Changes for 2nd Test

I know this thread is about the selected XI, but what about another change - putting in a third man?

Too many easy runs for Bell down there. Same in 2005, they scored heaps down there. I know it can seem to be a bit of a 'waste' of a position, but are there any circumstances (ie particular bowler / batsman combinations) where people think this would be a good move?

Honestly, Michael Holding, I thought you'd have better things to do with your time than peruse Big Footy forums.

Can I just say that you are my favourite fast bowler of all time?

Khawaja is the frontline batsmen on tour waiting in the wings. Not a good lead in and hasnt played much cricket since being called up for India. Questionable whether he's a better inclusion over Cowan. Only thing that gets him over the line is he is not completely mentally shot, which i suppose is a pretty big factor. Cowan looked like he was in a daze all test match, bumbling in the field and out to sea with the bat.

That might have more to do with the illness he had throughout the match that saw him off the field a lot

Geez - I'd like to have Bird in on the slopes of Lords.

Regularly hitting a spot and letting natural variation cause havoc would be great.

Bird & Khawaja in for Cowan & Starc for mine.

At the very worst Bird is going to bowl with miserly intent.

Oh and it won't happen but a keeper who can keep would be handy. We may go on about the Broad decision, but Haddin dropping a catch the over following that a quality keeper would have taken cost us just as many runs.

If people want to go on about Haddin's 70 then he can move to 3 instead of Khawaja.

X-Factor is over-rated.

What was McGrath's X-Factor; outside of just bowling a beautiful line and length with good climbing bounce?

X-Factor is great, being a good bowler is better.

X-Factor is over-rated.

What was McGrath's X-Factor; outside of just bowling a beautiful line and length with good climbing bounce?

James Anderson had X factor in the last game.

He took X wickets. That's all I want.

So many differing opinions and honestly, I can't make my mind up. So many different possible changes.

Does Cowan lose his spot? Go back to opening?
If Khawaja comes in is he number 3 or does Hughes move back up?
Does Clarke slide back to 5 or is he comfortable at 4?
Does Bird or Harris warrant selection? Starc is dangerous when swinging but leaky at other times, is our bowling too predictable with no left armer?
Could Wade come in as a batsmen? Certainly shown he's capable at test level but is he a better option than Khawaja or Cowan?

Will be very interesting and getting it right is going to be crucial to Australias chances, could also severely dent the confidence of whoever gets dropped and leave them useless for the rest of the series.

X-Factor is over-rated.

And the two teams who have been beating us senseless the last few years have no starc equivalent, no xfactor leftie for england and SA yet somehow they get by.

If a leftie and rightie are similar levels then yeah go for variety, but christ bird averages 20 in first class and 16 in his two tests and harris averages just 23 in tests.

So many differing opinions and honestly, I can't make my mind up. So many different possible changes.

Does Cowan lose his spot? Go back to opening?
If Khawaja comes in is he number 3 or does Hughes move back up?
Does Clarke slide back to 5 or is he comfortable at 4?
Does Bird or Harris warrant selection? Starc is dangerous when swinging but leaky at other times, is our bowling too predictable with no left armer?
Could Wade come in as a batsmen? Certainly shown he's capable at test level but is he a better option than Khawaja or Cowan?

Will be very interesting and getting it right is going to be crucial to Australias chances, could also severely dent the confidence of whoever gets dropped and leave them useless for the rest of the series.

Puttng Clarke at 4 is handing England a massive advantage. It's akin to gutting the team.

Shane Watson
Chris Rogers
Usman Khawaja
Steve Smith
Michael Clarke (c)
Phil Hughes
Brad Haddin (+)
Ashton Agar
James Pattinson
Peter Siddle
Jackson Bird

Prefer that team to one with Cowan in it. God, he looked frightened when batting. Horrible to see that.

And we might as well be realistic about Clarke. What's best for him is going to be best for the team.

Grandstand tickets for Day 3 and 4 - should guarantee myself at least half a days play. :rolleyes:

Cowan has to go you would think - would prefer Hughes going to 3 to avoid Swann for at least a while and Warner coming in at 6. Bowlers can all have another go.

Hughes was fine with Swan, just got a beauty leave him at 6.

Without being wise in hindsight, I argued Cowan is a crab and well short of test standard and should never have been picked a week ago.

Surely, he has to go - two horrible shots and a match average of 7. See ya. Hughes back to 3 and Khawaja at 6.

Bird is our best bowler in English conditions and must play for Starc who does not build pressure but relies on the odd jaffer to get a wicket.

Without being wise in hindsight, I argued Cowan is a crab and well short of test standard and should never have been picked a week ago.

Surely, he has to go - two horrible shots and a match average of 14. See ya.

Match average of 7.

Khawaja & Harris in and Cowan & Starc out.
We'll be pretty keen to come out and really show these poms what we're made of, and when you consider we only went down by 13 runs after I think we copped the rough end of the pineapple during the first test, this game should be a belter.

Would be prefect if Pup could win the toss and bat (assuming the conditions aren't overcast and it's not a greentop) and get the poms back in the field after only 3 days of rest.

Watson
Rogers
Ponting
Hughes
Clarke
Smith
Haddin
Agar
Pattinson
Siddle
Bird

Ponting won't happen... But me having a serious man crush on the great man gets him in my side. Plus, the other options don't really fill me with confidence..

Bird with his line and length bowling and movement off the pitch will be great at lords. He is averaging 16 with the ball after 2 tests and will love the conditions. Starc has talent but is still erratic and seems a much better ODI bowler at this stage of his career.

Bird up, Australia.

Khawaja in for Cowan and Bird in for Starc as having Patto and Harris in the same team adds an Element of fragility to our bowlers with both not being the most reliable with injures (I want to avoid having Siddle do what he did at the Adelaide oval Last year).

Clarke to bat at 5 and tell our batters to just to weather Anderson's first spell and take advantage of the other bowlers.
Watson to be Banned form using the DRS when batting.

Also i want the Aussies to stop being so Friendly too them get angry and someone Hit Broad on his head with a bouncer

1. Watson
  2. Rogers
  3. Clarke
  4. Khawaja
  5. Hughes
  6. Smith
  7. Haddin
  8. Agar
  9. Siddle
  10. Pattinson
  11. Bird

Clarke isn't comfortable at four, what makes you think he will be any better at three? 'The best batsman bats at 3' is a bit of a fallacy. Where did Steve Waugh, Allan Border, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara make the majority of their runs?

Watson to be Banned form using the DRS when batting.

That's stiff I reckon; watching live I agreed with Watson's thoughts that the ball was heading down and missing the stumps. Was only just clipping in the end.

It certainly wasn't the worst review we used during the match haha.

Clarke should go back to 5. Its where his record is best, and his game is best suited. Why stuff around with the one batsman who is on song?
Order I'd go:
Watson
Rogers
Hughes
Khawaja
Clarke
Smith
Haddin
Agar
Pattinson
Starc/Harris
Siddle

Why stuff around with the one (and only) batsman (we have in the team) who is on song?