Clubs reliant on Pokie revenue hit with double whammy

With pubs and clubs and other venues closing, clubs like Hawthorn and Carlton will be hit extra hard. Should they get additional compensation from the AFL because of the loss of their major income stream?
They should be booted for exploiting people in the first place.
Gambling should be left to casino's not community organisations.

Norths profit last year was something like 45k

With a similar amount of cash in the bank

Everyone will hurt but when the afl cash dries up some of the smaller clubs are in serious trouble regardless of pokies income.

North has $2,000,000.00 in cash on hand, not $40k (lol.)

16% of our revenue is memberships, which the majority of supporters will leave as is imo.

Our major overheads aren't major business interest like Gyms, Childcares and pubs/clubs.

It's the leasehold from the City of Melbourne on Arden St itself that we contribute towards a capital fund. This will obviously be something negotiable in this climate.

He was right, our overheads are a shitload lower than most clubs.

Not sure how it will hurt pokie clubs more. Zero revenue = Zero revenue no matter the split beforehand.

The AFL might have an army of reporters that can write sob stories but there are a lot more businesses out there that are facing complete failure. The AFL know's that as soon as they are allowed to, they will have a league again and popular product. Other industries are not so lucky, retail was on it's knees before this, likely to be replaced with online by the time it is over.

Not sure how it will hurt pokie clubs more. Zero revenue = Zero revenue no matter the split beforehand.

The AFL might have an army of reporters that can write sob stories but there are a lot more businesses out there that are facing complete failure. The AFL know's that as soon as they are allowed to, they will have a league again and popular product. Other industries are not so lucky, retail was on it's knees before this, likely to be replaced with online by the time it is over.

The venues have employees, overheads/rent, stock .... do the clubs own the facilities?

16% of our revenue is memberships, which the majority of supporters will leave as is imo.

Our major overheads aren't major business interest like Gyms, Childcares and pubs/clubs.

It's the leasehold from the City of Melbourne on Arden St itself that we contribute towards a capital fund. This will obviously be something negotiable in this climate.

Oi what are you doing here posting facts about North's financial position?

The venues have employees, overheads/rent, stock .... do the clubs own the facilities?

Not to mention annual state licensing fee's for the poker machines, I believe whilst clubs and gaming venues own the license's, they lease the physical machines from manufacturers with ongoing maintenance contracts etc.

Fair enough, although I dare say a lot of those overheads have been slashed instantly. They might need to carry a bit more pain for the next six months but they might also start earning revenue quicker once the venues open up.

Not to mention annual state licensing fee's for the poker machines, I believe whilst clubs and gaming venues own the license's, they lease the physical machines from manufacturers with ongoing maintenance contracts etc.

Yep, & they dont own the properties.Its as if closing the premises is the end of costs.

Fair enough, although I dare say a lot of those overheads have been slashed instantly. They might need to carry a bit more pain for the next six months but they might also start earning revenue quicker once the venues open up.

might being the operative word, picking up the pieces is a bit harder than opening the doors if you can get through the creditors.

This. States aren't going to hit up venues for things like licensing fees when there's forced closures. Employee wages will be cut instantly, no requirement for new stock (at least until they're back up and running) and depending on the venue can probably still use a lot of current stock.

You pay me so I can pay them, who can pay you .... think about it.

And your club is ok reporting up the line to an organisation taking millions from betting agencies.

At a game don’t see the HFC in your face advertising pokies every two minutes while our kids are sitting next to us!
Fremantle get the equal least funds from the AFL.

Pokies target the poorer areas and people with social issues not people who go to the footy.

Sorry, mate but your club is a bottom feeder.

Look at North Melbourne who has pulled out of pokie years ago. Club of character.

Pokies target the poorer areas and people with social issues not people who go to the footy.

Look at North Melbourne who has pulled out of pokie years ago. Club of character.

Not quite but close

AFL Distributions

• Gold Coast – $23,696,768
  • Brisbane – $23,609,188
  • GWS – $23,234,214
  • St Kilda – $20,539,315
  • Port Adelaide – $19,805,849 (includes match day and merch)
  • North Melbourne – $16,918,003
  • Melbourne – $16,336,739
  • Western Bulldogs – $16,271,119
  • Sydney – $14,886,155
  • Carlton – $14,149,443
  • Adelaide -$12,676,532
  • Richmond – $12,505,575
  • Essendon – $12,079,819
  • Geelong – $11,841,169
  • Fremantle – $11,469,122
  • Collingwood – $11,424,087
  • Hawthorn – $11,156,622
  • West Coast – $11,002,504

They should be booted for exploiting people in the first place.
Gambling should be left to casino's not community organisations.

I would much rather pokie money go to footy clubs where it is at least used for something useful rather than places like crown

Your 2019 financial report has cash and cash equivalents at 46k

If that has changed then good for you.

Iirc your major investment is kangatech, no sports are running no one needs kangatech either.

In terms of footy overheads every club is pretty similar it is how you manage to non footy overheads that will make or break clubs.

North pulled out of pokies because they couldn't afford it they just use the moral standing as an excuse now,if they had the money for it they would still be involved like everyone else.

I would much rather pokie money go to footy clubs where it is at least used for something useful rather than places like crown

Iirc your major investment is kangatech, no sports are running no one needs kangatech either.

In terms of footy overheads every club is pretty similar it is how you manage to non footy overheads that will make or break clubs.

No, because by having them clubs are promoting gambling. If there was zero promotion aspect I'd agree, but that isn't possible.

Kangatech was written off as a loss over 2018/2019.

Anyway, I don't think North is really a legitimate risk, we will probably walk out of this with circa. $10m in debt from AFL loans. Luckily we are completely debt free at the moment.

My point was exactly that, we have no non footy overheads, which is what differs us from someone like St Kilda.

St Kilda have millions in Tab Corp and Development obligations due this year, have similar revenue, relied more heavily on AFL distributions and their social club raked in about $2.5m for them last year. They also already have $10m+ in current loans.

They could legitimately walk out of 2020 $20m-$25m in debt.

There's clubs that will go under well before we will, is my point.

So it’s ok to receive money from the AFL who receive millions from betting agencies that are constantly in your face but the Hawks are a bottom feeder because of receiving money from pokies. Hypocrisy!

Not quite but close

AFL Distributions

• Gold Coast – $23,696,768
  • Brisbane – $23,609,188
  • GWS – $23,234,214
  • St Kilda – $20,539,315
  • Port Adelaide – $19,805,849 (includes match day and merch)
  • North Melbourne – $16,918,003
  • Melbourne – $16,336,739
  • Western Bulldogs – $16,271,119
  • Sydney – $14,886,155
  • Carlton – $14,149,443
  • Adelaide -$12,676,532
  • Richmond – $12,505,575
  • Essendon – $12,079,819
  • Geelong – $11,841,169
  • Fremantle – $11,469,122
  • Collingwood – $11,424,087
  • Hawthorn – $11,156,622
  • West Coast – $11,002,504
Sorry I thinking about the previous year which was the case.

You can see that Fremantle is way that the list and $470k from the bottom.

But the way if you think pokies are the same level as betting agencies then good luck to you.

North pulled out of pokies because they couldn't afford it they just use the moral standing as an excuse now,if they had the money for it they would still be involved like everyone else.

Nah, our pokies footprint was minuet compared to other clubs, we also earn more from sponsorship from Victorian Responsible Gambling than we ever did from pokies.