Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft?

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Geezus mate, we won't be cutting that much experience/depth from the list in one go. We'd be as s**t as Carlton have been in recent memory if we remove all of those players. A third of the players who you have listed will probably be kept around as depth.

Ceglar is a FA too btw. Won't be traded unless his new club wishes to not impact any other compo.
that wasn't my list of players to be cut, just my description regarding their importance to the team.

Something to consider is lets say in 5 years time Hawthorn are a "basket case" (whether or not they win a flag or two) - too many old players - uncompetitive and have 3 years in the bottom 4.

As long as Hawthorn can draft as well as we have been doing from the last few years - they might be able to quickly regenerate the list at that point

Remeber our strike rate with 3rd 4th and 5th rounders has been pretty good - so if the recruiters can nail the 3 top 5 selections they get then you could turn it around reasonably quickly - avoid the John Butcher type players

In other words, its Not If but when

He may be a good to very good young player but does Worpel look like the product of incest to anyone else?
Well he is from Geelong so there’s a decent chance, I guess.

Who do hawks fans think they are bringing in? Patton seems a lock but conigs seems a 30% chance. Any other names? Serious question
After you read their board you realise its far quick to get a list of who they dont think they are getting

No different to other clubs who are linked to plenty of players.

Freo not included, of course.

How do Hawthorn plan on satisfying GWS with trades for Cogs and Whitfield (who I believe they are after as well)

Both are worth two low 1st round picks each with Whitfield probably being worth more than that he is probably the most in form player in the comp

How do Hawthorn plan on satisfying GWS with trades for Cogs and Whitfield (who I believe they are after as well)

Both are worth two low 1st round picks each with Whitfield probably being worth more than that he is probably the most in form player in the comp

Who knows, bolstering the midfield/utility list with a b plus or better type is a must

šŸ¤”

Coniglio is a FA.

Whitfield is a FA next year.

Got a feeling the hawks through their desperation to stay relevant are gunna have a long long time ago I thought contending .

They are a junkyard scrap heap of collecting former guns with injuries .

By next year it will be Patton jom scully. All with their best footy behind them . No gun forwards , no gun defenders an ageing list and plodding midfield .

Crowds are down , and getting worse

The Tasmanian government had outs are on their last legs

They reap more money from pokies than any other club which is also unsustainable not only in the long term but also the medium term

Let’s see how loyal these hawthorn fans really are .......

Are rated so financial they donate soft taxes to prop up the rest of the competition
Pokies arent great socially but if thats unsustainable, so is the victorian govt who reels in substantial amounts of cash

Nice try