Recommitted Clayton Oliver [re-signed until 2030]

Would do that deal, as much as I love SPS. Would be trying to get a different player involved if possible.
It would have to be a desirable player for us, I just put SPS in there because he's someone in a position of need for us and could potentially be expendable for you guys considering your bringing in Saad and Williams. Draft picks alone doesn't get it done, as mentioned Goodwin and Mahoney have their jobs on the line next year, we will need a player that will helps us next year if we're going to give up Oliver.

If carlton engaged in these talks with his management then we must've had a rough idea of what a trade would look like.

I doubt this happens but hopefully if it isnt on that both parties move on allowing time to be devoted to other trades

It would have to be a desirable player for us, I just put SPS in there because he's someone in a position of need for us and could potentially be expendable for you guys considering your bringing in Saad and Williams. Draft picks alone doesn't get it done, as mentioned Goodwin and Mahoney have their jobs on the line next year, we will need a player that will helps us next year if we're going to give up Oliver.
Spot on

A Geelong first rounder, our first next year and D.Cunningham or Zac Fisher? I'd prefer to keep SPS although I am also a fan of the aforementioned players as well. They also offer pace, something Melbourne needs.

Counter with Oscar McDonald for Harry McKay.

Nah no way you go for that, would probably require McKay + 7.

I think the question is, how many times has someting like this happened, only for it NOT TO EVENTUATE?

Not sure what ITK means, don't even think it matters. And on bigfooty, smoke is often just smoke.
All that had been said by the ITKs is that Oliver had asked for a trade to Carlton and that everyone at Melbourne hates Oliver.

Have not said a trade is going to happen.

Personally I can not see how we could get Saad and Oliver from a trade or salary cap perspective especially as we are getting Williams as a FA.

Last edited by a moderator:
If it was Geelong's top first rounder and Fisher (plus next year's first) it would be very close, we are in need of another quality small forward to partner kozzy.

The thing with ITKs is its easy to say a deal fell through etc. not saying some don’t have genuine info. But there’s plenty of ITKs who’ve never got a thing right.

Not Barrass

If Carlton actually wanted him they have to come up to the party with a deal that blows Melbourne away, I'm yet to see that with any trade suggestions yet. You can rule out Dow/O'brien/McGovern/Kennedy Melbourne would have no interest in them at all. The only way I could see it getting done and Carlton still having something to get Saad would be: Carlton split pick 7 with Geelong for 11 and 18. 18 gets involved in a Saad deal. Carlton send 11, future first, and Petrevski-Seton to Melbourne for Oliver. It'll take two firsts and player of interest to Melbourne if Carlton actually wants Oliver. Melbourne would also have interest in Kemp and Fisher I'd reckon.

That is a reasonable request for Oliver

Maybe next year when he's out of contract.

Melbourne's list is past the 'compiling picks' stage, and for 2021 they will not be giving up a player who owns the club's all-time top 3 season disposal tallies, for unknown entities.

There is no logic in a team, with the timeline Melbourne has, giving up their 23yo 2x Best and Fairest and All-Australian for anything other than complete overs at this point.

You obviously never played footy with a painfully annoying redhead

You’d think it sounds like it. However Goodwin and Mahoney have their jobs on the line. Two first rounders don’t help Melbourne make finals next year. Oliver does. Almost like signing your job away for those blokes to let him go unless a top end talent is coming back our way.

That talent doesn't necessarily have to be from Carlton though. You could on-trade those picks to another club for a gun.

Let's say it's true he's disgruntled. Trade him now while he's under contract for a nice haul like pick 7 & our 2021 1st rounder - that's a higher cost than Neale/Shiel/Treloar/Dangerfield for context.

Trade a second rounder for B Brown. Trade a late second/third for I Smith. Then I don't know who, but maybe there's someone Melbourne could nab with the first rounders from Carlton.

That talent doesn't necessarily have to be from Carlton though. You could on-trade those picks to another club for a gun.

Let's say it's true he's disgruntled. Trade him now while he's under contract for a nice haul like pick 7 & our 2021 1st rounder - that's a higher cost than Neale/Shiel/Treloar/Dangerfield for context.

Trade a second rounder for B Brown. Trade a late second/third for I Smith. Then I don't know who, but maybe there's someone Melbourne could nab with the first rounders from Carlton.
Ben Brown for a second. Yes. Smith is a FA. But realistically reckon we’d be asking about McKay. Remember we don’t need to trade Oliver. He’s contracted. And much like Papley if unsettled things can change in a year.

If McKay becomes part of the trade our recruiting team should be stood down.

Re Smith - ah ok nice to get for free.

Yeah I think the most likely outcome is Melbourne don't trade Oliver. And yes you will ask for McKay but we will 100% say no.
My point is, what could unlock this trade is IF there's a gun player Melbourne are working on they could get with the picks they receive from Carlton for Oliver.

All speculation.

I'm not against trading someone if he wants to go at what will probably be his peak value in his career, especially in a position that we can cover for but we'd still want enormous return for Oliver. A player from a 3rd team that would be perfect for Melbourne would be Josh Kelly or Whitfield, but with the amount of first round picks the Giants look set to accumulate this trade period I don't think they'd want Carlton's picks either.

Irony at it's finest when a Blues supporters tries to make a joke about another team playing finals.

Yet we've still made finals more often than Melbourne in the last decade...

There have been rumours that the entire team was sick of him in the hub (I worked at Whitefriars when Petracca was going through and Oliver must have been pissing people off bad if Petracca wasn't the annoying one).

You'd think Melbourne would back themselves to get the team on track under non lockdown circumstances.

Come on mate, that's not a ridiculous trade offer.