Changes: Round 8 Vs Richmond

I pretty much agree with all this. I think if we're moving towards a best 22 I agree Darcy and SHill are in and we'd have to seriously consider Logue and Cox with Sturt and Valente down the track.

Exciting times ahead.

Also, Love that I'm not the only one who thinks Carter is a bit special. Really want to see him in the 1s.
I think the majority of this board are actually itching for those changes.

I am nervous about Langdon's contract status, and also a little concerned about his delivery. I am hoping that Carter and Sturt are developed to play on the wing, and think this time next year they can be seriously pressing. Keep ramping up the pace and skill whenever the opportunity arises, especially now that we have a fairly impressive spine.

AGAIN EVERYONE IS OVER-ESTIMATING our list.

This minute we start winning a few games, we praise and all is well. Then we lose a close one and all is shot. The game I watched was a battle. The forwards are off the hook in my opinion, it was the delivery - but it was usually under pressure.

Many mids stuffed it up. The reason we are doing ok this year is because of Hogan and RL - make no mistake, without them we would probably be bottom 4, so talking of dropping them is the stupidest thing I have heard since naming a Vegemite product after an iphone - so dumb I cannot recall.

We needed midfield goals in this game, and we did not get them. I thought Fyfe had a good game, however he was poor at times, especially with some decisions. Swita had a good game last week, but he is the one that goes out for me - the typical small forward that has a shocker - the enthusiasm of Ballas, and the same output on a bad day.

I thought Hogan was ok. I thought all the talls were ok. We praise our defenders, but we cannot see past a style of game - they thought the same - Tex was shite, all their forwards were crap.

Expectations! It is a game we could have won, and I think it should have been closer, but we lost. We are tracking ok. Adelaide will push for top 4 from here. We need to beat Richmond. This is the challenge. I expect our talls will prove too much for their undermanned defence.

Some of you want to drop talls for this match??? I don't think so - they will have a day out. Hogan will kick 4, Tabs back to 5+ marks, Lobb will be instrumental.

BTW, that was a good game of footy to watch. It is humorous how a low scoring match - we pick on the forwards. I see no reason to drop any of them, and I think the reason it was a scrap is they demand serious attention. Again, our midfielders need to take responsibility and kick goals.

I think Lobb is a better match for Nankervis than Darcy is...
They have a small defense, so I would keep Tabs, Hogan and Cmac.....gives them something extra to think about.
Probably the only change would be Blakely for Colyer.....lose some outside run, but can extra inside pressure.

In: Blakely

I'd have to watch the game again to form a strong opinion about who should come in. That's a game where it is easy to criticise the forwards but I reckon 50% of our forward movements were to the defenders advantage and intercept marked. You can't pit all the blame on the forwards for their diabolical output when the mids and rebounding defenders are giving them nothing. That's a whole team problem.

No chance I'd bring in Darcy without sending out another genuine tall (ie not Cam) either. Tigers are fast.

Richmond's weaknesses play right into our strengths. They are well beaten in the middle and they allow heaps of touches to backs, combine that with an undermanned defense and at least one of our talls should get near 5 goals.
We will only shoot ourselves in the foot with turnovers, it is the one area that Richmond rely on to go forward.

I think the majority of this board are actually itching for those changes.

I am nervous about Langdon's contract status, and also a little concerned about his delivery. I am hoping that Carter and Sturt are developed to play on the wing, and think this time next year they can be seriously pressing. Keep ramping up the pace and skill whenever the opportunity arises, especially now that we have a fairly impressive spine.
I haven't heard Langdon is a chance to leave except outside rumor mongering.

What he has said is: “It is not something I will look to address until the back half of the year and then I will have those discussions”

Our midfield relies on Fyfe, Mundy and Langdon doing the heavy lifting (and Mundy can't play forever... sadly). It would leave a big hole if he left, and we would need a like-for-like replacement to step in immediately. Freo would have to throw the kitchen sink at Coniglio just for starters and then get a gun mid in the draft to develop, which probably means trading up in the draft (like Port did last year to get Rozee) which is incredibly expensive in picks alone.

Losing another gun mid to another club 3 years in a row (Weller-Neale) would be extremely concerning for the staff, but we still don't know if it's even on the cards yet.

I
Losing another gun mid to another club 3 years in a row (Weller-Neale) would be extremely concerning for the staff, but we still don't know if it's even on the cards yet.

if a team offered us pick no.2 for Langdon, i would bite their arm off to do that trade. He can run like a beast but he can't play football.

He certainly can't kick.

I'd take a pick between 12-15 and rejoice.

There is no way switta gets dropped for me. Yes he dropped a mark or 2, but there's something very exciting about this kid. Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water. It was an admirable effort against a solid team at home.

Feel like it’s switta or Colyer for Blakely.

Maybe we go smaller and throw McCarthy out?

The hardest part of the next few years is going to be watching guys who deserve to be best 22 playing for Peel. Some will get traded and some might even get cut. it's the downside to developing depth in your list.

Hawthorn had guys like Savage, Suckling and even Hodge and Mitchell move on. In doing so they managed to keep bringing in talent and continually regenerate their list. I'm hoping that's what we can do.

Hughes out for Blakely.

Someone out for Darcy that isn't Lobb.

Lobb as a forward presence is instantly noticeable and Darcy can ruck/swap with Lobb so we always have a big pack marking target. Our issue is Tabs leads halfway down the ground which is great but that leaves a 2v1 on Hogan most of the time. If we can rest a ruckman inside 50 for some parts of the game while NOT using Tabs (he seems to be our backup ruck which is why they can 2v1 Hogan) as the backup that will free up our forward 50. You cant 2v1 Hogan if Darcy or Lobb are floating about in the 50.

I wont drop Switta because his forward pressure is amazing - he didn't have his best game but still hitting 6 tackles for a small forward is what we need to lock it in and I dont think constantly swapping Shultz for Switta if theyre both injury free is a good idea; they will both play a good game in the AFL then a bad one while the other will dominate WAFL and get a call up. Keep it consistent and unless ones injured or plays a game with 1 tackle and 3 touches then leave it be.

Lobb needs help. I don’t care who comes in - Darcy or Jones or even Sandi on crutches - just bring someone in.

In: Blakeley, 2nd ruck
out: Colyer, McCarthy
This would be the way I'd go.

You need your best players in. Darcy is our best Ruck and Blakely would one of our best clearance mids

Ryan Hamling Nyhuis
Hughes. Pearce. Wilson
Hill. Blakely. Langdon
Mundy Hogan. Walters
Switta. Lobb. Matera

Darcy. Fyfe. Conca

Brayshaw. Cerra. Tucker Taverner

This side could do well against Richmond

There is no way switta gets dropped for me. Yes he dropped a mark or 2, but there's something very exciting about this kid. Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water. It was an admirable effort against a solid team at home.

Agree with this. It would be stupid to drop Switta after one bad game. If we do this every time with certain players they'll never gain any confidence and develop.

Some of you want to drop talls for this match??? I don't think so - they will have a day out. Hogan will kick 4, Tabs back to 5+ marks, Lobb will be instrumental.

I thought McCarthy would have a day out against the Bulldogs too, but was pretty dissapointing. It was a tough weekend for any forward, but our structure and balance atm still needs work and he's the unlucky one out imo.

Regarding McCarthy
-Maybe he’s still feeling the effect of his virus?..:rolleyes:

Could definitely be the reason and I would think continuing to play him is not helping. My first belief was he was rushed back too soon for the Dogs game which explained his form, but then why select him again against Adelaide away.

I would of dropped McCarthy against Adelaide to either recover properly or get some touch at Peel, and my opinion remains the same.

In regards to CMac, he is certainly frustrating to watch at times, however he reminds me a bit of a Darling type - which I am not sure if this is a compliment or not - I think it is. At times he would have the rubber chest and drop the easiest of marks, other times he would clank anything. His kicking has always been good. They both work hard.

Compare the grand final appearances with Darling - one he stank it up, the other he was probably the difference. The Eagles knew he was a player, they just had to stick with him.

I think most of us know Cam is best 22, and he can be a game winner for us. I have watched him pretty closely, and he works really hard, and at times he has helped us escape defence with getting right back. But... he just shows so many glimpses of awesome and then does something that leaves you scratching your head.

For me, he stays, he seems to play better at home, so he is getting to thin ice, but I think our structure is working with personnel - I just think we need some blokes that can actually kick. Our entries into the 50 are dismal.

Not many want to mention Brayshaw, but he seriously needs to stop his clanggers, they are costing us big time. I believe he could use a stint in the WAFL to get some confidence up - but it ain't going to happen. He works hard and does so much right, but at critical times he can butcher it. I am a fan - just saying. Colyer and Conca, same applies. Langdon, same argument. Even Cerra has been coughing it on a regular basis.

Blakely is an accumulator - but realistically he is not the best kick in the world either. Generally we need the ball in Hill, Hill, Walters, Mundy or Fyfe's hands - or ... Cam - his field kicking is elite - he just needs to get the footy!

In regards to CMac, he is certainly frustrating to watch at times, however he reminds me a bit of a Darling type - which I am not sure if this is a compliment or not - I think it is. At times he would have the rubber chest and drop the easiest of marks, other times he would clank anything. His kicking has always been good. They both work hard.

Compare the grand final appearances with Darling - one he stank it up, the other he was probably the difference. The Eagles knew he was a player, they just had to stick with him.

I think most of us know Cam is best 22, and he can be a game winner for us. I have watched him pretty closely, and he works really hard, and at times he has helped us escape defence with getting right back. But... he just shows so many glimpses of awesome and then does something that leaves you scratching your head.

For me, he stays, he seems to play better at home, so he is getting to thin ice, but I think our structure is working with personnel - I just think we need some blokes that can actually kick. Our entries into the 50 are dismal.

Not many want to mention Brayshaw, but he seriously needs to stop his clanggers, they are costing us big time. I believe he could use a stint in the WAFL to get some confidence up - but it ain't going to happen. He works hard and does so much right, but at critical times he can butcher it. I am a fan - just saying. Colyer and Conca, same applies. Langdon, same argument. Even Cerra has been coughing it on a regular basis.

Blakely is an accumulator - but realistically he is not the best kick in the world either. Generally we need the ball in Hill, Hill, Walters, Mundy or Fyfe's hands - or ... Cam - his field kicking is elite - he just needs to get the footy!
I agree on Brayshaw and will preface by saying he is and will be in our best 22

But JUST NOW needs a couple of weeks of management at Peel for confidence.
He is reluctant to kick at the moment and with the extra time he will get at WAFL level he can hone his kicking skills
Blakely Langdon etc benefited from thier time in the WAFL

Changes: Round 8 Vs Richmond