News Conor McKenna tests positive for COVID-19 - Wait, what?

No surprises the AFL bending over backwards again for their favourite team.
The best option would have been for Essendon to forfeit the games against Melbourne, Carlton and Collingwood and continue the season.
This will come back to bite the AFL because they never make the tough decisions, season will be over when half the Carlton list get the virus.

So Dees,Pies,Carlton get 4 points each while other teams who have to play Essendon will need to beat them

How is that fair?

I cant imagine Perth's UV index is that different to Melbourne's in winter.
May be warmer, but not necessarily getting more UV.

Population density is likely issue. And i reckon Melburnians are largely the issue in that they aren't taking it seriously enough.
This city has an issue with selfishness.

WA mostly rests in the lower reaches of moderate level where Victoria is currently stuck in Low level range. I'm not sure how significant that jump is but it manifests in vitamin d deficiencies:

In winter, rates of Vitamin D deficiency were particularly high for those living in the south eastern states of Australia, such as Victoria and ACT, where nearly one in every two people (49%) were Vitamin D deficient in winter compared with only 16% and 13% respectively in summer. By comparison, Vitamin D deficiency remained relatively low in winter for those in Queensland and the Northern Territory.

You think they don't have cameras set up everywhere except for toilets and showers? This is a new installation especially for contact tracing.
Dude it was fixed, once the AFL started with the 15 minutes and 1.5m bullshit before DHHS even started its investigation it was obvious they were going to bend the rules.

Not angry at Essendon, just a bit pissed at the double standards on show especially after Dan accused families of screwing up and then punishing in house numbers and this goes through to the keeper with a fall guy who wasn't getting a game anyway.

Dude it was fixed, once the AFL started with the 15 minutes and 1.5m bullshit before DHHS even started its investigation it was obvious they were going to bend the rules.

Not angry at Essendon, just a bit pissed at the double standards on show especially after Dan accused families of screwing up and then punishing in house numbers and this goes through to the keeper with a fall guy who wasn't getting a game anyway.

I think the rules are bent because they know the facts of the virus, which they are hiding from the public because they don't want people to get overconfident. Kinda like how in the US Fauci said masks don't work because they didn't want the public hording them from doctors. The official word has motives.

WA mostly rests in the lower reaches of moderate level where Victoria is currently stuck in Low level range. I'm sure how significant that jump is but it manifests in vitamin d deficiencies:

In winter, rates of Vitamin D deficiency were particularly high for those living in the south eastern states of Australia, such as Victoria and ACT, where nearly one in every two people (49%) were Vitamin D deficient in winter compared with only 16% and 13% respectively in summer. By comparison, Vitamin D deficiency remained relatively low in winter for those in Queensland and the Northern Territory.
interesting to note.

I think the rules are bent because they know the facts of the virus, which they are hiding from the public because they don't want people to get overconfident. Kinda like how in the US Fauci said masks don't work because they didn't want the public hording them from doctors. The official word has motives.
And then they crack the shits when people just thumb their noses at authorities and do whatever they want.

You know when people say a coach has lost the players, I think it's fair to say Andrews has lost the people.

Because this kind of thing may happen for years, perhaps even forever, we cant live our lives forever in isolation. And its important if you dont want your side and competition to go bankrupt. A handful of covid cases is really nothing, considering America are getting 1000s per day.
The point is the AFL can seemingly do as they please in Victoria while the rest of us suffer. We cannot visit more than 5 people once again, we cannot work in certain jobs but AFL players have special privileges because they kick a footy well.

It’s a ****ing joke. The world doesn’t revolve around the bloody footy.

And then they crack the shits when people just thumb their noses at authorities and do whatever they want.

You know when people say a coach has lost the players, I think it's fair to say Andrews has lost the people.
Im not sure he's lost them enough to lose an election
The Libs have no one to run against him for one thing. And the way back is a loooong road.

He'll need to win some back over time, but i reckon by and large people won't be holding this against him too much.

Lol, if this occurred in an office the whole workplace would be put into quarantine cos it’s the afl they limit it to 2 people

Give me a spell

The season is an absolute joke this year anyway, I’m a diehard but it’s the least of my worries and I couldn’t care less.

Either relocate the VIC teams like the NRL has done or just pull the pin on this embarrassment of a season ffs

That may be public opinion but I think it's out of his control. I personally think that the behaviour of individuals wouldn't differ significantly by state but it's the geographical conditions that differ.

Though a personality trait statistically associated with being conservative is orderliness, so maybe there is a correlation to obeying government orders in Liberal states that doesn't exist in a Labor state.

So why you so freaking upset? We get our season going along. Just be thankful. Has nothing to do with you. You will be perfectly fine.
Because our state is in somewhat of a mess right now and what has been ruled in regards to Essendon goes against everything we’ve been told. It sends a terrible message and shows that AFL players have some sort of above the law status.

There are bigger things to worry about than a bloody football match right now. Far out.

Lol, if this occurred in an office the whole workplace would be put into quarantine cos it’s the afl they limit it to 2 people

Give me a spell

The season is an absolute joke this year anyway, I’m a diehard but it’s the least of my worries and I couldn’t care less.

Either relocate the VIC teams like the NRL has done or just pull the pin on this embarrassment of a season ffs
Could not agree more. In the NRL a player is quarantined because his kids go to a school where a teacher tests positive, here well what can I say. Victoria are treating this as a joke and would like to see the border between nsw and vic closed. Shut the comp down, relocate and isolate eastern state teams to wa & sa, grand final to be played in perth late afternoon to be shown prime time in eastern states

Did he say “go bombers” again today haha
AFL+Rd+11+Essendon+v+Richmond+fhDdyD4n5J5x.jpg

7892986-3x2-940x627.jpg

He isn't sure anymore

Tackled him once and DHS did examine all the footage you fool. Oh he spray snot, I’ll break social distancing rules, no one can be that simple can they?
You greatly overestimate the intelligence of our community and how they view stuff like this.

I don’t care what football team this involves. It’s a shocking look allowing a club to do the complete opposite to what anyone else in the community has to do just because they are professional athletes.

It’s also comical that people think all these players are socially distancing behind closed doors. They haven’t even bothered on camera multiple times.

Ok fair call, how about stop bullshitting me then?

If it's dangerous for me to be within 1.4 meters of the checkout chick at Coles while I'm getting pack of smokes then there's no way it's safe for McKovid to blow snot all over his team mates, spit in his hands, tackle and hug his co-workers for 14 minutes at a time and not put at risk his team-mates.
Isn’t it great how so many are willing to sit here and tell us how amazing it is the AFL community can behave in a completely different way to the rest of us just so we can have precious footy?All while the rest of us sit at home, possibly unemployed, miserable, now unable to visit more than 5 people at a time and for many fairly bleak prospects for a while.

I’m not saying I don’t want any footy on but man people‘s priorities are ****ed. It’s also pathetic in the government press conferences when it turns into “what’s happening with the footy?!?”

Because our state is in somewhat of a mess right now and what has been ruled in regards to Essendon goes against everything we’ve been told. It sends a terrible message and shows that AFL players have some sort of above the law status.

There are bigger things to worry about than a bloody football match right now. Far out.

You were really hoping for that forfeit I see? 🤣

Really hoping for that forfeit I see? 🤣
Again you can do nothing but think about footy.

There’s more to life than footy at the moment. We are being told it is too dangerous to visit our friends and family here in Victoria. But AFL clubs can tackle, wrestle, spit etc at training and no doubt do other things behind closed doors and it’s okay.

It’s a shocking double standard to a state full of people hurting heaps because of this pandemic. I haven’t been able to work in a job I was meant to start because of Coronavirus preventing close gatherings. But AFL players clearly have their own rules.

The fact you think this all revolves around whether people want a team to win or lose is hilariously shit argument. Are you 12?

News Conor McKenna tests positive for COVID-19 - Wait, what?