Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft?

Is this a joke?

GWS made the grand final and have a superstar midfield and Taranto won their best and fairest
Hawthorn finished ninth,and have a limited midfield and Worpel won their best and fairest

You do realise it is alot harder for Taranto

1. To get in the GWS team than for Worpel to get into Hawthorns team?
2. To get game time in the midfield at GWS than for Worpel to get gametime in Hawthorns limited midfield?

Taranto was also GWS best player in the grand final

This is just common sense mate, stop being silly now.

I agree it's harder for Taranto to get into the side, but if you're going to add provisos to Worpel's win how about we talk about GWS.

Ward played 1 game
Coniglio played 15
Kelly played 18
Greene played 19
Whitfield played 19

Taranto won it off the back of there not being much consistent competition for him, considering he played all 26 games and they did not. His only competition was Cameron who also missed 2 games. Unlike you though, I don't think that discredits Taranto who is obviously a top line player.

I agree it's harder for Taranto to get into the side, but if you're going to add provisos to Worpel's win how about we talk about GWS.

Ward played 1 game
Coniglio played 15
Kelly played 18
Greene played 19
Whitfield played 19

Taranto won it off the back of there not being much consistent competition for him, considering he played all 26 games and they did not. His only competition was Cameron who also missed 2 games. Unlike you though, I don't think that discredits Taranto who is obviously a top line player.
Heck De Boer is the one that probably would have won it if he stayed fit the entire season.

Is this a joke?

GWS made the grand final and have a superstar midfield and Taranto won their best and fairest
Hawthorn finished ninth,and have a limited midfield and Worpel won their best and fairest

You do realise it is alot harder for Taranto

1. To get in the GWS team than for Worpel to get into Hawthorns team?
2. To get game time in the midfield at GWS than for Worpel to get gametime in Hawthorns limited midfield?

Taranto was also GWS best player in the grand final

This is just common sense mate, stop being silly now.
Hawthorns midfield and the giants head to head? Noting both had their best mid out

What part don't you understand... I legitimately don't know how to simplify that anymore.

Who under the age of 21 has played better than Worpel.

The AFL site provides the list of best young players in the AFL

from that list these are some of the ones I would not swap for Worpel

Stephenson
Oliver
Cerra
T Thomas
Jordan Clarke
Rioli
Bolton
Stack
Ainsworth
Lukoscious
Balta
CCJ
Rankine
Mills
Taranto
Hopper
Dunkley
Naughton
Rozee
Butters
Walsh
Curnow
Mckay
Andrews
Hipwood
Mcgluggage
Rayner

That's in about 5 minutes

This is based on current output, potential upside, versatility in being multiple position players, and premium on height and KP and Ruck potential.

Also interestingly on this list the Hawks are 3rd last 15th, on who has the best young talent in the AFL

worpel strikes me as a bit of a plodder. Would he get a game at tigerland? i dunno

Richmond were without Stack, Higgins, Graham, Ross for the grand final
I dunno. Martin won Richmond's BnF in 2016 when they finished 13th on the ladder. Would he have gotten a game with the Western Bulldogs who were the eventual premiers? Or Sydney? Or any top performer for that year?

Well, yeah. Obviously.

Worpel is the youngest BnF winner for Hawthorn since Leigh Matthews. He's a young gun, and certainly no plodder.

The below are his standout games throughout the year, according to the coaches:

Round 1: Worpel 10, Sicily 6, Sloane 6, McEvoy 4, O'Meara 2, Impey 1, Crouch 1
Round 17: Worpel 10, Fyfe 8, Hill 4, Henderson 3, Lewis 2, Stratton 2, McEvoy 1
Round 19: Robinson 9, McEvoy 7, Worpel 5, Neale 5, Zorko 2, Answerth 1, O'Meara 1
Round 20: Higgins 10, Worpel 7, Brown 6, Goldstein 5, Ziebell 1, Wingard 1
Round 21: Sicily 10, Shiels 4, Smith 4, Worpel 4, Ceglar 4, Greene 3, Breust 1
Round 22: Worpel 9, Roughead 9, Smith 5, Wingard 3, Scully 3, Hanley 1

To put this in perspective, this is a 20 year old player who managed to get five votes from Ross Lyon despite Fyfe getting three goals in the same game (this year's Brownlow medalist). Such was Worpel's dominance. Only two Richmond players received more votes than Worpel in this award, as well. Dion Prestia (67) and Dustin Martin (71). Shane Edwards (45) had the same number of votes as Worpel (45). Richmond's next highest polling player was Tom Lynch (35). Basically, Worpel was a little ripper this year.

nice way of completely avoiding an argument you can't win
No because that wasn't the argument, you said Worpel isn't in the top 50 young players in the game.

You can't name 10 that have out performed him.

so you reckon Taranto and Worpel are just as good as each other?

Is that what you are saying ?
How was Taranto tracking at the same age as Worpel? Where did he place in GWS's Kevin Sheedy medal last year when GWS finished 7th (when he was 20, like Worpel is now)?

This is Taranto's 2018 season compared to Worpel's 2019 season:

I wouldn't begrudge anybody saying Worpel is as good as Taranto given the above.

The AFL site provides the list of best young players in the AFL

from that list these are some of the ones I would not swap for Worpel

Stephenson
Oliver
Cerra
T Thomas
Jordan Clarke
Rioli
Bolton
Stack

Ainsworth
Lukoscious
Balta
CCJ

Rankine
Mills
Taranto
Hopper
Dunkley
Naughton
Rozee
Butters
Walsh
Curnow
Mckay
Andrews
Hipwood
Mcgluggage
Rayner

That's in about 5 minutes

This is based on current output, potential upside, versatility in being multiple position players, and premium on height and KP and Ruck potential.

Also interestingly on this list the Hawks are 3rd last 15th, on who has the best young talent in the AFL

Relying on a post from the AFL halfway through the year. Ooooh boy.

You've somehow managed to include 6 Richmond players in that list, which includes a single game player who couldn't break into your lineup ahead of a guy who has been playing the game for about 3 years. Callum Coleman-Jones, better than Worpel?

To quote Brian Taylor - Wowee, boy oh boy. Bit of a mix up in the brain department there, Darce.

You've somehow managed to include 6 Richmond players in that list, which includes a single game player who couldn't break into your lineup ahead of a guy who has been playing the game for about 3 years. Callum Coleman-Jones, better than Worpel?

To quote Brian Taylor - Wowee, boy oh boy. Bit of a mix up in the brain department there, Darce.

I am not sure why you need to be dishonest in your views? You do realise that it means you lose all credibility?

The article was written on 31 July , that is a month before the end of the season, not in the middle of the year, but you knew that but lied anyway.

And as far as CCJ goes, just wait, and you will see. He will be an absolute beauty

I am not sure why you need to be dishonest in your views? You do realise that it means you lose all credibility?

The article was written on 31 July , that is a month before the end of the season, not in the middle of the year, but you knew that but lied anyway.

And as far as CCJ goes, just wait, and you will see. He will be an absolute beauty

Aah yes potential so highly rated compared to actual performance. Still u've waited 30 years for ure time in the sun so i cant begrudge u ure happiness

Wow. That is actually very impressive. Way more than I gave Worpel credit for.

Personally, I see Worpel as a rich man's Sewell or Shiels. I never considered him a chance at winning a Brownlow medal. But given that list, that may very well be on the cards.

ccj looks like a brilliant ruck prospect

Also for the record, Richmond would not trade CCJ for 2 Worpels

no chance

ccj looks like a brilliant ruck prospect

no chance

He might look like one to you, but he's still playing seconds football and averaging 15 touches, 17 hit outs.

In fact, he got beaten 45 hit-outs to 8 by a VFL lifer in the last game he played. Superstar.

CCJ seems to have gawn/grundy upside at this stage

will he make it? maybe maybe not but he is a tremendous asset. Former captain of South Australia, had a huge VFL grand final

Oh dear.

Hawthorn are middle of the table and looking like being there for awhile.

Having said that, anybody who thinks Worpel is not one of the best young players in the AFL is an idiot.

A middle of the road team don’t beat GWS (twice), Geelong, Collingwood, West Coast, Adelaide and Port Adelaide. Also stuffed up a 5 goal lead against the Bulldogs, Brisbane and St Kilda. Narrow losses against Melbourne and West Coast. Hawthorn were in a winning position in just about every game this year. All this without Mitchell!

IN
Mitchell
Patton
Frost
pick 11
Maginness
A big name player that will be traded in that hasn’t been spoken about yet!

Hawthorn are all but guaranteed an easy fixture next year. Finals in 2020 is a strong possibility. :$