- May 3, 2007
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
yep its the AFLs faultClearly this is all an AFL conspiracy to deny us our rightful first flag in the 2020s.
The AFL will stop at nothing to crush us.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Supercoach Round 10 SC Gameday Talk - SC Trades ,//, AFL Fantasy Round 10 AF Gameday Talk - AF Trades
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
yep its the AFLs faultClearly this is all an AFL conspiracy to deny us our rightful first flag in the 2020s.
The AFL will stop at nothing to crush us.
agreedWorrying signs for hawthorn
Dont worry, I have seen the arrogance of hawks fans on this thread.You can go back at any select point in this thread and see these kind of statements.
My favourite is around 100 pages in, Hawthorn had just beaten a Teague-coached Carlton side and we’re subjected to lectures about the dangers of bringing in bulk draft picks and the impact on club culture…
Not as though any of that rhetoric is incorrect, but it’s funny watching the slow shift in mentality towards celebrating draft pick - largely because Hawks supporters now don’t have a choice.
Very few Hawthorn fans didn’t see the writing on the wall or chose to ignore it.
Good postA few of my own thoughts:
In terms of now:
- I still believe we were right to try not going full hard rebuild at the start (i.e. end of our threepeat). Geelong have now demonstrated it is indeed a strategy that can work - as criticised as we and then they were for trying (and Richmond are attempting exactly the same now).
- The reason it didn't work is multifaceted but it's not because we targetted Mitchell and JOM. They were both 23 at the time, most of our flag list were still young enough besides Lewis and Mitchell (who JOM and Tom were to replace), Hawthorn had finished top 4 and both players should have come at an affordable price (Mitchell because he was 5th banana and JOM cos he had missed 2 years of footy).
- Some of the bigger reasons it failed was Roughead got cancer at his peak and was never the same, Rioli unexpectedly retired at 27, we laned 0 of the free agents we targeted (some of whom it is believed made commitments to the club but circumstances changed) and GC 'took a stand' over O'Meara and we ended up paying way more than we should have (because we had committed and did not want to dissuade others from nominating us in future). This trade went to mediations and public appeals for some sense and ended up benefitting StKIlda more than GC anyway.
- Mistakes were definately made though and by the time we traded for Wingard (ironically to replace Rioli) the writing was on the wall and we again coughed up way too much having made the commitment. Other highly criticised trades (Patton, Scully, etc) I don't have an issue with even now as these players cost draft picks that were not even going to be used. They were essentially 'free' players to see if they could offer something.
Will be a hard road back and need to make every post a winner to return to the latter weeks of finals from here.
- I think it is right that we now look to move on some of our senior players (and look at a harder rebuild as we have been)
- I think it would have been advisable to trade one of O'Meara and Mitchell and not both in an environment with Gunston leaving, McEvoy and Shiels retiring and the sheer amount of senior experience we have lost
- Given the deals received - perhaps trading O'Meara and retaining Mitchell (i.e. we received fair compensation on O'Meara and poor comp on Mitchell) would have been a wiser play as many teams before us have demonstrated that moving on nearly all senior players is not a great strategy - BUT, the deal for Mitchell was a long way down the road it seems before the O'Meara stuff came to fruition, as was Mitchell's desire to get to Collingwood, so options at that stage may have been limited.
- Hawthorn fans may not love this view but for some time they have recommended getting rid of both, highlighting "our midfield is bad", "we may as well, it can't get any worse". On this point, I definitely disagree. Just because a midfield is struggling, doesn't mean it can't get any worse. Of course it can (see Melbourne 10 years ago). Our midfield's issue was more that Tom and JOM had little to no support whereas most teams have 5-7 rotations that were better than our 3rd best mid. Getting rid of your 2 best mids will of course have seen worse results. The good news is, Newcombe has come along, we have some recent draftees that look okay, we've brough in Amon and most importantly, we have a new gameplan that meant we were just as competitive after Mitchell and O'Meara saw less time in there. Still, we are very young (and vulnerable) and I recommend rotating Wingard (with Moore) back through there for his mature body/experience.
YepThis thread reached it's zenith prior to the 2019 trade period when we stopped trading out first rounders, which was the initial point of the thread, during Clarkson's push to stay up the top.
Somehow though it evolved into 'well the first round isn't really the elite end' when we kept our first rounder in 2019, to 'did Hawthorn win/lose on the weekend' in the last couple of years and now it's somehow a trade period review thread. Seems the main point got lost along the way, and that is that Clarkson's plan to top up and keep going didn't work, as much as many of us all backed him in and wanted it too.
Just change the title to "Where are Hawthorn at?" and be done with it, I reckon.
yep its the AFLs fault
This thread reached it's zenith prior to the 2019 trade period when we stopped trading out first rounders, which was the initial point of the thread, during Clarkson's push to stay up the top.
Somehow though it evolved into 'well the first round isn't really the elite end' when we kept our first rounder in 2019, to 'did Hawthorn win/lose on the weekend' in the last couple of years and now it's somehow a trade period review thread. Seems the main point got lost along the way, and that is that Clarkson's plan to top up and keep going didn't work, as much as many of us all backed him in and wanted it too.
Just change the title to "Where are Hawthorn at?" and be done with it, I reckon.
It's pretty spotless at the moment.Stick to cleaning out your list and leave BF icons alone thanks [emoji4]
well looking at the 2015 flag the hawks won...That’s not really what happened though.
Hawks won three flags, had another finals finish in 2016, missed in 2017, made the finals in 2018 and have been treading water in the bottom 10 since.
Following the threepeat the Hawks haven’t won a single final which means the list strategy didn’t even come close to being effective. It’s been a slow death roll.
Still haven't had a top 5 pick so technically it is still possible to succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draftThis thread reached it's zenith prior to the 2019 trade period when we stopped trading out first rounders, which was the initial point of the thread, during Clarkson's push to stay up the top.
Maybe I'm in the minority but I don't think Hawthorn will be that bad next year. Bottom 6 fodder sure, but they are that already.
You said Ross Lyon never played youf at the dockers.I’d like to chat with you mate, but literally none of your comment makes sense to me..
Hi Vindicater!!Where is Dominic03
La Dispute Gavin Excell Scotland HODGEYROAD and other friends, I am happy to release some of my "gold" from this thread from the past few years if you give me the green light..
When this thread was started the “elite end” being discussed was the first round, after trading out of it for years.Still haven't had a top 5 pick so technically it is still possible to succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft
The 3 years prior were the 3 years we were still trying to win.
Not 6.
I mean its terrible that Clarko won 3 in a row then tried for a 4th.
We should have ditched everyone 28 and over and started the rebuild in 2016.
Yeah, the real fun of the thread was the defensive delusions when they sold the farm for O'Meara it was all good...That was over 5 years ago now.
The names of those posters that were so defensive back then seem to be all quiet as reality sets in, how silly they were but were convinced every post would be a winner back then. The Hawks fans speaking now seem to be the more sensible ones and dealing with reality.
Basically. Title of thread has always summed it up. Buddy, Roughead, Hodge etc did not come from anywhere but the top end draft picks..It actually not rocket scienceThey were so adamant they could top up with a couple of players and everything would be OK because "premiership players". As though Ben Stratton and Matt Suckling and Taylor Duyrea are the nucleus of a great side.......The worst outcome came to bear, that is topping up to be a middling side going nowhere only to then fall off a cliff anyway.
Can we please consign this myth to history?
Crazy Clarko started after the 2016 season. You'd already been shown up with a straight sets exist, albeit Isaac Smith probably should've slotted the goal to win the QF.
If you were trying for a four-peat you wouldn't have let Lake and Hale go.
October 22, 2020