Preview Changes for round 2 vs GWS

A plethora of excuses could be made for this week's performance so no need for kneejerk reactions as yet imo. JJK and Rioli the obvious ins for Waterman and Brander/Ryan.

If the mids remain flat, they will get smashed by GWS. Cogs, Hopper, Taranto & Whitfield look in very good nick...

It was a relentless tough physical game, be some sore bodies during the week.
Wonder how Schoey would've handled it...better than Cole?
The Loins were well drilled and coached, dismantled our aerial game, hit us hard and ran all over us.
Plenty of notes for other coaches watching on.
We are the hunted...

Out: a couple of talls
In: a couple of zippy midfielders

GWS will carve us up with pace if we go in that big & slow again

Yep, this 666 has changed the dynamics of the game entirely. The need for pace is now even greater, but also so is the absolute need for contested ability. We need more of the Shuey and Yeo types - we must persist with Venerables, but need a new infusion too - Foley, Mallen or Ahchee, perhaps.

Some of you lot can not fathom a bench make up...like stuff names..Brander will get his time after JK.

Darling, Waterman, Allen, Brander and 2 ruckman was way too excessive and we lacked run obviously across a 4 Qtr game. With Cripps and Rioli back it creates more run on the interchange bench by having them 2 start. This season is not going to suit having too many in and under players that are slow like Masto.
Id like to think Petruccelle is going to be kept with these new rules.

I would not call Masto an in and under player - not in this universe. Brayshaw is but he is supposed to be slow, so I don't think that will be an option.

Out: Hickey, Waterman, Brander, S****y Brisbane weather
In: Kennedy, LeCras, Lycett, Beautiful Perth weather

I really liked how Brander moved, but Oscar has a lot more grunt & confidence at the moment, so he stays in.
Waterman is 5th in line behind JJK, Darling & the other two young guys.
Still don't really see a place for all 4 unless one of them will be a fwd/ruck though.

Maybe once we play a few home games with good weather for talls, they'll come good.

McInnes has nothing to offer in AFL sadly. Don’t understand the Watson in for Cole either.
McInnis would probably have been a better fit than Hickey for round 1, but oh well. I agree he's not headed for a spot in the 22 unless something crazy happens though.

I think Cole - Watson would have been for more clean hands off the ground and dash.
Watson is a pretty damn fast, clean player with decent grunt about him, looked physically ready in the JLT, I think when he came to WCE he was super light and couldn't stand up to the bigger bodies, but looked ready last time I saw him.

I reckon
Shepp, Barrass, Hurn
Duggan, McGovern, Watson

With Jetta up a wing would probably have been a better fit for R1, but again, hindsight is 20/20

Our midfield clearly had another gear to go to, they just couldn't be bothered, for whatever reason. Lack of intent :shrug:

I doubt there's going to be any wholesale changes off be off the back of one game.

Hickey and Vardy are our default ruck combo, we need to give them a chance.

Marsden plays his 200th, if he's poor again this week he goes out for Gaff in round 3. Couldn't possibly complain about that.

Petch and Brander are the only one's who are realistically in the discussion to be out this week.

Reading a lot of posts do people seriously want Hickey to continue playing for half a season until Nicnat is back???? Vardy ruck and Allen in for a chop out. Hickey is useless.

Out: Hickey, Venables, Waterman
In: Kennedy, Rioli, Cripps

Brander needs a home game. Getting thrown into an away game loss then dropped immediately is not enough time for a kid. Watermans had plenty of exposure last year we know he’s a depth player for now.

Playing 2 x rucks, 4 x Key Forwards, 2.5 x Key Defenders (if you include the big boy Hurn who plays on the 3rd tall) in feral Qld conditions where it becomes a 'scrub it along the ground the furthest' match every single time, the same as in Tasmania.
No wonder we got belted.
Its even worse than the effort of selecting a side that they put in to play against NM in Tassie last year. (From memory they picked Barrass, McGovern, Schofield & Hurn to play on a B.Brown only forward-line.)
I'm filthy that's the way we started the season. Kudos to Brissy for wanting it more & working harder, but if you put a team with your forward-line average height of 194cm accross 5 of your 6 forwards when none of them could stick a mark in slippery conditions - which you knew were coming, you're going to be exposed by any team.

Everyone out here blaming the mids when the first 'position' that let down the club was the selection committee - and not for the first time.
Hickey was lost, sure, but 1st game with a new club. Also recognize the efforts of other 'mvp' candidate rucks like Grundy & Gawn this round, either somethings changed with the way rucks impact the game now, or it was just the shitty conditions across the country for football to be played at a high-skill standard
Agree - was gobsmacked with the side the selection committee decided to go with up in Brissie in humid conditions - one word that comes to mind is "stupidity". Would have thought Ah Chee would have got a guernsey for better balance.

Why wouldn’t the club, who has a history of being very open with these things (Schofield, Cole off the top of my head) come out and say that? Why would they fabricate a foot injury to a promising player ahead of Round One?
That makes Hagdorn comments make more sense - surprise surprise - he just said that Rioli wouldn't be available for selection to make the trip to Brissie but did not make mention of any particular injury! Why the Club kept the reason so secretive is a bit mind boggling though?

I’ll believe the club over the Baldivis Brumbies on this one. They’ve always been forthright with family issues - Nic Nat with his mother, Schofield played four days after his dad passed. The club was heavily involved in the care of Tom Cole after his dad passed.

All of these things happened in the public eye. I have no reason to believe they’d not be forthright on this occasion, and then for them to actually create an injury and dash everyone’s hopes for a promising kid on the eve of the season makes no sense whatsoever from a PR perspective.

The poster in question has easily the worst track record of predictions I’ve seen in the history of this site, including Roby and his infamous power rankings.

The club has also acknowledged Rioli’s uncle passing on social media, so if that were the fact they’d just have gone the distance. You don’t half acknowledge the situation.

It sucks, but Rioli’s hurt. The Mayor of Baldivis doesn’t know what he’s on about, hence why we didn’t draft Ian Hill, hence why Patrick Cripps signed a monster deal weeks after he was supposedly a lock to come to West Coast, hence why Nic Nat isn’t retired and an AFL ambassador right now, hence why Hayden Ballantyne plays for Fremantle not Baldivis.

Hurn Barrass Sheppard
Cole Gov Jetta
Sheed Redden Masten
Petch Darling Allen
Rioli Kennedy Ryan

R - Hickey, Shuey, Yeo
I - Hutchings, Duggan, Venables, Smith

In Kennedy, Smith, Rioli
Out Vardy, Brander, Waterman

Vards is carrying something.

We were too top heavy.

Brander wasnt our worse, but I'm choosing Petch over him
Before selection heard that Vardy was in doubt so perhaps with hindsight it may have been better to hold Vardy over.

I look at Masten and I see the same thing I have seen for almost 200 games: what is he really offering?

He offers no defensive pressure and rarely tackles
He is extremely weak over the ball
Has barely won a contested possession in his life
Doesn't hurt teams at all on the scoreboard

The counter argument seems to be his capacity to run, which would be great.......if this were a track and field team.

Footy requires far more then just an great aerobic capacity or the capacity to run an excellent 3km time trial

I look at Masten and I see the same thing I have seen for almost 200 games: what is he really offering?

He offers no defensive pressure and rarely tackles
He is extremely weak over the ball
Has barely won a contested possession in his life
Doesn't hurt teams at all on the scoreboard

The counter argument seems to be his capacity to run, which would be great.......if this were a track and field team.

Footy requires far more then just an great aerobic capacity or the capacity to run an excellent 3km time trial

Just rewatched that the other day.
Dunno if any of those stats from Paddy are true. :p