Changes for St. Kilda and beyond

Glenelg
I make this statement while touching every piece of wood i can find (well almost)...IF we don't cop anymore injuries how do you see selections shaping up running into the finals?

For mine, Knights and Vince are certainties to return at some stage and it seems the club is willing to keep risking Porps and his shoulder (once fully recovered from his head injury). I don't think any other names will force their way in unless it's a like-for-like injury replacement (specifically, i don't think Tippett will return unless injury strikes)

This week:

I think Knights will be the only 'in'. The outs would likely be between Dangerfield and Campbell. Structurally, given Danger's ability to go up forward, I'd give the unlucky Campbell the chop (Having said that, if injuries do take hold i wouldn't feel bad with Campbell in the 22...a good contributor...if we delist him i hope another club gives him a chance).

Then it gets interesting if the injury curse is kept at bay:

I'd think R22 will see the return of Porplyzia and Vince, though the timing of both is up in the air.

Let's say they return one-a-week in R22 and in the first final...who will go? The first is a no-brainer given the overall situation and his position in the team structure...Dangerfield.

The next omission is a real tough one...possibilities include Mackay, Douglas, Johncock, Massie or even Symes, though i think both the latter two blokes will keep our defensive and rebounding action intact, and are suited to finals toughness.

So for mine it's out of Douglas, Mackay or Johncock.

Let's hope injuries stay away as it will be a pleasant selection problem in a couple weeks.

This week:
Campbell for Knights

Week After
Vince for Dangerfield
Porplezia for Douglas

For me Douglas is not doing enough, or well if he is im not noticing it. Is a midfielder and is only a serviceable small forward pocket. If not Douglas it might come down to a Mackay unfortunately.

David Mackay no ****ing way.

Mr.100% disposal efficiency will not be dropped, his disposal is the best in the side. BEST.

BEST

Mr.100% disposal efficiency will not be dropped, his disposal is the best in the side. BEST.

BEST

I agree but i can somehow see it happening. Had a ripper first quarter.
I doubt Johncock would be dropped, we need him in finals. Our backline is sorted so he can play that crumbing role pretty well for us.

BEST

Look i agree with you, but it's a possibility.

I know it's all hypothetical and based on injury but in R22 the choice may be upon us...who would you drop for Porps and Vince?

I'll say for mine it would be an unlucky Douglas.

No not Douglas! He is an absolute work horse, looked stuffed when he came off the bench. He has improved so much this year and I thought he played really well yesterday. Personally, I would be very disappointed if he was dropped.

Who would you choose to come out for Vince and Porplezia assuming Campbell comes out for Knights?

I think Vince would be ready before Porplyzia, so maybe Dmack? But he's been playing great footy too, although I would have Douglas slightly ahead of him at the moment as this has just been Dmack's break out year.

Sinbin:p

Its a good position to be in when we have Knights,Vince and Porplyzia to come back in. I suspect Danger will get another shot this week with the unlucky Campbell to go out.

By the way - I reckon Campbell will not be delisted.

Can I assume then that Trent will not take any part this year for the Crows?

I think Danger with all that speed and enthusiasm he is going to be very important come finals time in the forward zone, hopefully we can persist with him.

If Porps is fit enough could be another potent weapon up forward.

Our forward line is so very different to what I thought it would be back before the season started.

I would love to see Taylor Walker in there.

Although i'd love him to stay, i can see Dangerfield going out for Knighta being the only change.

But as said before, it could easily be Campbell....

Milne should miss for the Saints, I hear he has a fractured eye socket.

Makes our task a little easier, he has a habit of always scoring 2-3 goals.

Can I assume then that Trent will not take any part this year for the Crows?

I think Danger with all that speed and enthusiasm he is going to be very important come finals time in the forward zone, hopefully we can persist with him.

If Porps is fit enough could be another potent weapon up forward.

Our forward line is so very different to what I thought it would be back before the season started.

I would love to see Taylor Walker in there.

Really poor post.

It is a hard decision. I personally think Mackay and Douglas should both stay in. Mackay is going to be a very, very good player. Douglas applies a lot of forward pressure and crumbs well and we don't have many crumbers.

For mine it could be between Massie and Symes, possibly pushing Massie out only to get the youngsters some finals action.

Milne should miss for the Saints, I hear he has a fractured eye socket.

Makes our task a little easier, he has a habit of always scoring 2-3 goals.

Not a certainty to miss. He has kept playing against the Dorkers and was filthy when he went to the bench.

Looks hideous though! Fingers crossed he misses next week.

Really poor post.

It is a hard decision. I personally think Mackay and Douglas should both stay in. Mackay is going to be a very, very good player. Douglas applies a lot of forward pressure and crumbs well and we don't have many crumbers.

For mine it could be between Massie and Symes, possibly pushing Massie out only to get the youngsters some finals action.

Absolutely no chance. Massie experience will be incredibly important in the finals. He's been brilliant in the last few weeks, safe as houses.

Round 21: Knights in for Campbell
Round 22: Vince, Porplyzia in for Dangerfield, Mackay/Douglas/Johncock

So, so hard to pick that final out. Would more than likely be Mackay but I'd hate to see that happen on the eve of the finals, he's shown enough to earn a spot but I think that experience will win out, probably should too.

We're showing some incredible depth at the moment. Provided that we have no injuries by round 22 (touch wood), we'll have Griffin, Tippett, Mackay, Otten, Dangerfield, McGregor, Petrenko, Campbell and Walker all not able to squeeze into the team.

Next week, Knights in for Campbell. Beyond that, Vince and Porplyzia in for Dangerfield and one of Douglas/Johncock. Don't think Tippett will force his way back in unless Moran, Maric, Bock or Rutten are injured.

After a long PS and season for first year player Mackay the cub rested him for a few weeks and then brought him back with great results.

I'd suggest the club is simply resting Tippett in readiness for the finals ......may not be back this week but 2 weeks out from finals I think you'll see Tippett back in at FF

After a long PS and season for first year player Mackay the cub rested him for a few weeks and then brought him back with great results.

I'd suggest the club is simply resting Tippett in readiness for the finals ......may not be back this week but 2 weeks out from finals I think you'll see Tippett back in at FF

But why though? We dropped him after the Sydney game, where he didn't do much, and have won our last 3 games kicking good scores. Will they tamper with it?

With Stevens and Gill playing well up forward, and Moran and Maric owning the ruck and moving forward to kick a few, where does Tippett fit? Who it the tall that goes out for him? Like I said, the only way he'll come in is if one of our talls is injured.

Is Moran's spot set in concrete?

I think he has performed really well in the short time he has been given but just remembering he was originally left out of the game against Sydney.

Also his ruck work does has have some question marks next to it meaning Maric (although capable) needs to do a majority of the work.

I personally hope they continue to play him but just offering his spot up for conversation.

Is Moran's spot set in concrete?

I think he has performed really well in the short time he has been given but just remembering he was originally left out of the game against Sydney.

Also his ruck work does has have some question marks next to it meaning Maric (although capable) needs to do a majority of the work.

I personally hope they continue to play him but just offering his spot up for conversation.

Moran is safe IMO.

Knights, Vince and Porps (depending on the injury) are locks to come straight back in time for, if not before the finals.

The way that Dangerfield handled the pressure comparatively, he might be a nose in front of Otten at the moment for a contingency plan in September. But who is to know where they sit compared to Jericho, McGregor and co when it comes to September.

Moran would have to be safe. Has kicked enough goals, has almost been an extra midfielder and is just holding his own in the ruck.

Tippett is certainly a possibility to come back in, even if it is not for a 'like' player.

are you talkin about NAB cup finals? i hope so.

I'm more looking towards the future still, which when we're losing everyone is screaming out for. Massie has been great, and of course doesn't deserve to be dropped, but it depends on what the club want to achieve during the finals. They've introduced a lot of new faces in to the side this year, and I think both Mackay and Douglas will play a lot of finals throughout their career, and I see it as quite beneficial giving them a taste of it this season.