Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

Heaps of people do mate, they just don't know it because they think it's Coke in the post mix...
Unfortunately he's right - most pubs have Pepsi on tap, and that's what you get when you ask for Jacks and coke.

My respect for Perth Stadium dropped in half when they switched out Coke. When I remember, I just bring coke with me now - cheaper and a better drink.

Good point.

Or if you’ve already got a plethora of picks in the current draft and want to start stocking up for the next draft.

Or if you’ve got an academy/FS prospect you want to stock points for.

The suggestion that a club should almost never trade a player for future picks is extremely short sighted.
For a contracted player who is currently best 23 it is bad business. Especially with a list like ours

I’m prepared to give Clarke a mulligan for last year for a couple of reasons.

We were over eager to get Baker across because I think McQualter wanted him at the club to help implement the game plan and add some much needed leadership to a young group. Baker joining also provided us with a buy one, get one free arrangement because Graham came as a bonus

With Barrass wanting out it also became clear that whilst the two trades weren’t directly linked, a large chunk of what we received for Barrass (basically pick 14) would go to Richmond for Baker. That link was made well before Clarke put his foot in his mouth in the initial interview at the start of trade week

It seemed a decent enough plan - get 14 and change for Barrass then pass on 14 for Baker and keep the change. The ducks were nicely in a row until Hawthorn kicked them into oblivion by trading pick 14 to Carlton which was a complete blindside.

Making it worse was the fact Hawthorn had no other trades going on so they were then happy to stall us on the Barrass trade in the hope we’d cave for a lesser offer. They only upped it in the last hour after we’d held firm and it looked like it would fall over

Left us scrambling to find a trade for Baker without anything from Hawthorn in our pocket leading to the infamous pick 3 trade

This year we don’t look likely to have anyone on the hook that would command a high draft pick and Chesser and Ryan aren’t going to fetch anything higher than a R2 pick. We also won’t be in any rush to get those trades done as they aren’t necessary to get other trades done

So the urgency/desperation that clouded last year’s trade period doesn’t exist

As for pick swaps, I’d expect Clarke to be guided by Massey and how he sees our draft board before repositioning what we currently hold

The main danger I see would be overpaying someone to join us because we’ve struggled to get a yes from anyone and desperation sets in
That’s the difference, Hawks were trading for a contracted player and dictated terms.

We were trading for a OOC player and had the terms dictated to us…..

It’s not how either scenario is suppose to work.

No mulligans as it’s now part of history and all the other clubs know it. Bo Allan could turn into a better player than Jagga and it will be a win but the negotiations definitely weren’t in anyway.

For a contracted player who is currently best 23 it is bad business. Especially with a list like ours

Nup, sorry. You need to take a more macro view of what you’re bringing in and what you’re trading out in the offseason, you can’t just look at one transaction of one player and say it’s “bad business”. That trade doesn’t happen in a vacuum.

Unfortunately he's right - most pubs have Pepsi on tap, and that's what you get when you ask for Jacks and coke.

My respect for Perth Stadium dropped in half when they switched out Coke. When I remember, I just bring coke with me now - cheaper and a better drink.
I used to ask if people were ok with Pepsi, back in my bartending days. When I realised 99% of people didn't care, I stopped asking.

Not one single person ever mentioned anything.

Owies wasn't going to be offered a contract didn't stop us trading for him

You are actually 100% correct.

Every single person in the AFL community knew Owies was out the door with the Blues and had no Contract as well.

Not the first time we've done something that stupid either.

Remember we "held all the cards" with Brockman?

• Out of contract
  • Has a missus with twin girls
  • Had already moved back to Perth.

And yet our club bizarrely felt the need to to gift them pick 44 and 63 when they deserved absolutely **** all.

1758172649246.png

Imagine those flogs knocking back 44 and milking pick 63 off us like some tin rattlers. Which turned into 56 and Calsher Dear from memory.

We lost with Richmond
We lost with Carlton
We lost with Hawthorn.

All different trading partners who dont care what we do I our end so you absolutely can look at each trade individually.

It remains a horrific debut performance from Matt Clark. We cannot afford another this year.

We caved on the Barass deal, not hawks. We accepted picks in what looks like be the worst and most comprised draft in recent history. To compound matters we also chose to back the wrong horse.
I mean if we chose Carlton’s picks, it would’ve been a master stroke, unfortunately that’s another thing this regime got wrong though.

I’ve said it before, the AFL should allow teams with multiple future picks to trade the “most preferable” of them.

They’ve incorporated basically every other concept the NBA has, why not this one?

It's easy to knock the choice of picks in hindsight but Carlton should have been a finals team and Hawthorn had a good injury run last year. Those picks should have been much closer to each other than they are, and I would argue closer to Hawthorn's pick than Carlton's.

I’ve said it before, the AFL should allow teams with multiple future picks to trade the “most preferable” of them.

They’ve incorporated basically every other concept the NBA has, why not this one?
I look forward to trading a single pick that has protections across three drafts. You'll eventually need a degree just to follow your team's draft hand.

Nup, sorry. You need to take a more macro view of what you’re bringing in and what you’re trading out in the offseason, you can’t just look at one transaction of one player and say it’s “bad business”. That trade doesn’t happen in a vacuum.

Weakening a current best 23 for future picks is horrendous list management. Should be trying to bring forward if anything.

Conditional picks in the NFL have benchmarks attached, for games played or which pick is earlier 🤔

Weakening a current best 23 for future picks is horrendous list management. Should be trying to bring forward if anything.

Richmond took something like eight picks in the last draft. If they’d traded out one more best 23 player (say McIntosh for example), and taken a future pick rather than a ninth pick in the 2024 draft, would that have been horrendous list management?

I’ll hang up and listen to your comments.

Pepsi Max is objectively the best soft drink and anyone who disagrees with me is woke and an intolerant lefty
I see big Pepsi got to you too.

Sad Donald Trump GIF

Richmond took something like eight picks in the last draft. If they’d traded out one more best 23 player (say McIntosh for example), and taken a future pick rather than a ninth pick in the 2024 draft, would that have been horrendous list management?

I’ll hang up and listen to your comments.
Yes, McInstosh would’ve probably served them better this year than a F4 pick? This year not being an absolute crash and burn season like we had helps getting their rebuild headed in the right direction.

Of course there are exceptions to every rule, how young our list is for our best 23 just doubles down losing one of those best 23 players for a Future pick is bad business.

Couldn’t agree more mate, I imagine the AFL will catch onto this idea in about 10 years time.

Always enjoy the aspect of the NBA draft where the commissioner hands the recently-drafted player a cap of the team that drafted him and makes him put it on, even as ESPN is already reporting that he'll be traded to a different team. The first moment of his NBA journey is putting on a hat with the name/logo of a team he's never going to play for.

Well I'm not sure who in the league can push Dunkley out of his position... That's who he's competing against.

Like McCarthy... Dev has shown with VFL form that he's probably better than anything we've currently got
Yeah, sometimes even good players can't get games if they're behind very good players in the pecking order.

I remember my Dad telling me about his run with East Perth in the mid '60s - he was in the Ressies and always close to League quality*, but the problem was that the player he had to push out for a League spot was captain/coach Kevin Murray. There was no way he was getting a game, so when his work sent him bush to Katanning, he was way happier.

*to be fair, I suspect WAFL league quality in the 60s wasn't anywhere near even what it is now