Preview Changes v North Melbourne

Smith out for one of Waters/Butler/Selwood. Masten and Kerr for Hutchings and Dalziell if they're fit.

Ps.. As good as Majak was today, I can't wait to watch Naitanui jump all over his head next week! That'll shut em up

In - Waters, Kerr, Masten
Out - Smith, Razzle (though not playing badly), Hill.

I think Hutchings will get a second run. Most of the time it is rare for a one up shot.

Chances of Masten, Kerr and Waters not being back?

If Waters and Butler are unavailable, do you think A. Selwood will replace Smith?

I'm firmly in the 'Smith was horrible' camp. Alway wanted to make it someone else's problem, rushing all his disposals, no composure, always losing his feat. I'd much prefer Adam. Don't care if he's slower, he's heaps better at playing footy.

Why under Gods hot sun, on Gods green earth would Hill be dropped?

Sweet tap dancing baby Jesus, get a clue.

Because he waits for the last 10 minutes of the game to have any meaningfull impact.:cool:

Maybe Hill should be the sub, sure he adds a bit of defensive pressure but FFS you hardly see the guy until the last quarter.

I'd rather have Daziell / Hutchings on for 3 quarters and subbed off for Hill than vis versa.

Looking at who had little impact:

Out: Smith, Gaff

Send Gaff back to the WAFL for a week then back in for the GWS game. Hopefully he spends two weeks racking up 30+ possies and gets some confidence back and the opposition tag someone else.o_O

In: Kerr, Masten

Hill to sub

Looking at who had little impact:

Out: Smith, Gaff

Send Gaff back to the WAFL for a week then back in for the GWS game. Hopefully he spends two weeks racking up 30+ possies and gets some confidence back and the opposition tag someone else.o_O

In: Kerr, Masten

Hill to sub

I agree regarding Gaff and i think it would be good to get some confidence back.

just a thought, rather than dropping him how about gaff as sub next week. has excelled in this role before and might be harder to tag if he brings that run mid-3rd qtr.

dalziell still doesn't do it for me. was better yesterday, especially that important goal he kicked, but he almost buggered up another one (rosa) and then nearly gave one away at the other end with a horrible hand pass. just don't see him in our plans going forward.

back to gaff, i don't want to see him dropped but clearly he is struggling at the moment and his size at contests is being exposed more than his pace, run and carry is being utilised.

just a thought, rather than dropping him how about gaff as sub next week. has excelled in this role before and might be harder to tag if he brings that run mid-3rd qtr.

dalziell still doesn't do it for me. was better yesterday, especially that important goal he kicked, but he almost buggered up another one (rosa) and then nearly gave one away at the other end with a horrible hand pass. just don't see him in our plans going forward.

back to gaff, i don't want to see him dropped but clearly he is struggling at the moment and his size at contests is being exposed more than his pace, run and carry is being utilised.

I agree that I don't think dalziell is the answer long term, but as a club surely we want to be rewarding form.

His last three weeks have been more than adequate and given our midfield deficiencies, dropping a bloke in form doesn't make sense to me.

Certainly better than Andrew (tackling isn't in my contract) Gaff. This is what shits me the most about him. Even if he isn't getting the ball, at east put in both ways. Send him to the WAFL until he can learn to lay a tackle a quarter

Dont think there will be any unforced changes due to form issues, more so out with the depth and in with the first choice

IN: Kerr, Masten, Waters, Butler**** all pending fitness tests
OUT: Dalziell, Hutchings, Smith (never to return if i was on MC), Brown

GAFF TO SUB

Because he waits for the last 10 minutes of the game to have any
meaningfull impact.:cool:

Maybe Hill should be the sub, sure he adds a bit of defensive pressure but FFS you hardly see the guy until the last quarter.

I'd rather have Daziell / Hutchings on for 3 quarters and subbed off for Hill than vis versa.

I agree with Obeanie1. Hill's a flat track bully

i think Gaff is still into the development phase he needs to take his time and get used to being tagged. IT might take a season of pain before he gets it. He's playing in not a full strength midfield when embley rosa wellingham kerr are in the same midfield if that is the structure we wre going to work with Gaff becomes icing on the cake not the cake.Then our midfield becomes much more difficult to tag and Gaff can get loose easier.

In: Kerr, Masten, Waters,

Out: Smith, Brown, Hutchings

Brown's not necessarily playing bad, but 4 talls really kills us on the rebound. Hutchings was very ordinary, probably needs more exposure, but not against North.

And Smith, I don't think i've ever watched a game where a players shortcomings have been so exposed. Directly contributed two turnover 12 point plays and his much touted asset, his speed, was lacking completely.

Spot on re Smith. He looked flat as a tack from his first contest. He's one of our quicker players (nominally) but was totally lethargic yesterday. When he did impact a contest he seemed determined to put the ball to Brisbane's advantage. When he was clear with a team mate on he somehow contrived to turn it over. Has to go if only to show him and others that performances like that are totally unacceptable.

I agree that I don't think dalziell is the answer long term, but as a club surely we want to be rewarding form.

His last three weeks have been more than adequate and given our midfield deficiencies, dropping a bloke in form doesn't make sense to me.

Certainly better than Andrew (tackling isn't in my contract) Gaff. This is what shits me the most about him. Even if he isn't getting the ball, at east put in both ways. Send him to the WAFL until he can learn to lay a tackle a quarter

i take your point but disagree on a couple of points. firstly about the strength of dalziell's form against very average opposition and secondly that a club should be mostly concerned with putting their best team on the paddock and not rewarding depth players (who should likewise expect to be in and out of teams according to the availability of superior talent). just don't see a strong case for dalziell in our top 22 especially with masten returning (plus kerr? waters?)

without going overboard on the hate i'm probably of the opinion that DDD has had opportunity enough to show his wares at this level and can be considered fairly lucky anytime he gets a call-up. there are other blokes i would be looking to 'reward' at this point (dick?)

Anyone know Butler's status?
Waters and Butler for Smith and Brennan would be nice.
Additionally, Kerr and Masten for Hutchings and Dalziell (stiff but it was either him or Sheppard).
Shep to sub