option across HF? Petrie? Brown? If Rawlings knees stand up, he is a good chance to play.

Its a lot less ambitious than thinking he's going to come into the side and play CHF like some people do. Besides Thommo will be the no.1 target out of the square anyhow. Chad will most likely get the makeshift FB.

It's good to see you can justify yourself. But with Watt playing forward i cant see him going forward ahead of Brown (as you said), Ch.Jones, Jones, Thommo or Rocca so really their isnt a spot for him up there.

And i believe Perry may have to play off the bench if he does make the side due to the recruitment of Hay and possibly even Rawlings getting a game.

If Rawlings does make the side i believe he should start back, thats where he has played his best football and thats where he looks his most comfortable. A guy who isnt able to have a set shot shouldnt be playing a KPFprward role.

Whilst people have amazed me putting Jones CHF, i cant see much of difference between that and FF.

HeLMie said:
Unless he has a very good pre-season i cant see him getting placed into the side, but like Speedy said if he is able to come into the side, that will frree up Brown and allow him to play forward and it will improve our side dramatically.

Hopefully he (Jade) is able to break into the side, but i want him to really earn his position and not just get named because of his name.
You forgot Brady, that's what he was referring to.

HeLMie said:
Whilst people have amazed me putting Jones CHF, i cant see much of difference between that and FF.

He will be one forward out of a dual FF set-up. Besides he will spend plenty of time on the pine (as Rocca did) when we go with only the 2 talls up forward.

Most players will be in set positions, however matchups and injuries always decide who's in and who's out !! Just depends who we are playing !!

No offence Helmie & Speedy, but if the likes of Urch, Perry, and 'Dubya' Smith (or Watt, Firrito, Makey and Brown for that matter) start on the ground with Arch languishing on the bench come the start of Rd 1 I'll get the kit off and do a lap of Aami Stadium at quarter time.

speedy said:

As long as Ch Jones is in the team next year somewhere in the forward vicinity i will be happy, just hope he stays injury free because he looks the good stuff when he is