Changes V Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter PowerKidd

If Ryder is out there may be one silver lining. Lobbe did incredibly well under pressure last year, he hasn't had that same pressure which may be taking him off his game. When we had to go into the Hawks game minus Wines and Gray everybody lifted, hopefully the same will happen here.

"Tom Clurey, Andrew Moore and Sam Colquhoun are also pushing for selection, with Kane Cornes retirement leaving a spot open for a run with player through the midfield, ideal for Colquhoun."

As much as everyone hates the idea of the hoon coming in, the club is literally telling us who the replacement for cornes is.

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2015-05-27/in-the-mix-round-9-port

In: Colquhoun, Broadbent, Neade TBA: Stewart, Clurey
Out: Trengove, Cornes, S Gray TBA: Krakouer, Ryder

"Tom Clurey, Andrew Moore and Sam Colquhoun are also pushing for selection, with Kane Cornes retirement leaving a spot open for a run with player through the midfield, ideal for Colquhoun."

As much as everyone hates the idea of the hoon coming in, the club is literally telling us who the replacement for cornes is.

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2015-05-27/in-the-mix-round-9-port

In: Colquhoun, Stewart, TBA: Neade, Broadbent
Out: Trengove, Cornes TBA: Krakouer, Ryder

"The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs."

I love the Colquhoun love but at the moment he is struggling to hit targets and with the increased pressure in AFL in comparison to SANFL I think its another "dangerous selection". Keep letting him work his craft in the Maggies for a few more weeks I reckon.

People asking for Neade and the Hoon must be watching a different Magpies to me. I am a huge fan of Hoon. But his disposal has been a heaping pile of horeshit since he got back. We have enough flakers unable to hit the side of a barn without adding another.

As for Neade. Really? Has barely kicked a goal outside of junk time all year. Was pathetic at AFL level earlier in the year and has not improved his game since.

In closing, a stupidly out of form Hartlett, Westhoff, or Broadbent are roughly 100% better then any Magpie options right now.

Is Clurey tall enough to replace Jacko or the Hoon AFL ready?
Jesse Hogan could be a massive problem for us. We can't put Hombsch everywhere and Bobby's back soreness means
Hammer and others have to really lift to stop the ball getting down in their F50 as much as possible.
Don't feel all that confident this week,hope the boys prove me wrong.
Neade usually plays the Alice Springs game and his pressure at the ball carrier will be vital to keeping it in our end.
Geez I hope Paddy n Krak get up.
Couldn't care if we scrap a 1pt win,just anything for the 4pts.

signed
:(

Is Clurey tall enough to replace Jacko or the Hoon AFL ready?
Jesse Hogan could be a massive problem for us. We can't put Hombsch everywhere and Bobby's back soreness means
Hammer and others have to really lift to stop the ball getting down in their F50 as much as possible.
Don't feel all that confident this week,hope the boys prove me wrong.
Neade usually plays the Alice Springs game and his pressure at the ball carrier will be vital to keeping it in our end.
Geez I hope Paddy n Krak get up.
Couldn't care if we scrap a 1pt win,just anything for the 4pts.

signed
:(

Maybe it's an optical illusion with Clurey, he is listed as 193 cm but quite often appears to be 3 or 4 cm shorter than his opponents at snafl level, he should be ok as the 3rd tall against the dees, but they do have some fairly long blokes, plus a couple who can take the odd hanger.
In my humble opinion the Hoon needs a lot more time at the Maggies before he is considered for an AFL gig.
Neade to play due to his X factor.

Can someone please explain the difference between an out of form player being retained because they've "built up enough credits" and/or being retained "due to a gold pass"

The latter seems to be more derogatory.

Built enough credits: A previously good/decent player who is performing below their best. Gets selected due to previous form.
Eg: Lobbe. Very good last year, underperforming a bit now.

Gold Pass: players getting games even though people think they don't deserve a selection.
Eg: O'shea's selection a few weeks ago

These are just examples

OUT - Trengove, Cornes, S.Gray (if Gray stays in this week I will lose my shit)

IN - Moore, Young, Stewart

Bring some bloody midfielders in to help the other mids out. It really feels like we aren't having enough guys run through the square. This could be a reason why we are looking a bit flat at the moment. All of these 3 ins are big bodied and have enough experience to make instant impacts. I rate Amon, but he is not going to make much of an impact at this point in time. It would either be him or Young as the sub. Stewart can play back or forward or even through the mid if required for a little bit.

Demons forward line is not great besides Hogan, so Trengove out is not that big of a deal this week. It actually probably opens things up a bit and gives us more run. Demons have a number of good mids, but no stars. I would go without a tagger this week, Freo style. We may find that it also gives us more run and attack.

OUT - Trengove, Cornes, S.Gray (if Gray stays in this week I will lose my shit)

IN - Moore, Young, Stewart

Bring some bloody midfielders in to help the other mids out. It really feels like we aren't having enough guys run through the square. This could be a reason why we are looking a bit flat at the moment. All of these 3 ins are big bodied and have enough experience to make instant impacts. I rate Amon, but he is not going to make much of an impact at this point in time. It would either be him or Young as the sub. Stewart can play back or forward or even through the mid if required for a little bit.

Demons forward line is not great besides Hogan, so Trengove out is not that big of a deal this week. It actually probably opens things up a bit and gives us more run. Demons have a number of good mids, but no stars. I would go without a tagger this week, Freo style. We may find that it also gives us more run and attack.
Hogan is going to have a break out game at some stage. Lacks nothing in talent, if we don't match up on him we've seen how bad goes to worse in the past.

Never said we won't match up on him mate. We have Carlile and Hombschy for that. Just saying that extra tall we are missing this week is not a big deal.