Byron Schammer to Retire

• Thread starter Thread starter yakka man

One of those blokes who had lots of potential but never really made it.

Best of luck in the new career, hope it works out.

Got that bit right, I don't think people remember how highly he was regarded early on.

Never looked like a star, but he was considered a bit of a steal at pick 13 for us and had a solid first year getting rising star nomination and a handful of Brownlow votes in his second. At the time it just looked like he needed some experience to iron out the deficiencies like decision making and disposal which were a bit suspect and we'd have a 250 game solid midfielder. He had good burst speed, could get the ball out in tight places, was tough, reasonable hands and good hearted player. Unfortunately he never really got better from there and then went a bit backwards it seemed.

Anyway, all considered it was a reasonable ride and good luck to him - happy for him that he gets to go out playing one last AFL game.

Well done Schammer for all his years of service in the purple jumper!

Now he can follow concentrate on his career outside AFL... TV commercials:
picture.php

John you are WAY too funny. Schammer WOW! :D:thumbsu:

Gave his all throughout his career, which is what we want to see as fans. A few players could learn a thing or two by following his example.

Really surprised by this, not having followed his career that closely in the last couple of years - but he was exceptionally highly regarded coming out of West Adelaide (who were a bit of a footy factory in those days). Know the Crows and Power were very keen on him for the first few years but not sure what happened to his career? Vaguely remember him getting absolutely crunched at one point in his career, maybe against Port?

I know it's an easy thing to say on the way out, but I reckon Byron would have meant this:

“I’m so proud to have played for Fremantle and I’ve always given it everything. I’m really proud and honoured to be a part of this football club and now I move on to the past players group.”

That's what I want to hear from a retiring player.

Top notch, mate.:thumbsu:

In my experience, crack dealers don't wear suits, or expensive ones. Or have a full repertoire of clothes on at any one time.

They are also intelligent.

And generally, moral beacons as compared to stockbrokers.

Usually get a bit sentimental and retrospective when I hear of a Fremantle retirement, especially ones this young. But Schim-Scham cost a few games when he was a regular. Was never really cut to be a good AFL footballer. Had the yips far too many times. His natural skill gave him more chances at the Dockers than most average footballers get in their career.

I remember he was my favourite player when I was 12 or so. Seem to remember him playing an okay Western Derby or something...

Anyway, all the best Byron.

In the end 129 games is a fair effort for anyone playing AFL most people dont make it that far so well done Byron probly didnt end how you wanted it but it usually doesnt. Again a highly rated junior that never lived up to expectation at Freo maybe if he went to another club he may have been a better player but he adds to the long list of potential players that have not lived up to or played their best footy at other clubs.

Really harsh how he has been treated this year.
I understand they had pretty much put a line through his name an didnt see him with a future here (and agree with it).

But when theres an injury list like ours surely he could of played a few more this year an given better output than some others.

Wish more players would give it everything like him.
Unfortunately some with skills just cruise through their career an never reach their true potential (MJ).

Coaches need to find ways to get his kind of effort out of every player every week.

A lot of early promise and interest in asking for trades (e.g. getting Josh Carr) from the Adelaide clubs then some games under CC spent in the backline (I remember against North Melbourne in particular) ruined his confidence with his kicking.

Then he had those post surgery issues as well really struggled to come back from there for a spot in the team.

About 2006 the wife bought me a jumper from the team store back when they sold ex game jumpers through the store still - mine was Byron's.

On ya Scham, best of luck.

Got that bit right, I don't think people remember how highly he was regarded early on.

Never looked like a star, but he was considered a bit of a steal at pick 13 for us and had a solid first year getting rising star nomination and a handful of Brownlow votes in his second.

Yeah I remember him going through a bit of a purple patch early on when he was a skinny little fella of 18 or 19.

He was looking really good and other teams started to target him physically. I remember him copping a few nasty bumps in that time as they tried to put him off his game.

Shame he never went on from there. CC really screwed him up when he started playing him as a distributor out of the backline. His disposal turned to absolute shit under that pressure and he never really recovered.

I know it's an easy thing to say on the way out, but I reckon Byron would have meant this:

“I’m so proud to have played for Fremantle and I’ve always given it everything. I’m really proud and honoured to be a part of this football club and now I move on to the past players group.”

That's what I want to hear from a retiring player.

Top notch, mate.:thumbsu:

Very classy and good to see the positive responses in this thread too.

To often as fans we're fast to turn on players once they go downhill and quickly forget they've been loyal servants of our club.

well done byron on a solid career based on guts and determination. my favourite memory of him was the courage he showed in that collision against the bombers (mcphee) we lost the game but that effort was simply fantastic.... all the best buddy