Changes For the sydney test

• Thread starter Thread starter NQTIGER

I want a spinner, does not neccesarily need to be a leg spinner.

Stephen O'Keefe ok with you?

O'keefe is fine as he is the best offie available, I still feel he is one that needs to turn the ball more. That said he is better that Doherty, Beer or any other offie! I'd rather take a leggie though!

O'Keefe is a left arm finger spinner, the ball spinning away from the right hander.

The whole obsession with left arm finger spinners (to dismiss Pieterson) have seen us go through 2 - 3 mentioned.

O'Keefe would give us a good bowling option, and is also a handy batsmen down the order.

Watson
Katich
Khawaja
Clarke
Hussey
Ponting (C)
Haddin
Hauritz
Johnson
Siddle
Hilfenhaus

Pretty simple really. Bring back Katich for the useless Hughes. Khawaja can come in and bat 3. It's going to be a dead rubber so if he fails, big deal. If he scores a big ton, there we go, we've found our new #3. I reckon Ponting can go on another 12 months (look at our scheduale coming up, heaps of tests against good opponents. I reckon we need him.), but he has to bat at 6. I knew our batting was going to be ****ed for this test if Watson and Hussey failed, you can't go into such a crucial test with Smith at 6 and Hughes opening.

Also, Harris goes out with injury and Hauritz comes in.

As a sidenote, I don't agree with those who reckon throwing a heap of youngsters into the mix and "develop them" is the way to go. This isn't footy where it's beneficial to give games to youngsters even if they don't perform straight away. In test cricket, you need all 11 players peforming and in form regardless of age. We learnt the hard way this test that playing youngsters before they're ready can be costly! For this reason I'd rather see players like D.Hussey, White, Cosgrove etc given a go in the near future, rather than giving someone like Maddinson a go for the sake of him being young.

You would think that at 24 and with a FC record of 60 wickets at 18 Copeland would be a big chance - especially at the SCG. If not dont be surprised to see Bollinger back. Hauritz is gone for good IMO.

Interesting to see many having White in their test squad for Sydney as well. Can those who did so justify this?

I'd rather see Watson moved down the order and find some new openers that atleast can put on a double century openning partnership.

Trouble it, australian domestic cricket is so rank that the players who are comming through really are just not upto international cricket.

Still the second innings will be good to watch - will sort out the fighters from the clowns. My bet is Clarke will be a clown and Watson too.

But I am sure Watson will get out cheaply then stand there grinning like a mutton

Copeland isn't some random NSW quick. And picking bowlers who can take bags of wickets instead of bowlers you can rely on to take a couple wickets each innings is our major problem at the moment.

He deserves to be in the side. We desperately need someone with consistency. Siddle's bowled fantastically this test match, and obviously deserves to be picked for Sydney. But at the same time, there's every chance he could revert to right arm poo and not get a single wicket.

Johnson and Siddle simply cannot play in the same side together. If I had to chose, I'd take Siddle, simply because his worst is not as bad as Johnson. At his worst, Siddle just looks completely unthreatening, but he doesn't really get tonked around. Johnson at his worst will basically lose you the game because it's guaranteed he'll go for at least four an over and release pressure all the time. So I think giving Siddle the mantle of our attacking bowler, and not Johnson, would be much better.

Taking that into account, my side going into Sydney wouldn't have Johnson in it. But there's very little chance of that happening. Assuming Harris is fit, I'd have:

Hughes
Watson
Ponting (farewell)
Clarke (on very thin ice)
Hussey
Khawaja
Haddin
Smith
Siddle
Copeland
Harris

Hilfenhaus has to go. A couple of tail end wickets surely can't save him. And it sucks, because I really like the guy, but he's barely looked like getting an actual batsman out all summer. If Harris isn't fit I don't know who to pick. Bollinger's been impressive in the domestic scene since being dropped and that might be worthy of a comeback. It would be between him and McKay, I think. Either one would be fine.

O'Keefe is a left arm finger spinner, the ball spinning away from the right hander.

The whole obsession with left arm finger spinners (to dismiss Pieterson) have seen us go through 2 - 3 mentioned.

O'Keefe would give us a good bowling option, and is also a handy batsmen down the order.

Still needs to develop his variations, probably a bit on the defensive side still. However he has improved this a bit this season which is a good change. I hate this obsession of picking bowlers to dismiss 1 batsman..you still need to dismiss the others...if anything an off spinner (Hauritz) would have been smarter as he troubled Cook and Strauss last time!

You won't get me disagreeing on SOK. Gun player and a very good batsman, has the technique to score test centuries.

Still needs to develop his variations, probably a bit on the defensive side still. However he has improved this a bit this season which is a good change. I hate this obsession of picking bowlers to dismiss 1 batsman..you still need to dismiss the others...if anything an off spinner (Hauritz) would have been smarter as he troubled Cook and Strauss last time!

You won't get me disagreeing on SOK. Gun player and a very good batsman, has the technique to score test centuries.

Not sure you have seen O'Keefe bowl, but he is just a very good finger spinner.

Not really a deffensive bowler at all.

Not sure you have seen O'Keefe bowl, but he is just a very good finger spinner.

Not really a deffensive bowler at all.

I have seen him bowl a number of times, probably about 4 times this year as well as a bit in the previous 3 years at a range of grades. He has improved a lot, but does need to have the confidence to flight the ball all the time. That will come with time and I would be happy to punt on him.

I reiterate, there is no justification for selecting Boyce. He has done nothing to suggest he is going to be a consistent wicket-taker. Yes he is a good leg-spinner, but nowhere near ready for Test cricket.

LOL.

Weren't you once the biggest campaigner for McGain's selection at Test level on here?

If I remember it rightly, you used to bang on and on about him being undoubtedly the best spinner who could be picked for Australia. You used to emphasise how economical he would be at international level too, I think!

I don't agree with Boyce being picked.

But come off it - you're about the last person who should be posing as an authority on selecting spinners. Or talking about whether certain leg spinners are "ready for Test cricket".

Unless you have conveniently developed amnesia since then? :confused:

Would love to see Copeland picked, 61 wickets at just over 18 in 11 first class games is a reasonable start to a career. Has the ability to bowl long spells, keeps it tight, pitches it up and takes wickets as well. Good economical action that wont see many injuries from him. Reminds me a bit of a bloke who retired just about 4 years ago who from memory had a reasonable record. But I dont think Copeland will be picked just yet, they'll give him the rest of the shield season.

I suspect the changes will be
Spinner (probably Beer I guess) in for Harris if injured, Hilfenhaus if not injured
Depending on status of the series the Kat might come in for Hughes
Khawaja possibly for Smith

I'd much prefer Smith and Hughes were sent back to shield cricket to work on their games for a reasonable length of time because there is alot of talent there, but it's not ready for international cricket at this point in time. Suggestions of Boyce are laughable, no where near ready for international cricket.

I have seen him bowl a number of times, probably about 4 times this year as well as a bit in the previous 3 years at a range of grades. He has improved a lot, but does need to have the confidence to flight the ball all the time. That will come with time and I would be happy to punt on him.

OK

Fair enough..

It looks like he is a nice spinner none the less. He is 26 now, so some people may want the obsession of youth, so he may be overlooked by many on here.

Khawaja can come in and bat 3. It's going to be a dead rubber so if he fails, big deal. If he scores a big ton, there we go, we've found our new #3. I reckon Ponting can go on another 12 months (look at our scheduale coming up, heaps of tests against good opponents. I reckon we need him.), but he has to bat at 6.

As a sidenote, I don't agree with those who reckon throwing a heap of youngsters into the mix and "develop them" is the way to go. This isn't footy where it's beneficial to give games to youngsters even if they don't perform straight away. In test cricket, you need all 11 players peforming and in form regardless of age.

I don't necessarily agree with this. Ricky has been an absolute legend for us no question, but his output over the past 12-18 months has been deplorable. Add to that questions over his captaincy and an overall record of losing 3 ashes series (something which shouldn't but will tarnish his reputation) and maybe it's time to move on, regardless of who we are playing. As long as we have a measure of experience in guys like Hussey, Haddin and Watson, playing quality teams will be a good way for the new players coming into the team to see what is required. I doubt Ponting would bat at 6 anyway, he'd probably rather retire.

On the second point, this is true to an extent and 'blooding' younger guys just for the sake of it runs the risk of missing out on talented older players. The problem is we have younger guys performing in the Shield (Copeland, Ferguson, Khawaja and Cosgrove) who should be given an extended run in the team, but they are being looked over in favour for underperforming veterans and others who, although young, have some serious technical flaws that need to be corrected (in other words, you could say the selectors have picked the wrong young players to blood)

The last thing we want is to become a stop-gap team like England in the 1990s, desperately trying to regain a winning record by bringing in 30+ year olds with no view on the future. We need to develop a team who will play together for a decade, not a group of players being constantly chopped and changed.

Win, lose or draw, the Sydney test will be a live one, and there is absolutely no chance of the selectors bringing in players to give them experience or to blood them.

Bearing that in mind, they won't go for wholesale changes.

Katich (if fit) or Hughes
Watson
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Smith
Haddin
Johnson
Hauritz
Siddle
Beer
Hilfenhaus (12th)

Win, lose or draw, the Sydney test will be a live one, and there is absolutely no chance of the selectors bringing in players to give them experience or to blood them.

Bearing that in mind, they won't go for wholesale changes.

Katich (if fit) or Hughes
Watson
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Smith
Haddin
Johnson
Hauritz
Siddle
Beer
Hilfenhaus (12th)

your the only one with any sense around here!

There is no chance in a million years Cosgrove is getting picked. It simply will not happen.

Absolutely agree with this. Think he is one of the most talented batsmen in Australia, but given his fitness queries, he needs to make 1500+ shield runs for a season, may be two to be considered.

He could though, dramatically improve if in the Australian system.

the cosgrove situation is crap. his last two and a half seasons in shield cricket have yielded 29 innings, 3 not outs, 1324 runs, Ave 50.92, HS 159, SR 68.8, 6 x 100's, 4 x 50's

if that's not good enough at least for consideration then that is bollox. i can see how you could opt for another option in front of him, fair enough. but without knowing for sure, i would be very very suprised if the selectors had even spoken about him, which to me is bullshit.

Harris out injured, so that's at least one change they'll have to make.

1. Watson
2. Cosgrove
3. Ponting (c)
4. Mike Hussey
5. Clarke
6. Haddin (wk)
7. Smith
8. Johnson
9. Siddle
10. Hilfenhaus
11. Beer

If they pick two left-armers in the XI, then the foot marks for Swann will be so inviting, he'll be dribbling with anticipation. Needs to one of Johnson and Bollinger.

I suspect Cosgrove burnt a few bridges with piss poor attitude whenever involved in the set up, and has a way to go before repairing them.

Anyway Harris gone, probably be a straight swap for a spinner

There's a big difference between the side I'd like to see and the side I expect to see. I really think they'll bring in Beer for Harris as the only change.

On balance, I'd like to see the following team in Sydney:

Hughes
Watson
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey
Haddin
Smith
Hauritz
Johnson
Siddle
Hilfenhaus

Ponting obviously refuses to play with Beer, so the selectors should drop it and bring in Hauritz who has done exactly what a dropped player should do. They should pick a spinner Ponting trusts as he is bad enough with spinners anyway.

If I was to have free reign with the team I would pick something like this:

Hughes - I think the kid is building. Watched Steyn last 2 nights and he must have something to hit runs against South Africa.
Hussey - playing like an opener. The best leave in Australian cricket. Also allows Clarke to go back to his best position in number 5.
Ponting - what could be his last test match. Goes too hard for a number 3, but noone else ready to stand up and play number 3 in Australia at the current time. Could be a vacancy come next summer. Memo to others, please stand up!!
Watson - we need him to bowl more overs and is the perfect number 4. Good technique and can play aggressively when required.
Clarke - where he plays best.
Khawaja - debut at home. Let's expose him to a good attack and see how he goes. Either way, he's going to learn a helluva lot.
Haddin
Hauritz - done everything right when he has gone back to SS. Knows his role in the team.
Johnson - inconsistent, but still has that 'x' factor
Butterworth - deserves a look for sustained success at domestic level and Hilfenhaus has not turned into the wicket taking player we'd hope for.
Siddle - bowls well on these type of pitches. Will only benefit from being backed in from the selectors and captain.

Smith unlucky and probably should play at number 8, but Hauritz was dead stiff and Khawaja is a class above batting wise. Smith can still get some experience at ODI level like many others before him.

I suspect Cosgrove burnt a few bridges with piss poor attitude whenever involved in the set up, and has a way to go before repairing them.

Anyway Harris gone, probably be a straight swap for a spinner

Exactly. Cosgrove was earmarked as a young player as someone who would probably play for Australia. He played three ODIs as a 22 year old. Basically it was thought if he could get fit, he'd be a shoe in for the test side. Heck, if he'd dropped 10kgs from where he was as a 22 year old, he'd probably have played 20 tests by now. At least.

Instead, he got fatter. Honestly, I don't think you can be as big as he is and succeed around the world. He's much bigger than Boon or Lehmann ever were. I think he'd die on the sub continent. You've got to show commitment to play for Australia. These guys are getting big bucks. If he couldn't lose that weight in a professional sporting environment, what does that say?

On top of all that, he's a big drinker/partier, right?

It's a shame, because he's clearly talented. It's not too late though. He's only 26. He needs someone to get in his ear, and he himself needs to make the decision to grow up.