Changes Round 20

Looks like the Goo will finally get a game next week :thumbsu::thumbsu:

“We’ve got David Gourdis playing well at Coburg, who’ll probably come in at some stage to play full-back, which will release one of those blokes, said Hardwick
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6301/newsid/99907/default.aspx

Also O`Rielly was our best listed player for Coburg today and last week Tim Clarke said this-

Tim Clarke, who played 96 games for the Hawks and is now a development coach at Richmond, said the Irishman had been elevated from the rookie list - and thus be on the verge of selection - because of his huge work ethic and desire to learn.

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6301/newsid/99335/default.aspx

So i wouldnt be surprised if he also gets a gig. Hope so.

mcguane is a discrace and should be delisted,has no skill what so ever,is a pathetic excuse of a backman and goes foward and cant get a touch,and for some reason thinks his a tuff guy and gives away stupid free kicks,if he is worth anything send him to gold coast,other wise throw his bags out the door and **** right off,not happy

Pathetic excuse of a backman? Shocker today, otherwise youre wrong im afraid

Not up to it currently? or future-wise? Obviously entitled to your opinion, but personally think he's travelling okay for a second gamer..
Currently, I reckon he has a future but he needs to get stronger and smarter. Like I said has had a taste and the only reason I called for him to be dropped is to see how the likes of Taylor goes up forward.
Ridiculous the amount of people jumping on Connors' back after one bad game. Has been almost our best player over the past month.

And to the person above who said he couldn't kick, give me a break. He is one of the best kicks in our team, just had an off day today.
Connors was bad today and was worse against the Pies 2 weeks ago, so its not just 1 bad game. Like I said earlier Connors needs to learn when to kick chase and when to be accountable, at the moment he seems to be getting it wrong.

Currently, I reckon he has a future but he needs to get stronger and smarter. Like I said has had a taste and the only reason I called for him to be dropped is to see how the likes of Taylor goes up forward.
I dunno, he could've/should've had 3 goals today. 2 of them were cleaned up on the line and the other was an open shot he just shouldn't have missed. Fair effort for a bloke in his 2nd game and playing a role we desperately need someone to excel in.

I say keep him in for the remaining games, will only do him good.

No reason why Taylor couldn't replace Nason with Collins coming in for Webberley though?

for me to progress we have to improve structures and get games into players even those who have struggled a bit.

personally i truly believe we need bigger taller smarter faster kpds. we need to find a structure that will free up jack a bit.

this yr is all about finding out what each player can do and where they can play.

the backline and team we should be trying for the remainder of the season should be.

b/ newman - gourdis - thursfield
hb/ moore - post - deledio.
c/ collins - martin - cotchin
hf/ morton - astbury - king/taylor
f/ vickery - jack - hicks
r/ graham - jackson - cuz.
int/ browne - edwards - farmer - tuck.

to be honest i think that team probably gives us as good a chance to win as any we can name.yet it gives us room to develop and try things

With all due respect to Dimma and the selection panel, it is absolutely insane to be going into games with Nason, Hicks, Webberley, Farmer, King, White, Edwards all in the same side.... How can we seriously compete in a physical sense?? We still get knocked off the ball far too easy and struggle in a lot of marking contests.. Obviously King and Farmer like to bang around but Webberley, Hicks, Nason, Edwards all get thrown all over the place..

Webberley and Nason need a spell, get in Collins and Taylor and somehow find spots for Rance and Goo.. The back 3 (Moore, McGuane, Thursty) have hardly set the world on fire of late so surely room can be made..

With all due respect to Dimma and the selection panel, it is absolutely insane to be going into games with Nason, Hicks, Webberley, Farmer, King, White, Edwards all in the same side.... How can we seriously compete in a physical sense?? We still get knocked off the ball far too easy and struggle in a lot of marking contests.. Obviously King and Farmer like to bang around but Webberley, Hicks, Nason, Edwards all get thrown all over the place..

Webberley and Nason need a spell, get in Collins and Taylor and somehow find spots for Rance and Goo.. The back 3 (Moore, McGuane, Thursty) have hardly set the world on fire of late so surely room can be made..

Still developing, so they're getting games into the boys. In two years we should see the benefits of these kids being knocked around now. Agree that Webberley and Nason need a break though, even if just to get their hunger for first grade footy back.

Rest Webberley and Nason.
Bring in Collins and Taylor.
I also think Astbury needs a rest, but he looks like our only serious contender for CHF atm.
The Goo has to get his chance, so probably McG goes out.
O'Reilly should get his chance Round 21.

I stated it last week and it still holds, Benny Nason needs a rest.
In: Collins, Goo/Post
out Nason, Thurst/Mcguane.

The tall outs are purely horses for courses, we play the tankers, they have a non existent tall forward. ;)

Ridiculous the amount of people jumping on Connors' back after one bad game. Has been almost our best player over the past month.

And to the person above who said he couldn't kick, give me a break. He is one of the best kicks in our team, just had an off day today.

Mate i go every week and if you think hes been nearly our best player over the last month your kidding yourself. he provides no defensive pressure and runs himself into trouble everyweek.

For a bloke who is meant to be a good kick he makes far to many simple mistakes

Mate i go every week and if you think hes been nearly our best player over the last month your kidding yourself. he provides no defensive pressure and runs himself into trouble everyweek.

For a bloke who is meant to be a good kick he makes far to many simple mistakes

another post thats on the money. He is a top kick, its his head getting in the way nowadays. Has to get back to concentrating on the task at hand, rather than concentrating on wanting to look good executing the task at hand. For someone with his kicking ability, he has been shit for the last few weeks. he should be pin pointing targets 45 away and hitting them, instead of floaters that go out on the full.
His getting caught dont really faze me, he is a young kid and will wake up soon as to what he has to get right in that dept. Its his kicking that is a worry, its as if he has lost the handle on it lately.
Tipping a real hard pre season to get the tank into the required level will get this kid back to where to kicking lasers to targets at will. Reckon its all to do with his gut running off half back and lack of a good tank that has him fluffing kicks when he is spent. ;)

In: Goo, Collins

Out: McGuane, Nason

I think these inclusions will automatically strengthen the squad against the Blues. Nason is spent and gets knocked off the ball too easily. Tries hard & lays tackles but because he is so small they never seem to stick properly.

Thinking about Rance I don't want him in until he's able to consistently make good decisions with the footy especially across the back half otherwise he'll be nothing more then a defensive forward.

What is it about Post not being ready for seniors that people don't yet understand? He has looked embarrassingly lost the games he's played so far. Will be a player but not right now.

In: Rance, Gourdis, Collins
Out: Nason, Astbury, McGuane

we've seen enough of nason and astbury to know we have potential players there. time to give them a spell and let a couple of the others (esp rance and gourdis) stake a claim to be there next year. hicks and webberley have also had a taste of the big leagues, they know where their standards need to be, so by all means give them a spell, maybe for an o'reilly or contin, whoever really. i assume taylor might have a bit too much on his plate this week.

carlton don't really have any dominant tall forwards so might be a good week to let mcguane have a rest, thursfield generally does a bit better on the smalls (although i have a nasty feeling that one of betts, garlett, yarran will tear us a new one).

Pathetic excuse of a backman? Shocker today, otherwise youre wrong im afraid

no im not buddy,he cant hit targets,he gives away free kicks,he handballs at peoples feet,thinks his tuff but id useless,wouldnt you think if the club is going to move foward then blokes like the goo should be given a go instead of keeping list cloggers like mcguane

In: Goo, Collins

Out: McGuane, Nason

I think these inclusions will automatically strengthen the squad against the Blues. Nason is spent and gets knocked off the ball too easily. Tries hard & lays tackles but because he is so small they never seem to stick properly.

Thinking about Rance I don't want him in until he's able to consistently make good decisions with the footy especially across the back half otherwise he'll be nothing more then a defensive forward.

What is it about Post not being ready for seniors that people don't yet understand? He has looked embarrassingly lost the games he's played so far. Will be a player but not right now.

veyr very well said

I am sick of the same players tearing us new assholes when we play them. It was Brad Green for Melbourne last week. The games Carlton have won this season Betts, Garlett & Yarran have had good games. It's vital we get the right match-ups on these players. Betts in particular kicks bags against us.

OUT: Nason, McGuane, Thursfield, Webberly
IN: Taylor, Vickery (2nd tall forward), Gourdis (FB for FB - Thursfield), Collins (as a mid/forward)

Only reason I want to get rid of Webberly is because of the midget issue. Too many of them. He's been okay without being good. Can't see White or King going. Farmer was poor though but dunno who can replace him. Can Webberly play BP? I doubt it. Maybe O'Reilly.

Those changes would give us better structure and continue the experimentation.

Gourdis MUST be chosen this week replacing McGuane.

I think he will be. We’ve got some issues down back at the moment and I think Dimma will want to try a few things before end of season. Perfect opportunity for him play against a traditional rival with a healthy crowd. :thumbsu:

Boys!

Why has Vickery not been given a crack?

Was just watching some of the draft highlights from that cohort and he was really impressive.

I remember in our R1 clash he was given probably a 50:50 role between forward and ruck.

Could definately help relieve some pressure on Riewoldt.

Any chance for this weekend?