Preview Changes vs Geelong

Clearances this year

15. Port Adelaide 178
16. Geelong 177

Tackles this year

3. Geelong 372
4. Port 363

Both teams set up for slingshot movement from defensive action.

Its going to be such a good game to watch this weekend

even for neutral observers

the ball is going to go up and down the field at a million miles an hour

its bruce mcaveny salivating/private time with cyril level of delicious

We need to get out of the 2011-12 mentality of assuming that if players are listed as an out then they must have done something wrong. Our list is so strong now that we have probably 30 guys on the list who on talent and form deserve to be playing AFL. Some of them have to miss out.

Schulzy these days I agree with most of what you say (;)), but can't let this go. Please don't patronise me with this 2011-12 talk - I've been following Port Adelaide for 40 something years and in all that time you were picked if you were performing, not dropped because someone looked good in reserves footy.

My point is that if Impey was going to be dropped then it should have been last week after 2 x 8 disposal games but no one was having a bar of it. So why is he now expendable after doubling that output in one of the toughest defensive, finals-type games of this season and contributing to the final result with brave and tough hard running footy when it counted? Surely that keeps him in the side not gets him dropped. He doesn't need a rest and there's no match up reason for him to be dropped.

Agree that Young should get a full game.

Just been down at training. Light session but Monfries and Hombsch did the whole session
If Monfries is 100% then Newton is the unluckiest player ever

Just been down at training. Light session but Monfries and Hombsch did the whole session
Wow! If Monfries pulls up good by the weekend & gets the all clear ... will be hard not to include him in the side! Hombsch comes back in if he is OK ... looks like Gray will miss out, and O'shea?? for Hombsch?

Also like the idea of another taller player up front - Stewart??

Grief!! Wouldnt want to be part of the selection meeting this week!

Newton will get his shot. Wouldn't surprise me in the slightest to see guys like Cornes and Cassisi rested through the the year to get them primed for finals - games against GWS, Melbourne at home and Fremantle away once we've locked up a top four finish ;) will be the times to do it.

I reckon he'll get five games this year the same way Colquhoun did last year.

Newton will get his shot. Wouldn't surprise me in the slightest to see guys like Cornes and Cassisi rested through the the year to get them primed for finals - games against GWS, Melbourne at home and Fremantle away once we've locked up a top four finish ;) will be the times to do it.

Cornes might be old but he's the fittest guy we have

Mackie was subbed out for Hamstring tightness.
Wonder if he'll be risked travelling on a 6 day break?

If he doesn't pull up, then Bartel might not be able to run around as he pleases.

Mackie was subbed out for Hamstring tightness.
Wonder if he'll be risked travelling on a 6 day break?

If he doesn't pull up, then Bartel might not be able to run around as he pleases.

Some footy article that gets posted each week regarding injuries and players on the cusp, listed mackie as a full blown hammy gone for 3 weeks.

Haven't seen anything backing that up though.

If Monfries is 100% fit I'd play him as the sub. Bring him in, but not tiring out his hamstring with a full game. If everyone fit then -
Ins : Hombsch, Monfries.
Outs : S. Gray, O'Shea.
I disagree, just look how Judd went coming on as the sub. As much as they try to stay warm on the bench and loosened up, they are still relatively cold when coming on. Doing so with a hamstring injury prior is not a good idea at all! If he is 100%, he starts the game. If not, I would not risk it. Could come on for 5 mins and go TWANG, just like old mate Juddy.

I doubt Mackie will play and they probably won't play Motlop. The more I think about it, the more I think Monfries will wait another week.
Both sides have good depth so neither club will risk underdone players.

Impey must play this week.

I wanted to rest him against West Coast so he'd be available for Geelong. Stokes is the perfect match-up for him this week.
Stokes would tear Impey a massive new one! Stokes is an A grade midfielder, Impey is not ready for that match up yet. Yes he is good against a small forward, but not a mid that racks up 30 possies. He will completely out class him. I would actually play Impey in a forward packet/half forward. Forward pressure and speed from him would be fantastic. He would certainly give a lot more than Neade did last year in that role.

If Monfries is 100% fit I'd play him as the sub. Bring him in, but not tiring out his hamstring with a full game. If everyone fit then -
Ins : Hombsch, Monfries.
Outs : S. Gray, O'Shea.

completely disagree, if he's 100% i don't see the reason of using him as sub. he kicked 7 against Bartel at Kadinia 2 games ago. either he's ready or he's not. there's no in between.

Totally agree. No doubt Ken will be very tempted to play him given his previous performance against the Cats. Burgo will probably have the last say on this one.

I doubt Mackie will play and they probably won't play Motlop. The more I think about it, the more I think Monfries will wait another week.

I'd say Motlop is no chance (pretty much has zero preseason under his belt...he's a possible for Richmond the following week and I'd say more likely after the Round 8 bye), but the Mackie sub from yesterday could mean a couple of things. There has been no word of him sustaining an injury yesterday, so it could just as easily have been a case of giving him the best chance to be right for Sunday, as a re-injury. I assumed that one of the ruckmen would be the sub, if it wasn't injury enforced, yesterday, but in retrospect, it was an area of domination for the Cats, while Rivers and Taylor were playing well in defence.

The suggestion of it being a three-weeker most likely came from Doc Larkins' medical report on the AFL website last week, as that's what he was going with. Of course that proved to be incorrect, which was a bit surprising, since Larkins usually seems to have the inside mail with Geelong injuries and tends to be on the money with them.

It's going to be a tough game and I'm very concerned about Port's penchant for running over the top of teams in the fourth, with Geelong playing on a six-day break (compared to eight for the Power) at an unfamiliar ground. That's not an excuse; just saying that I think the Cats will be doing very well to win this one and it will take a very good performance. If the Power is within two goals (or better obviously) at three quarter time, I think we're in trouble.

Motlop definitely won't play this week - he only played a half in the VFL on the weekend and will likely play a full game there this week before returning to the seniors against Richmond.

Mackie is a curious one. He was rumoured to be a late withdrawal yesterday but played and played well for three quarters before being subbed. The club has said he's not injured but surely there was at least some hamstring soreness to prompt him being subbed in a close game. If Mackie misses, we will bring in Thurlow who was rested from the VFL last week in case Mackie didn't play the Hawks.

I think we will go in unchanged otherwise, though I am a bit concerned we will be run off our legs if we play all of McIntosh, Simpson and Blicavs.

This is the first time i have said it.. as til now i havent been convinced with Newton... but surely he must get a chance

33 possessions, 14 clearances and 10 inside 50s and 2 goals against the Eagles and he has been strong in every game he has played in 2014 (including trial games)

must be given a crack you'd think
He's pretty hard at it so in terms of matchups he's probably a good choice. If Monfries comes up I don't see him getting a game, there won't be more than 2 changes (incl. Hombsch).

Agreed..
so for me its

IN: Hombsch & Newton (or Monfries)
OUT: S Gray & Young

The thing going against Newton is we are winning and all our midfielders are awesome

Preview Changes vs Geelong