Preview Changes & prematch discussion Rd8 vs Richmond

35 years old in his final year

time to pump games into people who will be here for the next 5 plus years
True, but I think we keep him playing while we remain competitive at least, especially as he’s playing his role so well. We’ve essentially started phasing him out by resting him anyway. It will be interesting how the forward line goes this week. If it doesn’t work, maybe he’ll compete for a spot with Wood.

Arguably picked the best performed 22 for 2018. Waite and Daw definitely have straight line speed and no one is going to catch Maj after his first 15 metres. But while they're agile for their size, they're not as agile as our small/ mid size emergencies. And we're playing the most agile side in the comp so hopefully we can control the air.

It's delusional to expect Daw to beat small forwards at ground level over 4 quarters or Waite to run around applying Rioli type pressure. Obviously I hope their aerial superiority outweighs this not only so we win but more broadly because this trend of playing small forward lines including kicking goals from pressure and blocking taller players from marking the pill is not good for footy and I don't like seeing taller players' roles being diminished.

If course not. I think they are the best tandem in the league for doing that and have been for a couple of years now.

My point is the mids need to be on their game this week and not rely on them too much otherwise it'll be under siege 3.

Our midfield has better defensively this year then then they have been for a long time

The reports from training seem to me that we have a plan for how we can win. Might work might not.

We are building belief and I'm becoming more confident at us having a consistent level of output.

Intrigued to see what happens.

We're a chance, how big of a chance, now that's the interesting question.

This is the fastest deck in the comp, against the quickest team in the comp, and we go in with our tallest side for the year.
Goldy, Brown, Waite, Wood, Daw, Taz.

I can see the SACK SCOTTS thread copping a hiding on Sunday afternoon.

As a sack Scott advocate I could not use this weeks selection against him as I think this weeks team represents a belief in a game plan that has worked so far this year and quite likely will work against the tigers. I have 8 other seasons of why we should sack Scotts :moustache:

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm ****** if I know what they're doing.

We're obviously going to bomb, and bomb long.

No they're going to do point to point kicking with excellent foot skills utilising the corridor for most plays. Our talls in the forward line will duly mark and kick goals, 20+ bookmark it :footy::fire:

QUOTE="Rod Stroker, post: 55641331, member: 8474"]This is the fastest deck in the comp, against the quickest team in the comp, and we go in with our tallest side for the year.
Goldy, Brown, Waite, Wood, Daw, Taz.

I can see the SACK SCOTTS thread copping a hiding on Sunday afternoon.

As a sack Scott advocate I could not use this weeks selection against him as I think this weeks team represents a belief in a game plan that has worked so far this year and quite likely will work against the tigers. I have 8 other seasons of why we should sack Scotts :moustache:[/QUOTE]

geez, so even the years we got in Prelims you don't rate
that's just foolish

As a sack Scott advocate I could not use this weeks selection against him as I think this weeks team represents a belief in a game plan that has worked so far this year and quite likely will work against the tigers. I have 8 other seasons of why we should sack Scotts :moustache:

geez, so even the years we got in Prelims you don't rate
that's just foolish[/QUOTE]

Dude wrong thread for details, please go to sack Scott's thread read last 8 years of posts then come back to me :thumbsu:

The flip side of us going in tall is that the tiggers are going in short.
I’m happy that the match committee are being bold and putting out a team based on how we want to play. Rather than being reactive and picking a side based on our opponents.
Shows belief and confidence in our game plan and our players to execute.
Bring on Sunday!

Plenty of us have wanted a change of coach for a lot of reasons

However as of right now this season getting these performances out of these players Mate...he is shoving it right back at us

There is a very famous Quote
When the facts change, I change my mind. What do you do?…

And yeah Crazy Brave selection
At least we wont die wondering

I don’t mind us backing our game plan but Maj doesn’t have the footy smarts to go with one of their smaller types, if he is going to play loose then he’d want to take 10+ marks tomorrow.

This gets back to mid feild pressure, if our mids come to play Maj will have more impact as an intercept player and will be able to play further up the ground, given he can also give Goldy a chop out I reckon he will be an asset

Arguably picked the best performed 22 for 2018. Waite and Daw definitely have straight line speed and no one is going to catch Maj after his first 15 metres. But while they're agile for their size, they're not as agile as our small/ mid size emergencies. And we're playing the most agile side in the comp so hopefully we can control the air.

It's delusional to expect Daw to beat small forwards at ground level over 4 quarters or Waite to run around applying Rioli type pressure. Obviously I hope their aerial superiority outweighs this not only so we win but more broadly because this trend of playing small forward lines including kicking goals from pressure and blocking taller players from marking the pill is not good for footy and I don't like seeing taller players' roles being diminished.

Most definitely, our win would be good for the game in every sense.

I don’t mind us backing our game plan but Maj doesn’t have the footy smarts to go with one of their smaller types, if he is going to play loose then he’d want to take 10+ marks tomorrow.
Pretty much . If we don’t mark the ball a lot on Sunday , we will get cut to ribbons .

Will be a good effort to get within 6 goals. Don't think we're there yet. Think our composure with the ball will be pushed to breaking point. Should be a good game to watch though.

No they're going to do point to point kicking with excellent foot skills utilising the corridor for most plays. Our talls in the forward line will duly mark and kick goals, 20+ bookmark it :footy::fire:
Bookmarked

Will be a good effort to get within 6 goals. Don't think we're there yet. Think our composure with the ball will be pushed to breaking point. Should be a good game to watch though.

You can definetly win, the tall forwards will give us a lot of trouble. I assume we will play Broad on Wood, Astbury on Brown and try to play Grimes on Waite to free Rance up to help the other 3 out. However our defensive spacing doesnt seem to work as well on smaller grounds when the ball comes in faster. Im not sure why you needed to bring Majak in as a 3rd tall defender when we only play one tall forward though, it might cost you in the last quarter. Should be a great game.

Of course we can win.

If we have the ball from a mark/free/kick out in the backline, should we give it to Higgins, surround him with our 6 strongest players who tightly link arms facing out, then surround those 6 with the remaining 11 in another tight circle and all slowly walk our way up the ground as a tight unit while Higgins touches the ball on the ground every 10 metres? Then, once the group is say 20 metres out, merge the 2 rings tightly, push out while Higgins kicks the goal?

Then repeat and we'll beat Richmond's forward pressure. Obviously Richmond would try to break in, but I'd back our stronger side to protect Higgins every time. He'd kick around 16 goals.

Game changing.

He deserves a game based upon his last two games, match ups permitting, and I agree that a match up doesn't jump out at me in the Richmond forward line.

Maybe Brad is playing funny buggers and will make a late change, or maybe Majak will swing forward to stretch the Richmond defence in the air?

Majak's resident fan club seem to believe he has electric speed, but the truth is that Majak does not have fast reflexes and he needs quite a few metres to gather acceleration, as is the way with power athletes. Against a side that plays close quarters football and flicks the footy left and right everywhere, this skill set has limited impact.

If he plays then I hope he maintains the steadiness he has exhibited in the last couple of matches, rather than the fumbling error riddled player we have seen on occasions. If the latter occurs then I agree with you that Richmond small forwards will very likely make us pay.

Plenty of us have wanted a change of coach for a lot of reasons

However as of right now this season getting these performances out of these players Mate...he is shoving it right back at us

There is a very famous Quote
When the facts change, I change my mind. What do you do?…

And yeah Crazy Brave selection
At least we wont die wondering

Yeah spot on. He’s coaching better then ever this year.

The 'rebuilding' story is thrown out the door this week - we have the equal second oldest 22 in the comp!

We are taller, heavier and older. I'm not worried about us being taller at Etihad but I am worried about us being slower.

North Melbourne Attribute Richmond

188.0cm Height 185.9cm
88.3kg Weight 86.2kg
26yr 2mth Age 25yr 5mth
106.8 Games 96.7

Total Players By Games
North Melbourne Games Richmond
7 Less than 50 8
5 50 to 99 5
3 100 to 149 3
7 150 or more 6