Sacramento Kings
Smart will definetly miss a couple and Goody is very doubtful. I guess Begley and Doughty are in good form and are a good chance to come in. Since Collingwood have a lot of talls in their forward line in Rocca, Tarrant, Molloy and Fraser, I think we need to bring in someone that can play on a tall or do we play Biglands in defence on Fraser??????

Do we promote Parker or do we (I cannot believe I am saying this) recall Ben Marsh (if fit) to play on Fraser when he is up forward?????? Being anight game I am not keen on going in with 3 ruckman.

Bassett will probably take on Molloy, McGregor will be given a job on Rocca and Hart will most probably take on Tarrant.

Personally I would go with the following

OUT: Smart (inj), Goodwin (if he doesn't come up) Gallagher (needs a full game)
IN: Parker, Doughty Begley.

If Goody pulls up OK, then Begley gets another run in SANFL

Thoughts?????

Originally posted by DaveW
Does the salary cap prevent us from promoting a rookie? :confused:

I think Not because Rutten is considered a long term injury so promoting a Rookie while Rutten is injured wouldn't be counted as a part of the salary cap. I think we are able to promote a rookie who would be on a minimum wage.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Smart will definetly miss a couple and Goody is very doubtful. I guess Begley and Doughty are in good form and are a good chance to come in. Since Collingwood have a lot of talls in their forward line in Rocca, Tarrant, Molloy and Fraser, I think we need to bring in someone that can play on a tall or do we play Biglands in defence on Fraser??????

Do we promote Parker or do we (I cannot believe I am saying this) recall Ben Marsh (if fit) to play on Fraser when he is up forward?????? Being anight game I am not keen on going in with 3 ruckman.

Bassett will probably take on Molloy, McGregor will be given a job on Rocca and Hart will most probably take on Tarrant.

Thoughts?????

Recall Ben Marsh Stiffy?? Errrrrrm, no thanks!!! :D

I've been thinking about the same problem and came up with the same match-ups given that Smart is a definite out and Goody is a most likely to miss.

Given that it is a night match it would be surprising if they go with all 4 talls on at the one time, but if they do I would rather Begley who is 6'2" stand Fraser than the taller Marsh with the turning circle of the Queen Mary.

Doughty for Goody if he misses or for Gags if Goody plays. Shirley could well be in line for a game in place of Gags as well.

Does anybody know how Begley went today??

Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

Originally posted by macca23
Does anybody know how Begley went today??

I am not sure mate. I was thinking of going down to Woodville Oval today to watch Sturt Vs W-West Torrens but I had some studying to catch up on.

According to sanfl.com he wasn't named in Sturts best players.

Dogga-Another Best player for South Adelaide today, been consistant in that department. I think, a definant selection is on the way soon.

What did Goodwin actually do?

Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

Originally posted by AngelEyes
Dogga-Another Best player for South Adelaide today, been consistant in that department. I think, a definant selection is on the way soon.

What did Goodwin actually do?

He copped a corky - on his thigh I think.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

... and a deep oone too. Ouch!!!!!!:(

I bet young Hale said more than Ouch when he copped that knock to the crown jewels!!!

Brought tears to my eyes and I was only watching!!:)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

I bet young Hale said more than Ouch when he copped that knock to the crown jewels!!!

Brought tears to my eyes and I was only watching!!:)

He needs to learn rucking technique at centre bounces and learn it fast if he wants to have those crown jewels when he retires. He left himself wide open on a few occasions and got a knee in the region a couple of times. Poor body positioning at center bounces IMO.

It would have hurt pretty badly. OUCH!!!!!! OUCH!!!!!!

From this mornings Sunday Mail, Skipworth, Bock and Dougherty were rated in the best players for their respective sides.

Andrew Crowell got through the Eagles v Blues match.

With the exception of Bock it does not look like many of our talls in Crowell, Hentschel, Schell, Parker, Smith and Begley did a great deal.

I'd say Doughty is in and Crowell could be a chance but his lack of form is a worry.

Jerome

Thoughts?????
I agree Dogga deserves a go. Was unlucky to be squeezed out after the pre-season games due to less interchange players & has been solid since. As you mention, he should come in for Gags, who needs a full game in the SANFL (unless Goody doesn't pull up).

We do need another tall option for the Pies, but no way can it be Marsh or Schell. It's a damn shame Rutten is injured. Do we try the mid-size Begley against a taller opponent or try on Parker? With our injury list, it is probably a good chance to what this rookie is capable of.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

He needs to learn rucking technique at centre bounces and learn it fast if he wants to have those crown jewels when he retires. He left himself wide open on a few occasions and got a knee in the region a couple of times. Poor body positioning at center bounces IMO.

A mate of mine heard it was a split testicle... makes you sick just typing the words.

Anyway, completely agree - the ruck coach at Arden Street is useless if he's letting one of his charges go into centre-bounces like that.

When me and a mate were watching it we said "you know what? there'll be some morons in the outer calling for Clarke/Biggles head for that" :D

I think Not because Rutten is considered a long term injury so promoting a Rookie while Rutten is injured wouldn't be counted as a part of the salary cap. I think we are able to promote a rookie who would be on a minimum wage.

It would be awesome if we could promote Parker ;) but I'm not sure if we can?? Rutten is only 5 weeks...but maybe we could because of Reilly (8 weeks)?

I'm not really sure how promoting rookie list players works. Anybody know? :confused:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Changes for the Collingwood Game

Originally posted by dyertribe
A mate of mine heard it was a split testicle... makes you sick just typing the words.
And reading it! Where's the emoticon for quezy?

ok heres wat i rekon should be done at selection this week

IN: Parker or Begley, Doughty

OUT: Smart, Goodwin

and true i might b a bit bias but y didn't gallagher get more of a run on friday night when he was clearly 1 of our best players against Port the week b4??

I know I'm generally pessimistic about things but I honestly think we're in for a big ambush next Saturday night by the Pies.

Despite our relatively good form and their current streak of 3 losses, they have quite a few things going for them.

1. They have a very good record in Adelaide and against us (Wizz Fizz final notwitstanding)

2. They'll be heavy underdogs, hardly anyone will tip them, and this is a situation they thrive upon and play their best footy.

3. They'll be heavily critizised in the press this week, their status as premiership challegers will be questioned and they'll have their backs firmly against the wall. We all know how good teams generally react in this situation.

4. Injuries to our key forward personnel could leave us struggling to score against, what is usually, a very tight defence, and the injury to Smarty could leave us short of options in our defensive 50. I know we have the matchups relatively covered and it will be a night game but players such as Tarrant, Rocca, Fraser and Molloy will break free at some stage. They'll be tough to contain.

Having said that, it is a match against the Pies and I know (actually hope) the boys will be completely switched on for a tough, tight tussle. If our intensity is up to its normal levels we should have an ascendancy in ruck and around the midfield stoppages (apart from Buckley of course), which hopefully will enable us to dictate the game.

I know it's only Sunday but I'm VERY wary at this stage.

Anyone else with similar thoughts?

Originally posted by ant
I know I'm generally pessimistic about things but I honestly think we're in for a big ambush next Saturday night by the Pies.

I know it's only Sunday but I'm VERY wary at this stage.

Anyone else with similar thoughts?

Of course. Footy park holds no fears for them - they have an excellent record against both the Powder and ourselves at the ground.

They will be desperate for a win after 3 losses on the trot.

On top of that we will be without 5 first choice starting 18 players due to injury.

We will have to play at our very very best to win.

I think we can and will but it will be a tough one.

Originally posted by bluecrow
It would be awesome if we could promote Parker ;) but I'm not sure if we can?? Rutten is only 5 weeks...but maybe we could because of Reilly (8 weeks)? :confused:

arghhh... dont remind me of Brent's injury :(

I think we should bring in Parker, to promote him and give him some taste of the big league. He's tall and he'l give us some much needed height back in defence now that Smarty's gonna miss about 4 weeks. He's been in good form playing for South, so i reckon he'll fit in well.

Its definately time that Dogga came in, he's been in fantastic form in the sanfl. If goody isnt fit, Begley should be given the nod for an extra man to choose from in defence.

Dogga has got to come back in after yestedays performance. 30 odd touches is a great effort in a loosing side.

Doesn't matter if Goody misses or not, Dogga has got to come in. Gags could do with a bit of a run in the SANFL as he hasn't been getting a lot of ground time and his disposal has been a bit off for a couple of weeks.

At this stage my ins and outs are

IN: Doughty, Begley & Parker
OUT: Gallagher, Goodwin and Smart

Dogga has got to come back in after yestedays performance. 30 odd touches is a great effort in a loosing side.

At this stage my ins and outs are

IN: Doughty, Begley & Parker
OUT: Gallagher, Goodwin and Smart

Nothing wrong with any of the above Stiffy. Doughty and Begley are must selections IMO.

If another tall is required, the only other alternative to Parker could be Bock, who played very well in the pre-season trial against the Eagles on a HBF.

...Bock, who played very well in the pre-season trial against the Eagles on a HBF.

I don't know mate, is he physically ready?????

We might even get away with what we have is Clarke and Biglands can play a full game.

Its a night game so I doubt they would have 4 talls in the forward lines to start with.

My match ups at this early stage are:

Hart Vs Tarrant (Obvious choice)
McGregor Vs Rocca
Bassett Vs Molloy
Fraser Vs Biglands

I doubt they would play 4 talls up forward at the same time but I would like us to take in one more tall as it would give us better options as far as tall defenders are concerned.

Two questions: Who is this Parker character? What did Goodwin do (injury)?

...I doubt they would play 4 talls up forward at the same time...

Against Essendon, and Sydney we had 5 man forward lines of

FF:Molloy Tarrant
HF: Fraser Rocca Didak

or variations of that on many occasions. Molloy is very down at the moment, Rocca and Tarrant are patchy (some good patches but) and Fraser is creeping into form.

Concentrate on the midfield and you should win-we have been destroyed by physical pressure in the middle so far this year.

Originally posted by Guey_34
Two questions: Who is this Parker character? What did Goodwin do (injury)?

Parker is a defender around 6'4" who has played 2 seasons of WAFL footy as a CHB or FB prior to being placed on the Crows rookie list at the end of 2002. He plays for South this year , mainly as a FB and is a very dour negating type - needs to add a llittle more rebound into his game. To play for the crows he would have to be upgraded from the rookie list to the main list - and there is a vacancy on the main list at the moment.

Goody copped a corky to his thigh, and it is touch and go whether he will play against the Pies.