Prediction Changes v Tigers

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Are you his mum?
Just stating the obvious. We're 7 wins and 1 loss with Masten playing to a reasonable level. The Eagles are concentrating on more spread, more sprint efforts and a full 4 quarter performance.

Masten has done his part and fits the game plan to a tee. He is spreading hard, is very often top 5 for kms covered (only Gaff beats him), Distance Covered at Speed (usually the highest Eagle), and Average Speed on Defence (normally in the top 5 and often the highest Eagle)

You use shit trucks for tagging unless its a head to head thing like we do with Yeo.
Yeo never really went head 2 head with anyone except Cripps a couple times this season. He has tagged/played on the big dawgs to learn off them and thats what Venables should be doing.

Also Coniglio has done a tagging job on numerous occasions for the giants. Wouldn't classify them him as a shit truck.

We getting to a point where we could give a youngster a developing role in the midfield and it wouldn't heavily impact on our midfield. The sooner Venables midfield game is developed the better it is for us.

I think one of the big reasons we have played so well this year is simmo sticking to picking the team based on roles.

For that reason i cant see masten being displaced unless someone is banging the door down to play wing.

As has been said shuey and ryan are probably our only 2 automatic ins that are out.

Shuey > hutchings and ryan > waterman imo, though waterman in particular would be stiff.

If venables comes back strong in the second half of the year him and ah chee are fighting for that last mid-fwd spot.

Good postion to be in at the moment

Cripps, Yeo, Lecras, Hurn, Jetta, Waterman, Cole, Duggan, Sheppard and Rioli all do it OK, depending on what part of the ground we're talking about.
Where Masten plays.

That part.

Cripps, Lecca, Rioli? HFF's - nah wouldn't have thought so from what I've seen of Lecca & Cripps. Rioli - maybe but not right now.

Jetta - Maybe, however didn't set the world on fire when given that opportunity.

Hurn? Taking him away from where does most damage? Really? And who replaces him in the HB line?

Cole - Maybe, not ready yet. But perhaps a likely candidate.

Duggan - I could conceded this one.

Sheppard. No mate.

Waterman...I'm not sold.

Yeo - as a linkman? Don't you want him at the coalface?

Let me be clear, I thought Masten was cooked. Well cooked.

I was wrong. I can admit it. Yeah hes made a few clangers, and yep I rip into him. But he's adding something this season. H's been allowed to play to his strengths and its working well thus far.

Looking forward to see how he goes in the next fortnight when the pressure goes up. I might be well with you in advocating his removal. :)

How well do we have to be travelling before people stop thinking their watching the game once a week means they know better than the coaches who work with these players every day?

I can understand this sort of talk when the team is going badly, but the coaches really seem to know what they're doing right now.

How well do we have to be travelling before people stop thinking their watching the game once a week means they know better than the coaches who work with these players every day?

I can understand this sort of talk when the team is going badly, but the coaches really seem to know what they're doing right now.
It'll never stop zerg.

Aresholes opinions, etc (or maybe opinions, arseholes....whatever :D)

Players having set roles is one reason why we are doing well this season. With Gaff playing a bit more inside he needs a bit more help with the link up work and there's no one other than Masten that has the running power to do a link up job to support Gaff. Masten's getting most of the footy at half back and linking up well.

Hutchings role on the other hand is more a defensive role with a bit of on ball work here and there. Unfortunately for Hutchings, his role will be taken back by Redden when Shuey comes back later in the year. Hutching just doesn't have the tools to Mastens job and Masten's job is more important for the team than the role Hutchings has been doing. Thats purely because we don't have much genuine outside link up players to support Gaff and we already have contested type mids in the side already. Masto doing his job is one reason why Gaff is doing well this season.

Well until the coaches start posting here we'll just have to talk amongst ourselves.

I reckon Hutchings could eclipse Masten with his defensive efforts.

Ah Chee v Cripps v Waterman v Ryan. Who misses out? Or maybe Jetta will ping his calf again and they all play.
You guys are seriously kidding yourselves if you think Cripps is any chance of getting dropped. Has had the most forward 50 tackles in the AFL and is third in the comp for pressure acts. Problem is he doesn't do the pretty things that get noticed. Would be in the top 10 in our B and F right now. Ah Chee or Waterman would be the decision but its irrelevant because Ryan is 6 weeks away

masten has an aerobic capacity that rivals gaff’s, not many others on the list can even come close to those two (which is why they tend to run our games well)

if our aim is to move the ball through spread and run then we need them both in the side. it’s not solely a matter of skill or form, you need outside midfielders who can continue to fire late in the 4th quarter. i don’t see him being dropped anytime soon

Probably on our 5th premiership defence in a row......................

I can’t believe how strong our list looks all of a sudden.

Ah Chee potentially a second stringer but he’s such quality. It’s ridiculous to think someone of Arch’s potential to be a second stringer, such is the strength of our depth.

Venables I see as having the potential to be elite long term.

Ryan could be a flash in pain but at the moment could go on to become the comps next big excitement machine.

Petch is petch, he’s raw but again, has he potential to go to whatever heights he wishes.

Waterman, gun. Any other year we’d be happy with just developing this one guy into the best 22.

We’ve got potentially 6 quality players fighting for a spot.

Haven’t mentioned Bubba. Another one who could be anything.

Where the **** did this come from?

Ah Chee potentially a second stringer but he’s such quality. It’s ridiculous to think someone of Arch’s potential to be a second stringer, such is the strength of our depth.

Ryan could be a flash in pain but at the moment could go on to become the comps next big excitement machine.

Petch is petch, he’s raw but again, has he potential to go to whatever heights he wishes.

Waterman, gun. Any other year we’d be happy with just developing this one guy into the best 22.

The last 2 draft and trade periods. Half of these new guys were here last year just injured.

Exciting isn’t it?

and Brander looks like he will be top quality

Brander is a smart footballer too you cant teach that you either have it or you dont. Cant wait to see what Oscar Allen can do at the lower level too exciting times and a great list management strategy have us on a quick rebuild while still being a contender due to.our top end talent.

Just need to sign up Gov and Gaff but ensure we dont overpay because there is a lot of talent coming through.

Waterman incredibly was a walk-in best 22 from game 1..
Ahchee the same, only a senior version, he didn't miss a beat, so well drilled, absolutely belongs..
Bubba and Brander to come..
Petch could be another excitement machine once he gets a run on...boom-boom!
How do we fit them in...what a great dilemna.

Brander is a smart footballer too you cant teach that you either have it or you dont. Cant wait to see what Oscar Allen can do at the lower level too exciting times and a great list management strategy have us on a quick rebuild while still being a contender due to.our top end talent.

Just need to sign up Gov and Gaff but ensure we dont overpay because there is a lot of talent coming through.
Both gone I reckon. We offer Gov 800k, another club offers 1.2m over 5 years , that's an extra 2m. what would you do ? Heap of vic clubs lining up For Gaff as well. Will be offered big coin.

I reckon we'll cough up the coin for one of them and lose the other, no idea which one we'll keep though.