Unofficial Preview Changes for week one of Finals (Out: Madgen, Murphy, Ox : In: Treloar, Howe, Goldsack)

For me, it would be:

Goldsack in for Murphy

Howe in for Oxley

Treloar in for Aish.

I like Aish a lot, but he is similar to Mayne in style, but Mayne has runs on the board this year and the defensive game.

Aish will not be dropped.

The reward is too great to not play Treloar.

I also feel that even an underdone Goldsack provides better value than Madgen. I know he tries but let’s be brutally honest, he’s just a body out there.

Goldsack is taller, faster, stronger, more experienced and just better. Even coming off a knee reco.

I agree re.. but I don't think they'll drop Magden. Don't really rate him either.. if I call him a kreas.. then I'll get replies like.. ohhhh you go out there.. oh he's tried his ass off to make the transition from basketball to footy.. so I'll just say.. the bloke shows traits of being a kreas. He's a 3rd string FB really.

Thoughts on getting Usher from the Bachelor in 5 mins before the game starts.. get the boys' adrenaline pumping when Usher walks into the changing rooms.. oh my god look it's Usherrrrr.. oh my God..

Guaranteed we'll start on fire re.

It's Osher.
This is Usher....

usher_hero_463099304.jpg

I was the poster that said bullshit and I do have Goldy in my best 22 starting on the bench playing a very vital swingman role.
He is super important for match ups as he can play tall, small, back, forward.

Fair enough - he can certainly play that role. I'd have him just outside the 22 in an ideal world but he's definitely in the discussion :thumbsu:

Interesting stat on foxfooty last night..

Not sure if it was finals or games experience.. but apparently since the advent of the top 8.. teams with more experience have won 51% of the time in finals.

So if we're bringing in players based on experience.. really doesn't count for shit re.

Go with the form re!

We are bringing in Howe and Treloar based on the fact that they are best 22....not experience

Goldsack should come in ahead of Madgen though because of experience. I'm very concerned he will be our weak link that costs us the game through free kicks given away in a panic. We know Goldy will be cunning enough even half fit to give a decent contest.

I agree re.. but I don't think they'll drop Magden. Don't really rate him either.. if I call him a kreas.. then I'll get replies like.. ohhhh you go out there.. oh he's tried his ass off to make the transition from basketball to footy.. so I'll just say.. the bloke shows traits of being a kreas. He's a 3rd string FB really.
Or maybe he just needs a few more seasons in the 2s.
The guys been thrown in the deep end big time due to injuries.
We all know this.

I think the club are probably going to go with Reid from Reid/Moore/Goldsack options.

I also suspect that Goldsack will be taken as an emergency and if it's wet he will probably come in for Reid.

Can't see Reid being useful at AFL level much anymore but with Kennedy having played so little and coming in underdone I wouldn't hate it as much if Reid was named just for this game.

1990 QF. Brilliant. Watchedcthat furst quarter on loop as a kid back in the day. Man I miss the open field of Waverley. Some damn tough boys in that squad, ridiculously good contested marking all over the park. And boy did we get reamed for no holding the ball calls in that first quarter.
Came out and kicked eight goals to two right? Not a bad start. How many games did you see at Waverley mate?

My first game of football was 2001, so it was before my time sadly. Must have been way better than Shocklands though. You have the suburban feel, it is no way in hell hard to get to now, since they have buses and trains, and you don't have that DAMN roof and clammy humidity that leaves you frigidly cold in the Winter o_O

Do you reckon an eight goal head start at Optus on Saturday would replace in your heart the first quarter of the 1990 QF replay?

Might have been Freo, but we got a run on early over there. The Toast might have done themselves a whoopsie by making the proportions the same as the MCG. The Warbles are in town, and we will be taking home some happy memories me thinks :cool:

Hadn't heard that. He cant play in a knockout final. so imo he is done for the year.

Technically I don't think he has been officially ruled out but Walsh's injury update suggested that it'd be a bridge too far for Reid and Moore this week, so although they haven't completely been ruled out one would think that they won't be available for this Sat.

I also feel that even an underdone Goldsack provides better value than Madgen. I know he tries but let’s be brutally honest, he’s just a body out there.

Goldsack is taller, faster, stronger, more experienced and just better. Even coming off a knee reco.

You are not only a prophet and a funny b******d, but a wise sage. Very well said *slow clap*

Thoughts on getting Usher from the Bachelor in 5 mins before the game starts.. get the boys' adrenaline pumping when Usher walks into the changing rooms.. oh my god look it's Usherrrrr.. oh my God..

Guaranteed we'll start on fire re.

What has Usher got on you re? Just get you to walk in there, and the whole place will just melt re. #GimpyForPresident

I had a dream last night that we won this game easily.

Bit slow off the starter gun aren't you? I had one weeks ago I keep bragging about :$

Could you elaborate more on the details? I am always interested when others experience these premonitions :thumbsu:

Richmond loses tonight, sets us up against them in the Prelim

Remember what happened in 2010? Given we haven't beaten Richmond this year, but we didn't beat Essendon at all in 1990. Take these two together, and we have Richmond (if they lose) having to take the long way around, like Geelong did having lost to St Kilda in 2010, and meeting us in what would easily be the biggest final attendance since Collingwood v Geelong in 2007, which was 98,002 I believe?

Touching on 1990 as well, we lose both games to Essendon through the year, but we were in both of those games. I have heard others say the second clash at Waverley suggested we had a blueprint to beat them. Then who did we play in our first final? WEST COAST EAGLES!! We won, and played Essendon, and smashed them.

Two omens suggesting a Preliminary Final clash with Richmond. Now whoever beats Richmond, wins the flag. Period.

As 100volt1 says so often #ItsComingHome

Spot on. Moneybags must come in.

Could we think to send Greenwood to play hard on Hurn for the game, Hurn sets them up and has a huge influence, the midfield will keep the likes of Shuey accountable, Greenwood to go forward and smother Hurn, Varcoe to go on Rioli/Ryan.

We are bringing in Howe and Treloar based on the fact that they are best 22....not experience

Goldsack should come in ahead of Madgen though because of experience. I'm very concerned he will be our weak link that costs us the game through free kicks given away in a panic. We know Goldy will be cunning enough even half fit to give a decent contest.

I agree bring in the Coin purse to replace Magden.. And Howe to replace Murphy/Oxley.

Unofficial Preview Changes for week one of Finals (Out: Madgen, Murphy, Ox : In: Treloar, Howe, Goldsack)