smokingjacket

Liverpool
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-29/eddie-calls-for-compo-

Sorry I know that this should probably go to the main board or something but have a look at the bit above...

Are you done? Have you digested that piece of information from Ed yet? I'd be embarrassed to say that 20,000+ members didn't turn up because it was a Sunday night as a laugh on a Bay 13 post let alone putting out in to the media.

Pies supporters didn't rock up because it was cold, Carlton suck and the TV was easier Eddie. Sad for you that it happened in your rivalry round but hey should have used some of that massive marketing budget to get your fans a bit pumped up.

Thankfully AFL fixtures don't revolve around when and how we can make Pies supporters most comfortable to go to a game you flog. However I wasn't surprised to see the Patrick Keane backtrack at a rate of knots so expect Collingwood to get Friday night to Saturday afternoons from now to forever.

Sorry I know that this should probably go to the main board or something but have a look at the bit above...

Are you done? Have you digested that piece of information from Ed yet? I'd be embarrassed to say that 20,000+ members didn't turn up because it was a Sunday night as a laugh on a Bay 13 post let alone putting out in to the media.

Pies supporters didn't rock up because it was cold, Carlton suck and the TV was easier Eddie. Sad for you that it happened in your rivalry round but hey should have used some of that massive marketing budget to get your fans a bit pumped up.

Thankfully AFL fixtures don't revolve around when and how we can make Pies supporters most comfortable to go to a game you flog. However I wasn't surprised to see the Patrick Keane backtrack at a rate of knots so expect Collingwood to get Friday night to Saturday afternoons from now to forever.

I'm getting a "page not found" error from that link

I get that the timeslot sucked - but I don't get that it meant the crowd numbers were 40k below the average for Carlton v Collingwood games

People don't seem to have a problem going out to concerts mid-week (that might finish 10-11pm) or going out for a late meal or a drink or anything like that, so what's the issue with going out late on a Sunday night for the AFL?

Yes it was cold, but it's a winter sport - we had 10k less v Brisbane when the weather was shocking, but it was against a poor side who have a small following and are from the otherside of the country. I doubt a derby would get less than 38k if it was played at 7.10pm Perth time on a Sunday night during school holidays.

As much I might understand where he is coming from, as since being out of pocket of 100,000's for the sake of an experiment is a bit sour.

The guy also should use empathy and realise that the reason half the Melbpurne clubs are in sad days is because of poor fixturing. So Eddie can suck it, he wouldn't advocate other clubs asking for compo.

Yes it was cold, but it's a winter sport - we had 10k less v Brisbane when the weather was shocking, but it was against a poor side who have a small following and are from the otherside of the country. I doubt a derby would get less than 38k if it was played at 7.10pm Perth time on a Sunday night during school holidays.
Yeah, sure. When's the last time a Freo home game finished past 10pm?

Whatever you think about Eddie, he is bloody good for Collingwood.
& you folks in WA, you have no idea how cold it really is over here.
Despite all that, suffer in yer jocks boganwood
:p

I hate going to the footy on a Sunday knowing you have work the next day. Eddie said earlier this year that he wants the WA clubs to play the late Sunday games at Subi (although not as late as what they played last night). P!ss off Eddie

Pies supporters didn't rock up because it was cold, Carlton suck and the TV was easier Eddie. Sad for you that it happened in your rivalry round but hey should have used some oof that massive marketing budget to get your fans a bit pumped up.

I'm sure you're missing the point here.

Collingwood is ENTITLED to the best time slots, best umpiring decisions, best fixturing, least travel, best etc

You know! This is Collingwood!

They should also get compensation for having to play anywhere but the MCG, compensation for 6 days breaks, compensation for injuries, compensation for MRP decisions, compensation for having a coach like FIGJAM......

or

they can be told to get ****** and be treated like every other team in the AFL with no special entitlements.

The guy also should use empathy and realise that the reason half the Melbpurne clubs are in sad days is because of poor fixturing. So Eddie can suck it, he wouldn't advocate other clubs asking for compo.

Eddie doesn't do empathy. When it comes to his footy team he seems pathologically incapable of it.

I'm not sure whether Eddie is aware of his hypocrisy or not... he provides a pretty convincing display of ignorance... but he will only ever go in to bat for the Pies. Expecting him to change his spots is a futile hope.

It is a situation that should have helped Ed understand the position of other clubs a little better. I doubt that it has. Or if by some stroke of amazingness it did have an impact... you'd never see it, because Ed would go right back to doing his job... pushing the Pies barrow at every turn, and f*ck everyone else.

I don't get how it's the AFL's fault that members didn't rock up. Stupid fairweather supporters. And it wasn't just this game, I've been to a few pies games this season (not really sure why) and their crowd figures have been low at all of them. Even the last Carlton v Pies game at Etihad, with a closed roof, and it was atleast 10 degrees warmer.

Sure it was cold last night, so so so cold, and I still can't feel my nose or toes, and it rained all day, and it was late on a Sunday, but geeeeze suck it up princesses. I went to the game and don't care about either team. Eddie should have a go at the supporters.

And yet the AFL has now already said it will kill the late Sunday experiment as a result of this.

What I am concerned about is that instead they are looking at more Thursday night games. To me this would be fine if they are scheduled between mostly Melbourne teams because it throws out the number of days break badly. However already all but one of the Thursday night games this year (Carlton Richmond) were a Melbourne versus non-Victorian team. Very likely we will end up having more6 or even 5 day break games travelling to Melbourne as a result. At least Sunday afternoon games do not affect teams travelling as much.

The other thing is his 1950's working class rhetoric, like all working class people these days have to get home early so they can get to the mill in the morning or something. It's absurd even in Victoria which has one of the highest proportions of manufacturing in their GDP.

Someone working a lower paid job just as likely if not more to be working all sorts of hours and often through the weekend so a Sunday night might work perfectly.

I get that the timeslot sucked - but I don't get that it meant the crowd numbers were 40k below the average for Carlton v Collingwood games

People don't seem to have a problem going out to concerts mid-week (that might finish 10-11pm) or going out for a late meal or a drink or anything like that, so what's the issue with going out late on a Sunday night for the AFL?

But a concert's a bit different, it's warm and it's something you might only experience once. You pay money, you see an act, you have a guarantee of a show. Carlton are in poor form, you can take your kids to the football any other weekend and not have them awake at 10pm on a school night... really, it was dumb scheduling from the AFL. The only people who like Sunday night are the unemployed, the CBD dwelling, and students. Most other people have other commitments. Why go watch your shit team probably lose when it's like 10 degrees and there's no guarantee that even the atmosphere will be any good?

Really, the Victorian public are spoilt. See them complain about the sublime, world class, pretty much perfect Etihad Stadium and decry $17 for a Friday Night blockbuster while West Australians have to just about kill someone to even get the so-called luck of paying $50 to see their side play. It's pampered, it's soft, it's frustrating... but it's a mindstate, it's a serious ideology and changing that is going to be tough. The AFL do themselves no favours and then decry the people, when it's obvious what people want. I mean I feel a bit torn either way.

But you know, as big a prick as old Eddie is, the AFL are in a pretty average situation and state right now. If you don't support a top four side you have a real right to question the competition. There's no integrity, no decency, not too many good sides...

Eddie's really decrying the fact that old Victorian rivalries ain't where it's at anymore (I stole that from someone) - the other two 'rivalry' games (derby's) were far more exciting this weekend than Carltank vs SirCollingwood.

Carlton are in poor form, you can take your kids to the football any other weekend and not have them awake at 10pm on a school night... really, it was dumb scheduling from the AFL.

I thought it was Victorian school holidays? EDIT: Just checked and it is. That's the only reason why the AFL did it at this time.

The only people who like Sunday night are the unemployed, the CBD dwelling, and students. Most other people have other commitments. Why go watch your shit team probably lose when it's like 10 degrees and there's no guarantee that even the atmosphere will be any good?...

Let's be honest you can make that same argument for playing a football match any time ever. Friday night - just got home from work, Saturday arvo - could be with the family, watching kids sport, Saturday night - could be out on the town, Sunday day - could be with the kids, having a BBQ, at bloody church, insert your own here. The fact is you prioritise it because they are your team, not just because of the entertainment/atmosphere value.

If you don't support a top four side you have a real right to question the competition. There's no integrity, no decency, not too many good sides...

I'm not sure what you mean by this. If you mean the actual quality of the games for watching if you like free flowing football isn't as good as it was 10 years ago then yeah. If you mean that there are too many sides who aren't competitive I'd disagree. This round has been a case in point, there's been plenty of upsets and close games between sides not close to each other on the ladder.

Why go watch your shit team probably lose when it's like 10 degrees and there's no guarantee that even the atmosphere will be any good?
I wish it was 10 degrees!! 5 when we got back to the car after the game :drunk:

We are so insanely spoiled here like you said. I personally prefer Subi to Etihad, but at least it's got enough seats to fit everyone. And the MCG is the MCG. Absolutely amazing. It's so rare for a game to be sold out and it costs like a couple of bucks to go to the footy. I was shocked the first time I went to a game here and saw the price thinking it was wrong, or because it was going to be a terrible game (Dees v GC back when they were bottom dwellers).

Sunday night footy starting later than 5pm followed starting work earlier than 8am on a Monday morning is just not a good idea.

I get quite pissed off at the scheduling of games on Monday and Thursday nights for similar reasons.

I'm loathe to agree with Eddie (and I don't in regards to compo for a shit turnout...bad luck), but fixturing Collingwood and Carlton at 7.10 on a Sunday night is borderline ******ed. The AFL should play to its strengths and give up the ceaseless TV viewing experimentation.

Guy at work (lives in Perth) has a Melbourne Freo supporter membership cost him $140. Entitles him to all freo games in Melbourne and general admission to all games at Etihad and MCG. And yet they complain about changing prices of football games. Talk about equalisation strategy maybe the AFL could look at one for WA supporters and what we have to put up with.

I should never have gone for my first Melbourne trip to watch football this year, ignorance was bliss.

Sure Eddie Sprouts off and everyone bags him. But you can be sure that it wont happen to Collingwood again.
Incidentally, We have a 6pm Thursday night game coming up. Good luck getting to the opening bounce of that one.
But you can be sure you wont hear a peep out of Steve...........and we'll be doing it again next year

Eddie also slammed the Geelong CEO for inquiring as to why middle tier clubs who make far less profit than top tier teams have to pay the same percentage of tax.