List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Likely off to Tassie but if he is prepared to sign an extension would be a great fit for us. I believe his girlfriend is a Perth girl who just got drafted to Melbourne in last years draft.

Hire him for a year then ship him off for some of those Tassie "must trade" picks? Or mini draft picks?

Dp you have an inside source?
Yep but it's a secret.

Here's a clue:

Are You Stupid Antoine Dodson GIF

team america vomit GIF

Brisbane are being a bunch of campaigners, but I think everything will (hopefully) work out and they’ll yield. They just know what we’re like based on last years trade period and they’re trying to squeeze what they can out of us.

Kudos to them for trying everything they can to maximise their value, if only we had a list management team like theirs instead of a bunch of nice guys willing to bend over all the time.

Agreed, he’s way better than Reidy. Just thinking if we were ever going to try and poach a player in an underhanded way, he’s the type given he’d ultimately be cheap, and we could guarantee him footy while the club who has stuffed him around is bringing in more competition for his spot.

Reality is we need to address our rucks with some sort of cheap stop gap at least, and there are very few on offer.

We put the feelers out and the reply was that if he left Fremantle it was to head home to Victoria.

Game set and match.

Any chance Sydney could make a Free Agent play for Oscar Allen? I doubt they are getting Curnow. Quick flight to NSW by Oscar next few days solves this pretty quick. Probably/ hopefully still get pick 2 compensation if they are interested.
We walk Starcivich to pre season draft.
Package saved pick with our others and work up draft.
Bid on Annables at pick two.

I could see the Saints leaving Ryan in the lurch, especially if Steele decides to stay at the club. Seems like trading for Ryan is their lowest-priority move so it wouldn’t surprise me if they either don’t have the cap space to take him on, or have traded away so much of their draft capital that their offer to the Eagles is woefully subpar.

Sam Grlj and Lachy Dovaston are perfect for us, probably fall in between our picks though.
Not sure I want Grlj if we have Duursma. Both have great outside games but I really think we need to target balanced and inside mids. Someone needs to get clean ball out to them. I would prioritise Cumming and Sharp ahead of them.

If we keep 17, I would be OK with Dalton. His wrist injury stuffed up his draft year but he came home strong.

I do like Dovaston. Watching him at Shark Park in the carnival and early he tore our backline a new one. Yes we have some NGA small forwards on our list and coming on our list but he is more the Watson/Weightman angry small forward.

Fine mate we'll offer you pick 22 then, happy?
I’m just interested in where the trade lands.

As far as I’m concerned, the Allen offer and Starcevich trade should have been done by now.

I’m not trying to defend how my club is playing this out. More trying to offer some views from the Lions side. Most here believe the Lions are being d!cks with how this is playing out, but a minority here are sort of on the same page as me.

I’m just interested in where the trade lands.

As far as I’m concerned, the Allen offer and Starcevich trade should have been done by now.

I’m not trying to defend how my club is playing this out. More trying to offer some views from the Lions side. Most here believe the Lions are being d!cks with how this is playing out, but a minority here are sort of on the same page as me.
I know mate I was just being a bit cheeky.

We should have gone hard for ladhams .

Only 27 which is prime for a ruck

204cm big boy so genuine sized ruck stuck behind Grundy but shown he can be very good when number 1 ruck . He also hits the scoreboard and is a very team oriented player although a bit eccentric .

It could have been a reverse hickey who flourished when given number 1 duties
This I would have thought was a question that would have been asked.
Took several weeks to re-sign at SYD and Pyke would have very good intel on Ladhams.

Find it hard to believe we'd be arguing over 1 pick difference, especially when the pick will be gobbled up by a bid anyway
I outlined my thoughts on this in a post last night on our board. I’ve spent all morning here as I’m avoiding the 30 notifications I got on that post on our board.
As I’ve mentioned multiple times here, I try and take an impartial view towards the trade period and discussing teams, and that doesn’t always go down well on our board either.