Chick to Western Australia?

• Thread starter Thread starter hawkfan5

Originally posted by Falchoon
Finger or no finger Chick has the worst hands of any well regarded player in the comp.

Wirrpunda coming to Melbourne?

Where does the queue start?

I'll give you pick 3 (Wells?) for Wirrpunda and pick 9.

What about Wirra for pick #3 + that Xavier Clarke kid?

Only a hypothetical anyway, Wirra ain't going anywhere!

eagles wouldnt swap wirrapunda for crawford, im dead serious i dont think they would, let alone chick, i would luv to see chick come play for the eagles tho

Chick should grow his hair back to get the samson thing going again--- he looks more eagles than dockers material to me

my offers:

Chick for Wirrpunda - no way

Chick by himself - 2nd round pick or Williams

Chick and Johnson - 2nd round pick and Embley

I rate Johnson quite highly.

what do hawks fans think of those???

Originally posted by WoD
eagles wouldnt swap wirrapunda for crawford, im dead serious i dont think they would, let alone chick, i would luv to see chick come play for the eagles tho

agree. i wouldn't considering our back flanker running problems this year and that Wirrpunda, although not quite as good as Crawford i will admit, he is not that far from him.

Far out, and they reckon Dockers fans over-inflate the value of their players. Embley or Williams for Chick straight swap? Ya gotz to be kidding.

Originally posted by RogerMellie
Far out, and they reckon Dockers fans over-inflate the value of their players. Embley or Williams for Chick straight swap? Ya gotz to be kidding.
That is a bit of a **** take. If Chick decides to come home, there will be a bidding war. Freo will be limited by their salary cap, so will ensure that bidding won't go crazy, but it will go higher than just Embley or Williams.

Maybe one of these two and a third round pick? Maybe a straight swap for Chad Fletcher?

From what i have heard Chick is as good as gone at years end. That doesnt give much power to the Hawks as they will have to take what they can get rather than lose him for nothing in the draft. If he does in fact want to come home then WC and Freo are in the drivers seat.

Personally i wouldnt give up too much for him....certainly not the way he has played this season.

Chick? No thanks, we don't want him. Too old and not good enough. We're rebuilding with youth.

Falchoon - go on.... :) If Wirra's not happy at any stage, I'd rather he went home. If the wraps on Wells are true....

Eagle people, why are you all so bloody keen to offload Andy & Embers? Andy is a player I'd always have on my bench, no questions asked. Doesn't seem to fit into the starting 18, because he can play almost anywhere. Can play taller than he is, has excellent hands, and would be close to our best shot on goal. He's often pushed forward when the 'big boys' just aren't firing, can be dropped back into defence when we're getting killed there, but is mobile enough to play in the centre. Clearly he's not a superstar, but I honestly think he's worth perservering with. Embers, is not unlike Daniel Bandy in potential imho. Has got the build & speed, and can play well when his head's right. If we can drill into him just what he's out there to do, (therefore eliminating the need for him to try and think :)), he could take the next step.

We've managed to improve this year with no trading over the offseason. Why adopt the 'Freo policy' now?

And to whoever said we had 'nothing they wanted' (hawkfan?), just because you don't know them doesn't mean they're worthless :) I mean who knew Luke McPharlin as more than 'that weird West Aussie with bad OP that the hawks drafted' before 'the trade'? You guys were more cut up about losing him than Croad, even though Trent was the headlining act.

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
Chick? No thanks, we don't want him. Too old and not good enough. We're rebuilding with youth.

Falchoon - go on.... :) If Wirra's not happy at any stage, I'd rather he went home. If the wraps on Wells are true....

Eagle people, why are you all so bloody keen to offload Andy & Embers? Andy is a player I'd always have on my bench, no questions asked. Doesn't seem to fit into the starting 18, because he can play almost anywhere. Can play taller than he is, has excellent hands, and would be close to our best shot on goal. He's often pushed forward when the 'big boys' just aren't firing, can be dropped back into defence when we're getting killed there, but is mobile enough to play in the centre. Clearly he's not a superstar, but I honestly think he's worth perservering with. Embers, is not unlike Daniel Bandy in potential imho. Has got the build & speed, and can play well when his head's right. If we can drill into him just what he's out there to do, (therefore eliminating the need for him to try and think :)), he could take the next step.

We've managed to improve this year with no trading over the offseason. Why adopt the 'Freo policy' now?

And to whoever said we had 'nothing they wanted' (hawkfan?), just because you don't know them doesn't mean they're worthless :) I mean who knew Luke McPharlin as more than 'that weird West Aussie with bad OP that the hawks drafted' before 'the trade'? You guys were more cut up about losing him than Croad, even though Trent was the headlining act.

I agree with everything. I dont particularly want Chick and i believe our rebuilding is going just fine without having to trade for players. If we can get Chick really cheap then I'd do it but the Hawks want draft picks and players etc...then i just wouldnt bother.

On Williams....completely agree. Has the best contested mark in the team, kicks goals when forward and is handy down back and is also quick enough to run through the midfield. If only Whoosha would play him more, he is criminally underused by the great man. Embers gets more time on the ground and never seems to get dropped and most weeks plays worse than Williams.

Fair dinkum, a lot changes in twelve months.

Firstly, Embly, Williams, 2nd round draft picks? Geezus as some have said that Freo people over-estimate the worth of their players.

He has (Chick) kicked 40 odd in a 'bad season'. Has been a B&F runner up as recently as last season. Is 'old' at 26?

He would be a great addition to any young side needing a bit of grunt and maturity. Personally I hope he stays but if he were to go the offer will be something decent (imo) from either Dockers (Connelly would rate him, dont worry about that) or Eagles who chased him hard two seasons back. Id take Brown from the Dockers straight swap for needs of both sides (they need midfielders, we need bigger bodies down back plus Brown could return like Chick down the line being Victorian). Coasters, draft picks, one in the teens, one in the low twenties. Players not really wanted, certainly not what is being offered. If neither of them want him at a decent price let him go into the draft. Blues, Sydney, Saints would all be willing (again imo) to take a punt they could convince him to play with them.

Again though, much prefer him to stay. Damn good player when going, something quite a few seem to have forgotten.

Personally I would love to have Chick in the side, but my question is: Who and what do we have to give up to get him?

It's not like Hawthorn are going to accept a dud player and/or a solitary draft pick in exchange.

I would rather persist with the players we have unless one of those players expresses a desire to go to a Melbourne based club.

If I was either of the W.A. teams, I think Johnson would be more of a priority because he could be picked up at a basement bargain price, was a state junior captain (leadership qualities) and is young with lots of run in his legs.

Would Chick fit into either of the W.A. teams plans?. Eagles have lots of midfield type players, Freo need speedy long kicking midfielders. Chick is a good solid midfield type player, but what about speed?.

I reckon Freo's priorities are speedy long kicking midfielders, Eagles need "next" generation key position backs. Thus I reckon both teams don't need to fall over themselves to get Chicks services, the price may then be quite cheap if the Hawks see that he wants to come to W.A.

Originally posted by Grendel
He has (Chick) kicked 40 odd in a 'bad season'. Has been a B&F runner up as recently as last season. Is 'old' at 26?

40 odd eh? Actually 31 with maybe a couple more this weekend.

So he had a good season last year, what about this year?

26 old. Well "if" he plays for WC next year he would have turned 27. You Eastern Staters kept calling Jako and Milli and now Banfield old at that age, just think of it as us returning the favour.

Personally I wouldn't go specifically after Chick unless he comes cheap. Good player in his prime yes, but how do we know that he's going to replicate it again?

Then again, I ain't the WC coaching staff, but after Chick's near home coming last time and last minute bail, who say's we going to go after him again?

Originally posted by HoRsE
This is where SA and WA sides have a huge advantage over Vic clubs. A Chick wants to go home there are only 2 clubs to bid for his services, 1 club might not even want him. Where as a Vic player of equal value wants to come home, to win his services we have to pay him more than other clubs and/ or out bid 5 or 6 other clubs by means of player/ draft pick compensation.

Whereas we find that there is always a Victorian club ready to pay more for a Victorian player than our club is, because there's always one poorly performing Victorian club with room in the salary cap and too much money to spend.

What about McPhee for Chick?

There is talk that McPhee wants to go back to Vic. and he is very quick and will be a damn good player. Personally, I would rather keep him but if he wants to go?

Originally posted by sabre_ac
I hope we dont go for Chick as we will end up paying more than he is worth.
That said if we must start talking chick how does Shipp and Fewster sound?

Who?

It's amazing how much Chick's stocks have dropped due to this season. He was badly overrated at the beginning of the season, I believe he made the top 10 when members of the bigfooty community did an aggregate top 50? That was a joke.

Chick's a decent player but if I was Freo or WCE I wouldn't give up too much for him. Maybe Leigh Brown?

Originally posted by Grendel
Blues, Sydney, Saints would all be willing (again imo) to take a punt they could convince him to play with them.

Again though, much prefer him to stay. Damn good player when going, something quite a few seem to have forgotten.

Saints wouldn't take him, Hamill is better at Chicks strengths, with the added benefit of being able to take a contested mark. IMO.

Originally posted by Falchoon

Saints wouldn't take him, Hamill is better at Chicks strengths, with the added benefit of being able to take a contested mark. IMO.

Sorry, didnt make myself clear in the first post. Re those Clubs taking him I meant for nothing if he decided to take a punt in the pre-season draft. On that I have no worries that a Carlton, St.Kilda, Richmond etc would take the chance to draft him and make him an offer to play with them before either W.A club had a chance to take him. If it didnt work out they could always trade him 12 months on anyway. That would make it very hard (impossible imo) for him to get back to the West at least next year anyway.

Btw Visro, Jako 12 months ago was gone too (or so his form seemed for the previous two seasons). Who would have thought he would come back to the form he has. So do you judge Chick on that 'one' season, his first poor season since he has been at Hawthorn? (ps was a typo on the 40 odd, should have been 30 odd).

Originally posted by jod23
From what i have heard Chick is as good as gone at years end. That doesnt give much power to the Hawks as they will have to take what they can get rather than lose him for nothing in the draft. If he does in fact want to come home then WC and Freo are in the drivers seat.

Personally i wouldnt give up too much for him....certainly not the way he has played this season.

Chick only wants to go back to WA - that doesn't give anywhere near the bargaining power Mummy's Boy McPharlin had last year.

Neither West Coast or Fremantle will have first pick in the pre-season draft, so if a suitable trade can't be arranged Chick will be off to Carlton.

Of course this won't happen, and if he wants out (and sadly, it seems that he does) we will trade him.

What about Dean Cox? Especially if Brett Johnson is thrown in. Most Hawthorn supporters rate BJ pretty highly because he is a ball magnet and usually has great disposal, but there are some queries over his 2nd efforts and leg speed.

But really, we have to trade for a key position player or a ruckman. Midfield is no longer a problem for us.

Originally posted by Visro
26 old. Well "if" he plays for WC next year he would have turned 27. You Eastern Staters kept calling Jako and Milli and now Banfield old at that age, just think of it as us returning the favour.

He hasn't had knee reconstructions. He's played in midfield and forward, and has still kicked 30+ goals. He's a club champion in a finals year. He can tag, he can play forward, can play defence, and can win the ball out of the middle. He is a leader (vice-captain), and he has finals experience.

Yeah, I wouldn't want him. :rolleyes:

The Hitman