Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points

I have been a big fan of George all year in the VFL (and last year) but even I didn't think he would do that well. He's already answered the question as to whether he could step up to AFL footy, he bloody well can!

Loved the play where he had 3 richmond players hanging off him and they still couldn't stop him let along drag him down. We didn't need another light fast flanker, we needed a great big unit to throw his considerable weight around. It was perplexing that first Wiltshire, then Martin were given games ahead of George. I wish him well in his career to come.

How do you change the narrative Dubs...
Change performances. He was not good tonight.
It’s getting a bit tiring the same whipping boys or a change of whipping boys every single week

Maybe a bit of self reflection and focus on the positives for once ?

Almost Bobby like these days

Mate, I got slaughtered for mentioning it during the game.
Apparently we have 35 stars on the list and everyone's firing. The 5 losses are just bad luck.

O.Henry was piss poor yet again tonight.
Ahh yes victim mode ..no offense as I said it’s very Bobby like these days

It’s getting a bit tiring the same whipping boys or a change of whipping boys every single week

Bobby..... that's a blast from the past.

Whatever happened to that poster?

Nah. Spent most my time here being positive.

My thoughts are my own.

Good first half. Disappointing second half. Richmond with 2 players off the ground and others injured still matched Geelong in the second half, looked better than Geelong in the last quarter. Close and Ollie Henry are not in our best 22. Best thing about the game was Stephens' debut and Guthrie's game.

George Stevens:

21 possessions
Leading score involvements on the ground with 14
= leading centre clearances with 4
= leading clearances with 8

Not a bad debut.
His goal was pretty good too 😻

I would like to see him against a faster, more damaging midfield unit but...

This could get awkward

I will counter that with big George being delisted on less than 20 games.

It's harsh. I like him as a person, strongly rate as a VFL talent. But I don't think his game translate

And so
I hereby retire from making predictions

It does come across as antagonistic and adversarial for the sake of it, especially the 100% focus on negatives and then long rants at anyone with a different perspective. It's never a good sign when someone goes the "this board has lost the plot, I'm the only one who sees sense" approach.

Anyway, moving on...

Stevens was obviously the highlight. A brilliant, high impact debut in a role we badly need filled. Miers and Close were back to their sharp best. Neale stayed involved. Zuthrie has found career best form again lately. If Holmes didn't stuff up a handful of kicks we'd be talking about a dominant performance. Atkins tackling again was so good. Dangerfield turned it on when he wanted to and then sensibly managed himself for the rest.

I'll leave the negatives for other posters. None are dominating my thoughts currently.

Snapped my wrist on my left arm and ruptured a tendon on my right hand straight after the Sunday evening Eagles win a few weeks back and have not been able to type well over that time.

Nor was I particularly compelled to contribute over that period.

Post-bye though, it’s time to take stock as we consider mounting an assault on the 2025 flag.

All these soft wins against unserious teams like Richmond make it hard to guage just where we’re at - and it’s the same for every decent chance this year.

Regardless, I liked what I saw this evening.

George Stevens made quite an impression on debut.

Can he be more than GHS, more than Charlie Constable? Maybe. Great start, but then again I was pretty bullish on George H-S. Whatever; great game and he gave Tommy Atkins some much-needed assistance.

Brad Close’s game caught my eye tonight; I’ve seen very mixed views of his 2025 season on this board, and I don't necessarily disagree with that conjecture.

But I think he has been adapting to a post-Tom Hawkins forward line with intelligence.

Small and slight by AFL standards, Close nonetheless regularly finds himself in the role of lead-up forward conduit - it’s my contention that Close has been dilligently developing this aspect of his Forward line role.
Rarely wins an aerial contest in those outlet-contests. But I reckon he has learned to nullify them very effectively.

Tonight his game reminded me - a bit - of Paul Chapman’s pre-2007 role in Geelong’s forward line, minus the Alpha Male posturing, Great stuff.

Similarly, Zach Guthrie’s efforts in the D50 are starting to conjure comparisons to his 2000s #39 counterpart in Darren Milburn. Dasher was uglier and meaner - but who is the better contested mark, the better 1v1 player? Tight.

A Bailey Smith-less midfield only demonstrated just how much Gryan Miers generates in his role as a non-clearance-attending mid.

Miers linked up all over the ground and invariably gave those forward of the play a better than even chance of gaining possession.

4 Points.

Ahh yes victim mode ..no offense as I said it’s very Bobby like these days
Could had fooled me all I see these days is constant vendettas against current and former players
I will say what I think when I want and you can move on if you want. But I ain't changing what I think because someone else says so.

No offense but Bobby is better value these days (yes he's on here) than a few prominent members on this board.

We banked % got no injuries and rested Smith and Duncan. Jezza, Patty and Neale all got a good lick. Stevens had a good debut. None of that changes OH performance.

Good first half. Disappointing second half. Richmond with players injured still matched Geelong in the second half, looked better than Geelong in the last quarter. Close and Ollie Henry are not in our best 22. Best thing about the game was Stephens' debut and Guthrie's game.
I thought Closes game was good overall O'Henry is struggling.

Snapped my wrist on my left arm and ruptured a tendon on my right hand straight after the Sunday evening Eagles win a few weeks back and have not been able to type well over that time.

Post-bye though, it’s time to take stock as we consider mounting an assault on the 2025 flag.

All these soft wins against unserious teams like Richmond make it hard to guage just where we’re at - and it’s the same for every decent chance this year.

Can he be more than GHS, more than Charlie Constable? Maybe. Great start, but then again I was pretty bullish on George H-S. Whatever; great game and he gave Tommy Atkins some much-needed assistance.

Brad Close’s game caught my eye tonight; I’ve seen very mixed views of his 2025 season on this board, and I dont necessarily disagree that conjecture is due.

But I think he has been adapting to a post-Tom Hawkins forward line with intelligence.

Small and slight by AFL standards, Close nonetheless regularly finds himself in the role of lead-up forward conduit - it’s my contention that Close has been dilligently developing this aspect of his Forward line role.
Rarely wins an aerial contest in those outlet-contests. But I reckon he has learned to nullify them very effectively.

Tonight his game reminded me - a bit - of Paul Chapman’s pre-2007 role in Geelong’s forward line, minus the Alpha Male posturing, Great stuff.

Similarly, Zach Guthrie’s efforts in the D50 are starting to conjure comparisons to his 2000s #39 counterpart in Darren Milburn. Dasher was uglier and meaner - but who is the better contested mark, the better 1v1 player? Tight.

A Bailey Smith-less midfield only demonstrated just how much Gryan Miers generates in his role as a non-clearance-attending mid.

Miers linked up all over the ground and invariably gave those forward of the play a better than even chance of gaining possession.

4 Points.
That injury sounds horrible. Hope your recovery is going ok. Sharp game analysis as always.

I will say what I think when I want and you can move on if you want. But I ain't changing what I think because someone else says so.

No offense but Bobby is better value these days (yes he's on here) than a few prominent members on this board.

We banked % got no injuries and rested Smith and Duncan. Jezza, Patty and Neale all got a good luck. Stevens had a good debut. None of that changes OH performance.
Strange stance considering your previous views on Bobby in the past

I guess you become what you hate sometimes .. you do you

Brad Close’s game caught my eye tonight; I’ve seen very mixed views of his 2025 season on this board, and I dont necessarily disagree that conjecture is due.

4 Points.
Ouch. Were you celebrating? Hope you continue to recover fully.

4 Points.
Good observations, including on Close.

He had a horror game against Brisbane but bounced back today with 2 goals and 4 goal assists.

Miers is a wingman in everything but name these days and his support as a defacto outside midfielder is obvious. Mannagh similar but more in and under around stoppages. People never mention them in terms of Geelong's midfield output but they should.

Strange stance considering your previous views on Bobby in the past

I guess you become what you hate sometimes .. you do you
Not at all. We built a bridge Sept 24th 2022.

Meanwhile you're raging at someone saying something critical of a Geelong footballer, who has been dropped this year, and is still in droppable form. And I am sticking to the topic and not retorting about you. People who are right in a disagreement stick to the topic, others deflect.

Stengle and Smith have to come in for someone and Stevens and Bowes pulled their weight to the point they've be stiff omissions.

Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points