List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Sorry to intrude, fellow Mexicans, but I honestly don’t understand your trading strategy.

Giving away a former first-rounder for a late second, then paying a second for a fringe KPP coming off an ACL with little to show for it, that’s puzzling.

If you’re paying a premium for potential, how much upside is left in a 27-year-old?

Makes me think we were far too generous with our OA/Starcevich trade. We probably could have squeezed pick 2 out of you.

You mean Chesser, who up until 5 rounds before the end of the season was a likely de-list? Carlton also didn't have any lower picks to offer, because they weren't offering TDK/Silvagni compo.

The 2nd rounder we weren't going to use in the draft, or for a trade anyway. Why waste haggling over 3 spots int he draft?

Any competent list manager would’ve got the Young deal done for a pick in the 50’s or at least 41, people will say it’s not worth sooking over but can you imagine when we’re involved in a bigger deal?

We have no idea how to exploit leverage and people really think we’ll bid on kids at 1 and 2, lol.

Forever the nice guys but that good will is never returned to us.
Any competent Richmond list manager would sold him for 34

Carlton arnt using pick 10 anyway. Dean gets bid on well before that. They are better off moving up to like pick 16 and just taking assets along the way
Sounds like they want a future first back in some form. Cal just said he thinks this is what the Hawks are also looking at for pick 9 to trade for Merrett as Bombers already have picks in this draft.

Middling draft picks are wildly overrated.

In almost every trade of an established player for draft picks, the team acquiring the player comes out on the better side of the deal, because draft picks outside R1 (and sometimes outside even the top handful) have so much uncertainty attached.
  • Young has a very high probability of offering more value than any player selected with pick 38.
  • Starcevich has a very high probability of offering more value than any player selected with pick 22.
  • Ryan has a very high probability of offering more value to St Kilda than any player selected with their F2.
  • Chesser has a very high probability of offering more value to Carlton than any player selected with pick 41, and that's even knowing his flaky history.
Don't get me started on deals like Ben Ainsworth and Bailey Smith.

Even in the standout case of apparently overpaying for a player (Tim Kelly) the deal didn't turn out all that badly when you look at the output of the players selected with the picks we handed over.

The teams that have a history of trading in players (Geelong, obviously) tend to be successful. It's a great way of playing the percentages. Even better is picking up free agents, and best of all is picking up established stars, by whatever means available. "Destination club" really means something.

Baker, Graham, Owies, Starcevich, Young and Robertson are a mixed bag. But getting them in the door is the type of business you have to do to keep your squad chugging along.

What really makes a difference is acquiring star quality. Our draft picks are at the pointy end this year, so they give us a chance. (And yes, this is a criticism of our pick 3 trade last year, despite Baker's huge value to the club). Maybe in the future we can dream of Warner or Walter. If we are to turn their heads, it doesn't hurt to seem at least semi-competitive. We're doing what we can to achieve that.

Will Brodie for Pick 103.

Gee whiz. Trivia question areas.

Came for the bedwetting over pick 38 vs pick 41.

Was not disappointed.
smh this is such a weak draft, of course the year we have good picks is in the pathetic weak draft.

…NOOOO, NOT PICK 38 OVER PICK 41!!!

I love how a guy doing his ACL is seen as a positive by the normal "this is fine" crew
Hi, I have a quick question.

What the **** are you talking about?

Sorry to intrude, fellow Mexicans, but I honestly don’t understand your trading strategy.

Giving away a former first-rounder for a late second, then paying a second for a fringe KPP coming off an ACL with little to show for it, that’s puzzling.

If you’re paying a premium for potential, how much upside is left in a 27-year-old?

Makes me think we were far too generous with our OA/Starcevich trade. We probably could have squeezed pick 2 out of you.
Sounds like you haven’t seen Chesser play.

You haven’t missed much.

Or maybe they're simply prepared to let Patterson go, hence his comments from last week?

GC don't really need to keep stockpiling young talent, they need A-graders now, which appears to be the decision they are making.
Can’t see them missing out on one last chance to rort the system properly. 7+8 for Petracca and a bunch of sh*t picks works for both teams.

Just proves we should have waited for Richmond to accept a 12th round pick for Young.
Clarke the gimp probably gives up pick 98 for him when a real list manager could squeeze 103.

People are saying we have a bargain because he can improve based off the fact he did a ACL is what everyones running with.
Are they saying that? Or is that what you’re reading when people say he came back to footy late and has played pretty well either side of a bad injury?

People are saying we have a bargain because he can improve based off the fact he did a ACL is what everyones running with.

Literally no one has said that.

Are they saying that? Or is that what you’re reading when people say he came back to footy late and has played pretty well either side of a bad injury?
We are asking the question of why he is worth pick 38 and its been a key point of the discussion... Im happy to hear something more clear and precise then "its not what I mean" though

Can’t see GC not matching a bid on Patterson anyway, there’s also no chance we bid on Uwland and Patterson at 1 and 2 to make it as difficult as possible for them.

I said he wouldve played more games if he hadnt done his knee and came back from a knee and got games when they're very well stocked for KPDs .
Seems im the eternal optimist and somewhat of a fanboi 😍

I said very similar, clearly we’ve both drunk the same Kool Aid.