Buddy - How many weeks?

• Thread starter Thread starter muzzy2

Lake: fair dinkum choked a bloke
Lewis: wound up and swung a haymaker from behind that would make Clubber Lang proud
Hodge: threw a malicious elbow that landed square on the jaw

All 3 were FAR worse than Buddy. The penalties they got make Buddy's look spot on by comparison.
That's utter crap. Not arguing the penalties that hawthorn got but Buddies hit had the potential to break a jaw or cause concussion yet that was totally ignored. Buddy deliberately took a step forward to lunge at him rather than try to avoid the collision. Watch it again. Don't give me that crap that they were far worse than Buddies.

Apalled but not surprised at the leniency for Tippett and Franklin. We all know they would have each gotten 2-3 weeks if they were playing for their former teams.

Let's compare the two

Jordan Lewis, Hawthorn, has been charged with striking Todd Goldstein, North Melbourne, during the first quarter of the Round Five match between Hawthorn and North Melbourne, played at Etihad Stadium on Saturday May 2, 2015.

In summary, he can accept a two-match sanction with an early plea, after the incident was classified as a three-match sanction. Media should note the MRP provided the assessment of high impact among its reasons below, based on point 4.2(b) of the Tribunal guidelines on page 9 ‘.. strong consideration will be given to the potential to cause serious injury’.

Based on the video evidence available and a medical report from the North Melbourne Football Club, it was the view of the panel the incident should be classified as careless conduct with high impact to the head. The offence was classified as a three-match sanction. The player has no applicable record. An early plea can reduce the penalty to a two-match sanction.

Goldstein didn't even leave the ground
Edwards spent twenty minutes off the ground under the concussion rule
Fwiw - lewis deserved his suspension and the three weeks down to two, there is no disputing that - I'm just interested in knowing how they arrived at the two different outcomes and why clause 4.2(b) wasn't used here
This this and this!!!!

Goldstein didn't even leave the ground
Edwards spent twenty minutes off the ground under the concussion rule
Fwiw - lewis deserved his suspension and the three weeks down to two, there is no disputing that - I'm just interested in knowing how they arrived at the two different outcomes and why clause 4.2(b) wasn't used here

We all KNOW WHY!...2 wear the brown & Gold & the other 2 play for the AFL-RUN franchise....One also dictates to the media, which is why we have heard SFA about it until this arvo....Mean-while Lewis & Hodge get put through a trial-by-media 'shit-storm' for commensurate acts.

Does this hypocrisy really need to be spelt out point by point?

Gerard Whatley and that hairless Bulldog that gargles marbles on AFL360 both reckon both Buddy and Tippett got off too easy and questioned why the "potential for injury" clause isn't being applied consistently.

It's not just sour grapes from Hawks fans. This is a genuine inconsistency with the system.

That's utter crap. Not arguing the penalties that hawthorn got but Buddies hit had the potential to break a jaw or cause concussion yet that was totally ignored. Buddy deliberately took a step forward to lunge at him rather than try to avoid the collision. Watch it again. Don't give me that crap that they were far worse than Buddies.
Lake literally choked someone. It was one of the biggest dog acts you'll ever see on the footy field.

Lewis swung a closed fist at an airborne opponent's head and colllected him square in the mush.

Hodge deliberately attacked an opponent's head with an elbow.

They were far worse and thankfully the MRP results bear that out.

Meltdown time
Any reason not to? Even most on your board had 3 down to 2 which would have been fair IMO
I guess it's one week more than I was expecting though.

Lake literally choked someone. It was one of the biggest dog acts you'll ever see on the footy field.

Lewis swung a closed fist at an airborne opponent's head and colllected him square in the mush.

Don't you get it. We all agree that Lake Hodge and Lewis got what they deserve. I never said they didn't. But Buddies had the potential to cause significant injury which has been totally ignored hence the leniency and inconsistency.

Further to the above I totally understand the frustration re "potential to cause injury" but that still doesn't change the relative merits of each case.

In my opinion if Lewis got 2, Buddy deserves 1.

Gerard Whatley and that hairless Bulldog that gargles marbles on AFL360 both reckon both Buddy and Tippett got off too easy and questioned why the "potential for injury" clause isn't being applied consistently.

It's not just sour grapes from Hawks fans. This is a genuine inconsistency with the system

There is no need to justify the outrage to a supporter group so foreign to A fair & equal playing field & thereby the basic concept of football justice.

Won't argue Lake deserved what he got.

But Hodge didn't attack with his elbow. It was his forearm.

Lewis' hit was worthy of a few weeks, but then, it started because he was going for the ball. It was a careless brain snap. And it didn't have a lot of opportunity for serious injury.

Buddy on the other hand collected an opponent at full pace.

Tippett had his elbow pointing out, flying through the air.

1 week? Oh, of course, poor dears didn't mean it. :rolleyes:

Swallow and Firitto were able to play on yet hodge and Lewis get slap with the potential to cause injury. Do you get it yet??
we don't proudly play unsociable football. You like to carry potential to cause injury into every game.

Your boys along with quite a lot of clubs play the same kind of football - the Hawks get relabelled with it because it was popular in 08 and gets trotted out every year

Stefan Martin gets 3, Buddy 1 :confused::confused:

And some people wonder why the comparison are being made about corruption in the AFL to protect their own. The sooner there is a complete cleanout of the AFL and AFL commission the better because it is the only way any sort of integrity can ever return to the competition, because it sure doesn't exist now.

If m
Rubbish. The bump he made on Malceski that got 2 down to 1 was worse than this.
If medical reports are all that matter then it needs to be taken out of the hands of club doctors to be independent.

Bryce Gibbs does not like this.

So AFL, answer me this, is the head sacrosanct or not. Cause last week it was and Bryce Gibbs got 3 weeks down to 2 for an errant but essentially good tackle, and this week Franklin gets 2 down to 1 for a deliberate high bump straight to the head :confused:

Me no comprehend o_O
Oh buddy also did the same tackle on dance but rance got his arm out so no headstrike how is that fair?

#standbygibbs

Not really. There is a few posters from the other 16 clubs but the majority of the whinging is coming from 1 club.
1 club who gets potential for injury and high impact when those struck don't get concussion tested or subbed.
Don't tell us what to do until you get rough mrp pineapple. Which will be after all our lifetimes.